DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Instant application claims priority of foreign application TW111145277, filed 11/25/2022. Therefore, the effective filing date is 11/25/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objections – Drawings
37 C.F.R. 1.84:
(p) Numbers, letters, and reference characters.
(1) Reference characters (numerals are preferred), sheet numbers, and view numbers must be plain and legible, and must not be used in association with brackets or inverted commas, or enclosed within outlines, e.g., encircled. They must be oriented in the same direction as the view so as to avoid having to rotate the sheet. Reference characters should be arranged to follow the profile of the object depicted.
The drawings are objected to because the sheet numbers and view numbers for FIG. 3A, FIG. 4A, FIG. 4B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 11A, FIG. 12A, and FIG. 13 are not oriented in the same direction.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 9 read “…wherein the USP 24 inhibitor composition comprises carbonyl-substituted phenyl compound…” and should read “…wherein the USP 24 inhibitor composition comprises a carbonyl-substituted phenyl compound…”.
Claim 1 reads “…n1 represents…” and should read “…n1 represents…”.
Claim 1 reads “…and the salts of said carbonyl-substituted phenyl compound are selected from a group consisting of oxalates, phosphates, sulfates, and hydrochlorides…”. In order to be in the singular form, this should instead read “…and the salt of said carbonyl-substituted phenyl compound is selected from a group consisting of oxalate, phosphate, sulfate, and hydrochloride…”.
Claims 1 and 6 teach that “X1 represents a single bond”, then states “wherein when X1 represents the single bond, …”. The limitations could be more succinct if claims 1 and 6 instead read “…as shown in formula (I):
in formula (I), X2 represents a hydrogen atom or a hydroxyl group, and the salts of said carbonyl-substituted phenyl compound are selected from the group consisting of oxalates, phosphates, sulfates, and hydrochlorides…”. This includes all the limitations taught in claims 1 and 6, since formulas (I-1), (I-2), and n1, are defined in claims 1 and 6 when X1 is a single bond, and X1 is defined as always being a single bond.
The word “claim” should not be capitalized in claims 2-5, 7, 8, and 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: the administration of the USP 24 inhibitor composition. The claims recite a method of inhibiting with no associated step of administration to a subject or individual.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hӧrlein et al. (DE 1120451 B).
Hӧrlein et al. teaches, in column 1 line 5, the following formula, wherein A is an alkyl group and Ac is an acyl group.
Hӧrlein et al. teaches, in Example 4, the compound shown below, which reads on the compounds of instant claims 1, 2, and 6. This compound was taught, in column 4 lines 28-32, to be administered subcutaneously to mice as a sedative and antiemetic at 2.5, 5, 10, and 20 mg/kg, as in instant claims 3, 6, and 8.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 6, the prior art is silent regarding using the composition to inhibit lipogenesis and hepatic lipid accumulation. However: “inhibiting lipogenesis” and “inhibiting hepatic lipid accumulation” will inevitably flow from the teachings of the prior art (see above rejection), since the same composition (the compound shown above) is being administered to the same subjects (a mouse). In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties when administered under the same or similar circumstances.
Even though the prior art is silent regarding “inhibiting lipogenesis” and “inhibiting hepatic lipid accumulation”, by practicing the method taught by the prior art, administration of the composition will also be “inhibiting lipogenesis” and “inhibiting hepatic lipid accumulation”, even though the prior art was not aware of it.
MPEP 2112 I states: “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hung (US 20220025375 A1), with an effective filing date of 07/27/2020, hereinafter referred to as reference ‘375.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Reference ‘375 teaches, in claims 8 and 32, a method of inhibiting USP 24 comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising formula (I-3), shown below, at 12.5 mg/kg of body weight, which reads on instant claims 1-3 and 6.
The composition was administered to mice, as in instant claim 8.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 6, the prior art is silent regarding using the composition to inhibit lipogenesis and hepatic lipid accumulation. However: “inhibiting lipogenesis” and “inhibiting hepatic lipid accumulation” will inevitably flow from the teachings of the prior art (see above rejection), since the same composition (the compound shown above) is being administered to the same subjects (a mouse). See above rejection and MPEP 2112.
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hung (US 20220024887 A1), with an effective filing date of 02/05/2021, hereinafter referred to as reference ‘887.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Reference ‘887 teaches, in claims 15 and 19, a method comprising administering a USP24 inhibitor composition of formula (I-3-1), shown below, at 12.5 mg/kg of body weight, as in instant claims 1-3, 6, and 9.
It is taught, in paragraph [0106] that the composition was administered to mice (which contain 3T3-L1 cells), as in instant claims 8 and 10.
Regarding instant claims 1, 6, and 9, the prior art is silent regarding using the composition to inhibit lipogenesis, hepatic lipid accumulation, and PPAR-γ expression. However: inhibiting lipogenesis, hepatic lipid accumulation, and PPAR-γ expression will inevitably flow from the teachings of the prior art (see above rejection), since the same composition (the compound shown above) is being administered to the same subjects (a mouse, which has 3T3-L1 cells). See above rejection and MPEP 2112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hӧrlein et al. (DE 1120451 B) as applied to claims 1-3, 6, and 8 above.
Hӧrlein et al. teaches a method of administering compounds of the following formula to mice as a sedative and antiemetic.
A specific compound taught to be administered to the mice is the compound shown below.
This compound differs from the compound of instant claim 9 in that the alkyl chain is a propyl group rather than an ethyl group.
However, Hӧrlein et al. teaches that the alkyl chain may be varied, as shown in the formula above, and also teaches other compounds (e.g., Examples 1, 5, and 8) where the alkyl chain is ethyl. Additionally, the CCPA has defined a homologous series as a family of chemically related compounds, the composition of which varies from member to member by a -CH2 (one atom of carbon and two hydrogen). In re Coes, Jr. (CCPA 1949) 173 F2d 1012, 81 USPQ 369. The Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia applied a broader definition and defined a homolog (homologue) as a member of a series of compounds in which each member differs from the next member by a constant number of atoms. Carr. Pats.v. Deutsche Gold-und-Sllber, etc. (CADC 1968) 397 F2d 656,157 USPQ 549.
The "Hass-Henze Doctrine" evolved from three CCPA cases, viz., In re Hass et al. (CCPA 1944) 141 F2d 122 and 127, 60 USPQ 544 and 548; and In re Henze (CCPA 1950) 181 F2d 198, 85 USPQ 261. In the Henze decision, the Court said:
"The nature of homologues and the close relationship the physical and chemical properties of one member of a series bears to adjacent members is such that a presumption of unpatentability arises against a claim directed to a composition of matter, the adjacent homologue of which is old in the art. The burden is on the applicant to rebut that presumption by a showing that the claimed compound possesses unobvious or unexpected beneficial properties not actually possessed by the prior art homologue. It is immaterial that the prior art homologue may not be recognized or known to be useful for the same purpose or to possess the same properties as the claimed compound. The CCPA concluded that because the characteristics normally possessed by members of a homologous series are principally the same, varying gradually from member to member, chemists knowing the properties of one member of a series would in general know what to expect in adjacent members so that a mere difference in degree is not the marked superiority which will ordinarily remove the unpatentability of adjacent homologues of old substances. Contra, where no use for the prior art compound is known. In m Stemniski (CCPA 1971) 444 F2d 581, 170 USPQ 343, and cases cited therein. Whether a compound is patentable over a prior art homologue or isomer is a question to be decided in each case. In re Hass et al., supra."
The 'Hass-Henze Doctrine" stands for the proposition that, "If that which appears at first blush to be obvious though new is shown by evidence not to be obvious then the evidence prevails over surmise or unsupported contention and rejection based on obviousness must fail." In re Papesch (CCPA 1963) 315 F2d 381, 137 USPQ 43, 48. The presumption that homologues are unpatentably obvious is an inference of fact, viz., that adjacent homologs are expected to have similar properties which places a 'burden of persuasion' on the applicant who asserted a contrary fact. In re Mills (CCPA 1960) 281 F2d 218, 126 USPQ 513.
Compounds that differ only by the presence of an extra methyl group are homologs. Homologs are of such close structural similarity that the disclosure of a compound renders prima facie obvious its homolog. The homolog is expected to be capable of preparation by the same method and to have the same properties. This expectation is then deemed the motivation for preparing homologs. Homologs are obvious even in the absence of a specific teaching to methylate, In re Wood 199 USPQ 137; In re Hoke 195 USPQ 148; In re Lohr 137 USPQ 548; In re Magerlein 202 USPQ 473; In re Wiechert 152 USPQ 249; Ex parte Henkel 130 USPQ 474; In re Fauque 121 USPQ 425; In re Druey 138 USPQ 39. In all of these cases, the close structural similarity of two compounds differing by only one (or two) methyl groups sufficed; no specific teaching to methylate was present or required. None of these cases has been overruled and indeed the examiner is unaware of any post Lohr case in which motivation is required to put a methyl group on an old compound.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to administer a homolog of the above compound to a mouse as a sedative or antiemetic, as taught in the prior art.
Regarding instant claims 9 and 10, the prior art is silent regarding using the composition to inhibit PPAR-γ expression. However: inhibiting PPAR-γ expression will inevitably flow from the teachings of the prior art (see above rejection), since the same composition (the homolog of the compound shown above) is being administered to the same subjects (a mouse, which has 3T3-L1 cells). In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties when administered under the same or similar circumstances. See above rejection and MPEP 2112.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung (US 20220025375 A1), with an effective filing date of 07/27/2020, hereinafter referred to as reference ‘375, as applied to claims 1-3, 6, and 8 above.
Reference ‘375 teaches, in claims 8 and 32, a method of inhibiting USP 24 comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising formula (I-3), shown below, to mice at 12.5 mg/kg of body weight, which reads on instant claims 1-3 and 6. See above rejection.
Reference ‘375 fails to teach the administration of the compound of instant claim 9, which differs from the above compound in that it contains an ethyl linker rather than an n-butyl linker.
However, compounds that differ only by the presence of an extra methyl group are homologs. Homologs are of such close structural similarity that the disclosure of a compound renders prima facie obvious its homolog. The homolog is expected to be capable of preparation by the same method and to have the same properties. This expectation is then deemed the motivation for preparing homologs. Homologs are obvious even in the absence of a specific teaching to methylate, In re Wood 199 USPQ 137; In re Hoke 195 USPQ 148; In re Lohr 137 USPQ 548; In re Magerlein 202 USPQ 473; In re Wiechert 152 USPQ 249; Ex parte Henkel 130 USPQ 474; In re Fauque 121 USPQ 425; In re Druey 138 USPQ 39. In all of these cases, the close structural similarity of two compounds differing by only one (or two) methyl groups sufficed; no specific teaching to methylate was present or required. None of these cases has been overruled and indeed the examiner is unaware of any post Lohr case in which motivation is required to put a methyl group on an old compound.
Therefore, it is prima facie obvious to test homologs of a prior art composition for the same purpose, even in the absence of a specific teaching to methylate, since compounds of such close structural similarity are expected to produce the same results.
Regarding instant claims 9 and 10, the prior art is silent regarding using the composition to inhibit PPAR-γ expression. However: inhibiting PPAR-γ expression will inevitably flow from the teachings of the prior art (see above rejection), since the same composition (the homolog of the compound shown above) is being administered to the same subjects (a mouse, which has 3T3-L1 cells). In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties when administered under the same or similar circumstances. See above rejection and MPEP 2112.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6, and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,827,611 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Patent ‘611 teaches a medicinal composition comprising a USP24 inhibitor of formula (I-3-1) shown below, which reads on the compounds of instant claims 1-3, 6, and 9, wherein the composition delays or reverses multidrug resistance in a cancer cell.
Regarding instant claims 1, 6, and 9, the prior art is silent regarding using the composition to inhibit lipogenesis, hepatic lipid accumulation, and PPAR-γ expression. However: inhibiting lipogenesis, hepatic lipid accumulation, and PPAR-γ expression will inevitably flow from the teachings of the prior art (see above rejection), since the same composition (the compound shown above) is being administered to the same subjects (a test cell). See above rejection and MPEP 2112.
Claims 1-3, 6, and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,993,775 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Reference ‘775 teaches, in claim 1, a method for inhibiting USP24 comprising administering a compound of formula (I-3), shown below, which reads on the compounds of instant claims 1-3 and 6.
Reference ‘775 fails to teach the administration of the compound of instant claim 9, which differs from the above compound in that it contains an ethyl linker rather than an n-butyl linker.
However, compounds that differ only by the presence of an extra methyl group are homologs. Homologs are of such close structural similarity that the disclosure of a compound renders prima facie obvious its homolog. The homolog is expected to be capable of preparation by the same method and to have the same properties. This expectation is then deemed the motivation for preparing homologs. Homologs are obvious even in the absence of a specific teaching to methylate, In re Wood 199 USPQ 137; In re Hoke 195 USPQ 148; In re Lohr 137 USPQ 548; In re Magerlein 202 USPQ 473; In re Wiechert 152 USPQ 249; Ex parte Henkel 130 USPQ 474; In re Fauque 121 USPQ 425; In re Druey 138 USPQ 39. In all of these cases, the close structural similarity of two compounds differing by only one (or two) methyl groups sufficed; no specific teaching to methylate was present or required. None of these cases has been overruled and indeed the examiner is unaware of any post Lohr case in which motivation is required to put a methyl group on an old compound.
Therefore, it is prima facie obvious to test homologs of a prior art composition for the same purpose, even in the absence of a specific teaching to methylate, since compounds of such close structural similarity are expected to produce the same results.
Regarding instant claims 1, 6, and 9, the prior art is silent regarding using the composition to inhibit lipogenesis, hepatic lipid accumulation, and PPAR-γ expression. However: inhibiting lipogenesis, hepatic lipid accumulation, and PPAR-γ expression will inevitably flow from the teachings of the prior art (see above rejection), since the same composition (the compound shown above) is being administered to the same subjects (a test cell). See above rejection and MPEP 2112.
Advisory Notice
Claims 4, 5, and 7 appear allowable if rewritten in independent form. The prior art does not teach or suggest the administration of these compositions to fat cells, pre-fat cells, and/or adipocyte-like cells, or to an individual with hyperlipidemia.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-10 are rejected.
Claims 4, 5, and 7 are objected to.
/R.M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624