DETAILED ACTION
The amended claims dated 6/15/2026 are under consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 3 and 4, in the reply filed on 6/15/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Upon consideration of elected Group II, the restriction between Groups II, III and IV is withdrawn. Claims 5 and 6 are included with the election of Group II.
In view of the above noted withdrawal of the restriction requirement between Groups II, III and IV, applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claims 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/15/2026.
Priority
The present application claims priority to JAPAN 2022-176209 (filed 11/2/2022).
Priority is recognized.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification or the citation of references throughout the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892 or on a submitted IDS, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sai (“Study On Catalytic Properties of FLAP Structure – Specific Endonuclease 1 And Establishment of New Platforms For Screening Its Inhibitors”. Thesis – Nanyang Technological University. 2015, 154 pages).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Sai teaches a single-stranded oligonucleotide having a sequence that is complementary to a target nucleic acid (Scheme 1.8). Sai further teaches the single-stranded oligonucleotide has a “structure” in the form of a phosphothioate/phosphorothioate bond either upstream or downstream of a flap endonuclease cleavage site (Scheme 1.8).
The structure is depicted in Scheme 1.8 (p. 16), which is reproduced below:
Similar structures are depicted in Fig. 3.2 (p. 65), which is reproduced below with AS2Dn and AS4Dn being particularly relevant:
On p. 65, in section 3.1.2 DNA sequences, DNA sequences having phosphorothioate modifications are described, and are reproduced below:
Additional sequences continue onto p. 66, but are not reproduced in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyamichev (US 7,122,364 B1) in view of Sai (“Study On Catalytic Properties of FLAP Structure – Specific Endonuclease 1 And Establishment of New Platforms For Screening Its Inhibitors”. Thesis – Nanyang Technological University. 2015, 154 pages).
Claims 5 and 6 are drawn to “kits”. The term “kit” is not limited by the claim nor is it specifically defined in the specification. The term “kit” is broadly interpreted as a collection of elements used together.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Lyamichev teaches a collection of the following structural reagents:
The structures include:
“WT Probe” as a flap probe;
“INVADER Oligo” as an invasive probe as claimed;
“FRET Cassette” as a fluorescent probe as claimed.
The cleavage is via a flap endonuclease, which is part of an INVADER assay.
Lyamichev further teaches the stacker oligonucleotides include phosphorothioates and such modifications may also serve to make these flanking oligonucleotides resistant to contaminating nucleases. This feature further ensures their continued presence on the target strand during the course of the reaction.
While Lyamichev suggests incorporating phosphorothioate bonds, Lyamichev does not specifically teach the structure of claim 3 or claim 4 as required by claims 5 and 6.
However, Sai teaches a single-stranded oligonucleotide having a sequence that is complementary to a target nucleic acid and includes phosphorothioate bonds at the claimed positions, as described in the 102 rejections above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of invention to have modified the reagent set of Lyamichev by replacing the “WT Probe” with the single-stranded oligonucleotide of Sai. One would have been motivated to do so because it renders the probe resistant to nucleases, yet also allowing for cleavage by a FLAP endonuclease.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
-
-
-
-
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682