DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 and 21-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rana (US 2024/0097726) in view of Chen et al (US 2021/0409047).
For claim 1, Rana teaches a device (Figure 1) comprising:
an antenna (104) configured to receive a plurality of radio frequency signals of a plurality of protocols (navigation and communication signals, [14]), the plurality of radio frequency signals associated with a plurality of frequency bands ([14]);
an amplifier (108);
a splitter electrically coupled to an output of the amplifier (110); and
the amplifier configured to provide at least temporally overlapping spectral content for the plurality of protocols via the splitter to a plurality of signal processors (first signal processor: 132-137; second signal processor: 122, 124-126 and 128), to identify symbols of the plurality of protocols embedded in the plurality of radio frequency signals ([27]),
Rana fails to teach:
a first inductor electrically coupled to the antenna;
a second inductor magnetically coupled with the first inductor and electrically coupled with the amplifier;
a notch filter electrically coupled between the first inductor and the second inductor;
wherein the amplifier is configured to amplify the plurality of radio frequency signals of the plurality of protocols conveyed to the amplifier via the first inductor and the second inductor,
wherein the notch filter has inductance and capacitance values selected to define a resonance at an interference frequency that interferes with amplification of the plurality of radio frequency signals, and
wherein the first inductor, the second inductor, and the notch filter are arranged in a tee-filter configuration that provides wideband input impedance matching for amplification of signals exceeding a threshold frequency outside the resonance, the threshold frequency being associated with a bandwidth of the plurality of radio frequency signals.
It is noted that Rana teaches an adjustable notch filter 106 between antenna 104 and amplifier 108 capable of removing an interfering signal at a selected frequency [15].
However, Chen teaches an adjustable notch filter (Figure 8A) wherein a frequency response can be tuned based on the state of switches S11, S12…S1N [119].
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Rana’s adjustable notch filter 106 using Chen’s adjustable notch filter (Figure 8A) for the advantage of strong harmonic rejection (Chen, [5]).
Furthermore, the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
The combination of Rana and Chen as cited above teaches:
a first inductor electrically coupled to the antenna (L1, Chen);
a second inductor magnetically coupled with the first inductor and electrically coupled with the amplifier (L2, Chen);
a notch filter electrically coupled between the first inductor and the second inductor (C3 and LS, Chen);
wherein the amplifier is configured to amplify the plurality of radio frequency signals of the plurality of protocols conveyed to the amplifier via the first inductor and the second inductor (as understood by the combination of references as cited above),
wherein the notch filter has inductance and capacitance values selected to define a resonance at an interference frequency that interferes with amplification of the plurality of radio frequency signals ([15], Chen), and
wherein the first inductor, the second inductor, and the notch filter are arranged in a tee-filter configuration (as understood by Chen’s Figure 8A) that provides wideband input impedance matching for amplification of signals exceeding a threshold frequency outside the resonance, the threshold frequency being associated with a bandwidth of the plurality of radio frequency signals ([15]-[16], Chen).
For claim 2, Rana in view of Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1 as cited above and further teaches:
the second inductor is directly coupled to a gate terminal of the amplifier (as understood by the combination of references as cited above).
For claim 8, Rana teaches a system (Figure 1) comprising:
a filter (106) coupled with the first node (between 104 and 106); and
an amplifier (108) to amplify a plurality of signals of a plurality of frequency bands that are temporally overlapping (navigation and communication signals, [14]) received from an antenna (104), each signal of the plurality of signals corresponding with at least one center frequency (inherent of RF signals, as understood by [15]-[16]) and provide the plurality of amplified signals via a splitter (110) to a plurality of signal processors (first signal processor: 132-137; second signal processor: 122, 124-126 and 128) to identify symbols embedded in the received signals ([27]),
wherein the filter has values selected to define a resonance at an interference frequency that interferes with amplification of the plurality of signals ([14]-[16]), and
Rana fails to teach:
a first inductor, having a first terminal and a second terminal;
a second inductor having a first terminal electrically coupled with the second terminal of the first inductor at a first node, the second inductor magnetically coupled with the first inductor;
an amplifier electrically coupled with a second terminal of the second inductor,
wherein the first inductor, the second inductor, and the filter are arranged in a tee- filter configuration that provides wideband input impedance matching for amplification of signals exceeding a threshold frequency outside the resonance, the threshold frequency being associated with a bandwidth of the plurality of signals.
It is noted that Rana teaches an adjustable notch filter 106 between antenna 104 and amplifier 108 capable of removing an interfering signal at a selected frequency [15].
However, Chen teaches an adjustable notch filter (Figure 8A) wherein a frequency response can be tuned based on the state of switches S11, S12…S1N [119].
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Rana’s adjustable notch filter 106 using Chen’s adjustable notch filter (Figure 8A) for the advantage of strong harmonic rejection (Chen, [5]).
Furthermore, the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
The combination of Rana and Chen as cited above teaches:
a first inductor (L1, Chen), having a first terminal (left terminal, i.e., input terminal) and a second terminal (right terminal, i.e., output terminal);
a second inductor (L2, Chen) having a first terminal (left terminal, i.e., input terminal) electrically coupled with the second terminal of the first inductor at a first node (as understood by the combination as cited above), the second inductor magnetically coupled with the first inductor (as understood by examination of Chen’s Figure 8A);
wherein the filter has inductance and capacitance values selected to define a resonance at an interference frequency that interferes with amplification of the plurality of radio frequency signals ([15], Chen), and
wherein the first inductor, the second inductor, and the notch filter are arranged in a tee-filter configuration (as understood by Chen’s Figure 8A) that provides wideband input impedance matching for amplification of signals exceeding a threshold frequency outside the resonance, the threshold frequency being associated with a bandwidth of the plurality of radio frequency signals ([15]-[16], Chen).
For claim 21, Rana and Chen as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches:
the first inductor is coupled with an antenna (104) on an opposite end as the second inductor (as understood by the combination of references).
For claim 23, Rana and Chen as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 8 and further teaches:
the first inductor is coupled with an antenna on an opposite end as the second inductor (as understood by the combination of references).
Claim(s) 9-10, 22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rana and modified Chen.
For claims 9 and 10, Rana in view of Chen teaches the limitations of claim 8 as cited above but fails to explicitly teach:
the plurality of signals comprise signals corresponding to center frequencies in a 5 GHz band and signals corresponding to center frequencies in a 6 GHz band; or
a first center frequency corresponding with a first signal of the plurality of signals exceeds five gigahertz (GHz); and
a second center frequency corresponding with a second signal of the plurality of signals exceeds the first center frequency by more than one GHz.
Rana teaches simultaneously transmitting and receiving signals within a frequency range of 108-137 MHz [14] but fails to teach signals 5GHz or greater.
Chen teaches operating on a plurality of RF operating bands wherein the plurality of bands include 5G signals ranging from 410 MHz to 7.125GHz [3], WIFI and Bluetooth [170].
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to extend the working range of Rana’s invention to include 5G and Bluetooth signals for the advantage of additional compatibility with 5G and Bluetooth communication.
Furthermore, the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Chen.
For claims 22 and 24, the combination of Rana and Chen as cited above teaches the limitations of claim 21 and 8 but fail to teach
the radio frequency signals comprise Bluetooth and Wi-Fi data received from the antenna.
Rana teaches simultaneously transmitting and receiving signals within a frequency range of 108-137 MHz [14] but fails to teach signals 5GHz or greater.
Chen teaches operating on a plurality of RF operating bands wherein the plurality of bands include 5G signals ranging from 410 MHz to 7.125GHz [3], WIFI and Bluetooth [170].
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to extend the working range of Rana’s invention to include 5G and Bluetooth signals for the advantage of additional compatibility with Bluetooth and WiFi communication.
Claim(s) 3-7 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rana, Chen and Cheng et al (US 2016/0308506).
For claim 3, the combination of Rana and Chen as cited above teaches the limitations of claim 1 but fails to teach a multi-tap inductor as claimed.
However, Cheng teaches a multi-tap inductor (Figures 3 and 5), wherein:
a first tap pair of the multi-tap inductor (2, 3) corresponds to a first terminal of the first inductor and a second terminal of the first inductor (L2s’); and a second tap pair of the multi-tap inductor (1, 2) corresponds to a third terminal of the second inductor and a fourth terminal of the second inductor (L1s’).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Chen’s first inductor and second inductor using a multi-tap spiral inductor for the advantages taught in [0031] of Cheng.
Furthermore, the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
For claim 4, Rana and Chen in view of Chang as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further teaches:
the first terminal couples with the third terminal (as understood by the combination of references);
a terminal of the notch filter couples with the first terminal and the third terminal (as understood by the combination of references); and
another terminal of the notch filter couples with a reference voltage (bottom terminal of Ls).
For claim 5, Rana and Chen in view of Chang as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 4 and further teaches a capacitor (C3) having:
a first terminal which couples with the first terminal and the third terminal (as understood by examination of Chen’s Figure 8A); and
a second terminal which electrically couples with a third inductor (Ls), wherein the third inductor couples with a third tap pair of the multi-tap inductor (e.g., Cheng’s nodes 1 and 3, Figure 5).
For claim 6, Rana and Chen in view of Chang as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further teaches:
the multi-tap inductor is a multi-tap spiral inductor (Cheng, Figure 3).
For claim 7, Rana and Chen in view of Chang as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further teaches:
the device is formed along a planar surface of a semiconductor die (as understood by examination of Cheng’s [0031] and Figure 4).
For claim 11, the combination of Rana and Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1 but fails to teach a multi-tap inductor as claimed.
However, Cheng teaches a multi-tap inductor (Figures 3 and 5), wherein:
a first tap (3) of the multi-tap inductor corresponds to the first terminal of the first inductor (L2s’);
a second tap of the multi-tap inductor corresponds to the second terminal of the first inductor (2);
a third tap of the multi-tap inductor (2) corresponds to the first terminal of the second inductor (L1s’); and
a fourth tap of the multi-tap inductor corresponds to the second terminal of the second inductor (1).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement all of Chen’s inductors in Figure 8A using a multi-tap spiral inductor for the advantages taught in [0031] of Cheng.
Furthermore, the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
For claim 12, Rana and Chen in view of Chang as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches:
the second tap is coupled with the third tap (as understood by the combination of references); and
a filter separates the second tap and the third tap from a reference voltage (C3 and Ls, Chen).
For claim 13, Rana and Chen in view of Chang as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 12 and further teaches:
the filter is a notch filter comprising a first capacitor (C3) and a third inductor (Ls), the third inductor comprising a first terminal (top) and a second terminal (bottom); and the reference voltage is a ground voltage (as understood by examination of Figure 8A).
For claim 14, Rana and Chen in view of Chang as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 13 and further teaches:
the multi-tap inductor comprises a fifth tap corresponding to the first terminal of the third inductor (node between -M and Lp1 of Cheng’s Figure 5, corresponding to the top terminal of C3 of Chen), and a sixth tap corresponding to the second terminal of the third inductor (as understood by Figure 8A of Chen).
For claim 15, Rana and Chen in view of Chang as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 13 and further teaches:
the multi-tap inductor is a multi-tap spiral inductor (Figure 3, Cheng).
For claim 16, Rana and Chen in view of Chang as defined above teaches the limitations of claim 13 and further teaches:
the first inductor, the second inductor, and a third inductor are formed along a planar surface of a semiconductor die (as understood by examination of Cheng’s [0031] and Figure 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Schwent et al (US 9,979,531) teaches a tunable notch filter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL C PUENTES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836