DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/13/2026 has been entered. Amendments to claims 1 and 17 are acknowledged. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings and Claims have overcome some of the objections (see below) and all of the 112(a) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11/13/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a means of connecting the device to an apparatus”. The claim limitation will be interpreted as wired or wireless connection, consistent with para [0049]: “via wires, wireless, such as over a Wi-Fi connection, or Bluetooth” of applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hall et al. (US 20240268749 A1), hereinafter Hall.
Regarding claim 1, Hall discloses a method measuring a level of hydrogen gas emanating through the subject’s skin (abstract) comprising placing a device on or near the subject’s skin ([0063]: “may be attached to the undergarment 110 adjacent to the perineum”) and measuring a level of hydrogen gas emanating through the subject’s skin ([0064]: “for the measurement of various biomarkers, (e.g., H2S).”), wherein the device comprises an electrochemical sensor capable of detecting hydrogen gas ([0064]: “electrochemical sensor and/or a metal oxide sensor”) and a means of connecting the device to an apparatus comprising a central processing unit (CPU) ([0068]: “the controller 200 is configured to wirelessly transmit (e.g., by Bluetooth™ or other wireless protocol) the data to a smartphone application.”); and further, wherein the apparatus provides information on hydrogen gas level ([0106]: “diagnoses the presence or absence of intestinal inflammation and/or an Inflammatory Bowel Disease based on the indication of the concentration of the biomarker”).
Regarding claim 2, Hall discloses wherein the apparatus is selected from the group consisting of computers, smartphones, and tablets ([0099]: “, the operations of FIG. 20 may be performed all or in part by another device, for example, a mobile device, such as a smartphone, and/or a computer system”).
Regarding claim 3, Hall discloses wherein the apparatus is capable of displaying graphical readings based on information from the sensor ([0083]: “a custom-designed smartphone application, the system 300 can connect to a user's mobile device to upload or otherwise provide data that can be further shared with clinicians in real-time or near real-time”).
Regarding claim 4, Hall discloses probe connected to the electrochemical sensor by an electrical wire ([0082]: “through communication cables such as serial ATA cables or other types of cables”).
Regarding claim 5, Hall discloses wherein the electrochemical sensor is capable of providing quantitative hydrogen gas level data (Fig 9).
Regarding claim 6, Hall discloses wherein the electrochemical sensor is capable of providing continuous data regarding the hydrogen gas level ([0060]: “measured passively in real-time or near real-time using sensors.”).
Regarding claim 7, Hall discloses wherein the device is reusable ([0083]: “The battery life of the system 300 is more than ten days, which is longer than the proposed wearing duration for diagnosing whether the patient has a gastrointestinal disorder”, wherein the device may be reused over several days).
Regarding claim 9, Hall discloses herein the device is located near an area of the subject’s skin selected from the group consisting of sternal notch, belly button, right iliac crest, left iliac crest, finger, and earlobe (Fig 1 element 300).
Regarding claim 10, Hall discloses wherein the device further comprises a probe in wireless communication with the electrochemical sensor ([0068]: “In aspects, the controller 200 is configured to wirelessly transmit (e.g., by Bluetooth™ or other wireless protocol) the data to a smartphone application. In aspects, the data may be wirelessly transmitted (securely) to other types of authorized systems/devices, including but not limited to local health monitoring devices, remote health monitoring systems (e.g.,”).
Regarding claim 11, Hall discloses wherein the wireless communication is enabled via a wi-fi or bluetooth connection ([0068]).
Regarding claim 16, Hall discloses wherein the electrochemical sensor comprises an adhesive portion. ([0102]: “ that is adhered to a user's undergarment (FIG. 1 )… via double-sided tape”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Shulz et al. (US 20050085704 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Hall discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to disclose the device further comprises a clip connected to the electrochemical sensor by an electrical wire.
Shulz discloses a sensor device comprises a clip connected to the electrochemical sensor by an electrical wire ([0005]: “The sensor cable 120 electrically communicates monitor originated LED drive signals from the connector 110 to the sensor clip 200 and monitor destined detector signals from the sensor clip 200 to the connector 110.”).
As Hall discloses the sensor may be adhered by any suitable means ([0063]: “be attached to the undergarment 110 using any suitable means”), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to substitute the known adhesive disclosed by Hall with the clip disclosed by Shulz for the predictable result of attaching a sensor to a user.
Regarding claim 14, Hall as modified by Shulz discloses the method of claim 8, and Shulz further discloses wherein the clip comprises a flexible device or a device worked by a spring mechanism that grips or clasps connected to an electrochemical sensor ([0004]: “. A spring 280 (FIG. 2) applies force to the back end 202 that determines the pressure on an inserted finger in the closed position”).
Regarding claim 15, Hall as modified by Shulz discloses the method of claim 8, and Shulz further discloses further discloses wherein the device is located near an area of the subject’s skin selected from the group consisting of one or more fingers and one or more earlobes ([0004]: “typically the index finger, and a close position (shown) for securing the sensor clip 200 to opposite sides of the finger.”).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of McNeil et al (US 20070032748 A1), hereinafter McNeil.
Regarding claim 12, Hall discloses the method of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the device further comprises a clip in wireless communication with the electrochemical sensor.
McNeil discloses a sensor device (abstract) comprising a clip in wireless communication with a sensor ([0029]: “All of the sensor units 10 are connected to the belt-clip unit either wirelessly”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the method disclosed by Hall to include the clip disclosed by McNeil in order to allow for more secure attachment to the user.
Regarding claim 13, Hall as modified by McNeil discloses the method of claim 12, and McNeil further discloses wherein the wireless communication is enabled via a wi-fi or bluetooth connection ([0035]: “the system is wireless and the individual sensor units 10 are connected to the Belt Clip 20 by 900 MHz or 2.4 GHz transceivers.”).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Hsu et al. (US 2020/0300827 A1), hereinafter Hsu.
Regarding claim 17, Hall discloses a method of measuring a level of hydrogen gas emanating through a subject’s skin (abstract) comprising placing a device on or near the subject’s skin ([0063]: “may be attached to the undergarment 110 adjacent to the perineum”) and measuring a level of hydrogen gas emanating through the subject’s skin ([0064]: “for the measurement of various biomarkers, (e.g., H2S).”), wherein the device comprises an electrochemical sensor capable of detecting hydrogen gas ([0064]: “electrochemical sensor and/or a metal oxide sensor”); and further, wherein the apparatus provides information on hydrogen gas level ([0106]: “diagnoses the presence or absence of intestinal inflammation and/or an Inflammatory Bowel Disease based on the indication of the concentration of the biomarker”).
Hall fails to disclose that the electrochemical sensor is a colorimetric sticker capable of detecting hydrogen gas. However, Hall discloses a colorimetric sensor capable of detecting nitric oxide ([0069]: “may be used for nitric oxide (NO) and NO2 detection to detect the color change in a Griess reaction”).
Hsu discloses a colorimetric sticker ([0007]: “a gas-sensing tattoo sticker including an adhesive layer, a coloring reaction layer, and a chemical reaction layer”) capable of detecting hydrogen gas ([0028]: “it can be black lead sulfide precipitate produced when lead acetate meets hydrogen sulfide”).
As Hall discloses using a colorimetric sensor for a different substrate, it would have been obvious to substitute the known electrochemical sensor disclosed by Hall with the colorimetric sensor disclosed by Hsu for the predictable result of detecting hydrogen gas.
Regarding claim 18, Hall further discloses wherein the device is located near an area of the subject’s skin selected from the group consisting of sternal notch, belly button, right iliac crest, left iliac crest, finger, and earlobe (Fig 1 element 300).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 2 of applicant’s remarks that Hall fail to disclose sensors to detect gas emanating though a subject’s skin, but environmental gas. However, the gas detected by the sensor is not detecting unrelated environmental gas levels, but gas that comes directly from the subject ([0059]: “Bacterial overgrowth in the small intestine leads to an increase in gut microbial hydrogen (H2) production, which manifests as an increased frequency of volume and gas composition in flatus”, wherein the hydrogen generated comes from inside of the intestine/internal microbiome and then expelled outside of the skin, emanating from the skin located in the detection area), which is consistent with applicant’s specification para [0044]: “gut microbial community that impacts host biology can be a reliable surrogate for detecting microbial community profiles and the changes that occur within.”, wherein the gas is generated within the gut microbiome and then emanates from the skin. MPEP 2183 states that a prior art element is equivalent when (A) The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Kemco Sales, Inc. v. Control Papers Co., 208 F.3d 1352, 1364, 54 USPQ2d 1308, 1315 (Fed. Cir. 2000). Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsuda et al. (US 20060206015 A1) – measurement of hydrogen gas emanating from the skin ([0068] “that human skin surface emanates hydrogen and the hydrogen can be detected using a device of the present invention”).
Moritani et al. (US 20130123589 A1) – wearable biological gas measurement device that detects hydrogen gas emanating from the skin ([0020]: “The gas sensor device 200 is made of a semiconductor sensor, for example, and is arranged to have one or more sensors for measuring various gas components arising from a living body, such as acetone, hydrogen, carbon monoxide, methane, hydrogen”)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAVYA SHOBANA BALAJI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/DEVIN B HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791