CTNF 18/498,607 CTNF 89048 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 has a period directly between “mechanism” and “the sleeve”. In accordance to section 608.01(m) of the MPEP Form of Claims, the claim or claims must begin with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995) . Appropriate correction is required. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “connecting mechanism”; “locking mechanism” and “biasing element” throughout claims 1-21. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites in line 8 “a second shaft”, however, since no additional or “first” shaft has been set forth, it is unclear if there is a need of a first shaft or not. Where is the “first shaft”? Further clarification is needed. Claim 5 recites in line 1 “a third state”, however since claim 1 from which claim 5 directly depends on, sets forth a “first state” and no “second state”, it is unclear what the specific order is. Where is the “second state”? Further clarification is needed. Claim 15 recites in lines2-3 that “the second locking portion and a sidewall of the slot are capable of limiting the first locking portion on two sides of the first locking portion, separately” however, the way these limitations have been set forth, renders the claim indefinite. How exactly the second locking portion and a sidewall of the slot are capable of limiting the first locking portion on two sides, separately? Further clarification is needed. Claim 19 recites in line 8 “a second shaft”, however, since no additional or “first” shaft has been set forth, it is unclear if there is a need of a first shaft or not. Where is the “first shaft”? Further clarification is needed. Claim 20 recites in line 2 that “a tool body” has “an output shaft” and further in line 3 that there is “an output shaft of the tool body”, which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if the output shaft of line 2, is different from the output shaft of line 3 or not. Further clarification is needed. Additionally, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the working accessory” of lines 4-5, since no “working accessory” has been previously introduced in the claim. Further clarification is needed. Claim 21 similarly, recites in line 2 that “a tool body” has “an output shaft” and further in line 3 that there is “an output shaft of the tool body”, which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if the output shaft of line 2, is different from the output shaft of line 3 or not. Further clarification is needed. Additionally, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the working accessory” of lines 4-5, since no “working accessory” has been previously introduced in the claim. Further clarification is needed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1- 21 i s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) a s being a nticipated b y A rakawa et al. US 5,709,391 (hereafter—Arakawa--) . In regards to claim 1 , Arakawa discloses (in Figures 1-8) a chuck device for clamping a working accessory (B), comprising: a connecting mechanism (2a) formed with a first receiving portion (2) to receive the working accessory (B) and extending along a first axis; and a locking mechanism (as presented by Applicant), connected to the connecting mechanism and used for retaining the working accessory (B) in the first receiving portion (2), comprising a driving portion (as presented by Applicant), comprising a biasing element (11/13) and a sleeve (12) that supports the biasing element (11/13), a first locking portion (5) at least partially extending into the first receiving portion (2a), and a second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8) rotatably connected to the first receiving portion (2) through a second shaft (7 on Figs 1-3; or 23 on Figs 4-6; or 31b on Figs 7-8) wherein, in a first state of the locking mechanism, the second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8) rotates about an axis of the second shaft along a first direction to drive the sleeve (12) to bias against the biasing element (11/13) and the second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8) drives the sleeve (12) to release a limitation on the first locking portion (see Figures 3, 5 and 8). In regards to claim 2 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 1 , Arakawa also discloses that the second locking portion comprises an elongated rocker arm (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8). In regards to claim 3 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 1 , Arakawa also discloses that in a second state of the locking mechanism, the biasing element (11/13) provides the second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8) with a biasing force for rotation about the axis of the second shaft (7 on Figs 1-3; or 23 on Figs 4-6; or 31b on Figs 7-8) along a second direction so that the first locking portion (5) limits a displacement of the working accessory (B) along a direction of the first axis. In regards to claim 4 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 3 , Arakawa also discloses that the second direction (towards 4 along axis) is opposite to the first direction (towards an opposite side of 4 along the axis). In regards to claim 5 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 1 , Arakawa also discloses that in a third state of the locking mechanism the sleeve (12) is driven to compress the biasing element (11/13) so that a biasing force of the biasing element (11/13) is removed from the first locking portion (5). In regards to claim 6 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 5 , Arakawa also discloses that the first locking portion (5) and the second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8) move relatively to release retention of the working accessory (B) by the first locking portion (5). In regards to claim 7 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 1 , Arakawa also discloses that the biasing element (11/13) transmits a biasing force to the second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8) through the sleeve (12). In regards to claim 8 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 1 , Arakawa also discloses that the first locking portion (5) is movably connected to the second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8). In regards to claim 9 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 8 , Arakawa also discloses that the first locking portion (5) moves on the second locking portion (31 on Figs 7-8). In regards to claim 10 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 1 , Arakawa also discloses that a contact point between the first locking portion (5) and the second locking portion (31 on Figs 7-8) and a contact point between the sleeve (12) and the second locking portion (31 on Figs 7-8) are located on two sides of the second shaft (31b on Figs 7-8). In regards to claim 11 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 1 , Arakawa also discloses that the first locking portion (5) comprises a spherical structure (elongated spherical structure). In regards to claim 12 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 11 , Arakawa also discloses that a groove (Ba) is provided on an outer peripheral surface of the working accessory (B), and, when the working accessory (B) is retained in the first receiving portion (2), the first locking portion (5) is at least partially located in the groove (Ba). In regards to claim 13 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 1 , Arakawa also discloses that the connecting mechanism is provided with a slot (slot where portion 1 is received at) communicating with the first receiving portion (see Figures 1-8), and the first locking portion (5) and the second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8) are disposed in the slot. In regards to claim 14 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 13 , Arakawa also discloses that the second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8) is disposed on a downstream side of the first locking portion (5) along an insertion direction of the working accessory (B). In regards to claim 15 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 13 , Arakawa also discloses that the working accessory (B) is retained in the first receiving portion (2), the second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8) and a sidewall of the slot are capable of limiting the first locking portion (5) on two sides of the first locking portion (5), separately. In regards to claim 16 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 1 , Arakawa also discloses that the sleeve (12) is disposed on a periphery of the connecting mechanism (Figures 1-8), an inner wall of the sleeve (12) is provided with a first limiting structure, the connecting mechanism is provided with a second limiting structure, and the first limiting structure and the second limiting structure are spaced apart along a direction of the first axis (refer to the inclined flanged limiting structure on sleeve 12 which limits an axial movement of the sleeve 12, so as to be capable of abut against flanged structure of 1). In regards to claim 17 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 16 , Arakawa also discloses that the first limiting structure is disposed on an upstream side of the second limiting structure along an extraction direction of the working accessory, and the biasing element (13) is disposed between the first limiting structure and the second limiting structure (see Figures 1-8, and note that the biasing element 13 is disposed directly between the first limiting structure of the sleeve 12 and the second limiting structure of 1). In regards to claim 18 , Arakawa discloses the chuck device of claim 16 , Arakawa also discloses that the working accessory (B) is retained in the first receiving portion (2), the first limiting structure is capable of limiting a side of the first locking portion (5) (indirectly, via the second limiting structure) facing away from the working accessory (B), and, when the first limiting structure releases the limitation on the first locking portion (5), the working accessory (B) is unlocked from the first receiving portion (2), and the first locking portion (5) is driven to move in a direction away from the working accessory (see Figures 1-8). In regards to claim 19 , Arakawa discloses (in Figures 7-8) a chuck device for clamping a working accessory (B), comprising: a connecting mechanism (2a) formed with a first receiving portion (2) to receive the working accessory (B) and extending along a first axis; and a locking mechanism (as presented by Applicant), connected to the connecting mechanism and used for retaining the working accessory (B) in the first receiving portion (2), comprising a driving portion (as presented by Applicant), comprising a biasing element (11/13) and a sleeve (12) that supports the biasing element (11/13), a first locking portion (5) at least partially extending into the first receiving portion (2a), and a second locking portion (31 on Figs 7-8) comprising an elongated rocker arm (31 on Figs 7-8) and rotatably connected to the first receiving portion (2) through a second shaft (31b on Figs 7-8) wherein the first locking portion (5) moves on the second locking portion (31 on Figs 7-8) wherein, in a first state of the locking mechanism, the second locking portion (31 on Figs 7-8) rotates about an axis of the second shaft along a first direction to drive the sleeve (12) to bias against the biasing element (11/13) and the second locking portion (31 on Figs 7-8) drives the sleeve (12) to release a limitation on the first locking portion (see Figure 8). In regards to claim 20 , Arakawa discloses (in Figures 1-8) a tool body (1) having an output shaft (shaft disposed between bearings 3) and a chuck device coupled to the tool body (1) and connected to the output shaft of the tool body (see Figures 1-8), the chuck device comprising: a connecting mechanism (2a) formed with a first receiving portion (2) to receive the working accessory (B) and extending along a first axis; and a locking mechanism (as presented by Applicant), connected to the connecting mechanism and used for retaining the working accessory (B) in the first receiving portion (2), comprising a driving portion (as presented by Applicant), comprising a biasing element (11/13) and a sleeve (12) that supports the biasing element (11/13), a first locking portion (5) at least partially extending into the first receiving portion (2a), and a second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8) rotatably connected to the first receiving portion (2) through a second shaft (7 on Figs 1-3; or 23 on Figs 4-6; or 31b on Figs 7-8) wherein, in a first state of the locking mechanism, the second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8) rotates about an axis of the second shaft along a first direction to drive the sleeve (12) to bias against the biasing element (11/13) and the second locking portion (6 on Figs 1-3; or 21 on Figs 4-6; or 31 on Figs 7-8) drives the sleeve (12) to release a limitation on the first locking portion (see Figures 3, 5 and 8). In regards to claim 21 , Arakawa discloses (in Figures 7-8) a tool body (1) having an output shaft (shaft disposed between bearings 3) and a chuck device coupled to the tool body (1) and connected to the output shaft of the tool body (see Figures 7-8), the chuck device comprising: a connecting mechanism (2a) formed with a first receiving portion (2) used for to receive the working accessory (B) and extending along a first axis; and a locking mechanism (as presented by Applicant), connected to the connecting mechanism and used for retaining the working accessory (B) in the first receiving portion (2), comprising a driving portion (as presented by Applicant), comprising a biasing element (11/13) and a sleeve (12) that supports the biasing element (11/13), a first locking portion (5) at least partially extending into the first receiving portion (2a), and a second locking portion (31 on Figs 7-8) comprising an elongated rocker arm (31 on Figs 7-8) and rotatably connected to the first receiving portion (2) through a second shaft (31b on Figs 7-8) wherein the first locking portion (5) moves on the second locking portion (31 on Figs 7-8) wherein, in a first state of the locking mechanism, the second locking portion (31 on Figs 7-8) rotates about an axis of the second shaft along a first direction to drive the sleeve (12) to bias against the biasing element (11/13) and the second locking portion (31 on Figs 7-8) drives the sleeve (12) to release a limitation on the first locking portion (see Figure 8). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NICOLE N RAMOS whose telephone number is (571)272-5134. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thu 7:00 am -5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sunil K Singh can be reached at (571) 272-3460. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 Application/Control Number: 18/498,607 Page 2 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 18/498,607 Page 3 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 18/498,607 Page 4 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 18/498,607 Page 5 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 18/498,607 Page 6 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 18/498,607 Page 7 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 18/498,607 Page 8 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 18/498,607 Page 9 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 18/498,607 Page 10 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 18/498,607 Page 11 Art Unit: 3722 Application/Control Number: 18/498,607 Page 12 Art Unit: 3722