DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, applicant recites “stepped potion” where it appears applicant intended “stepped portion.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Piao (CN 215479908).
Per claim 1, Piao et al. disclose a filter module (abstract, The utility model solves the problem of the existing technology: how to make the central pipe has the function of re-processing the water filtered by the RO membrane, reducing the problem of volume of the filter device.; pages 1-2, Therefore, how to make the central tube has the function of re-processing the water filtered by the RO membrane, reducing the volume of the filter device, becoming a problem to be solved.) comprising:
a center tube having at least one purified water inlet (1-4) on an outer peripheral surface thereof and provided at one end thereof with a connection portion having a purified water outlet formed therein (left side of the tube 1 shown in Figs. 11-14);
a reverse osmosis filter wound on the center tube (page 9, it is convenient for subsequent to the multi-functional composite central tube outer side surface rolling film (such as RO reverse osmosis membrane); page 10, If the multifunctional composite central tube is applied in the RO membrane filter core, RO reverse osmosis membrane is wrapped on the outer side of the main body 1), the reverse osmosis filtering raw water introduced through one end thereof and discharging the filtered raw water to the purified water inlet (page 10, …raw water through RO reverse osmosis membrane first filtering, and then filtering again through the second filter part 5, the purified water again filtered through the water inlet hole 1-4 into the cavity 1-1 of the main body 1,); and
a post-treatment filter (4) disposed inside the center tube and allowing purified water introduced into the center tube to be post-treated by passing through the post-treatment filter (Fig. 14; page 7, page 7, the first filter part 4 is carbon rod type filter core or tea bag type filter core provided with carbon powder or mineralized ball or ultra-filtration membrane filter core or filter core or PP cotton filter core with function of absorbing heavy metal or folding filter core or built-in resin, particle carbon, powder ink carbon, the filter core of the carbon fibre, the first filter part 4 can be used for absorbing organic matter, removing odour, sterilizing, bacteriostasis, removing heavy metal, removing residual chlorine, adjusting the pH value of the water is weak alkaline and so on, which is more beneficial for human health. the tea bag type filter core can use small volume, fully filling the cavity 1-1 of the central tube, the filling degree is high, so that the filtering effect of the first filtering part 4 is better.), wherein the center tube comprises:
a first tube member (2) provided at one end thereof with the connection portion and having a first post-treatment filter mounting slot formed therein (2-2; Figs. 11-14); and
a second tube member (3) detachably connected to the other end of the first tube
member (page 2, In addition, how to realize the central tube can be detachably connected, convenient for the central tube mounting, loading and unloading re-processing of the filter part, it becomes the problem to be solved.) and having a second post-treatment filter mounting slot formed therein (3-2) to communicate with the first post-treatment filter mounting slot (Figs. 11-4), and
at least a portion of the post-treatment filter is disposed in the first post-treatment filter mounting slot and the other portion of the post-treatment filter is disposed in the second post-treatment filter mounting slot (Fig. 14).
Per claim 2, the first tube member is provided therein with a purified water discharge partition (1-2) having at least one purified water discharge hole formed therethrough (1-2, first water outlet);
the second tube member is provided therein with a separation partition dividing the second tube member into a front space and a rear space (Fig. 14, here a vertical partition confining filter 4 is shown in second tube 3); and
the post-treatment filter has a front end facing the purified water discharge partition and a rear end facing the separation partition (Fig. 14).
Per claim 3, wherein the purified water inlet communicates with the first post-treatment filter mounting slot and the second post-treatment filter mounting slot such that purified water supplied through the purified water inlet is introduced into an inner space defined by the purified water discharge partition and the separation partition (Figs. 12 and 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piao (CN 215479908).
Per claim 4, Piao discloses a filter module (abstract, The utility model solves the problem of the existing technology: how to make the central pipe has the function of re-processing the water filtered by the RO membrane, reducing the problem of volume of the filter device.; pages 1-2, Therefore, how to make the central tube has the function of re-processing the water filtered by the RO membrane, reducing the volume of the filter device, becoming a problem to be solved.) comprising:
a center tube having at least one purified water inlet (1-4) on an outer peripheral surface thereof and formed at one end thereof with a purified water outlet (Fig. 16);
a reverse osmosis filter wound on the center tube, the reverse osmosis filtering raw water introduced through one end thereof and discharging the filtered raw water to the purified water inlet (page 10, If the multifunctional composite central tube is applied in the RO membrane filter core, RO reverse osmosis membrane is wrapped on the outer side of the main body 1 and the outer side of the second filter part 5, the
RO reverse osmosis membrane wrapping process also can be the second filter part 5 (such as formed by carbon rod and non-woven fabric filter core has elasticity, the second filter part 5 will not scratch the RO reverse osmosis membrane,); and
a post-treatment filter (5) disposed on the outer peripheral surface of the center tube to cover the purified water inlet (Figs. 16-18) and allowing purified water having passed through the reverse osmosis filter to be post-treated by passing through the post-treatment filter (page 10, …raw water through RO reverse osmosis membrane first
filtering, and then filtering again through the second filter part 5, the purified water again filtered through the water inlet hole 1-4 into the cavity 1-1 of the main body 1, and then discharged from the first water outlet 1-2 the purified water after the second time filtering.), wherein the center tube comprises:
a functional equivalent of a cap member (Figs. 15-18; Fig 16 has been copied below with the cap circled) provided therein with the purified water outlet and having one end at least partially exposed to an outside of the center tube (Figs. 15-18);
a first tube member (2) formed therethrough with the purified water inlet and an outer peripheral surface coupled to the post-treatment filter (Figs. 16-18); and
a second tube member (3) extending from the other end of the first tube member and having an outer peripheral surface contacting an inner peripheral surface of the reverse osmosis filter (page 10, If the multifunctional composite central tube is applied in the RO membrane filter core, RO reverse osmosis membrane is wrapped on the outer side of the main body 1 and the outer side of the second filter part 5,). Piao does not disclose that the cap member is detachably coupled to an external filter connection portion and the first tube member having one end detachably coupled to the other end of the cap member.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to modify the module of Piao such that it comprises the cap member is detachably coupled to an external filter connection portion in order to, for example, provide at least one additional around round of liquid filtration when desired or needed and the first tube member having one end detachably coupled to the other end of the cap member, in order to, for example, facilitate cap replacement without replacing the first tube member as well. Clearly, the skilled artisan would be motivated to provide additional treatment depending on anticipated contaminant loading and the results desired and the skilled artisan would be motivated to reduce equipment expenditures by replacing a portion of a tube part such as the cap instead of the whole first tube member which includes the cap and the perforated tube portion. Further, it has been held that routine matters of design involve only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Moreover, it has been held that making components detachable involves only routine skill in the art. See, for example, In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Per claim 5, Piao discloses wherein the second tube member has a smaller diameter than the first tube member such that a stepped portion is formed at a junction between the second tube member and the first tube member to support the post-treatment filter (Fig. 15; 3-2-1, a second buckle part is shown fitting into the first tube member). Piao does not disclose wherein the second tube member has a larger diameter than the first tube member.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to reverse the relative diameters of the first and second tube members such that the second tube member has a larger diameter than the first tube member. Further, it has been held that reversal of parts involves only routine skill in the art. See, for example, In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). Moreover, applicant has not provided for the record a proper showing (e.g., comparative test data) of any new and unexpected result derived from making the diameter of the second tube member larger than the first tube member.
Per claim 6, wherein the post-treatment filter has an inner peripheral surface contacting the outer peripheral surface of the first tube member (Figs. 16-18) and an outer peripheral surface contacting the inner peripheral surface of the reverse osmosis filter (page 10, If the multifunctional composite central tube is applied in the RO membrane filter core, RO reverse osmosis membrane is wrapped on the outer side of the main body 1 and the outer side of the second filter part 5,).
Per claim 7, Piao does not disclose wherein an inner space of the first tube member is separated from an inner space of the second tube member and the first tube member is integrally formed with the second tube member.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to modify the filter module such that wherein an inner space of the first tube member is separated from an inner space of the second tube member and the first tube member is integrally formed with the second tube member in order to, for example, reduce the complexity of the tube. Further, it has been held that making multiple elements into an integral element involves only routine skill in the art, for among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice." See, for example, In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). Moreover, applicant has not provided for the record a proper showing (e.g., comparative test data) of any new and unexpected result derived from making the diameter of the second tube member larger than the first tube member.
Per claim 8, Piao et al. do not disclose wherein the cap member is provided therein with a stepped stopper contacting a front end of the first tube member to adjust an insertion length of the first tube member into the cap member.
It is submitted that it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the module of Piao such that it includes wherein the cap member is provided therein with a stepped stopper contacting a front end of the first tube member to adjust an insertion length of the first tube member into the cap member in order to, for example facilitate mounting the cap to various diameter tubes.
Conclusion
/FRED PRINCE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779