DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 22 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 April 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over: claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,559,468; and claims 1-7 of 11,844,750. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are merely broader than the patent claims. See, e.g., In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Capone (2014/0228762).
In re claim 1, Capone discloses a compounder system for reconstituting, mixing, and delivering a drug from a vial to a receiving container, comprising:
a cartridge (10) having:
a plurality of controllable fluid pathways (channel of the manifold which connect 126, 272, 270 and the pump together) fluidly coupled to at least one diluent port (126), a waste port (272) and a receiving container port (270);
a syringe pump (104, 200); and
a plurality of valves (114, 300) operable to selectively couple the syringe pump to one or more of the plurality of controllable fluid pathways.
In re claim 2, Capone discloses the compounder system of claim 1, further comprising a common housing for the syringe pump and at least one syringe valve, the common housing comprising a fluid pathway between the syringe pump and the at least one syringe valve (fig.6).
In re claim 3, Capone discloses the compounder system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of valves comprises at least one rotary valve (valves 300, fig.6).
In re claim 4, Capone discloses the compounder system of claim 3, further comprising a pump head assembly (102), wherein each rotary valve comprises an external valve handle (304).
In re claim 6, Capone discloses the compounder system of claim 3, wherein the at least one rotary valve comprises a stopcock rotary valve includes a plurality of openings disposed around a perimeter of a cylindrical internal valve member that is rotatable by a valve handle (fig.6, paras. 120-123).
In re claim 7, Capone discloses the compounder system of claim 6, wherein the rotating valve handle rotates positions of the openings relative to one or more of the plurality of controllable fluid pathways to open and close the stopcock rotary valve (fig.6, paras.120-123).
In re claim 8, Capone discloses the compounder system of claim 1, wherein the syringe pump and the plurality of valves consist of a syringe pump/syringe valve apparatus (22) comprising:
a housing (body shown best in figs.2-8) having a syringe pump cylinder (104) with a syringe pump plunger (200);
a plurality of syringe valve cylinders (114); and
a fluid flow pathway (path between, shown in at least fig.6) between the syringe pump cylinder and the plurality of syringe valve cylinders.
In re claim 15, Capone discloses the compounder system of Claim 8, wherein the fluid flow pathway is coupled to each of the syringe valve cylinders by a corresponding coupling cylinder (122, 124, 126) in the housing (figs.2-6).
In re claim 16, Capone discloses the compounder system of Claim 15, wherein each of the coupling cylinders extends from a corresponding one of the plurality of syringe valve cylinders in a first direction (figs.2-6).
In re claim 17, Capone discloses the compounder system of Claim 16, wherein the port of each of the syringe valve cylinders extends from that syringe valve cylinder in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction (figs.2-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, and 9-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art of record, alone or in combination, discloses or fairly suggests:
“each of the syringe valve cylinders comprises a port and a syringe plunger actuatable to open and close the port”, in the combination as claimed. Capone discloses a rotary valve within a cylinder. This rotary valve cannot be reasonably construed to be a “syringe plunger” as a syringe plunger requires reciprocation or “plunging” movement, which Capone is incapable of performing in its intended use; or
“the pump head assembly is configured to actuate a syringe and to rotate one or more external valve handles to control motion of the one or more fluids through the controllable fluid pathways” in the combination as claimed.
Conclusion
/Timothy P. Kelly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753