DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-19 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Pat. Pub. No. EP 1 588 602 B1 to Phillips in view of Japanese Pat. Pub. No. JP 2017-99315 A to Fukumoto et al. (hereinafter Fukumoto).
Regarding claim 1, Phillips discloses an all-electric (Para. [0029]) turf vehicle (riding mower 100) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0029], [0034]), said vehicle (riding mower 100) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0029], [0034]) comprising:
a chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]);
a plurality of ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102 and rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) operatively connected to the chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]), wherein at least one of the ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102 and rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) is a steerable wheel (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]);
a plurality of electric wheel drive and tractions motors (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]), wherein each electric wheel drive and tractions motor (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) is operatively connected to a respective one of the plurality of ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102 and rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) and is structured and operable to deliver motive power to the respective ground engaging wheel (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]);
a plurality of turf cutting units (cutting units 112, 113, which can be reel units) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0034]-[0035]); and
an operator station (operator module 126) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]), the operator stations (operator module 126) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]) comprising:
a seat (adjustable seat 129) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]) in which a vehicle operator can be seated.
However, Phillips does not expressly disclose a control and support arm structured and operable to be pivotally movable so that the control and support arm can be positioned to not obstruct a line of sight to an outer cutting unit. Nevertheless, Fukumoto in a related field teaches a control and support arm (control arm 43) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-23; p. 7, line 49 to p. 8, line 10) structured and operable to be pivotally movable (Fig. 6; P. 5, lines 13-23; p. 7, line 49 to p. 8, line 10) so that the control and support arm (control arm 43) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-23; p. 7, line 49 to p. 8, line 10) can be positioned to not obstruct a line of sight to an outer cutting unit (see dashed representation of 43 in Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips with the control and support arm taught in Fukumoto with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a convenient control center for the vehicle operator to operate vehicle systems while also allowing the control arm to be pivoted up and out of the way to remove sight obstructions or to allow ease of access to the operator’s seat. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips with the control and support arm taught in Fukumoto with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, Phillips in view of Fukumoto teaches the vehicle of Claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Fukumoto teaches that the operator station further comprises a pivoting control arm mounting assembly (see Annotated Fig. 6 of Fukumoto infra) to which the control and support arm (control arm 43) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-23; p. 7, line 49 to p. 8, line 10) is mounted, the pivoting control arm mounting assembly (see Annotated Fig. 6 of Fukumoto infra) comprising:
a mounting bracket (support/seat bracket 45) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-15) mounted to the vehicle in close proximity to the seat (driver’s seat 40) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-23); and
an arm mounting assembly (see Annotated Fig. 6 of Fukumoto infra) pivotally connected to the mounting bracket (support/seat bracket 45) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-15) such that the control and support arm (control arm 43) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-23; p. 7, line 49 to p. 8, line 10) can be positioned to not obstruct a line of sight to the outer cutting unit (e.g., by pivoting the arm up and back, as shown by the dashed line in Fig. 6) (Fig. 6; P. 5, lines 13-23; p.7, line 49 to p. 8, line 10).
[AltContent: textbox (Pivoting Arm
Mounting
Assembly)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 6 of Fukumoto.
Regarding claim 11, Phillips discloses an all-electric (Para. [0029]) turf mower (riding mower 100) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0029], [0034]), said mower (riding mower 100) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0029], [0034]) comprising:
a chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]);
a plurality of front ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) operatively connected to the chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]), and at least one steerable rear ground engaging wheel (rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) operatively connected to the chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]);
a plurality of electric front wheel drive and tractions motor (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027])s, wherein each front wheel drive and tractions motor (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) is operatively connected to a respective one of the plurality of front ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) and is structured and operable to independently deliver motive power to the respective front ground engaging wheel (front wheels 102, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]);
an electric rear wheel drive and traction motor (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) operatively connected to the at least one steerable rear ground engaging wheel (rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) and is structured and operable to independently deliver motive power to the at least one rear ground engaging wheel (rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]);
a plurality of reel cutting units (cutting units 112, 113, which can be reel units) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0034]-[0035]) operatively connected to the chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]); and
an operator station (operator module 126) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]), the operator stations (operator module 126) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]) comprising:
a seat (adjustable seat 129) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]) in which a mower operator can be seated, the seat (adjustable seat 129) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]) mounted to the mower via a seat pedestal (structural tubing network) (Para. [0033]).
However, Phillips does not expressly disclose:
a pivoting control arm mounting assembly adjustably connected to the seat pedestal; and
a control and support arm mounted to pivoting control arm mounting assembly, wherein the pivoting control arm mounting assembly comprises:
a mounting bracket mounted to the seat pedestal; and
an arm mounting assembly pivotally connected to the mounting bracket such that the control and support arm can be positioned to not obstruct a line of sight of a mower operator.
Nevertheless, Fukumoto in a related field teaches:
a pivoting control arm mounting assembly (see Annotated Fig. 6 of Fukumoto supra) adjustably connected to the seat pedestal (pedestal of support/seat bracket 45) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-15); and
a control and support arm (control arm 43) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-23; p. 7, line 49 to p. 8, line 10) mounted to pivoting control arm mounting assembly (see Annotated Fig. 6 of Fukumoto supra), wherein the pivoting control arm mounting assembly (see Annotated Fig. 6 of Fukumoto supra) comprises:
a mounting bracket (support/seat bracket 45) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-15) mounted to the seat pedestal (pedestal of support/seat bracket 45) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-15); and
an arm mounting assembly (see Annotated Fig. 6 of Fukumoto supra) pivotally connected to the mounting bracket (support/seat bracket 45) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-15) such that the control and support arm (control arm 43) (Figs. 5-6; P. 5, lines 13-23; p. 7, line 49 to p. 8, line 10) can be positioned to not obstruct a line of sight of a mower operator (see dashed representation of 43 in Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips with the control and support arm taught in Fukumoto with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a convenient control center for the vehicle operator to operate vehicle systems while also allowing the control arm to be pivoted up and out of the way to remove sight obstructions or to allow ease of access to the operator’s seat. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips with the control and support arm taught in Fukumoto with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2012/0159916 to Ishii et al. (hereinafter Ishii) and further in view of Canadian Pat. Pub. No. CA 1115404 A to Matthews et al. (hereinafter Matthews).
Regarding claim 5, Phillips discloses an all-electric (Para. [0029]) turf vehicle (riding mower 100) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0029], [0034]), said vehicle (riding mower 100) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0029], [0034]) comprising:
a chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]);
a plurality of ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102 and rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) operatively connected to the chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]), wherein at least one of the ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102 and rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) is a steerable wheel (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]);
a plurality of electric wheel drive and tractions motors (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]), wherein each electric wheel drive and tractions motor (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) is operatively connected to a respective one of the plurality of ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102 and rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) and is structured and operable to deliver motive power to the respective ground engaging wheel (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]);
a plurality of turf cutting units (cutting units 112, 113, which can be reel units) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0034]-[0035]); and
an operator station (operator module 126) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]) comprising a seat (adjustable seat 129) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]) in which a vehicle operator can be seated.
However, Phillips does not expressly disclose:
a component reservoir located beneath the seat, the component reservoir structured and operable to house one or more electronic component of the vehicle; and
a component reservoir cover structured and operable to cover the component reservoir and the one or more electronic component housed therein, wherein the component reservoir cover is hingedly connected to the vehicle to allow access to the one or more electronic component of the vehicle.
Nevertheless, Ishii teaches:
a component reservoir (reservoir containing controller 30 and/or ECU 424) (Figs. 1-2, 51-52; Paras. [0118]-[0120]) located beneath the seat (seat 14) (Figs. 1-2, ; Paras. [0118]-[0120]), the component reservoir (reservoir containing controller 30 and/or ECU 424) (Figs. 1-2, 51-52; Paras. [0118]-[0120]) structured and operable to house one or more electronic component (controller 30 and/or ECU 424) (Figs. 1-2, 51-52; Paras. [0118]-[0120]) of the vehicle (lawnmower 10) (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0116]-[0119]); and
a component reservoir cover (cover of ECU 424) (Figs. 1-2; 51-52; Para. [0086], [0326]) structured and operable to cover the component reservoir (reservoir containing controller 30 and/or ECU 424) (Figs. 1-2, 51-52; Paras. [0118]-[0120]) and the one or more electronic component (controller 30 and/or ECU 424) (Figs. 1-2, 51-52; Paras. [0118]-[0120]) housed therein to allow access to the one or more electronic component of the vehicle (lawnmower 10) (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0116]-[0119]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips with the component reservoir taught in Ishii with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide security for the electronic components of the vehicle and protect them from the elements expected to be encountered during mowing operations. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips with the component reservoir taught in Ishii with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Furthermore, while Ishii is silent regarding the exact manner of attachment of the component reservoir cover, Matthews teaches an electronic component reservoir cover that is hingedly connected to allow access to the one or more electronic components housed therein (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Col. 1, lines 1-5; col. 2, lines 14-29).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic component reservoir cover taught by Phillips in view of Ishii to be hingedly connected as taught in Matthews and connected by way of the hinge to the vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide compact housing while still providing easy access to electronic components, as taught in Matthews (Col. 2, lines 14-29). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic component reservoir cover taught by Phillips in view of Ishii to be hingedly connected as taught in Matthews and connected by way of the hinge to the vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 6, Phillips in view of Ishii and further in view of Matthews teaches the vehicle of Claim 5 (see above). Furthermore, Ishii teaches a vehicle further comprising a controller and electronics cabinet (cabinet/housing containing power supply unit 26, controller 28 or and/or controller 29) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0119]-[0120]) disposed rearward of the operator station (operator station comprising seat 14) (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0118]-[0120]), wherein the controller and electronics cabinet (cabinet/housing containing power supply unit 26, controller 28 or and/or controller 29) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0119]-[0120]) is structured and operable house one or more one or more electronic component (power supply unit 26, controller 28 or and/or controller 29) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0119]-[0120]) of the vehicle (lawnmower 10) (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0116]-[0119]).
Regarding claim 14, Phillips discloses an all-electric (Para. [0029]) turf mower (riding mower 100) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0029], [0034]), said mower (riding mower 100) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0029], [0034]):
a chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]);
a plurality of front ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) operatively connected to the chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]), and at least one steerable rear ground engaging wheel (rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) operatively connected to the chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]);
a plurality of electric front wheel drive and tractions motors (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]), wherein each front wheel drive and tractions motor (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) is operatively connected to a respective one of the plurality of front ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) and is structured and operable to independently deliver motive power to the respective front ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]);
an electric rear wheel drive and traction motor (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) operatively connected to the at least one steerable rear ground engaging wheel (rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) and is structured and operable to independently deliver motive power to the at least one rear ground engaging wheel (rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]);
a plurality of reel cutting units (cutting units 112, 113, which can be reel units) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0034]-[0035]) operatively connected to the chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]); and
an operator station (operator module 126) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]).
However, Phillips does not expressly disclose:
a component reservoir located beneath the seat, the component reservoir structured and operable to house one or more electronic component of the mower; and
a component reservoir cover structured and operable to cover the component reservoir and the one or more electronic component housed therein, wherein the component reservoir cover is hingedly connected to the mower to allow access to the one or more electronic component of the mower.
Nevertheless, Ishii teaches:
a component reservoir (reservoir containing controller 30 and/or ECU 424) (Figs. 1-2, 51-52; Paras. [0118]-[0120]) located beneath the seat (seat 14) (Figs. 1-2, ; Paras. [0118]-[0120]), the component reservoir (reservoir containing controller 30 and/or ECU 424) (Figs. 1-2, 51-52; Paras. [0118]-[0120]) structured and operable to house one or more electronic component (controller 30 and/or ECU 424) (Figs. 1-2, 51-52; Paras. [0118]-[0120]) of the mower (lawnmower 10) (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0116]-[0119]); and
a component reservoir cover (cover of ECU 424) (Figs. 1-2; 51-52; Para. [0086], [0326]) structured and operable to cover the component reservoir (reservoir containing controller 30 and/or ECU 424) (Figs. 1-2, 51-52; Paras. [0118]-[0120]) and the one or more electronic component (controller 30 and/or ECU 424) (Figs. 1-2, 51-52; Paras. [0118]-[0120]) housed therein to allow access to the one or more electronic component of the mower (lawnmower 10) (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0116]-[0119]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips with the component reservoir taught in Ishii with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide security for the electronic components of the vehicle and protect them from the elements expected to be encountered during mowing operations. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips with the component reservoir taught in Ishii with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Furthermore, while Ishii is silent regarding the exact manner of attachment of the component reservoir cover, Matthews teaches an electronic component reservoir cover that is hingedly connected to allow access to the one or more electronic components housed therein (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Col. 1, lines 1-5; col. 2, lines 14-29).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic component reservoir cover taught by Phillips in view of Ishii to be hingedly connected as taught in Matthews and connected by way of the hinge to the mower with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide compact housing while still providing easy access to electronic components, as taught in Matthews (Col. 2, lines 14-29). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic component reservoir cover taught by Phillips in view of Ishii to be hingedly connected as taught in Matthews and connected by way of the hinge to the mower with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 15, Phillips in view of Ishii and further in view of Matthews teaches the mower of Claim 14 (see above). Furthermore, Ishii teaches a mower further comprising a controller and electronics cabinet (cabinet/housing containing power supply unit 26, controller 28 or and/or controller 29) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0119]-[0120]) disposed rearward of the operator station (operator station comprising seat 14) (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0118]-[0120]), wherein the controller and electronics cabinet (cabinet/housing containing power supply unit 26, controller 28 or and/or controller 29) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0119]-[0120]) is structured and operable house one or more one or more electronic component (power supply unit 26, controller 28 or and/or controller 29) (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0119]-[0120]) of the mower (lawnmower 10) (Figs. 1-2; Para. [0116]-[0119]).
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips in view of Japanese Pat. Pub. No. JP 2017-184360 to Ito.
Regarding claim 7, Phillips discloses an all-electric (Para. [0029]) turf vehicle (riding mower 100) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0029], [0034]), said vehicle (riding mower 100) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0029], [0034]) comprising:
a chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]);
a plurality of ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102 and rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) operatively connected to the chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]), wherein at least one of the ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102 and rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) is a steerable wheel (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]);
a plurality of electric wheel drive and tractions motors (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]), wherein each electric wheel drive and tractions motor (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) is operatively connected to a respective one of the plurality of ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102 and rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) and is structured and operable to deliver motive power to the respective ground engaging wheel (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]);
a plurality of turf cutting units (cutting units 112, 113, which can be reel units) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0034]-[0035]);
an operator station (operator module 126) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]) comprising a seat (adjustable seat 129) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]) in which a vehicle operator can be seated; and
a battery bank (power supply 124) (Fig. 3; Para. [0029]) located rearward of the operator station (operator module 126) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]).
However, Phillips does not expressly disclose that the location of the battery bank is such that a center-of-gravity of the vehicle is approximately at a longitudinal center of the vehicle. Nevertheless, Ito teaches adjusting the location of a battery bank (battery pack 6) (Fig. 6; P. 4, lines 8-23). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips with the teaching from Ito to place the battery pack in a location such that a center-of-gravity of the vehicle is approximately at a longitudinal center of the vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success in order to optimize the balance of the vehicle and reduce the chances that a rollover, endo or wheelie might occur. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips with the teaching from Ito to place the battery pack in a location such that a center-of-gravity of the vehicle is approximately at a longitudinal center of the vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 16, Phillips discloses an all-electric (Para. [0029]) turf mower (riding mower 100) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0029], [0034]), said mower (riding mower 100) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0029], [0034]) comprising:
a chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]);
a plurality of front ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) operatively connected to the chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]), and at least one steerable rear ground engaging wheel (rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) operatively connected to the chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]);
a plurality of electric front wheel drive and tractions motors (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]), wherein each front wheel drive and tractions motor (Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) is operatively connected to a respective one of the plurality of front ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) and is structured and operable to independently deliver motive power to the respective front ground engaging wheels (front wheels 102, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]);
an electric rear wheel drive and traction motor (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) operatively connected to the at least one steerable rear ground engaging wheel (rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]) and is structured and operable to independently deliver motive power to the at least one rear ground engaging wheel (rear wheels 103, which may be powered and/or steerable) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0012]-[0014], [0019], [0024]-[0025], [0027]);
a plurality of reel cutting units (cutting units 112, 113, which can be reel units) (Fig. 3; Paras. [0034]-[0035]) operatively connected to the chassis (chassis 101) (Fig. 3; Para. [0019], [0021]);
an operator station (operator module 126) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]); and
a battery bank (power supply 124) (Fig. 3; Para. [0029]) located rearward of the operator station (operator module 126) (Fig. 3; Para. [0033]).
However, Phillips does not expressly disclose that the location of the battery bank is such that a center-of-gravity of the vehicle is approximately at a longitudinal center of the vehicle. Nevertheless, Ito teaches adjusting the location of a battery bank (battery pack 6) (Fig. 6; P. 4, lines 8-23). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips with the teaching from Ito to place the battery pack in a location such that a center-of-gravity of the vehicle is approximately at a longitudinal center of the vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success in order to optimize the balance of the vehicle and reduce the chances that a rollover, endo or wheelie might occur. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips with the teaching from Ito to place the battery pack in a location such that a center-of-gravity of the vehicle is approximately at a longitudinal center of the vehicle with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips in view of Ito, as applied to claims 7 and 16 above, and further in view of Chinese Pat. Pub. No. CN 105644375 A to Wang.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Phillips in view of Ito teaches the vehicle of Claim 7 and the mower of Claim 16, respectively (see above). However, neither Phillips nor Ito discloses or teaches a vehicle further comprising:
a battery charger controller housing disposed on an exterior outboard side of the vehicle; and
a battery charger controller disposed with the battery charger controller housing.
Nevertheless, Wang teaches a vehicle further comprising:
a battery charger controller housing (housing of charge controller 5) (see Fig. 1) disposed on an exterior outboard side of the vehicle (see Fig. 1); and
a battery charger controller (charge controller 5) (Fig. 1; P. 2, line 51 to p. 3, line 3) disposed with the battery charger controller housing (housing of charge controller 5) (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle disclosed in Phillips in view of Ito with the battery charger controller and housing disposed on an exterior outboard side of the vehicle, as taught in Wang with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 9-10, 12-13 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0245560 to Legault et al. relates to a hybrid power reel mower with a control arm. U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0151141 to Nebel et al. relates to an electric terrain working vehicle/lawnmower having a charging port on the exterior outboard side of the vehicle. Int’l. Pat. Pub. No. WO 2021/071655 to Holeton et al. relates to an electric riding lawnmower having a charging controller on a side of the vehicle.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671