Detailed Action
The Amendments and Remarks filed 10/22/26 in response to the Office Action of 4/22/26 are acknowledged and have been entered.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 14, 17, 23, 28, 29, 31, 33, 34, 37, 39, 41, 44, 51, and 57-59 are pending.
Claims 1, 6, 23, 31, and 33 have been amended by Applicant.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 14, 17, 23, 28, 29, 31, 33, 34, 37, 39, 41, 44, 51, and 57-59 are currently under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of an apparent typographical issue. The fourth line of claim 1 recites “…is and anti-MASP antibody…”, which should be amended to recite “…is an anti-MASP antibody….” Proper correction is required.
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 14, 17, 18, 22, 23, 28, 29, 31, 33, 34, 37, 39, 41, 44, 51, and 57 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cummings et al (US 2018/0140697 A1; 5/24/18).
Cummings et al teaches a method of treating a subject suffering from paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria (PNH) comprising administering to the subject an amount of a MASP-3 inhibitor agent that is an anti-MASP-3 monoclonal antibody sufficient to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation ([0041], in particular). Cummings et al further teaches subjects suffering from PNH include those with a sub-optimal response to the C5 inhibitor eculizumab: substantial residual anemia due to extravascular hemolysis mediated by LEA-2 ([0279], in particular). Cummings et al further teaches said method wherein the subject is further administered a C5 inhibitor ([0041], in particular). Cummings et al further teaches subjects suffering from PNH include those treated with the C5 inhibitor eculizumab, where a third of those reach a hemoglobin value of about 11 g/dL (including two-thirds have a hemoglobin value significantly less than 11 g/dL), and the remaining patients on eculizumab continue to exhibit the sub-optimal response to the C5 inhibitor eculizumab of moderate to severe anemia ([0253], in particular). Cummings et al further teaches a method of inhibiting adverse effects of LEA-1 by administering the MASP-3 inhibitor antibody sufficient to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation to a subject suffering from PNH, C3 glomerulopathy (C3G), or IgA nephropathy (a type of ICGN) ([0493] and [0496], in particular). Cummings et al further teaches the MASP-3 inhibitor is administered subcutaneously or intravenously ([0634], in particular) every two to four weeks ([0639], in particular) and at dosages such as 1-10 mg/kg ([0614], in particular). Cummings et al further teaches the MASP-3 inhibitor is administered as an aqueous solution ([0619]-[0620], in particular). At [0516], Cummings et al further teaches the MASP-3 inhibitor comprising a VH comprising an HCDR1 having SEQ ID NO:84 (same as instant SEQ ID NO:3), an HCDR2 having SEQ ID NO: 86 (same as instant SEQ ID NO:4) or 275 (same as instant SEQ ID NO:11), and an HCDR3 having SEQ ID NO:88 (same as instant SEQ ID NO:5); and a VH comprising a LCDR1 having SEQ ID NO:142 (same as instant SEQ ID NO:6) or 258 (same as instant SEQ ID NO:14), an LCDR2 having SEQ ID NO:144 (same as instant SEQ ID NO:7), and a LCDR3 having SEQ ID NO:161 (same as instant SEQ ID NO:8). Cummings et al further teaches the MASP-3 inhibitor comprises a VH comprising SEQ ID NO:30 and a VL comprising SEQ ID NO:45 ([0902]-[0903], in particular). SEQ ID NO:30 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1 and comprises the CDRs of instant SEQ ID NOs:3-5. SEQ ID NO:45 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:2 and comprises the CDRs of instant SEQ ID NOs:6-8. Cummings et al further teaches subjects include humans ([0175], in particular).
Cummings et al does not specifically demonstrate the methods of Cummings et al of administering MASP-3 inhibitor antibody sufficient to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation to a subject suffering from PNH, C3 glomerulopathy (C3G), or IgA nephropathy (a type of ICGN) wherein the subject is human. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the methods of Cummings et al of comprising administering an aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising just any MASP-3 inhibitor antibody of Cummings et al at just any doses, dosing schedules, and administration routes encompassed by Cummings et al sufficient to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation (as taught by Cummings et al), optionally in combination with a C5 inhibitor (as taught by Cummings et al), to just any subject suffering from PNH, C3 glomerulopathy (C3G), or IgA nephropathy (a type of ICGN) wherein the subject is human because Cummings et al teaches therapeutically treating subjects with suffering from PNH, C3 glomerulopathy (C3G), or IgA nephropathy (a type of ICGN) by administering an MASP-3 inhibitor antibody of Cummings et al at doses, dosing schedules, and administration routes of Cummings et al sufficient to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation, optionally in combination with a C5 inhibitor, and that subjects include human subjects. This is an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference to arrive at the claimed invention See MPEP 2143. In the instant case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Further, it is obvious to perform the method of Cummings et al at wherein administered amounts and administration intervals of MASP-3 inhibitor antibody of Cummings et al are optimized to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation because administered amounts and administration intervals of MASP-3 inhibitor antibody are clearly result-effective variables wherein the result is inhibiting alternative pathway complement activation.
Response to Arguments
In the Reply of 10/22/26, Applicant argues Cummings et al do not teach or suggest a method of administering MASP-3 inhibitor antibody sufficient to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation by using recited administration interval in combination with a recited dosage with a reasonable expectation of success.
The amendments to the claims and the arguments found in the Reply of 10/22/26 have been carefully considered, but are not deemed persuasive. The examiner maintains one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the methods of Cummings et al of comprising administering an aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising just any MASP-3 inhibitor antibody of Cummings et al at doses, dosing schedules, and administration routes encompassed by Cummings et al sufficient to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation (as taught by Cummings et al), optionally in combination with a C5 inhibitor (as taught by Cummings et al), to just any subject suffering from PNH, C3 glomerulopathy (C3G), or IgA nephropathy (a type of ICGN) wherein the subject is human because Cummings et al teaches therapeutically treating subjects with suffering from PNH, C3 glomerulopathy (C3G), or IgA nephropathy (a type of ICGN) by administering an MASP-3 inhibitor antibody of Cummings et al at doses, dosing schedules, and administration routes that overlap with those of Cummings et al sufficient to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation, optionally in combination with a C5 inhibitor, and that subjects include human subjects. This is an example of some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference to arrive at the claimed invention See MPEP 2143. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Further, it is obvious to perform the method of Cummings et al at wherein administered amounts and administration intervals of MASP-3 inhibitor antibody of Cummings et al are optimized to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation because administered amounts and administration intervals of MASP-3 inhibitor antibody are clearly result-effective variables wherein the result is inhibiting alternative pathway complement activation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 14, 17, 18, 22, 23, 28, 29, 31, 33, 34, 37, 39, 41, 44, 51, and 57-59 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings et al (US 2018/0140697 A1; 5/24/18) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 14, 17, 18, 22, 23, 28, 29, 31, 33, 34, 37, 39, 41, 44, 51, and 57 above, and further in view of Cosenza et al (WO 2012/076670 A2; 6/14/12).
Teachings of Cummings et al are discussed above.
Cummings et al does not specifically teach the administered aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody of Cummings et al is in an aqueous solution comprising a buffer system having a pH of 6.05+/-5%, 20+/-5% mM histidine, 100+/-5% mg/mL sucrose, and 0.035+/-5% polysorbate 80 (w/v) or that the antibody is include at a concentration of 110 mg/mL+/-5%. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Cosenza et al.
Cosenza et al teaches aqueous pharmaceutical compositions comprising a therapeutic antibody, a buffer system having a pH of 5-7, sucrose as a stabilizer, histidine as a buffering agent, and polysorbate 80 as a surfactant (lines 4-12 on page 8, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform methods rendered obvious by Cummings et al wherein the administered aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody of Cummings et al is in an aqueous solution comprising a buffer system having a pH of 5-7 and histidine, sucrose, and polysorbate 80 at varying concentrations, including those recited by the instant claims, in order to optimize the methods rendered obvious by Cummings et al because Cosenza et al teaches aqueous pharmaceutical compositions comprising a therapeutic antibody, a buffer system having a pH of 5-7, sucrose as a stabilizer, histidine as a buffering agent, and polysorbate 80 as a surfactant (lines 4-12 on page 8, in particular). Concentrations of sucrose, histidine, and polysorbate 80 in the pharmaceutical compositions are “result effective” variables that achieve recognized results of sucrose stabilizing, histidine buffering, and polysorbate 80 providing surfactant activity.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform said methods wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises 110 mg/mL of the therapeutic antibody when administered to a 75 kg subject at dosages such as 1-10 mg/kg of Cummings et al because 1-10 mg/kg can readily be administered to a 75 kg subject by administering about 0.68-6.8 mL of such a composition.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
In the Reply of 10/22/26, Applicant repeats arguments addressed above. Applicant further indicates cited references do not teach or suggest a formulation of the combined method would have a reasonable expectation of success.
The amendments to the claims and arguments found in the Reply of 10/22/26 have been carefully considered, but are not deemed persuasive. In regards to the indication cited references do not teach or suggest a formulation of the combined references would have a reasonable expectation of success, the formulations of the combined references predictably inhibit MAPS-3 and because Cummings et al teaches MASP-3 inhibitor antibody of Cummings et al inhibits MASP-3.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 14, 17, 23, 28, 29, 31, 33, 34, 37, 39, 41, 44, 45, 50, 51, and 57 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 67-76 of copending Application No. 18/523203 in view of Cummings et al (US 2018/0140697 A1; 5/24/18).
Both the instant claims and the copending claims are drawn to methods of administering pharmaceutical compositions comprising the same antibodies to subjects with the same disorders. However, copending claims do not specifically specify administering the MASP-3 inhibitor antibody sufficient to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation to a subject suffering from PNH, C3 glomerulopathy (C3G), or IgA nephropathy (a type of ICGN) wherein the subject is human. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform the copending method comprising administering an aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising just any MASP-3 inhibitor antibody of the copending claims at doses, dosing schedules, and administration routes of Cummings et al sufficient to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation (as taught by Cummings et al), optionally in combination with a C5 inhibitor (as taught by Cummings et al), to just any subject suffering from PNH, C3 glomerulopathy (C3G), or IgA nephropathy (a type of ICGN) wherein the subject is human because Cummings et al teaches therapeutically treating subjects with suffering from PNH, C3 glomerulopathy (C3G), or IgA nephropathy (a type of ICGN) by administering an MASP-3 inhibitor antibody of Cummings et al at doses, dosing schedules, and administration routes of Cummings et al sufficient to inhibit alternative pathway complement activation, optionally in combination with a C5 inhibitor, and that subjects include human subjects.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 14, 17, 23, 28, 29, 31, 33, 34, 37, 39, 41, 44, 45, 50, 51, and 57 -59 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 67-76 of copending Application No. 18/523203 in view of Cummings et al (US 2018/0140697 A1; 5/24/18), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 14, 17, 23, 28, 29, 31, 33, 34, 37, 39, 41, 44, 45, 50, 51, and 57, and in further view of Cosenza et al (WO 2012/076670 A2; 6/14/12).
Teachings of copending claims in view of Cummings et al are discussed above.
Copending claims and Cummings et al do not specifically teach the administered aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody of the copending claims (or Cummings et al) is in an aqueous solution comprising a buffer system having a pH of 6.05+/-5%, 20+/-5% mM histidine, 100+/-5% mg/mL sucrose, and 0.035+/-5% polysorbate 80 (w/v) or that the antibody is include at a concentration of 110 mg/mL+/-5%. However, these deficiencies are made up in the teachings of Cosenza et al.
Cosenza et al teaches aqueous pharmaceutical compositions comprising a therapeutic antibody, a buffer system having a pH of 5-7, sucrose as a stabilizer, histidine as a buffering agent, and polysorbate 80 as a surfactant (lines 4-12 on page 8, in particular).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform methods rendered obvious by the copending claims in view of Cummings et al wherein the administered aqueous pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody of the copending claims (and Cummings et al) is in an aqueous solution comprising a buffer system having a pH of 5-7 and histidine, sucrose, and polysorbate 80 at varying concentrations, including those recited by the instant claims, in order to optimize the methods rendered obvious by the copending claims in view of Cummings et al because Cosenza et al teaches aqueous pharmaceutical compositions comprising a therapeutic antibody, a buffer system having a pH of 5-7, sucrose as a stabilizer, histidine as a buffering agent, and polysorbate 80 as a surfactant (lines 4-12 on page 8, in particular). Concentrations of sucrose, histidine, and polysorbate 80 in the pharmaceutical compositions are “result effective” variables that achieve recognized results of sucrose stabilizing, histidine buffering, and polysorbate 80 providing surfactant activity.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to perform said methods wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises 110 mg/mL of the therapeutic antibody when administered to a 75 kg subject at dosages such as 1-10 mg/kg of Cummings et al because 1-10 mg/kg can readily be administered to a 75 kg subject by administering about 0.68-6.8 mL of such a composition.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN E AEDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642