DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 Ln 9, please amend to --cause [[an]] one of the captured images
Claim 1 Ln 11, please amend to --control airflow onto the at least a portion of the vehicle window--.
Claim 2 Ln 3-4, please amend to --when executed by the at least one processor--.
Claim 2 Ln 4, please amend to --clear the at least a portion of the vehicle window--.
Claim 3 Ln 2, please amend to --the estimated amount of time--.
Claim 4 Ln 2-3, please amend to --when executed by the at least one processor--.
Claim 5 Ln 2-3, please amend to --wherein the vehicle window comprises [[the]] a windshield the at least a portion of the vehicle window comprises [[the]] an entirety of the windshield--. This is to align with claim 1 Ln 3-5.
Claim 6 Ln 3, please amend to --which the airflow can be provided and directed to the at least a portion of the vehicle window--.
Claim 7 Ln 1, please amend to --wherein the at least one vent--.
Claim 7 Ln 4, please amend to --vent to the at least a portion of the vehicle window--.
Claim 8 Ln 3-4, please amend to --when executed by the at least one processor--.
Claim 8 Ln 4, please amend to --adjust [[the]] a temperature--.
Claim 9 Ln 2-4, please amend to -- wherein the vehicle window comprises at least one of a rear window or a side window
Claim 10, please amend to -- A method for monitoring snow or ice accumulation on a vehicle window by a user with a mobile device comprising:
directing a camera toward a portion of a vehicle window to capture an image of the portion of the vehicle window;
providing the image to [[a]] the mobile device; and
directing [[the]] an airflow to the the vehicle window to clear the the vehicle window of snow or ice--.
Claim 11 Ln 2-3, please amend to --of [[the]] a velocity of airflow from a blower, [[the]] a direction of airflow through a vent coupled with the blower, or controlling [[the]] a temperature of--.
Claim 12 Ln 4-5, please amend to --to clear the the snow or ice [[accumulation]] and--.
Claims 13, 14 and 17 appear to have been intended to be dependent upon claim 12 due to their lack of antecedent basis of at least the processor.
Claim 13 Ln 1, please amend to --The method set forth in claim [[10]] 12 wherein--.
Claim 13 Ln 3, please amend to --an amount of the snow or ice--.
Claim 14, please amend to --The method set forth in claim [[10]] 12 further comprising generating a signal when [[the]] computer instructions [[that]], when executed by the at least one processor, determine that the vehicle window has been cleared of the snow or ice and
providing the signal to [[a]] the mobile device [[user]]--.
Claim 15 Ln 1, please amend to --wherein a user of the mobile device [[user]] provides--.
Claim 17 Ln 1, please amend to -- The method set forth in claim [[10]] wherein a user of the mobile device [[user]] selects--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG RU DE 102023000995 A1, hereinafter Zhang, in view of Hedman; Greg et al. US 11001231 B1, hereinafter Hedman. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (vehicle heating control systems); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (cleaning of windows). MPEP2141.01(a) I. A machine translation for Zhang is provided and used throughout for reference callouts
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses (Fig. 1) a system for monitoring snow or ice accumulation on a vehicle window comprising:
a camera (60, “icing detection device” [0034], “camera” [0035]) adapted to be directed toward a vehicle window (20) and adapted to view at least a portion of the vehicle window, and adapted to capture images of the vehicle window [0034-0035];
a blower (20) adapted to blow air onto the vehicle window ([0032] states the “de-icing device” includes the vehicle air conditioning system which fundamentally comprises a blower, vents and louvres);
a non-transitory, computer-readable medium (30) comprising computer instructions that, when executed by at least one processor ([0025] describes (30) as a “specific control unit… can also be integrated into the central control unit of the vehicle”, which would be understood to a POSITA as a computer/processor/computer instructions), are adapted to
b) control airflow onto at least a portion of the vehicle window [0036].
Zhang fails to explicitly state that the system is further adapted to a) cause one of the captured images to be displayed on a mobile device. Instead, Zhang discloses a mobile device (50) capable of sending signals to the vehicle [0030].
Hedman discloses (Fig. 1-3) a system for monitoring snow or ice accumulation on a vehicle window comprising:
a camera ((102/112), Col 4 Ln 1-19) adapted to be directed toward a vehicle window (60a-c) and adapted to view at least a portion of the vehicle window, and adapted to capture images of the vehicle window (Col 4 Ln 27-48);
a blower (50) adapted to blow air onto the vehicle window (Col 18 Ln 64 - Col 19 Ln 3 which fundamentally comprises a blower, vents and louvres);
a non-transitory, computer-readable medium (108) comprising computer instructions (150-160) that, when executed by at least one processor (106), are adapted to
a) cause one of the captured images to be displayed on a mobile device ((110/122), Col 6 Ln 30-33 states data may be sent to and/or received from (110/122); Col 9 Ln 46-50 states that data sent includes video data/images; Col 10 Ln 50-53 states that video/images are sent) for the purpose of enabling the driver to take corrective action (Col 26 Ln 61-65, Col 30 Ln 1-21);
b) control airflow onto at least a portion of the vehicle window (Col 18 Ln 64-Col 19 Ln 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify Zhang, by causing one of the captured images to be displayed on the mobile device, as taught by Hedman, for the purpose of enabling the driver to take corrective action.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses (Fig. 1) the computer instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, are further adapted to calculate an estimated amount of time necessary to clear at least a portion of the vehicle window of snow or ice accumulation [0036].
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses (Fig. 1) the estimated of time necessary to clear the vehicle window of snow and ice is at least partly based on at least one of a coverage area of the snow or ice on the vehicle window, an outside temperature, a weather report, or a weather forecast ([0036] states ice-window coverage, [0039] states temperature and/or weather reports/forecast),
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses (Fig. 1) the vehicle window (10) comprises a windshield (“front… window of vehicle” [0001]) and the at least a portion of the vehicle window comprises an entirety of the windshield [0034].
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses (Fig. 1) the system further comprises at least one vent coupled to the blower through which airflow can be provided and directed to at least a portion of the vehicle window ([0032] states the “de-icing device” includes the vehicle air conditioning system which fundamentally comprises a blower, vents and louvres; Hedman: Col 18 Ln 66-Col 19 Ln 3).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses (Fig. 1) at least one vent comprises moveable louvres, and wherein the louvres can be moved to direct the airflow through the at least one vent to at least a portion of the vehicle window ([0032] states the “de-icing device” includes the vehicle air conditioning system which fundamentally comprises a blower, vents and louvres; Hedman: Col 18 Ln 66-Col 19 Ln 3).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses (Fig. 1) the system further comprising a heating element coupled with the blower and the computer instructions that, when executed by at least one processor are further adapted to control the heating element to adjust the temperature of the airflow to the blower ([0032] states that “the vehicle's air conditioning system can heat the front/rear window 10 to perform defrosting”, [0033] states that the controller (30) is adapted to control the heating).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses (Fig. 1) the vehicle window comprises at least one of a rear window or a side window (“ rear window of vehicle” [0001]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses (Fig. 1) a method for monitoring snow or ice accumulation on a vehicle window by a user with a mobile device (50) comprising:
directing a camera (60) toward a portion of a vehicle window (20) to capture an image of the portion of the vehicle window [0034-0035];
directing an airflow to the portion of the vehicle window to clear the portion of the vehicle window of snow or ice [0036].
Zhang fails to explicitly state that the method further comprises providing the image to [[a]] the mobile device. Instead, Zhang discloses a mobile device (50) capable of sending signals to the vehicle [0030].
Hedman discloses (Fig. 1-3) a method for monitoring snow or ice accumulation on a vehicle window by a user with a mobile device (110/122)) comprising:
directing a camera (102/112) toward a portion of a vehicle window (60a-c) to capture an image of the portion of the vehicle window (Col 4 Ln 27-48);
providing the image to the mobile device (Col 6 Ln 30-33 states data may be sent to and/or received from (110/122); Col 9 Ln 46-50 states that data sent includes video data/images; Col 10 Ln 50-53 states that video/images are sent) for the purpose of enabling the driver to take corrective action (Col 26 Ln 61-65, Col 30 Ln 1-21);
directing an airflow to the portion of the vehicle window to clear the portion of the vehicle window of snow or ice (Col 18 Ln 64-Col 19 Ln 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify Zhang, by providing the image to the mobile device, as taught by Hedman, for the purpose of enabling the driver to take corrective action.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses (Fig. 1) the method further comprising controlling the airflow by controlling at least one of the velocity of airflow from a blower, the direction of airflow through a vent coupled with the blower, or controlling the temperature of the airflow from a heating element coupled with the blower ([0032] states that “the vehicle's air conditioning system can heat the front/rear window 10 to perform defrosting”, [0033] states that the controller (30) is adapted to control the heating by at least increasing the fan speed (starting the hvac), controlling the temperature (controlling the hvac to provide heat), and the direction of airflow (selecting the vents/heating device associated with the front versus the rear window))
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses (Fig. 1) the method further comprising providing a non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising computer instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, calculates an estimated amount of time necessary to clear at least a portion of the vehicle window of snow or ice accumulation [0036] and
Hedman further discloses providing a signal to the mobile device representing the estimated amount of time (Col 36 Ln 19-37).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses (Fig. 1) the at least one processor receives at least one signal and where in the at least one signal represents at least one of an amount of snow or ice on the vehicle, an outside temperature, a weather report or a weather forecast [0036, 0039].
Regarding claim 14, Hedman further discloses the method further comprising generating a signal when computer instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, determine that the vehicle window has been cleared of the snow or ice and providing the signal to the mobile device (Col 36 Ln 19-37).
Regarding claim 16, Hedman further discloses the airflow is directed by moving louvres (Col 18 Ln 66-Col 19 Ln 3).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Hedman, in further view of Farooq; Iskander et al. US 20160368345 A1, hereinafter Farooq. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (vehicle heating control systems); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (ensuring the vehicle is prepared for the user at a preset time). MPEP2141.01(a) I.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1except fails to explicitly state that the computer instructions that, when executed by at least one processor are further adapted to provide a signal to the vehicle to turn off a vehicle engine after detecting that the vehicle window has been cleared of snow or ice. Instead, Zhang discloses determining the amount of snow or ice on the window, determining an amount of time the blower/HVAC is required to run to clear the snow and ice before a preset time, starting the vehicle, starting the blower/HVAC.
Farooq discloses (Fig. 1, 2) a system for monitoring a vehicle comprising:
a sensor (24) adapted to capture a condition of the vehicle [0041];
a blower (30) adapted to blow air onto the vehicle window ([0033-0034] states (30) is a “climate control system” which has been interpreted as the vehicle air conditioning system which fundamentally comprises a blower/air handler);
a non-transitory, computer-readable medium (12) comprising computer instructions (14) that, when executed by at least one processor (10/18), are adapted to
a) determine the condition of the vehicle (determine temperature at step (70));
b) initiate climate control program (step 80) an amount of time before a preset time [0038-0039];
c) start the vehicle/engine (28, step 74);
d) control airflow (by initiating (30);
e) operate the vehicle for the amount of time (step 84)
f) turn off the vehicle/engine (step 86) for the purpose of avoiding wastefulness in the event the vehicle owner did not return to the vehicle at the expected time or otherwise [0006].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify Zhang, by turning off the vehicle upon completion vehicle preparation, as taught by Farooq, for the purpose of avoiding wastefulness.
To further clarify the modification, the blower/climate controller and vehicle/engine of Zhang is turned off upon the completion of the amount of time required to prepare the vehicle for the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 14 except fails to explicitly state that a user of the mobile provides a user input to the mobile device to send a signal to the at least one processor to shut down a vehicle engine or batteries.
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the claim, and specifically does not show the claimed step of shutting down a vehicle engine. Although Zhang discloses a user and a mobile device, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Zhang to incorporate the details of a user of the mobile provides a user input to the mobile device to send a signal to the at least one processor to shut down a vehicle engine or batteries, along with the other claimed components of the method. Therefore, when viewed as a whole and for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the claim.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 10 except fails to explicitly state that a user of the mobile device selects an area of the vehicle window to be cleared and provides a user input to the mobile device to send a signal to the at least one processor representing the area of the vehicle window to be cleared.
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the claim, and specifically does not show the claimed step of selecting an area of the window to be cleared. Although Zhang discloses a user, a mobile device and clearing a vehicle window, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Zhang to incorporate the details of a user of the mobile device selects an area of the vehicle window to be cleared and provides a user input to the mobile device to send a signal to the at least one processor representing the area of the vehicle window to be cleared., along with the other claimed components of the method. Therefore, when viewed as a whole and for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the claim.
Relevant Art
The following is a listing of relevant art:
US 20220105781 A1, US 20240017591 A1, US 20190061468 A1, US 20130208120 A1, US 20170253201 A1, US 20210094386 A1 disclose climate control systems for clearing ice from vehicle windows.
Contact Information
/MATTHEW WIBLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745