Response to Arguments
Claims 1-31 are pending; claims 15-23 and 28 remain objected to; claims 2 and 8-10 are cancelled with claim 8 rewritten into new independent claim 29. Applicant's arguments filed 15 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Remarks Pgs (11-14) state the following:
“First, Fauveaux fails to disclose the claimed supporting structure having the front-rear section and the inclined section.…the assembly means (7) in Fauveaux is a unitary gutter-shaped channel. Fauveaux does not describe this channel as having a "front-rear section" or an "inclined section" as two distinct, connected sections arranged sequentially. Fauveaux does not teach an inclined section that is "extended and inclined upwardly along the protruding direction relative to the front-rear section".”
“Second, Fauveaux fails to disclose the claimed "Place and Turn Over" assembly configuration… In Fauveaux, the facade or wall panel is placed into the gutter-shaped assembly means and then slid along the assembly means. The panel maintains a constant orientation throughout this process; its upper edge remains the upper edge, and its lower edge remains the lower edge. There is no "turned over" motion. This is confirmed by Fauveaux's own description, which states that the panel is "slid along" the assembly means (emphasis added). This phrase-"slid along"-explicitly denotes translational movement, not rotational movement. The Examiner's assertion that Fauveaux's Figure 3 shows a 'turned over' movement finds no support in Fauveaux's written description and is directly contradicted by Fauveaux's own language.
The angled depiction of the panel in Fauveaux's Figure 3 is merely an illustrative presentation of the exploded view and does not constitute a disclosure of a "turned over" operational step. When read in light of Fauveaux's explicit written description, a person skilled in the art would understand the assembly motion as a linear lowering or sliding, not a rotation.”
“Third, the assembly method of Fauveaux is fundamentally different from
the claimed assembly method. Claim 26 recites an assembling method comprising the steps of "placing the bottom of the end sealing assembly on the supporting structure of the soundproof cabin frame, using a contact point between the bottom of the end sealing assembly and the supporting structure as a pivot to turn over the end sealing assembly to the assembly position matched with the soundproof cabin frame".
Fauveaux does not disclose such a method. Fauveaux's method involves placing the panel into a channel and sliding the panel along the channel. There is no step of "using a contact point as a pivot to turn over" the panel. The panel does not pivot; it translates. The claimed method, with its specific "turn over" step using a contact point as a pivot, is entirely absent from Fauveaux.
In summary, the claimed assembling method that uses a contact point as a pivot to turn over the end sealing assembly is not disclosed in Fauveaux.”
“Fourth, Zhu does not cure the deficiencies of Fauveaux.
The Examiner has cited Zhu to supplement Fauveaux. Zhu relates to a soundproof cabin having sealing strips between wall modules and connecting profiles to reduce the number of bolts required for assembly. Even assuming Zhu's soundproofing features could be combined with Fauveaux's structure, Zhu does not disclose or suggest the claimed "front-rear section and inclined section" supporting structure or the claimed "place and turn over" assembly configuration.
Zhu's assembly method is conventional: aligning and butting modules together, then securing them with interlocking seals. Zhu does not disclose any support structure having a front-rear section and an upwardly inclined section. Zhu does not disclose any method where a component is turned over using a contact point as a pivot. Zhu does not address, and does not even recognize, the problem of handling heavy glass door assemblies.
In summary, Zhu does not fill the critical gap in Fauveaux's disclosure and does not render the claimed invention obvious.”
“Fifth, the claimed invention solves a problem not recognized by the prior art.
As set forth in the Background section of the specification (paragraph [0005]),
conventional soundproof cabins require assembly times of 4 to 5 hours because the front and rear glass door assemblies are bulky and weigh up to 90 kilograms, making it inconvenient and inefficient for operators to lift and position them.
The present invention solves this problem through the claimed supporting structure having a front-rear section and an upwardly inclined section, where the end sealing assembly is placed and supported on the supporting structure and then turned over to the assembly position. As stated in paragraph [0011] of the specification, this reduces assembly time from 4 to 5 hours to just 15 minutes. This is a dramatic and unexpected improvement in assembly efficiency.
The prior art of record does not address this problem. Fauveaux relates to a prefabricated habitable structure for rapid deployment in emergency situations, with a focus on preventing wind, water, and sand infiltration. Zhu relates to reducing the number of bolts in a soundproof cabin to improve seal reliability. Neither reference recognizes or solves the problem of efficiently installing heavy glass door assemblies.”
With respect to (a), the claims do not require two separate components that are connected sequentially. If the claims did, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
With respect to (b) and (c), Fauveaux explicitly states “Figure 3 illustrates a means of assembling (7) a habitable structure prefabricated and transportable according to the invention”. Figure 3 shows (6) placed at a non-perpendicular angle relative to (8); wherein (6) must be vertically rotated/pivoted until perpendicular for (8’) to match with (8). Therefore, Fauveaux teaches the required “turned over” and pivot operational step.
With respect to (d), in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to (e), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., reduced assembly time, heavy glass door assemblies) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Claim objections are withdrawn due to amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-7, 11-14, and 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fauveaux (BE 1028180 B1) in view of Zhu (CN 216690512 U).
Regarding Claim 1, Fauveaux discloses a quick-installation cabin (1; Pg. 2, Para. 2; Fig. 1), comprising a cabin frame (2; Pg. 6, Lines 20-25; Fig. 1-2), an end sealing assembly and a quick-installation mechanism located between the cabin frame and the end sealing assembly (Quick installation mechanism 7-9 located between frame 2 and end sealing assembly 6; Pg. 7, Lines 5-25; Fig. 3-4. Quick installation mechanism 11; Pg. 7, Lines 25-35; Pg. 8, Lines 1-10; Fig. 5), wherein the quick-installation mechanism comprises a supporting body located at a bottom end of the cabin frame (Quick installation mechanism 7 located at bottom end 4 of frame 2; Pg. 6, Lines 25-30; Pg. 7, Lines 1-5; Fig. 3), and the supporting body is protruded towards a direction close to the end sealing assembly from the bottom end of the soundproof cabin frame, to form a supporting structure that is suspended (7 protrudes/suspended towards 6; Fig. 3), and the end sealing assembly is configured to be placed and supported on the supporting structure and turned over to an assembly position mated with the cabin frame (End assembly 6 on 7 shown as being turned over in Fig. 3 to mate with 2 in Fig. 1);
wherein the supporting structure comprises a front-rear section (A in Examiner Annotated Fauveaux Fig. 3 ) and an inclined section connected together (B in Examiner Annotated Fauveaux Fig. 3) and arranged along a protruding direction of the supporting body, and the inclined section is extended and inclined upwardly along the protruding direction relative to the front-rear section, and a bottom of the end sealing assembly is configured to slide and turn over along the inclined section to switch to the assembly position, and the end sealing assembly is supported by the front-rear section from below (Bottom end 20 of end sealing assembly 6 turned over along B and supported from below by A when assembled; Pg. 7, Lines 5-15; Examiner Annotated Fauveaux Fig. 3).
Examiner Annotated Fauveaux Fig. 3
Fauveaux fails to explicitly disclose the quick-installation cabin (1; Fig. 1) as a quick-installation soundproof cabin and the cabin frame (2; Fig. 2) as a soundproof cabin frame. However, Zhu teaches a quick-installation soundproof cabin and a soundproof cabin frame (Zhu: Cabin of Fig. 1 with frame 2 and 3 with 23, 32-33, 41 having sound insulating properties and convenient to assemble/disassemble; Pg. 5, Para. 2-3; Fig. 1,3-4). Fauveaux and Zhu are in similar fields comprising prefabricated and transportable housing. Modifying Fauveaux with teachings of Zhu would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a quick-installation soundproof cabin and a soundproof cabin frame for the purpose of being convenient to assemble while maintaining sound insulation (Zhu: Pg. 5, Para. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 3, Fauveaux as modified by Zhu disclose the quick-installation soundproof cabin according to claim 1, wherein the supporting structure further comprises an upper-lower section connected to the inclined section and arranged in sequence along the protruding direction of the supporting body, and the upper-lower section are protruded upwardly relative to the inclined section (Upper-lower section C connected to inclined section B in Examiner Annotated Fauveaux Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Fauveaux as modified by Zhu disclose the quick-installation soundproof cabin according to claim 3, wherein the front-rear section is arranged horizontally, and the upper-lower section is arranged vertically (Front-rear section A horizontal at its connection to 2 and upper-lower section C vertical in Examiner Annotated Fauveaux Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Fauveaux as modified by Zhu disclose the quick-installation soundproof cabin according to claim 1, wherein the front-rear section is provided with a supporting surface for supporting the end sealing assembly (Front-rear section A’s top surface when end sealing assembly 6 is fixed against 5 in Examiner Annotated Fauveaux Fig. 3; Pg. 7, Lines 5-15). Fauveaux as modified by Zhu fails to explicitly disclose the supporting surface is coplanar with a bottom surface of the soundproof cabin frame (6 attached to bottom surface 4 of frame 2 through 7; Pg. 6, Lines 25-30; Pg. 7, Lines 1-2; Fig. 2-3). However, this would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, the supporting surface between top and bottom surfaces of the frame (Pg. 6, Lines 25-30; Pg. 7, Lines 1-2), with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing lifting height of the end sealing assembly onto the supporting surface.
Regarding Claim 6, Fauveaux as modified by Zhu disclose the quick-installation soundproof cabin according to claim 1, wherein the supporting body has an assembly structure connected to the front-rear section (7 comprises alignment feature/assembly structure 9 of Fig. 4 connected to front-rear section A in Examiner Annotated Fauveaux Fig. 3), and one side of the bottom end of the soundproof cabin frame facing the end sealing assembly is fixedly connected to the assembly structure (In structure of 6 attached to bottom surface 4 of frame 2 through 7; Pg. 6, Lines 25-30; Pg. 7, Lines 1-2; Fig. 2-4), or the assembly structure is located below the bottom end of the soundproof cabin frame and fixedly connected to the bottom end.
Regarding Claim 7, Fauveaux as modified by Zhu disclose the quick-installation soundproof cabin according to claim 6, wherein the assembly structure and the front-rear section are connected in a straight line (Follows from assembly structure 9 connected to 10 and along length of 7 wherein front-rear section A in Examiner Annotated Fauveaux Fig. 3 is near 10 in Fig. 4A-B).
Regarding Claim 11, Fauveaux as modified by Zhu disclose the quick-installation soundproof cabin according to claim 1, wherein the quick-installation mechanism further comprises positioning guiders for positioning and guiding the end sealing assembly during turning-over to the assembly position (Position guiders 8-9; Pg. 7, Lines 5-25; Fig. 3-4. Position guiders 11; Pg. 7, Lines 25-35; Pg. 8, Lines 1-10; Fig. 5), the positioning guiders are assembled in one of the soundproof cabin frame and the end sealing assembly, and another of the soundproof cabin frame and the end sealing assembly is provided with matching cavities matched with the positioning guiders, and the positioning guiders are protruded from the soundproof cabin frame or the end sealing assembly (8 protrudes from frame 2 and matches cavity 8’ in end sealing assembly 6; Fig. 3. 11/11’ similarly mating as protruding and cavity between frame and end sealing assembly 6; Pg. 7, Lines 25-35; Pg. 8, Lines 1-10; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 12, Fauveaux as modified by Zhu disclose the quick-installation soundproof cabin according to claim 11, wherein the positioning guiders are arranged on left and right sides of the soundproof cabin frame or the end sealing assembly, and a number of the positioning guiders on a same side is one or more, and each of the positioning guiders corresponds to each of the matching cavities (11 on left and right sides of end sealing assembly 6 with 11 corresponding to 11’; Pg. 7, Lines 25-35; Pg. 8, Lines 1-10; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 13, Fauveaux as modified by Zhu disclose the quick-installation soundproof cabin according to claim 12. Fauveaux as modified by Zhu fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the positioning guiders (11; Fig. 5) is provided with a conical head at a position where is protruded from the soundproof cabin frame or the end sealing assembly, and the conical head is arranged in a decreasing manner along a protruding direction of each of the positioning guiders. However, Zhu teaches wherein each of the positioning guiders is provided with a head at a position where is protruded from the soundproof cabin frame or the end sealing assembly, and the head is arranged in a decreasing manner along a protruding direction of each of the positioning guiders (Zhu: Supporting plates/position guiders 22 and 31 in Fig. 3-4 protrude from frame 2-3 in a triangular/decreasing manner towards matching cavity 11-12 of end sealing assembly 1; Pg. 4; Pg. 5, First Para.). Modifying Fauveaux as modified by Zhu with additional teachings of Zhu would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein each of the positioning guiders is provided with a head at a position where is protruded from the soundproof cabin frame or the end sealing assembly, and the head is arranged in a decreasing manner along a protruding direction of each of the positioning guiders for the purpose of connection stability (Zhu: Pg. 4; Para. 2). Fauveaux as modified by Zhu fails to explicitly disclose the head (Zhu: 22 and 31; Fig. 3-4) as a conical head. However, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Zhu.
Regarding Claim 14, Fauveaux as modified by Zhu disclose the quick-installation soundproof cabin according to claim 13, wherein each of the positioning guiders is further provided with a connecting portion connected to the conical head at the position where is protruded from the soundproof cabin frame or the end sealing assembly, the connecting portion and the conical head are successively arranged along the protruding direction of each of the positioning guiders, and one end of the conical head connected to the connecting portion is radially protruded from the connecting portion, and a locking groove between the end of the conical head and the connecting portion is defined (Zhu: Connecting portion A, connected to head B with locking groove C between; Examiner Annotated Zhu Fig. 3).
Examiner Annotated Zhu Fig. 3
Regarding Claim 24, Fauveaux as modified by Zhu disclose the quick-installation soundproof cabin according to claim 1, wherein the end sealing assembly comprises a front end sealing assembly located at a front of the soundproof cabin frame and a rear end sealing assembly located at a rear of the soundproof cabin frame (Choosing an oppositely oriented pair of end sealing assemblies 6 in Fig. 1), and the quick-installation mechanism is respectively arranged between the front end sealing assembly and the soundproof cabin frame and/or between the rear end sealing assembly and the soundproof cabin frame (Each quick installation mechanism 7/12 located between end sealing assembly 6 and frame 2; Pg. 6, Lines 25-30; Pg. 7, Lines 5-15; Fig. 1,3).
Regarding Claim 25, Fauveaux as modified by Zhu disclose the quick-installation soundproof cabin according to claim 24, wherein the front end sealing assembly is a front door assembly (6 with door in Fig. 1), and the rear end sealing assembly is a rear cover assembly or a rear glass door assembly (Choosing oppositely oriented of front door 6; Fig. 6); the soundproof cabin frame comprises a bottom end assembly, a top cover assembly , a left wall assembly, and a right wall assembly, which are connected in a sequence, and the bottom end assembly is served as the bottom end of the soundproof cabin frame (Bottom end 2 in Fig. 1, top cover 13, left and right walls of 6 with door in Fig. 6. It is known to assemble the following in sequence: bottom end, walls, and top cover).
Fauveaux as modified by Zhu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the front end sealing assembly (6 with door and window feature in Fig. 6) is a front glass door assembly. However, this would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of visibility, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 26, Fauveaux discloses an assembling method for a quick-installation cabin (1; Pg. 2, Para. 2; Fig. 1) according to claim 1, comprising following steps:
(1) placing the bottom of the end sealing assembly on the supporting structure of the cabin frame, using a contact point between the bottom of the end sealing assembly and the supporting structure as a pivot to turn over the end sealing assembly to the assembly position matched with the cabin frame (Bottom end 20 of assembly 6 on supporting structure 7 of frame 2 using 7 as a contact point/pivot to mate to face 5 of frame 2; Pg. 7, Lines 5-15; Fig. 3); and
(2) assembling the end sealing assembly with the cabin frame (6 assembled with frame 2; Fig. 1).
Fauveaux fails to explicitly disclose the quick-installation cabin (1; Fig. 1) as a quick-installation soundproof cabin and the cabin frame (2; Fig. 2) as a soundproof cabin frame. However, Zhu teaches a quick-installation soundproof cabin and a soundproof cabin frame (Zhu: Cabin of Fig. 1 with frame 2 and 3 with 23, 32-33, 41 having sound insulating properties and convenient to assemble/disassemble; Pg. 5, Para. 2-3; Fig. 1,3-4). Fauveaux and Zhu are in similar fields comprising prefabricated and transportable housing. Modifying Fauveaux with teachings of Zhu would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a quick-installation soundproof cabin and a soundproof cabin frame for the purpose of being convenient to assemble while maintaining sound insulation (Zhu: Pg. 5, Para. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 27, Fauveaux as modified by Zhu disclose the assembling method according to claim 26, further comprising: in step (1), turning over the end sealing assembly to the assembly position under cooperation of a positioning guider and a matching cavity (Turning over 6 to assembly position under cooperation of guider 8 and matching cavity 8’; Pg. 7, Lines 5-15; Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-23 and 28 remain objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 29-31 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding Claim 29, the prior art fails to teach or suggest alone or in combination the invention in the newly claimed combination. The prior art fails to disclose a quick-installation soundproof cabin comprising: an end sealing assembly and a supporting body located at a bottom end of a cabin frame; wherein the supporting structure comprises a front-rear section; wherein a bottom of the end sealing assembly has a receiving cavity with an opening facing downward, and the bottom of the end sealing assembly is defined into a first and second bottom due to the receiving cavity; and an inclined section is located in the receiving cavity, and the front-rear section is configured to support the first bottom from below.
Claims 30-31 are dependent upon base claim 29 and therefore are also allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER B OLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/DEDEI K HAMMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837