Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05 February 2026 A.D. have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Taylor teaches a method by a processing system in a first communication network with numerous virtual circuits and client systems associated with a first network-to-network interface or NNI between a first communication network and a second communication network. In addition to disclosing a NNI between a first and second communication network, Taylor teaches an order to establish to establish a second amount of virtual circuits by a second NNI. However, Taylor fails to disclose the first and second NNI possessing a first bandwidth parameter, selecting the first or second NNI according to a VLAN tag, and selecting a portion of client systems.
Waldrop teaches the first and second NNI possessing a first bandwidth parameter. However, Waldrop fails to disclose selecting the first or second NNI according to a VLAN tag, and selecting a portion of client systems.
Murakami teaches selecting the first or second NNI according to a VLAN tag, and selecting a portion of client systems. In addition to selecting the first or second NNI according to VLAN tag, Murakami teaches selecting the first portion of client systems for transfer and identifying a first portion of client systems complying with at least one constraint.
Yu teaches an available bandwidth that exceeds an aggregate bandwidth demand, scheduling a migration and detaching of a network from another network. Although Yu discloses an available bandwidth that exceeds an aggregate bandwidth demand, scheduling a migration and detaching of a network from another network, Yu fails to teach selecting the first or second NNI according to a VLAN tag, and selecting a portion of client systems.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al. (US 2014/0286158 A1) or Taylor in view of Waldrop et al. (US 2013/0018753 A1) or Waldrop in further view of Murakami et al. (JP 2009141888 A) or Murakami.
Claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Taylor teaches,
A method comprising:
identifying, by a processing system including at least one processor deployed in a first communication network a first plurality of virtual circuits and a first plurality of client systems
associated with at least a first network-to-network interface between the first communication network and at least a second communication network,
(See Taylor paragraph 0022, It will be further appreciated that in the data network 2, the LATAs 5 and 15 and the IEC 10 may include network elements (not shown) which support interworking to enable communications between host and remote devices supporting dissimilar protocols.)
Shows LATA 5 as first communication network
(See Taylor paragraph 0030, ...the LATA 5 includes interconnected network devices such as switches 186, 187, and 188. It will be appreciated that the data network 2 may also contain other interconnected network devices and elements (not shown) such as digital access and cross connect switches ("DACS"), channel service units ("CSUs"), and data service units ("DSUs").)
Shows the plurality of client systems for the first communication network
(See Talyor paragraph 0025, ...the logical circuit of the network circuit in the data network 2 may include a variable communication path within the LATA 5 and a fixed communication path (i.e., the logical connection 102) between the LATA 5 and the IEC 10.)
Shows one of the logical circuits for first communication network in FIG. 1[102]
(See Talyor paragraph 0038, ...the logical failover circuit may include the logical connection 122 between the LATA 5 (shown in FIG. 1) and the IEC 20.)
Shows a second logical circuits for the first communication network in FIG. 4[122]
(See Talyor paragraph 0025, ...the logical connections 102 and 104 in the data network 2 may include network-to-network interfaces ("NNIs") between the last sending switch in a LATA and the first receiving switch in an IEC.)
Shows the first network-to-network interface of FIG.1 [102] between the first communication network of LATA 5 and the second communication network Failover Network 17
(See Talyor paragraph 0029, The data network 2 may also include a failover network 17 for rerouting logical circuit data, according to an embodiment of the disclosure.)
Shows second communication network of FIG. 1[17] [Failover Network]
…the first plurality of virtual circuits…
(See Taylor paragraph 0042, ...the logical failover circuit may be selected including the logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 (as shown in FIG. 4) to reroute the logical data from the host device 112, through the LATA 5, the IEC 20, the LATA 25, the IEC 30, the LATA 15, and finally to the remote device 114.)
Shows the rerouting of data from host device FIG. 1[112] to remote device FIG. 1[114] through Failover Network FIG. 1[17] [Failover Network] over first plurality logical circuits of at least FIG. 4 [122]
…associated with the at least the first network-to-network interface to a second plurality of virtual circuits associated with the at least the second network-to-network interface between the first communication network and the at least the second communication network,…
(See Taylor paragraph 0038, the failover network 17 includes an IEC 20, a LATA 25, and an IEC 30.)
Shows the second communication network of FIG. 4 [network 17] contains IEC 20, LATA 25, and IEC 30
(See Taylor paragraph 0038, ...the logical connection 124 between the IEC 20 and the LATA 25, the logical connection 126 between the LATA 25 and the IEC 30, and the logical connection 132 between the IEC 30 and the LATA 15 (shown in FIG. 1).)
Shows the second communication network contains a plurality of virtual circuits of logical connections of FIG. 4[122], FIG.4 [126], and FIG. 4[132]
(See Taylor paragraph 0046, ...in communication with the switches in the data network 2 (and the failover network 17), sends instructions to reroute the logical data from the NNIs or logical connections 102 and 104 to the failover NNIs or logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 in the logical failover circuit.)
Shows second network-network interface FIG. 1 [122] between first communication network LATA 5 and second communication network Failover Network 17
…generating, by the processing system, an order to establish the second plurality of virtual circuits via the at least the second network-to-network interface; and…
(See Taylor paragraph 0042, ...the logical failover circuit may be selected including the logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 (as shown in FIG. 4) to reroute the logical data from the host device 112, through the LATA 5, the IEC 20, the LATA 25, the IEC 30, the LATA 15, and finally to the remote device 114.)
Shows the rerouting of data from host device FIG. 1[112] to remote device FIG. 1[114] through Failover Network FIG. 1[17] [Failover Network] over second virtual circuits by the second NNI
…to the second plurality of virtual circuits via the at least the second network-to-network interface.
(See Taylor paragraph 0046, At operation 530 the network management module 176 reroutes the data from the failed logical circuit to the logical failover circuit. It will be appreciated that the reroute of the data may be accomplished from the logical management module 153 or the network management module 176 which, in communication with the switches in the data network 2 (and the failover network 17), sends instructions to reroute the logical data from the NNIs or logical connections 102 and 104 to the failover NNIs or logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 in the logical failover circuit.)
Shows the rerouting of data from the first client systems to the second virtual circuits by the second NNI
However, Taylor fails to explicitly teach,
…the at least the first network-to-network interface having a first bandwidth parameter;…
…the at least the second network-to-network interface having a second bandwidth parameter;…
Nevertheless, Waldrop, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the at least the first network-to-network interface having a first bandwidth parameter;…
…the at least the second network-to-network interface having a second bandwidth parameter;…
(See Waldrop paragraph 0033, The Ethernet exchanger 100 may include Gigabit Ethernet (Gig-E) ports and 10Gig-E ports such as, for example, ports 108, 113, 118 and 123.)
Shows the ports contain different bandwidth parameters of 1 Gig or 10 Gig
(See Waldrop paragraph 0037, The Ethernet exchanger 100 may support multiple E-NNIs. Each of the E-NNIs is coupled to a port. For example, each of the ports 108, 113, 118 and 123 is coupled to each of the E-NNI 106, E-NNI 111, E-NNI 116, and E-NNI 121, respectively.)
Shows each of the NNIs couple to a port
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of migrating data from one set of first virtual circuits and clients systems associated with a first network-to-network interface or NNI as to a second NNI as disclosed by Taylor with the second NNI containing a bandwidth parameter as disclosed by Waldrop to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the bandwidth capacity of the entire system by migrating packets from a lower bandwidth NNI to a higher bandwidth NNI).
Taylor also fails to disclose,
…selecting, by the processing system, at least one of: the at least the first network-to-network interface or at least a second network-to-network interface in accordance with at least a first constraint, wherein the at least the first constraint comprises at least one virtual local area network tag constraint;
…selecting, by the processing system, at least a first portion of the first plurality of client systems for transfer from…
…transferring, by the processing system, the at least the first portion of the first plurality of client systems…
Nevertheless, Murakami, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…selecting, by the processing system, at least one of: the at least the first network-to-network interface or at least a second network-to-network interface in accordance with at least a first constraint, wherein the at least the first constraint comprises at least one virtual local area network tag constraint;
(See Murakami page 1 Background-Art paragraph 2, …a plurality of subscriber-side devices (hereinafter referred to as ONU (Optical Network Unit)) provided on the subscriber terminal side of each home or company, and a single station-side device (hereinafter referred to as OLT (hereinafter referred to as OLT) provided on the upper network side. Optical line terminal) is a PON (Passive Optical Network) system connected by an optical fiber and a splitter, and a plurality of subscriber data are collected and transmitted / received to / from the network by collecting a plurality of subscriber data and a plurality of subscribers.)
Shows the first network-to-network interface of subscriber terminal side of each home or company and the second network-to-network interface of the single-side device on the upper network side.
(See Murakami pages 1-2 last and first paragraphs, Non-concentrated transmission / reception means for individually transmitting / receiving data to / from the network, and path selection means for selecting one of the above by VLAN (Virtual Local Area Network) unit / LLID (Logical Link Identification) unit / ONU unit / protocol type unit…)
Shows the selection of the “one of the above” referring to the first or second network-to-network interface based on a VLAN unit
…selecting, by the processing system, at least a first portion of the first plurality of client systems for transfer from…
…transferring, by the processing system, the at least the first portion of the first plurality of client systems…
(See Murakami page 5 paragraph 5, Thereafter, the frame distribution unit 114 selects one ONU 20 from all the ONUs 20 (step S33), and reads the minimum guaranteed bandwidth of the ONU 20 from the PON side management table (step S34). Next, the NNI side management table is searched for the NNI port with the minimum minimum guaranteed bandwidth sum (step S35), and the searched NNI port is set as the transfer destination of the ONU 20 selected in step S33 (step S36). If there are a plurality of NNI ports with the minimum sum of the minimum guaranteed bandwidths searched, one NNI port is selected based on a predetermined criterion.)
Shows the selecting of an optical network unit or ONU from a plurality of ONUs to transfer
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of migrating data from one set of first virtual circuits and clients systems associated with a first network-to-network interface or NNI as to a second NNI as disclosed by Taylor with the selecting a portion of the first clients and virtual circuits of the first NNI as disclosed by Murakami to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of migrating the client systems and virtual systems associated with the first NNI).
Claim 2 (Original)
Taylor teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying an availability of the at least the second network-to-network interface.
(See Taylor paragraph 0043, ...the selection of the logical failover circuit may also include determining whether one or more logical connections in the circuit are currently communicating data traffic or are currently unused. If currently unused, the logical connections may be selected for rerouting logical data.)
Shows identifying the availability of the logical failover circuit
(See Taylor paragraph 0046, ...in communication with the switches in the data network 2 (and the failover network 17), sends instructions to reroute the logical data from the NNIs or logical connections 102 and 104 to the failover NNIs or logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 in the logical failover circuit.)
Shows the logical failover circuit includes the failover NNI or second NNI
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 4 (Original)
The method of claim 2, wherein the identifying the availability of the at least the second network-to-network interface follows the identifying of the first plurality of virtual circuits and the first plurality of client systems.
(See Taylor paragraph 0042, ...if as shown in FIG. 1, it is determined that the logical circuit failure in the data network 2 has been isolated to the IEC data network 10, a logical failover circuit in the failover network 17 may be selected to reroute the logical data such that it bypasses the IEC data network 10.)
Shows selecting the second NNI after identifying logical circuit failure in IEC data network 10
As previously shown in claim 1,
(See Taylor paragraph 0030, ...the LATA 5 includes interconnected network devices such as switches 186, 187, and 188. It will be appreciated that the data network 2 may also contain other interconnected network devices and elements (not shown) such as digital access and cross connect switches ("DACS"), channel service units ("CSUs"), and data service units ("DSUs").)
Shows the plurality of client systems for the first communication network
(See Talyor paragraph 0025, ...the logical circuit of the network circuit in the data network 2 may include a variable communication path within the LATA 5 and a fixed communication path (i.e., the logical connection 102) between the LATA 5 and the IEC 10.)
Shows one of the logical circuits for first communication network in FIG. 1[102]
(See Talyor paragraph 0038, ...the logical failover circuit may include the logical connection 122 between the LATA 5 (shown in FIG. 1) and the IEC 20.)
Shows a second logical circuits for the first communication network in FIG. 4[122]
As previously shown in claim 2,
(See Taylor paragraph 0043, ...the selection of the logical failover circuit may also include determining whether one or more logical connections in the circuit are currently communicating data traffic or are currently unused. If currently unused, the logical connections may be selected for rerouting logical data.)
Shows identifying the availability of the logical failover circuit
(See Taylor paragraph 0046, ...in communication with the switches in the data network 2 (and the failover network 17), sends instructions to reroute the logical data from the NNIs or logical connections 102 and 104 to the failover NNIs or logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 in the logical failover circuit.)
Shows the logical failover circuit includes the failover NNI or second NNI
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6 (Currently Amended)
Taylor fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 6. Nevertheless, Murakami, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 5, wherein the at least the first constraint comprises at least one of:
at least one bandwidth constraint;
(See Murakami page 4 paragraph 4, ...the NNI side management table is searched for the NNI port with the minimum minimum guaranteed bandwidth sum (step S15),...)
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8 (Currently Amended)
Taylor fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 8. Nevertheless, Murakami, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 5, wherein the selecting of the at least one of the at least the first network-to-network interface or the at least the second network-to-network interface in accordance with the at least the first constraint is based on a priority of association between the at least the first network-to-network interface and the at least the second network-to-network interface, and wherein the priority of association is based on at least one of:
a number of network-to-network interfaces of the at least the second network-to-network interface to be used to transfer the first plurality of virtual circuits; or
(See Murakami page 7 paragraph 8 ...using the number N of NNI ports in which no failure including the failure recovery port has occurred and the minimum guaranteed bandwidth total E calculated in step S82, the minimum guaranteed bandwidth total F = E / N per NNI port is calculated.)
Shows using the number of NNIs with no failure to calculate minimum guaranteed bandwidth F
(See Murakami page 8 paragraph 1, Next, one of the NNI ports other than the failure recovery port is selected, and the minimum guaranteed bandwidth sum G of the NNI port is acquired (step S84). Then, using the minimum guaranteed bandwidth total F per NNI port calculated in step S83, the minimum guaranteed bandwidth total H = G−F to be distributed to the failure recovery port is calculated (step S85).)
Shows calculating the NNI port to transfer with constraint of minimum guaranteed bandwidth F
Priority given to the calculated NNI part from the calculation of the minimum guaranteed bandwidth
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 10 (Original)
Taylor teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the transferring further comprises:
executing a set of instructions in accordance with the order.
(See Taylor paragraph 0049, ...the embodiments of the disclosure described above provide for a method and system for automatically rerouting data from a failed logical circuit in a data network.)
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 12 (Original)
Taylor teaches,
The method of claim 11, wherein the disconnecting comprises:
deactivating the first plurality of virtual circuits.
(See Taylor paragraph 0041, ...in the data network 2 shown in FIG. 1, the "X" marking the logical connections 102 and 104 indicate that both connections are "down beyond" (i.e., not communicating data) the NNIs for the logical circuit in the LATA data networks 5 and 15.)
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 14 (Original)
Taylor fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 14. However, Murakami, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 6. The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 16 (Original)
Taylor fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 16. Nevertheless, Murakami, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein at least a second portion of the first plurality of clients systems comprises at least one client system having at least one virtual circuit of the first plurality of virtual circuits that does not comply with the at least one constraint.
(See Murakami page 5 paragraph 5, Thereafter, the frame distribution unit 114 selects one ONU 20 from all the ONUs 20 (step S33), and reads the minimum guaranteed bandwidth of the ONU 20 from the PON side management table (step S34). Next, the NNI side management table is searched for the NNI port with the minimum minimum guaranteed bandwidth sum (step S35), and the searched NNI port is set as the transfer destination of the ONU 20 selected in step S33 (step S36). If there are a plurality of NNI ports with the minimum sum of the minimum guaranteed bandwidths searched, one NNI port is selected based on a predetermined criterion.)
Shows the client system with the virtual circuit selected complies with a constraint while the other portions of the client systems fail to comply with the constraint
(See Murakami page 6 paragraph 1, Thereafter, it is determined whether transfer destinations have been determined for all ONUs 20 (step S39). If transfer destinations have not been determined for all ONUs 20 (No in step S39), the process returns to step S33, and the above description is made. The process is repeated.)
Shows the processes of selecting a portion of client systems from the plurality of virtual circuits reoccurs until all circuits transferred
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 17 (Original)
Taylor fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 17. Nevertheless, Murakami, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 16, wherein the at least one client system having the at least one virtual circuit that does not comply with the at least one constraint is assigned for a transfer to at least a third network-to-network interface.
(See Murakami page 5 paragraph 5, Thereafter, the frame distribution unit 114 selects one ONU 20 from all the ONUs 20 (step S33), and reads the minimum guaranteed bandwidth of the ONU 20 from the PON side management table (step S34). Next, the NNI side management table is searched for the NNI port with the minimum minimum guaranteed bandwidth sum (step S35), and the searched NNI port is set as the transfer destination of the ONU 20 selected in step S33 (step S36). If there are a plurality of NNI ports with the minimum sum of the minimum guaranteed bandwidths searched, one NNI port is selected based on a predetermined criterion.)
Shows the process of transferring the virtual circuit failing to comply with the previous transfer being transferred in the next cycle of transfers
(See Murakami page 6 paragraph 1, Thereafter, it is determined whether transfer destinations have been determined for all ONUs 20 (step S39). If transfer destinations have not been determined for all ONUs 20 (No in step S39), the process returns to step S33, and the above description is made. The process is repeated.)
Shows the processes of selecting a portion of client systems from the plurality of virtual circuits reoccurs until all circuits transferred including a third NNI
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 18 (Original)
Taylor fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 18. Nevertheless, Waldrop, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the at least the first network-to-network interface comprises a 1 gigabit interface, and wherein the at least the second network-to-network interface comprises a 10 gigabit interface.
(See Waldrop paragraph 0033, The Ethernet exchanger 100 may include Gigabit Ethernet (Gig-E) ports and 10Gig-E ports such as, for example, ports 108, 113, 118 and 123.)
Shows the ports contain different bandwidth parameters of 1 Gig or 10 Gig
(See Waldrop paragraph 0037, The Ethernet exchanger 100 may support multiple E-NNIs. Each of the E-NNIs is coupled to a port. For example, each of the ports 108, 113, 118 and 123 is coupled to each of the E-NNI 106, E-NNI 111, E-NNI 116, and E-NNI 121, respectively.)
Shows each of the NNIs couple to a port
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 19 (Currently Amended)
Taylor teaches,
…identifying a first plurality of virtual circuits and a first plurality of client systems associated with at least a first network-to-network interface between a first communication network and at least a second communication network,…
(See Taylor paragraph 0022, It will be further appreciated that in the data network 2, the LATAs 5 and 15 and the IEC 10 may include network elements (not shown) which support interworking to enable communications between host and remote devices supporting dissimilar protocols.)
Shows LATA 5 as first communication network
(See Taylor paragraph 0030, ...the LATA 5 includes interconnected network devices such as switches 186, 187, and 188. It will be appreciated that the data network 2 may also contain other interconnected network devices and elements (not shown) such as digital access and cross connect switches ("DACS"), channel service units ("CSUs"), and data service units ("DSUs").)
Shows the plurality of client systems for the first communication network
(See Talyor paragraph 0025, ...the logical circuit of the network circuit in the data network 2 may include a variable communication path within the LATA 5 and a fixed communication path (i.e., the logical connection 102) between the LATA 5 and the IEC 10.)
Shows one of the logical circuits for first communication network in FIG. 1[102]
(See Talyor paragraph 0038, ...the logical failover circuit may include the logical connection 122 between the LATA 5 (shown in FIG. 1) and the IEC 20.)
Shows a second logical circuits for the first communication network in FIG. 4[122]
(See Talyor paragraph 0025, ...the logical connections 102 and 104 in the data network 2 may include network-to-network interfaces ("NNIs") between the last sending switch in a LATA and the first receiving switch in an IEC.)
Shows the first network-to-network interface of FIG.1 [102] between the first communication network of LATA 5 and the second communication network Failover Network 17
(See Talyor paragraph 0029, The data network 2 may also include a failover network 17 for rerouting logical circuit data, according to an embodiment of the disclosure.)
Shows second communication network of FIG. 1[17] [Failover Network]
…the first plurality of virtual circuits…
(See Taylor paragraph 0042, ...the logical failover circuit may be selected including the logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 (as shown in FIG. 4) to reroute the logical data from the host device 112, through the LATA 5, the IEC 20, the LATA 25, the IEC 30, the LATA 15, and finally to the remote device 114.)
Shows the rerouting of data from host device FIG. 1[112] to remote device FIG. 1[114] through Failover Network FIG. 1[17] [Failover Network] over first plurality logical circuits of at least FIG. 4 [122]
…associated with the at least the first network-to-network interface to a second plurality of virtual circuits associated with the at least the second network-to-network interface between the first communication network and the at least the second communication network,…
(See Taylor paragraph 0038, the failover network 17 includes an IEC 20, a LATA 25, and an IEC 30.)
Shows the second communication network of FIG. 4 [network 17] contains IEC 20, LATA 25, and IEC 30
(See Taylor paragraph 0038, ...the logical connection 124 between the IEC 20 and the LATA 25, the logical connection 126 between the LATA 25 and the IEC 30, and the logical connection 132 between the IEC 30 and the LATA 15 (shown in FIG. 1).)
Shows the second communication network contains a plurality of virtual circuits of logical connections of FIG. 4[122], FIG.4 [126], and FIG. 4[132]
(See Taylor paragraph 0046, ...in communication with the switches in the data network 2 (and the failover network 17), sends instructions to reroute the logical data from the NNIs or logical connections 102 and 104 to the failover NNIs or logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 in the logical failover circuit.)
Shows second network-network interface FIG. 1 [122] between first communication network LATA 5 and second communication network Failover Network 17
…generating an order to establish the second plurality of virtual circuits via the at least the second network-to-network interface; and…
(See Taylor paragraph 0042, ...the logical failover circuit may be selected including the logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 (as shown in FIG. 4) to reroute the logical data from the host device 112, through the LATA 5, the IEC 20, the LATA 25, the IEC 30, the LATA 15, and finally to the remote device 114.)
Shows the rerouting of data from host device FIG. 1[112] to remote device FIG. 1[114] through Failover Network FIG. 1[17] [Failover Network] over second virtual circuits by the second NNI
…to the second plurality of virtual circuits via the at least the second network-to-network interface.
(See Taylor paragraph 0046, At operation 530 the network management module 176 reroutes the data from the failed logical circuit to the logical failover circuit. It will be appreciated that the reroute of the data may be accomplished from the logical management module 153 or the network management module 176 which, in communication with the switches in the data network 2 (and the failover network 17), sends instructions to reroute the logical data from the NNIs or logical connections 102 and 104 to the failover NNIs or logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 in the logical failover circuit.)
Shows the rerouting of data from the first client systems to the second virtual circuits by the second NNI
However, Taylor fails to explicitly teach,
…A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system including at least one processor when deployed in a first communication network, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:…
…the at least the first network-to-network interface having a first bandwidth parameter;…
…the at least the second network-to-network interface having a second bandwidth parameter;…
Nevertheless, Waldrop, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system including at least one processor when deployed in a first communication network, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:…
(See Waldrop paragraph 0092, The disk drive unit 816 includes a machine-readable medium 822 on which is stored one or more sets of instructions (e.g., software 624) embodying any one or more of the methodologies or functions described herein. The instructions 824 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within the main memory 804, the static memory 806, and/or within the processor 802 during execution…)
…the at least the first network-to-network interface having a first bandwidth parameter;…
…the at least the second network-to-network interface having a second bandwidth parameter;…
(See Waldrop paragraph 0033, The Ethernet exchanger 100 may include Gigabit Ethernet (Gig-E) ports and 10Gig-E ports such as, for example, ports 108, 113, 118 and 123.)
Shows the ports contain different bandwidth parameters of 1 Gig or 10 Gig
(See Waldrop paragraph 0037, The Ethernet exchanger 100 may support multiple E-NNIs. Each of the E-NNIs is coupled to a port. For example, each of the ports 108, 113, 118 and 123 is coupled to each of the E-NNI 106, E-NNI 111, E-NNI 116, and E-NNI 121, respectively.)
Shows each of the NNIs couple to a port
The motivation to combine Taylor and Waldrop in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Taylor also fails to explicitly teach,
…selecting, at least one of: the at least the first network-to-network interface or at least a second network-to-network interface in accordance with at least a first constraint, wherein the at least the first constraint comprises at least one virtual local area network tag constraint;
…selecting at least a first portion of the first plurality of client systems for transfer from…
…transferring the at least the first portion of the first plurality of client systems…
Nevertheless, Murakami, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…selecting, at least one of: the at least the first network-to-network interface or at least a second network-to-network interface in accordance with at least a first constraint, wherein the at least the first constraint comprises at least one virtual local area network tag constraint;
(See Murakami page 1 Background-Art paragraph 2, …a plurality of subscriber-side devices (hereinafter referred to as ONU (Optical Network Unit)) provided on the subscriber terminal side of each home or company, and a single station-side device (hereinafter referred to as OLT (hereinafter referred to as OLT) provided on the upper network side. Optical line terminal) is a PON (Passive Optical Network) system connected by an optical fiber and a splitter, and a plurality of subscriber data are collected and transmitted / received to / from the network by collecting a plurality of subscriber data and a plurality of subscribers.)
Shows the first network-to-network interface of subscriber terminal side of each home or company and the second network-to-network interface of the single-side device on the upper network side.
(See Murakami pages 1-2 last and first paragraphs, Non-concentrated transmission / reception means for individually transmitting / receiving data to / from the network, and path selection means for selecting one of the above by VLAN (Virtual Local Area Network) unit / LLID (Logical Link Identification) unit / ONU unit / protocol type unit…)
Shows the selection of the “one of the above” referring to the first or second network-to-network interface based on a VLAN unit
…selecting at least a first portion of the first plurality of client systems for transfer from…
…transferring the at least the first portion of the first plurality of client systems…
(See Murakami page 5 paragraph 5, Thereafter, the frame distribution unit 114 selects one ONU 20 from all the ONUs 20 (step S33), and reads the minimum guaranteed bandwidth of the ONU 20 from the PON side management table (step S34). Next, the NNI side management table is searched for the NNI port with the minimum minimum guaranteed bandwidth sum (step S35), and the searched NNI port is set as the transfer destination of the ONU 20 selected in step S33 (step S36). If there are a plurality of NNI ports with the minimum sum of the minimum guaranteed bandwidths searched, one NNI port is selected based on a predetermined criterion.)
Shows the selecting of an optical network unit or ONU from a plurality of ONUs to transfer
The motivation to combine Taylor and Murakami in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 20 (Currently Amended)
Taylor teaches,
…identifying a first plurality of virtual circuits and a first plurality of client systems associated with at least a first network-to-network interface between a first communication network and at least a second communication network,…
(See Taylor paragraph 0022, It will be further appreciated that in the data network 2, the LATAs 5 and 15 and the IEC 10 may include network elements (not shown) which support interworking to enable communications between host and remote devices supporting dissimilar protocols.)
Shows LATA 5 as first communication network
(See Taylor paragraph 0030, ...the LATA 5 includes interconnected network devices such as switches 186, 187, and 188. It will be appreciated that the data network 2 may also contain other interconnected network devices and elements (not shown) such as digital access and cross connect switches ("DACS"), channel service units ("CSUs"), and data service units ("DSUs").)
Shows the plurality of client systems for the first communication network
(See Talyor paragraph 0025, ...the logical circuit of the network circuit in the data network 2 may include a variable communication path within the LATA 5 and a fixed communication path (i.e., the logical connection 102) between the LATA 5 and the IEC 10.)
Shows one of the logical circuits for first communication network in FIG. 1[102]
(See Talyor paragraph 0038, ...the logical failover circuit may include the logical connection 122 between the LATA 5 (shown in FIG. 1) and the IEC 20.)
Shows a second logical circuits for the first communication network in FIG. 4[122]
(See Talyor paragraph 0025, ...the logical connections 102 and 104 in the data network 2 may include network-to-network interfaces ("NNIs") between the last sending switch in a LATA and the first receiving switch in an IEC.)
Shows the first network-to-network interface of FIG.1 [102] between the first communication network of LATA 5 and the second communication network Failover Network 17
(See Talyor paragraph 0029, The data network 2 may also include a failover network 17 for rerouting logical circuit data, according to an embodiment of the disclosure.)
Shows second communication network of FIG. 1[17] [Failover Network]
…the first plurality of virtual circuits…
(See Taylor paragraph 0042, ...the logical failover circuit may be selected including the logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 (as shown in FIG. 4) to reroute the logical data from the host device 112, through the LATA 5, the IEC 20, the LATA 25, the IEC 30, the LATA 15, and finally to the remote device 114.)
Shows the rerouting of data from host device FIG. 1[112] to remote device FIG. 1[114] through Failover Network FIG. 1[17] [Failover Network] over first plurality logical circuits of at least FIG. 4 [122]
...associated with the at least the first network-to-network interface to a second plurality of virtual circuits associated with the at least the second network-to-network interface between the first communication network and the at least the second communication network,…
(See Taylor paragraph 0038, the failover network 17 includes an IEC 20, a LATA 25, and an IEC 30.)
Shows the second communication network of FIG. 4 [network 17] contains IEC 20, LATA 25, and IEC 30
(See Taylor paragraph 0038, ...the logical connection 124 between the IEC 20 and the LATA 25, the logical connection 126 between the LATA 25 and the IEC 30, and the logical connection 132 between the IEC 30 and the LATA 15 (shown in FIG. 1).)
Shows the second communication network contains a plurality of virtual circuits of logical connections of FIG. 4[122], FIG.4 [126], and FIG. 4[132]
(See Taylor paragraph 0046, ...in communication with the switches in the data network 2 (and the failover network 17), sends instructions to reroute the logical data from the NNIs or logical connections 102 and 104 to the failover NNIs or logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 in the logical failover circuit.)
Shows second network-network interface FIG. 1 [122] between first communication network LATA 5 and second communication network Failover Network 17
…generating an order to establish the second plurality of virtual circuits via the at least the second network-to-network interface; and…
(See Taylor paragraph 0042, ...the logical failover circuit may be selected including the logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 (as shown in FIG. 4) to reroute the logical data from the host device 112, through the LATA 5, the IEC 20, the LATA 25, the IEC 30, the LATA 15, and finally to the remote device 114.)
Shows the rerouting of data from host device FIG. 1[112] to remote device FIG. 1[114] through Failover Network FIG. 1[17] [Failover Network] over second virtual circuits by the second NNI
…to the second plurality of virtual circuits via the at least the second network-to-network interface.
(See Taylor paragraph 0046, At operation 530 the network management module 176 reroutes the data from the failed logical circuit to the logical failover circuit. It will be appreciated that the reroute of the data may be accomplished from the logical management module 153 or the network management module 176 which, in communication with the switches in the data network 2 (and the failover network 17), sends instructions to reroute the logical data from the NNIs or logical connections 102 and 104 to the failover NNIs or logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 in the logical failover circuit.)
Shows the rerouting of data from the first client systems to the second virtual circuits by the second NNI
However, Taylor fails to explicitly teach,
An apparatus comprising:
a processing system including at least one processor; and
a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system when deployed in a first communication network, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:…
…the at least the first network-to-network interface having a first bandwidth parameter;…
…the at least the second network-to-network interface having a second bandwidth parameter;…
Nevertheless, Waldrop, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
An apparatus comprising:
a processing system including at least one processor; and
a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system when deployed in a first communication network, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:…
(See Waldrop paragraph 0092, The disk drive unit 816 includes a machine-readable medium 822 on which is stored one or more sets of instructions (e.g., software 624) embodying any one or more of the methodologies or functions described herein. The instructions 824 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within the main memory 804, the static memory 806, and/or within the processor 802 during execution thereof by the computer system 800. )
…the at least the first network-to-network interface having a first bandwidth parameter;…
…the at least the second network-to-network interface having a second bandwidth parameter;…
(See Waldrop paragraph 0033, The Ethernet exchanger 100 may include Gigabit Ethernet (Gig-E) ports and 10Gig-E ports such as, for example, ports 108, 113, 118 and 123.)
Shows the ports contain different bandwidth parameters of 1 Gig or 10 Gig
(See Waldrop paragraph 0037, The Ethernet exchanger 100 may support multiple E-NNIs. Each of the E-NNIs is coupled to a port. For example, each of the ports 108, 113, 118 and 123 is coupled to each of the E-NNI 106, E-NNI 111, E-NNI 116, and E-NNI 121, respectively.)
Shows each of the NNIs couple to a port
The motivation to combine Taylor and Waldrop in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Taylor also fails to explicitly teach,
…selecting at least one of: the at least the first network-to-network interface or at least a second network-to-network interface in accordance with at least a first constraint, wherein the at least the first constraint comprises at least one virtual local area network tag constraint;
…selecting at least a first portion of the first plurality of client systems for transfer from…
…transferring the at least the first portion of the first plurality of client systems…
Nevertheless, Murakami, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…selecting at least one of: the at least the first network-to-network interface or at least a second network-to-network interface in accordance with at least a first constraint, wherein the at least the first constraint comprises at least one virtual local area network tag constraint;
(See Murakami page 1 Background-Art paragraph 2, …a plurality of subscriber-side devices (hereinafter referred to as ONU (Optical Network Unit)) provided on the subscriber terminal side of each home or company, and a single station-side device (hereinafter referred to as OLT (hereinafter referred to as OLT) provided on the upper network side. Optical line terminal) is a PON (Passive Optical Network) system connected by an optical fiber and a splitter, and a plurality of subscriber data are collected and transmitted / received to / from the network by collecting a plurality of subscriber data and a plurality of subscribers.)
Shows the first network-to-network interface of subscriber terminal side of each home or company and the second network-to-network interface of the single-side device on the upper network side.
(See Murakami pages 1-2 last and first paragraphs, Non-concentrated transmission / reception means for individually transmitting / receiving data to / from the network, and path selection means for selecting one of the above by VLAN (Virtual Local Area Network) unit / LLID (Logical Link Identification) unit / ONU unit / protocol type unit…)
Shows the selection of the “one of the above” referring to the first or second network-to-network interface based on a VLAN unit
…selecting at least a first portion of the first plurality of client systems for transfer from…
…transferring the at least the first portion of the first plurality of client systems…
(See Murakami page 5 paragraph 5, Thereafter, the frame distribution unit 114 selects one ONU 20 from all the ONUs 20 (step S33), and reads the minimum guaranteed bandwidth of the ONU 20 from the PON side management table (step S34). Next, the NNI side management table is searched for the NNI port with the minimum minimum guaranteed bandwidth sum (step S35), and the searched NNI port is set as the transfer destination of the ONU 20 selected in step S33 (step S36). If there are a plurality of NNI ports with the minimum sum of the minimum guaranteed bandwidths searched, one NNI port is selected based on a predetermined criterion.)
Shows the selecting of an optical network unit or ONU from a plurality of ONUs to transfer
The motivation to combine Taylor and Murakami in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 21 (New)
Taylor teaches limitations of claim 21 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 3, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al. (US 2014/0286158 A1) or Taylor in view of Waldrop et al. (US 2013/0018753 A1) or Waldrop in further view of Murakami et al. (JP 2009141888 A) or Murakami in further view of Yu (CN 107734508 A).
Claim 3 (Original)
Taylor teaches,
The method of claim 2, further comprising:
…in response to the identifying of the availability of the at least the second network-to-network interface.
(See Taylor paragraph 0043, ...the selection of the logical failover circuit may also include determining whether one or more logical connections in the circuit are currently communicating data traffic or are currently unused. If currently unused, the logical connections may be selected for rerouting logical data.)
Shows identifying the availability of the logical failover circuit
(See Taylor paragraph 0046, ...in communication with the switches in the data network 2 (and the failover network 17), sends instructions to reroute the logical data from the NNIs or logical connections 102 and 104 to the failover NNIs or logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 in the logical failover circuit.)
Shows the logical failover circuit includes the failover NNI or second NNI
However, Taylor fails to explicitly teach,
…selecting the at least the first network-to-network interface,…
Nevertheless, Yu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…selecting the at least the first network-to-network interface,…
(See Yu page 6 paragraphs 3-4, ...the embodiment of the invention with actual bandwidth utilization rate is 80% as an example, corresponding PTN access ring existing total bandwidth capacity is 1360 /0.8 = 1700M, because 1700M is greater than the access ring capacity (1024M), Therefore, there is a need in the existing PTN GE update access ring connectors, specifically detaching the upgrade project is as follows: When selecting the interim four traffic demand large site, namely NB-A, NB B NB-E, NB-F, the four site 10GE access ring...) Shows calculating the bandwidth utilization for the 1GE NNI or first NNI after selecting the 10GE NNI or second NNI
One of ordinary skill in the art would conclude if two different networks, namely 1GE network and the 10 GE network, connect at a point, then the connection would be considered a network-to-network interface
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of migrating data from one set of first virtual circuits and clients systems associated with a first network-to-network interface or NNI as to a second NNI as disclosed by Taylor with selecting a first NNI in response to selecting a higher bandwidth NNI as disclosed by Yu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number steps required to migrate client systems and virtual circuits from a first NNI to a second NNI).
Claim 7 (Original)
Taylor teaches,
The method of claim 6, wherein at least one of:
the at least one bandwidth constraint comprises a constraint specifying that the at least the second network-to-network interface has… …of the first plurality of virtual circuits;
(See Talyor paragraph 0025, ...the logical circuit of the network circuit in the data network 2 may include a variable communication path within the LATA 5 and a fixed communication path (i.e., the logical connection 102) between the LATA 5 and the IEC 10.)
Shows one of the logical circuits for first communication network in FIG. 1[102]
(See Talyor paragraph 0038, ...the logical failover circuit may include the logical connection 122 between the LATA 5 (shown in FIG. 1) and the IEC 20.)
Shows a second logical circuits for the first communication network in FIG. 4[122]
Shows a first plurality of virtual circuits
However, Taylor fails to explicitly teach,
…an available bandwidth that exceeds an aggregate bandwidth demand…
Nevertheless, Yu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…an available bandwidth that exceeds an aggregate bandwidth demand…
(See Yu page 1 paragraph 7, ...the wireless base station (eNodeB) or base transceiver station (BTS, Base Transceiver Station) via PTN access ring node device access to PTN (gigabit Ethernet GE, Gigabit Ethernet) after the PTN access ring, gigabit Ethernet (10GE, 10Gigabit Ethernet),...)
Shows the PTN access ring node device or network-to-network interface between the gigabit ethernet or GE network and the 10GE network exceeds GE network bandwidth
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, Murakami, and Yu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 9 (Original)
Taylor teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the generating comprises:…
…the second plurality of virtual circuits via the at least the second network-to-network interface.
(See Taylor paragraph 0046, At operation 530 the network management module 176 reroutes the data from the failed logical circuit to the logical failover circuit. It will be appreciated that the reroute of the data may be accomplished from the logical management module 153 or the network management module 176 which, in communication with the switches in the data network 2 (and the failover network 17), sends instructions to reroute the logical data from the NNIs or logical connections 102 and 104 to the failover NNIs or logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 in the logical failover circuit.)
Shows the rerouting of data from the first client systems to the second virtual circuits by the second NNI
However, Taylor fails to explicitly teach,
…scheduling a migration…
Nevertheless, Yu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…scheduling a migration…
(See Yu page 7 paragraph 5 ...according to different sites on the PTN network management configuration each site bandwidth, if the actual flow rate of the existing PTN access ring is higher than a certain threshold value, such as 70%, on the PTN PTN access ring bandwidth management automatically generating alarm and prompt the relative network planning construction department to PTN access ring ring upgrade work in advance.)
Shows planning to increase wireless network bandwidth prompted by an alarm
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Yu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Taylor also fails to explicitly teach,
…of the at least the first portion of the first plurality of client systems to…
Nevertheless, Murakami, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…of the at least the first portion of the first plurality of client systems to…
(See Murakami page 4 paragraph 4, Thereafter, the frame distribution unit 114 selects one ONU 20 from all the ONUs 20 (step S33), and reads the minimum guaranteed bandwidth of the ONU 20 from the PON side management table (step S34). Next, the NNI side management table is searched for the NNI port with the minimum minimum guaranteed bandwidth sum (step S35), and the searched NNI port is set as the transfer destination of the ONU 20 selected in step S33 (step S36). If there are a plurality of NNI ports with the minimum sum of the minimum guaranteed bandwidths searched, one NNI port is selected based on a predetermined criterion.)
Shows the selecting of an optical network unit or ONU from a plurality of ONUs to transfer
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11 (Original)
Taylor teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:…
….the first network-to-network interface.
(See Talyor paragraph 0025, ...the logical connections 102 and 104 in the data network 2 may include network-to-network interfaces ("NNIs") between the last sending switch in a LATA and the first receiving switch in an IEC.)
Shows the first network-to-network interface of FIG.1 [102] between the first communication network of LATA 5 and the second communication network Failover Network 17
However, Taylor fails to explicitly teach,
…disconnecting the at least…
Nevertheless, Yu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…disconnecting the at least…
(See Yu page 3 paragraph 4, ...after judging the need for detaching the PTN access ring,...)
Shows the detaching of network from another network
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, Murakami, and Yu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 13 (Original)
Taylor teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein… …the first plurality of virtual circuits to the second plurality of virtual circuits comprises:
(See Taylor paragraph 0046, At operation 530 the network management module 176 reroutes the data from the failed logical circuit to the logical failover circuit. It will be appreciated that the reroute of the data may be accomplished from the logical management module 153 or the network management module 176 which, in communication with the switches in the data network 2 (and the failover network 17), sends instructions to reroute the logical data from the NNIs or logical connections 102 and 104 to the failover NNIs or logical connections 122, 124, 126, and 132 in the logical failover circuit.)
Shows the rerouting of data from the first client systems to the second virtual circuits by the second NNI
However, Taylor fails to explicitly teach,
…the selecting the at least the first portion of the first plurality of client systems for transfer from…
…identifying the at least the first portion as complying with at least one constraint.
Nevertheless, Murakami, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the selecting the at least the first portion of the first plurality of client systems for transfer from…
…identifying the at least the first portion as complying with at least one constraint.
(See Murakami page 5 paragraph 5, Thereafter, the frame distribution unit 114 selects one ONU 20 from all the ONUs 20 (step S33), and reads the minimum guaranteed bandwidth of the ONU 20 from the PON side management table (step S34). Next, the NNI side management table is searched for the NNI port with the minimum minimum guaranteed bandwidth sum (step S35), and the searched NNI port is set as the transfer destination of the ONU 20 selected in step S33 (step S36). If there are a plurality of NNI ports with the minimum sum of the minimum guaranteed bandwidths searched, one NNI port is selected based on a predetermined criterion.)
Shows the selecting of an optical network unit or ONU from a plurality of ONUs to transfer with the constraint of the minimum bandwidth
The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, and Murakami in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 15 (Original)
Taylor teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 7. However, Taylor fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 7. Nevertheless, Yu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Taylor, Waldrop, Murakami, and Yu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Breton et al. (US 20120257542 A1) or Breton teaches selecting network-to-network interfaces based on virtual local area network or VLAN tags.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414