DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant filed a response and amended claims 1-14 and 16 on 08/07/22026. The 112(b) rejections previously presented are withdrawn in view of amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed regarding Burlefinger’s teachings related to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“Accordingly in Burlefinger, a fiber stick is manufactured separately from the developable fiber structure to form a binder-stabilized preform having a three-dimensional shape and fiber orientation corresponding to the multiply curved component section and then the preform is consolidated together with the developable fiber structure to form the finished fiber composite component.
In other words, in Burlefinger, the fiber stick 5, which could be equivalent to the claimed
connector, is manufactured in one element and in one step.
Conversely, according to the invention, the tubular pre-form and the continuous fiber preform net are manufactured separately and are then placed into a mold to form a tubular hub
portion from the tubular pre-form and a flange portion from the pre-form net, the flange portion
extending from the hub portion at an angle to the central axis.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Burlefinger teaches the fiber structure component 1 is produced in two parts [0012]; a tubular preform and a continuous fiber preform net are manufactured in two different techniques [0012]-[0013]. The tubular preform and continuous fiber preform net are placed together in the mold, overlapping at their mutually facing ends (Figure 1, overlapping region “d” and [0014]), and are impregnated to form an integral structure.
Accordingly, Burlefinger teaches placing the tubular pre-form and pre-form net together into a mold to form a tubular hub portion from the preform and a flange portion from the pre-form net, the flange extending from the hub portion at an angle central to the axis (Figure 1 and [0014]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burlefinger (English Translation of DE102011077287).
Regarding claim 1, Burlefinger teaches a process of manufacturing a composite connector capable for use as a fluid transfer conduit:
manufacturing a tubular pre-form which extends substantially parallel to a
central axis, the tubular pre-form comprising continuous circumferentially-oriented
fiber reinforcement (Figure 2 and [0012]);
manufacturing a continuous fiber pre-form net, the pre-form net comprising a
support layer and continuous fiber reinforcement, the continuous fiber reinforcement
being secured by being stitched to the support layer (Figure 3a and 3b and [0012]-[0013]);
placing the tubular pre-form and the pre-form net together into a mold to form
a tubular hub portion from the tubular pre-form and a flange portion from the pre-form
net, the flange portion extending from the hub portion at an angle to the central axis [0013]-[0014]; and
introducing polymer into the mold so as to form a composite connector comprising the flange portion and the hub portion [0013]-[0014].
Regarding claim 2, Burlefinger teaches the process as applied to claim 1,
wherein manufacturing the tubular pre-form comprises manufacturing a dry tube comprising circumferentially-oriented fiber reinforcement [0012].
Regarding claim 4, Burlefinger teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein manufacturing the continuous fiber pre-form net further comprises placing the continuous fiber reinforcement in multiple orientations (Figures 3a and 3b and [0012]).
Regarding claim 7, Burlefinger teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein introducing polymer into the mould comprises a resin transfer moulding (RTM) [0013]-[0014].
Regarding claim 13, Burlefinger teaches the process as applied to claim 1,
wherein the pre-form net is annular and defines a central hole with which the tubular pre-form is aligned when the tubular pre-form and the pre-form net are placed together into the mold (Figure 1 and [0013]-[0014]).
Regarding claim 14, Burlefinger teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein manufacturing the pre-form net comprises securing one or more reinforcing fibres to the support layer by stitching so that the one or more reinforcing fibres extend both radially and circumferentially (Figure 1 and [0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burlefinger (English Translation of DE102011077287), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Sakonjo (US 7,138,167).
Regarding claim 3, Burlefinger teaches the process as applied to claim 1.
Burlefinger does not teach manufacturing the continuous fiber pre-form net further comprises stitching multiple layers of fiber reinforcement to the common support layer.
Sakonjo teaches a process of preparing a curved or bent preform for a fiber-reinforced composite material of an aircraft (Col 1, ln 19-26). Sakonojo teaches the preform is prepared by stitching a plurality of fiber layers (Col 5, ln 29-3-60). Sakonjo teaches a curved preform, such as an entire ring (Col 11, ln 15-24), prepared with a plurality of reinforced fibers intersecting at a predetermined angle includes those
disposed in parallel in one or more of the directions of +45 degrees, -45 degrees and 90 degrees (Col 7, ln 56- Col 8, ln 48 and Figures 1-2) to provide a high-density and high-strength preform (Col 3, ln 1-7 and Col 5, ln 12-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Burlefinger, in particularly the preform net, with stitching multiple layers of fiber reinforcement as taught by Sakonjo for the benefit of providing a complex-shaped fiber-reinforced composite material with superior strength.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burlefinger (English Translation of DE102011077287), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Darrow (US 3,621,661) and Chase (PG-PUB 2014/0309042).
Regarding claim 5 and 6, Burlefinger teaches the process as applied to claim 1.
Burlefinger does not teach manufacturing the continuous fiber pre-form net further comprises forming at least one fixing point for the flange portion by arranging the continuous fiber reinforcement in the flange portion to at least partially encircle the at least one fixing point.
Burlefinger does not teach manufacturing the continuous fiber pre-form net further comprises forming an adjacent pair of fixing points and arranging the continuous fiber reinforcement in the pre-form net to encircle the adjacent pair of fixing points.
Darrow teaches a process of manufacturing a composite shaft with integral end fittings (Col 3, ln 15-35 and Figures 1, 2, 9, and 10). Darrow teaches a composite shaft comprises a shaft section and circumferential flange end fittings with bolt holes in order to connect the shaft to similar shafts using adjacent flanges and bolt members (Col 3, ln 15-25). Darrow teaches bolt holes drilled in the flanges (Col 4, ln 18-28 and Col 5, ln 36-60).
Chase teaches a process of manufacturing a torque disc comprising a plurality of openings for securing the torque disc to rotatable shafts using threaded bolts or fasteners (Figure 1-2 and [0020], [0029]). Chase teaches in manufacturing the disc, fiber 26 (a carbon fiber tow [0023]) is secured to a support layer by being stitched [0023]. Chase teaches each support layer has a reinforcing fiber 26, and the fiber repeatedly encircles each adjacent pair of fixing points so as to form a series of windings 30 (Figure 4a and 4b, [0025]). Chase teaches 10 windings 30 encircle each adjacent pair of fixing points. Chase teaches order to maximize the number of windings 30 without overlying the windings 30 or increasing the overall dimensions of the torque disc 10, the inner ones of the windings 30 are shaped so as to almost completely encircle one of the fixing points before extending directly towards and almost completely encircling the adjacent one of the fixing points [0025]-[0027]. Chase teach the manner in which the reinforcing fiber 26 passes around the fixing points serves to enhance the strength [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Burlefinger with bolt holes as taught by Darrow, a known suitable feature in circumferential flange end fittings for composite shafts, to yield the predictable result of connecting the shaft to other objects.
While Darrow teaches providing bolt holes through machining, Chase teaches an alternative technique known in the field of endeavor pertaining to composite molding for providing bolt holes and strengthening fiber preforms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Burlefinger in Darrow with the technique of Chase to forming adjacent pairs of fixing points and arranging the continuous fiber reinforcement in the preform to encircle the adjacent pair of fixing points, for the known benefit of providing fastening holes and enhancing the strength of the preform.
Claim 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burlefinger (English Translation of DE102011077287) in further view of Darrow (US 3,621,661).
Regarding claim 8, Burlefinger teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein the flange has a continuous transition section to integrate the flange and shaft.
Burlefinger does not teach the pre-form net comprises one or more tabs and placing the tubular pre-form and the pre-form net together into the mold comprises arranging the tabs to contact the tubular pre-form.
Darrow teaches a process of manufacturing a composite shaft with integral end fittings (Col 3, ln 15-35), comprising a transition section with a plurality of fingers (i.e., tabs) (Figure 2 and 11). Darrow teaches a tubular shaft and a flange section comprising a plurality of flat fiber layer and cup-shaped members to provide a transition section (Figure 2, item 38 and Figure 11 and Col 5, ln 36-60). Darrow teaches the plurality of tabs allow for a smooth transition between the shaft section and flange section (Col 4, ln 50-75).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Burlefinger, in particular the continuous flange transition section, with the plurality of tabs as taught by Darrow, a known suitable mechanism for providing a smooth transition between a flange and shaft for integral molding.
Accordingly, the process of Burlefinger in view of Darrow would require arranging the tabs to contact the tubular pre-form in order to place the tubular pre-form and the pre-form net together into the mold for the purpose of integrating the components, as taught by Darrow.
Regarding claim 9 and 10, Burlefinger teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein the pre-form net has a substantially planar structure [0012], an intermediate step is performed to shape the preform before disposing the preform into a mold [0013], and the mold naturally has a three-dimensional shape.
Burlefinger does not teach:
the pre-form net has a substantially planar structure before it is placed into
the mold and
(2) the mold has a three-dimensional shape and placing the pre-form net into the mold comprises converting the pre-form net into the three-dimensional shape.
Darrow teaches a process of manufacturing a composite shaft with integral end fittings (Col 3, ln 15-35). Darrow teaches a tubular shaft and a flange section comprising a plurality of flat fiber layer and cup-shaped members to provide a transition section (Figure 11 and Col 5, ln 36-60). Darrow teaches the construction includes a plurality of cupped shaped members, such as members 120-124 which are shaped to be substantially flat at their outer periphery so as to assume the shape and the outer periphery of flange section 14, and the plurality of tabs allow for a smooth transition between the shaft section and flange section (Figure 2 and 11 and Col 4, ln 50-75, Col 5, ln 36-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Burlefinger, in particular the intermediate shaping step for providing a three-dimensional shape of the flange, with the plurality of tabs as taught by Darrow, a known suitable technique to provide three-dimensional shape to flat flange preform and a smooth transition between a flange and shaft, to yield the predictable result of providing an integral shaft and flange.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burlefinger (English Translation of DE102011077287), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Ohta (US 5,685,933) and Corradini (PG-PUB 2016/0076874).
Regarding claim 11 and 12, Burlefinger teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein the tubular pre-form comprises a fiber braid (Figure 2 and [0012]).
Burlefinger does not teach:
manufacturing the tubular pre-form comprises filament winding fiber reinforcement onto a mandrel,
wherein the mandrel forms part of the mould.
Ohta teaches a process of manufacturing a drive shaft comprising a shaft body by winding resin impregnated fiber onto a mandrel and removed from that body after hot setting (Figure 1a-1c, 5-7, and 11; Col 5, ln 21—60, Col 7, ln 1-12 and Col 8, ln 32-52).
Corradini teaches a process of manufacturing a fiber texture wound around an impregnation mandrel for fabricating an annular structural part out of composite material (Figure 3B and [0031]-[0038]). Corradini teaches winding with a winder machine and impregnating the preform held on the impregnation mandrel [0031]-[0032]. Corradini teaches impregnation may be assisted by a pressure difference between the inside and the outside of the mold in which the preform is located [0032].
While Burlefinger teaches the tubular pre-form comprises braids, Burlefinger is silent to how the braiding occurs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Burlefinger with a winder and mandrel as taught by Ohta, a known suitable mechanism for braiding a tubular preform.
While Ohta teaches hot setting the impregnated fibers on the mandrel to retain the shape, Ohta is silent to impregnating fibers disposed on mandrels. While Burlefinger teaches impregnating the tubular pre-form in a mold, Burlefinger is silent to how the shape of the tubular pre-form is retained. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Burlefinger in view of Ohta with an impregnation mandrel as taught by Corradini for the purpose of providing a mandrel suitable for withstanding molding pressure during impregnation step of Burlefinger for the purpose of providing support for and retaining the shape of the hollow preform as taught by Corradini.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraysee (PG-PUB 2015/0345682) in view of Darrow (US 3,621,661) and Burlefinger (English Translation of DE102011077287).
Regarding claim 15, Fraysse teaches a method of forming a connection system, comprising:
providing a connector (Figure 2, item 4 and 41 and [0050]-[0054]);
connecting a fluid transfer conduit to the hub portion of the connector, such that the hub portion fits onto or into the fluid transfer conduit (Figure 2, item 2 and [0051], [0055]).
Fraysse teaches the releasable conduit is for a pipeline for the circulation of fluid, in particularly fuel [0019], [0025].
Fraysse does not teach manufacturing a composite connector according to the method of claim 1.
Darrow teaches a process for manufacturing hollow shafts, ducts, or pipes with integral end flanges (Col 1, ln 10-16). Darrow teaches metal shafts and end flanges have several limitations, including expense, weight, and potential failure in weak bonds (Col 1, ln 19-40). Darrow teaches using a composite shaft with integral connecting flanges are light weight and strong (Col 3, ln 42- Col 2, ln 5).
As presented above in the rejection of claim 1, Burlefinger teaches a process of manufacturing a composite connector capable for use as a fluid transfer conduit:
manufacturing a tubular pre-form which extends substantially parallel to a
central axis, the tubular pre-form comprising continuous circumferentially-oriented
fiber reinforcement (Figure 2 and [0012]);
manufacturing a continuous fiber pre-form net, the pre-form net comprising a
support layer and continuous fiber reinforcement, the continuous fiber reinforcement
being secured by being stitched to the support layer (Figure 3a and 3b and [0012]-[0013]);
placing the tubular pre-form and the pre-form net together into a mold to form
a tubular hub portion from the tubular pre-form and a flange portion from the pre-form
net, the flange portion extending from the hub portion at an angle to the central axis [0013]-[0014]; and
introducing polymer into the mold so as to form a composite connector comprising the flange portion and the hub portion [0013]-[0014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Fraysse with the connector of Burlefinger for the benefit of providing lightweight and strong shafts as taught by Darrow. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Fraysee with the process of manufacturing the composite connector as taught by Burlefinger to yield the predictable result of providing a composite connector as taught by Darrow.
Regarding claim 16, Fraysse in view of Darrow and Burlefinger teaches the process as applied to claim 15. Fraysse teaches There is therefore a need to improve the connection of the conduits in an aircraft pipeline system, while at the same time maintaining optimum assembly between the conduits and avoiding any leaks, any assembly clearance and any assembly defects [0012].
Fraysse in view of Darrow and Burlefinger the composition and orientation of the
continuous fiber reinforcement at least within the hub portion is selected such that the coefficient of thermal expansion and/or the stiffness of the hub portion substantially matches that of the fluid transfer conduit.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton (MPEP 2141.03). One of ordinary skill in the art motivated to incorporate the composite connector of Burlefinger in the process of Fraysse would have stood the selected connector should be suitable for use with the particular fluid transfer conduit used in order to engineer an assembly with no leaks and defects, as desired by Fraysse. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a suitable composition and orientation of the continuous fiber reinforcement for providing the desired coefficient of thermal expansion and/or hub stiffness suitable for use with the fluid transfer conduit in order to provide an optimum assembly.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraysee (PG-PUB 2015/0345682) in view of Darrow (US 3,621,661) and Burlefinger (English Translation of DE102011077287), as applied to claim 16, in further view of Correa (PG-PUB 2016/0153597).
Regard 17, Fraysee in view of Darrow and Burlefinger teaches the process as applied to claim 16.
While it appears a seal is disposed in the annular section of the fluid transfer conduit (Fraysse, Figure 12-13), the disclosure is unclear.
Fraysee in view of Darrow and Burlefinger does not teach positioning an elastomeric O-ring between an outer surface of the fluid transfer conduit and an inner surface of the hub portion or between an inner surface of the conduit and an outer surface of the hub portion to seal a connection between the fluid transfer conduit and the composite connector.
Correa teaches fuel line coupling components couple together coaxially aligned fuel lines and allow for relative longitudinal movement (Figure 1 and 2). Correa teaches an elastomeric O-ring seal 14b is positioned within an annular recessed seat 14c of the coupling member 14 So as to prevent fuel leakage (Figure 4 and [0018]). Correa teaches an elastomeric O-ring seal 16b is positioned within an annular seat 16a at the distal end 12b of the outer tubular housing member 12 so as to allow such sliding movement of the fuel line FL (Figure 1 and 5 and [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to improve the process of Fraysse in view of Darrow and Burlefinger with an elastomeric seal between an outer surface of the fluid transfer conduit and an inner surface of the hub portion for the benefit of sealingly engaging the components of the pipeline and preventing fuel leakage, as taught by Correa.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HANA C. PAGE
Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/MICHAEL A TOLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745