DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the second silver plating layer is formed on the nickel plating layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20, 23 are rejected, since it fails to further limit the subject matter claimed of its parent claim.
Therefore, claims 21-22; 24-28 are respectively depend on claims 20; and 23 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11,13, 16-17, 20-24, 26, and 28-29 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Calahen et al. (US 2017/0253008).
As per claim 1: Calahend et al. discloses a conductive terminal (article)(see abstract) comprising: a conductive base substrate 210; and a plating layer structure 200 (see fig. 2) plated on the conductive base substrate 210, the plating layer structure 200 includes a nickel plating layer 220 (see Para. [0044]; wherein the first metallic layer may comprise nickel (e.g., bright nickel). The nickel may be in the form of nickel metal (e.g., substantially pure metal) or in the form of a nickel-based alloy) located outside the conductive base substrate 210, a silver plating layer 240 (see Para. [004]; wherein third metallic layer 240 is a silver-based layer, or a layer which comprises silver. The silver may be in the form of silver metal (e.g., substantially pure metal) located outside the nickel plating layer 220, and a platinum-based polymetallic plating layer 260 (see Para. [0063]; wherein fifth metallic layer 260 may comprise a platinum group metal (e.g., ruthenium, rhodium, palladium, osmium, iridium, and/or platinum) located outside the silver plating layer 240, wherein the nickel plating layer includes a first nickel plating (220) and a second nickel plating layer (230) having a characteristic distinct from that of the first nickel plating layer (see Para. [0048-0050]; wherein the other metal may be selected from Ni etc, the layer 230 may have a particular microstructure. For example, the second metallic layer may have a nanocrystalline microstructure; and the second layer may have an amorphous structure).
As per claims 2, 11, 13: Cahalen et al. discloses the conductive terminal (article), wherein the platinum-based polymetallic plating layer 260 is a nanocrystalline platinum-based alloy plating layer (see Para. [0063-0064]); and wherein the nickel plating layer 220 is a nanocrystalline nickel plating layer (see Para. [0045], wherein layer 220 may have a particular microstructure. For example, the second metallic layer may have a nanocrystalline microstructure); and wherein the platinum-based polymetallic plating layer 260 is a platinum-based inter-metallic compounds plating layer (see Para. [0063], wherein layer 260 may comprise a platinum group metal (e.g., ruthenium, rhodium, palladium, osmium, iridium, and/or platinum). In some cases, it may be preferable for the platinum group metal to be rhodium (e.g., the fifth metallic layer may be a rhodium-based layer). It has been observed that particularly attractive properties (e.g., immersion corrosion) are achievable when the platinum metal-based layer comprises rhodium. Rhodium may be in the form of rhodium metal (e.g., substantially pure).
As per claims 16-17; 20-24, 26, 28: Cahalen et al. discloses wherein the first silver plating layer 240 is pure silver (see Para. [0054], wherein layer 240 is a silver-based layer, or a layer which comprises silver. The silver may be in the form of silver metal (e.g., substantially pure metal)); and the second silver plating layer 250 includes a nanocrystalline structure (see Para. [0060]; wherein layer 250 may have a particular microstructure. For example, the fourth metallic layer may have a nanocrystalline microstructure); and the first silver plating layer 240 is formed on the nickel plating layer 230; the second silver plating layer 250 is formed on a side of the first silver plating layer 240 opposite the nickel plating layer 230; and the platinum-based polymetallic plating layer 260 is formed on a side of the second silver plating layer 250 opposite the first silver plating layer 240 (as shown in fig. 2); and wherein the nickel plating layer includes a first nickel plating (220) and a second nickel plating layer (230) having a characteristic distinct from that of the first nickel plating layer (see Para. [0048-0050]; wherein the other metal may be selected from Ni etc, the layer 230 may have a particular microstructure. For example, the second metallic layer may have a nanocrystalline microstructure; and the second layer may have an amorphous structure); and wherein the second nickel 230 plating has a nanocrystalline structure ((see Para. [0045], wherein layer 220 may have a particular microstructure. For example, the second metallic layer may have a nanocrystalline microstructure); and wherein the first nickel plating layer 220 formed on the base substrate 210 and the second nickel plating layer 230 is formed on a side of the first nickel plating layer 220 opposite the base substrate (as shown in fig. 2); and wherein the plating layer structure includes: the nickel plating layer including the first nickel plating 220 and the second nickel plating layer 230 having the characteristic distinct from that of the first nickel plating layer 220; and the silver plating layer including the first silver plating 240 and the second silver plating layer 250 having the characteristic distinct from that of the first silver plating layer (see Para. [0060], wherein the layer 250 layer may have a particular microstructure. For example, the fourth metallic layer may have a nanocrystalline microstructure); and wherein the first silver plating layer 240 is pure silver (see Para. [0054-0056], wherein layer 240 is a silver-based layer, or a layer which comprises silver. The silver may be in the form of silver metal (e.g., substantially pure metal)), and the second silver plating layer includes a nanocrystalline structure (see Para. [0060]); and wherein the second nickel 230 plating has a nanocrystalline structure (see Para. [0049]) and is arranged between the silver plating layer 240 and the first nickel plating layer 220 (as shown in fig. 2).
As per claim 29: Cahalen et al. discloses the conductive terminal (article), wherein at least a thickness of the second nickel plating layer 230 is less than a thickness of the first nickel plating layer 220 (see Para. [0046, 0050]; wherein the first metallic layer 220 may have a thickness of about 2 microns; and wherein second metallic layer 230 may have a thickness of about 0.5 microns)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 18-19, 25, and 27 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cahalen et al. (US 2017/0253008).
As per claim 14: Cahalen et al. discloses the conductive terminal (article). However, Cahalen et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the platinum-based inter-metallic compound plating layer is a platinum-silver compounds plating layer.
On the other hand, Cahalen et al. mentioned wherein the platinum-based polymetallic plating layer 140 is a platinum-based inter-metallic compounds plating layer (see Para. [0030-0032], wherein third metallic layer 140 comprises one or more precious metals. Examples of suitable precious metals include Ru, Rh, Os, Ir, Pd, Pt, Ag, and/or Au. In some embodiments, the precious metal is selected from the group consisting Ru, Os, Ir, Pd, Pt, Ag, and Au, or combinations thereof. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the platinum-based inter-metallic compound plating layer is a platinum-silver compounds plating layer can only deal with preferred material because such modification still would not change the function of the article/connector/terminal after all, but to further enhance a reasonable expectation of success as the manufacture desire.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the conductive terminal (article/connector) of Cahalen et al. by having the platinum-based inter-metallic compound plating layer is a platinum-silver compounds plating layer as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a reasonable expectation of success as the manufacture desire.
As per claims 18, 25: Cahalen et al. discloses the conductive terminal (article). However, Cahalen et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the second silver plating layer is formed on the nickel plating layer; the first silver plating layer is formed on a side of the second silver plating layer opposite the nickel plating layer; and the platinum-based polymetallic plating layer is formed on a side of the first silver plating layer opposite the second silver plating layer.
On the other hand, Cahalen et al. mentioned wherein the first silver plating layer 240 is formed on the nickel plating layer 230; the second silver plating layer 250 is formed on a side of the first silver plating layer 240 opposite the nickel plating layer 230; and the platinum-based polymetallic plating layer 260 is formed on a side of the second silver plating layer 250 opposite the first silver plating layer 240 (as shown in fig. 2). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the structure as recited above can only deal with reversal of parts, because such modification still would not change the function of the conductive terminal after all. Further, applicant has not disclosed the structure above could solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the prior art of record. since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the conductive terminal (article/connector) of Cahalen et al. by having the second silver plating layer is formed on the nickel plating layer; the first silver plating layer is formed on a side of the second silver plating layer opposite the nickel plating layer; and the platinum-based polymetallic plating layer is formed on a side of the first silver plating layer opposite the second silver plating layer as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, reliable and pro long conductive terminal for used in the electronic devices.
As per claims 19, 27: Cahalen et al. discloses the conductive terminal (article). However, Cahalen et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the plating layer structure further includes a third silver plating layer having a nanocrystalline structure, wherein the second and third silver plating layers are formed on opposite sides of the first silver plating layer.
On the other hand, Cahalen et al. mentioned there are multiple layer of the silver plating layer (240/250) having a nanocrystalline structure (see Para. [0060]). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the plating layer structure further includes a third silver plating layer having a nanocrystalline structure can only deal with duplication in parts, because such modification still would not change the function of the conductive terminal but to further enhance a reliable, stable, and prolong of used in the electronic devices. Since, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the conductive terminal (article/connector) of Cahalen et al. by having the plating layer structure further includes a third silver plating layer having a nanocrystalline structure, wherein the second and third silver plating layers are formed on opposite sides of the first silver plating layer as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a reliable, stable, and prolong of used in the electronic devices.
Claim(s) 12 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cahalen et al. (US 2017/0253008) in view of Sakai et al. (US 2023/0042851).
As per claim 12: Cahalen et al. discloses the conductive terminal (article). However, Cahalen et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein a lubricant layer at an outmost side of the plating layer structure.
Sakai et al. discloses an article/connector/terminal 10, wherein with a lubricant layer outmost side of the article/connector/terminal (see Para. [0038]), wherein female terminal 10 is formed by using a copper alloy according to the later-described first or second form as the base material. In order to prevent deformation of a base material, such as oxidation, a coating layer for improving surface properties such as electrical conductivity and frictional properties may be formed on the surface of the base material as appropriate. There is no particular limitation on the composition of the coating layer as long as the coating layer is thinner than the base material, and examples thereof include a layer that comprises a metal with a composition that is different from that of the base material and a layer that comprises an organic compound. The coating layer may be formed by forming only one layer or multiple types of layers are laminated on the surface of the base material. Examples of the coating layer include a metal layer such as a tin plating layer and a lubricant layer). Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having a lubricant layer on an article/connector/terminal would provide benefits by protecting against corrosion, reducing friction, and preventing fretting which significantly increase the reliability and lifespan of electrical connectors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the conductive terminal (article/connector) of Cahalen et al. by having a lubricant layer at an outmost side of the plating layer structure as taught by Sakai et al. to further enhance the benefits by protecting against corrosion, reducing friction, and preventing fretting which significantly increase the reliability and lifespan of electrical connectors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that the prior art of record does not express that the structure of forming the nickel and/or silver layers to enhances the compactness and the bonding force between the plating layers, and is more resistant to thermal diffusion and expansion, thus improving the heat resistance of the article. These benefits are achieved by providing two distinct layers (e.g., a pure metal plating layer and a nanocrystalline layer thereover, or on either side thereof). Examiner respectfully disagreed, because Applicant’s arguments are not supported by the languages of the claim limitations. Further, the claim languages also are still too broad and can be rejected by the prior art of record.
However, claim 1 has amended and Examiner believes the newly rejection base on the amended claim 1 is proper and valid.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831