DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Each distinct part, including modified parts, should be labeled with a distinct reference character to be in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(p). Note at least the following: The element denoted by reference character 34 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 10 is distinct (i.e., modified) from the element denoted by these same reference characters in the embodiment shown in Figs. 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darnell (US 2003/0080609 A1) in view of HYTREL 4556 (newly cited non-patent literature).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Darnell discloses a wheel assembly 12 comprising: an inboard wheel segment 14 comprising an inboard tubular body having an exterior inboard rim surface 28, a first inboard segment end 26 having an inboard annular lip 34 extending radially outward from the exterior inboard rim surface (Fig. 7), and a second inboard segment end 32 having an inboard wheel segment connecting surface 40 (Fig. 2); an outboard wheel segment 16 comprising an outboard tubular body having an exterior outboard rim surface 46 (Figs. 2, 5 and 7), a first outboard segment end 50 having an outboard annular lip (at 50 as shown in Fig. 5) extending radially outward from the exterior outboard rim surface (Fig. 5), and a second outboard segment end 44 having an outboard wheel segment connecting surface (paragraph [0033]; Fig. 7); wherein the inboard and outboard wheel segment connecting surfaces are coupled together to form a joint (unlabeled joint shown in Fig.7), and wherein the exterior inboard and exterior outboard rim surfaces cooperate to form a wheel assembly rim surface (Fig. 7); and wherein the inboard and outboard wheel segments are formed from a polymer-based composition (paragraph [0031]).
Darnell fails to expressly disclose the polymer-based composition consists of a copolyether-ester having a melt flow rate of about 0.5 g/10 min or more up to about 10 g/10 min or less as determined at 220°C under a 2.16 kg load according to ISOI133.
HYTREL 4556, however, teaches a polymer-based composition consisting of a copolyether-ester having a melt flow rate of about 0.5 g/10 min or more up to about 10 g/10 min or less as determined at 220°C under a 2.16 kg load according to ISOI133 (note page 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel assembly of Darnell by utilizing a polymer-based composition consists of a copolyether-ester having a melt flow rate of about 0.5 g/10 min or more up to about 10 g/10 min or less as determined at 220°C under a 2.16 kg load according to ISOI133 for its polymer-based composition, such as taught by HYTREL 4556, as a well-known alternative polymer-based composition that would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing predictable material and physical properties, such as exceptional toughness and resilience, high resistance to creep, impact and flex fatigue, and good melt stability.
Regarding claim 2, Darnell further discloses the inboard wheel segment connecting surface or the outboard wheel segment connecting surface is singular or plural (shown in at least Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Darnell further discloses the joint extends through the wheel assembly rim surface (evident from Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Darnell further discloses at least one fastener (unlabeled bolt shown in Fig. 7) that couples the inboard and outboard wheel connecting surfaces (paragraph [0045]; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Darnell further discloses the inboard and outboard wheel connecting surfaces each comprise a respective plurality of openings 42, 52, the plurality of openings of the inboard connecting surface being aligned with the plurality of openings of the outboard connecting surface (paragraph [0045]; Fig. 7)
. Regarding claim 7, Darnell further discloses the inboard and outboard wheel segment connecting surfaces extend radially inward and perpendicular to the rotational and longitudinal axis of the inboard and outboard tubular bodies (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Darnell further discloses the inboard and outboard wheel segment connecting surfaces substantially enclose the second inboard and outboard segment ends (Figs. 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 9, Darnell further discloses the inboard and outboard wheel segment connecting surfaces enclose the second inboard and outboard segment ends (Figs. 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 10, Darnell further discloses the inboard and outboard wheel segment connecting surfaces have at least one mounting bore hole (unlabeled central opening in each of 14 and 16 as best shown in Figs. 1 and 2) extending therethrough (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 11, Darnell further discloses the interface of the inboard and outboard connecting surfaces is formed by an intermediate plate 18.
Regarding claim 12, Darnell further discloses the intermediate plate comprises a metal (e.g., “billet aluminum” per paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 13, Darnell further discloses the wheel assembly is injection molded from the polymer-based composition (Abstract; paragraphs [0030] and [0048]).
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroeder et al. (US 2004/0255462 A1; hereinafter “Schroeder”) in view of HYTREL 4556.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Schroeder discloses a wheel assembly 10 comprising: an inboard wheel segment 14 comprising an inboard tubular body 34 having an exterior inboard rim surface (at 34 in Fig. 5), a first inboard segment end (unlabeled, but shown in Fig. 5) having an inboard annular lip 48 extending radially outward from the exterior inboard rim surface (Fig. 5), and a second inboard segment end at 42 having an inboard wheel segment connecting surface (unlabeled surfaces of 42 shown in Fig. 5); an outboard wheel segment 12 comprising an outboard tubular body 31 having an exterior outboard rim surface (at 31 in Fig. 4), a first outboard segment end (unlabeled, but shown in Fig. 5) having an outboard annular lip 30 extending radially outward from the exterior outboard rim surface (Fig. 5), and a second outboard segment end at 32 having an outboard wheel segment connecting surface (unlabeled surfaces of groove 32 as shown in Fig. 5); wherein the inboard and outboard wheel segment connecting surfaces are coupled together to form a joint (unlabeled, but shown in Fig. 5), and wherein the exterior inboard and exterior outboard rim surfaces cooperate to form a wheel assembly rim surface (Fig. 5); and wherein the inboard and outboard wheel segments are formed from a polymer-based composition (paragraphs [0025]-0027]).
Schroeder fails to expressly disclose the polymer-based composition consists of a copolyether-ester having a melt flow rate of about 0.5 g/10 min or more up to about 10 g/10 min or less as determined at 220°C under a 2.16 kg load according to ISOI133.
HYTREL 4556, however, teaches a polymer-based composition consisting of a copolyether-ester having a melt flow rate of about 0.5 g/10 min or more up to about 10 g/10 min or less as determined at 220°C under a 2.16 kg load according to ISOI133 (note page 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel assembly of Schroeder by utilizing a polymer-based composition consists of a copolyether-ester having a melt flow rate of about 0.5 g/10 min or more up to about 10 g/10 min or less as determined at 220°C under a 2.16 kg load according to ISOI133 for its polymer-based composition, such as taught by HYTREL 4556, as a well-known alternative polymer-based composition that would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing predictable material and physical properties, such as exceptional toughness and resilience, high resistance to creep, impact and flex fatigue, and good melt stability.
Regarding claim 2, Schroeder further discloses the inboard wheel segment connecting surface or the outboard wheel segment connecting surface is singular or plural (evident from Figs. 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 3, Schroeder further discloses the joint extends through the wheel assembly rim surface (evident from Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Schroeder further discloses the inboard and outboard wheel connecting surfaces abut one another (Fig. 5; note the term “abut” is being defined as “to be adjacent to”).
Regarding claim 6, Schroeder further discloses the inboard and outboard wheel connecting surfaces each comprise a respective plurality of openings at 46, 26, the plurality of openings of the inboard connecting surface being aligned with the plurality of openings of the outboard connecting surface (Fig. 5; paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 8, Schroeder further discloses the inboard and outboard wheel segment connecting surfaces substantially enclose the second inboard and outboard segment ends (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Schroeder further discloses the inboard and outboard wheel segment connecting surfaces enclose the second inboard and outboard segment ends (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Schroeder further discloses the inboard and outboard wheel segment connecting surfaces have at least one mounting bore hole (unlabeled central bore hole of 14 shown in Fig. 3, axial opening 28 of 12 shown in Fig. 3) extending therethrough (evident from Fig. 3 and paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 11, Schroeder further discloses the interface of the inboard and outboard connecting surfaces is formed by an intermediate plate 16 (Figs. 3and 5).
Regarding claim 12, Schroeder further discloses the intermediate plate comprises a metal (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 13, Schroeder further discloses the wheel assembly is molded from the polymer-based composition (paragraphs [0006], [0026] and [0027]; note the specific manner of molding the wheel assembly (i.e., “injection molded”) is method limitation that is not afforded full patentable weight in a product claim (See MPEP 2113).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Coran et al. (US 3,977,453) teaches a wheel assembly that is entirely formed from HYTREL (lines 62-67 of col. 9).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615