DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding to claims 1, 11, and 18, the applicant argues that Ishikawa does not disclose first and second flat, display panels. The arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C 102 rejections of claims 1, 11, and 18 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in a newly applied art.
Claims 1, 11 and 18 are not allowable due to a newly applied art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 and claim 11 recite the limitation "the first and second display" in lines 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph due to dependency of claim 1 and claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (US 20180324396 A1) and in view of Wagemakers (NPL; Interactive Visual Calibration of Volumetric Head-Tracked 3D Displays).
Regarding to claim 1 (Currently Amended), Ishikawa discloses an apparatus (Fig. 2; [0068]: a video projection system 100; the image processing apparatus 110 includes a content storage unit 112, a correction processor 114 for each projector; the image processing apparatus 110 further includes a calibration image storage unit 118, a calibration scene selector 120, a captured calibration image input unit 124, a grid point extraction integrator 130, and a correction coefficient calculator; [0070]: the correction processors 114 read a content image from the content storage unit 112, perform a correction process, and generate a projection image for a corresponding one of projectors) comprising:
at least one processor assembly configured to (Fig. 2; [0068]: a correction processor; [0069]: the content storage unit 112 stores a content image to be projected as a single projection image 106; [0070]: the correction processors 114 read a content image from the content storage unit 112, perform a correction process, and generate a projection image for a corresponding one of projectors):
present a first dot pattern on a first display panel of a multi-display panel assembly (Fig. 1; [0059]: large-screen multi-projection area, i.e., multiple display panel assembly; Fig. 1; [0064]: generate multiple projection images that are to be projected into multiple panels by multiple projectors 150a to 150d; the multiple projected images 104a to 104d are superimposed on a projection surface to be combined into a single projection image; Fig. 6; [0089]: display first dot pattern and second pattern in left panel and right panel as illustrated in Fig. 6;
; Fig. 12A; [136]: display multiple sets of grid point coordinate values;
; [ 0172]: a curved screen image 252 and a physical scale image 254; Fig. 23 A-B; [0204]: present dash-dot circles and dotted circles on display;
; Fig. 13; [0227]: display sets 302a, 302b, 302c, and 302d of grid point in four panels;
; [0184-0186], [0203]; [0231-0232]: correction processor system displays two dot patterns in projector respective areas, i.e. different respective display panels, of a multi-projector display area configuration, i.e. multi-display panel assembly);
present a second dot pattern on a second display panel of the multi-display panel assembly (Fig. 6; [0089]: display first dot pattern and second pattern in left panel and right panel as illustrated in Fig. 6;
; Fig. 13; [0227]: display sets 302a, 302b, 302c, and 302d of grid point in four panels;
), the first and second display panels being separate from each other and having different orientations (Fig. 1; [0063]: the screen 102 has a cylindrical shape having a curve along a vertical direction depicted in FIG. 1; Fig. 1; [0064]: the projection surface of 104a and the project surface of 104c are first panel and second panel, and are separated; they are located in different locations of a cylindrical shape surface and have different orientations; [0181]: the display panels are a horizontal cylinder inner wall with different orientations; Fig. 12A; [0136]: three display panels; three panels are separated as illustrated in Fig. 12A;
; Fig. 13; [0227]: display sets 302a, 302b, 302c, and 302d of grid point in four panels;
; areas 302b and 302d are different panels, and are separated on a cylindrical shape surface and a horizontal cylinder inner wall with different orientations);
receive one or more images from a camera, the one or more images showing the first and second dot patterns ([0074]: capture the calibration pattern 206 projected on the screen 102; extract grid points from the captured calibration pattern 206 projected on the screen 102; [0075]: the calibration pattern 206 and the alignment patterns 202 and 212; [0093]: a user captures the projected images 237c and 237d projected by the third and fourth projectors 150c and 150d, using the camera 160; Fig. 18A; [0171]: receive and obtain the captured calibration image by capturing the above-described calibration pattern; prepare a captured image; [0172]: a camera captures an image of the physical scale in a state where a second calibration image including the alignment pattern is projected from one projector 150; [184-186], [203-205]: calibrate images from a camera capturing the patterns);
based on the one or more images from the camera, identify one or more irregular display panel features related to the first display panel and/or the second display panel ([0074]: detect trapezoidal distortion and local distortion of the projected image by capturing the calibration pattern 206 projected on the screen 102; [0081]: an incongruent sense; Fig. 5B; [0082]: the projected image appear distorted, i.e. irregular; [0083]: the captured image is distorted in the bobbin shape; [0184-0187], [0203-0204]: the images are used to sense/extract incongruent/distorted projection area shape/feature points, i.e., irregular display panel features, corresponding to first and second projector areas, i.e. second display panel); and
based on the one or more irregular display panel features, identify and store a metric by which to warp subsequent images that will be presented on the first and second display panels ([0080-0081]: when calibration is performed using a camera, the camera normally corrects a projection image; the corrected projection image forms a rectangular shape on the captured image coordinate system; [0082]: the front portion being large and the back portion being small; the projected image appears distorted to form the above-mentioned bobbin shape; [0086]: the captured calibration image input unit 124 prepares multiple calibration images captured in different imaging ranges associated with a direction in which the target projector projects a calibration pattern on the curved surface screen 102; Fig. 8; [0121]: a correction process is performed on the content image by the correction processor 114 for each projector; the image processing apparatus 110 causes the projected image output unit 116 for each projector to output the corrected projected image; [0129-0131], [157], [0162-0165], [0227]: the features calibrate, i.e. identify and store, shape transformation coefficients/measurements, i.e. metric, to shape transform, i.e. warp, subsequent projected corrected projected images).
Ishikawa fails to explicitly disclose: a first flat display and a second flat display.
In same field of endeavor, Wagemakers teaches a first flat display and a second flat display (page 3943; Abstract: perform a quantitative camera-based calibration of a cubic display; a cubic display includes a first flat display and a second flat display; page 3944; right column; Multi-screen Calibration: multi-projector calibration procedures for planar; page 3946; right column; Figure 3; Experimental conditions: Box represents the dimensions of our current cubic display constructed from LCD screens with seams between each screen and Cube represents a cubic display with no seams;
; first flat display and second flat display as illustrated in Figure 3; page 3949; left column; Figure 8; VISUAL CALIBRATION ON A PHYSICAL CUBIC DISPLAY: the cubic display includes a first flat display and a second flat display as illustrated in Figure 8;
; page 3949; right column; Figure 8: two representative calibration test images; multiple flat display as illustrated in Figure. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishikawa to include a first flat display and a second flat display as taught by Wagemakers. The motivation for doing so would have been to perform a quantitative camera-based calibration of a cubic display; to enhance the motion parallax effects and improve 3D perception; to implement Multi-screen Calibration by multi-projector calibration procedures for plana as taught by Wagemakers in Abstract, page 3943 right column, and page 3944 right column.
Regarding to claim 2 (Previously Presented), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor assembly is configured to:
use the metric to present a first image on the first and second panels (Ishikawa; para [0106-0107], [0146], [0184-0187]: use the metric to project a superimposed/overlapped image on the respective panels).
Regarding to claim 3 (Original), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first and second dot patterns are different from each other (Ishikawa; [0074-0075], [0185-0186], [0197]: different calibration images and patterns).
Regarding to claim 4 (Original), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first and second dot patterns are presented sequentially, the first dot pattern presented before the second dot pattern (Ishikawa; [0089-0092], [0185]: the dot patterns are prepared a number of times, i.e. sequentially, shifting from the first to the second pattern).
Regarding to claim 5 (Original), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more irregular display panel features relate to one or more surface contour features of the first display panel and/or the second display panel (Ishikawa; [0074], [0078-0081], [0186]: corresponding to trapezoidal and curved screen features, i.e., surface contour features, of the respective panel).
Regarding to claim 6 (Original), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more irregular display panel features relate to misalignment of the first display panel with the second display panel (Ishikawa; [0187-0188], [0231-0233]: measure corresponding relative misalignment).
Regarding to claim 7 (Original), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more irregular display panel features relate to brightness of the first display panel and/or the second display panel (Ishikawa; [0106-0108], [0146-0147]: irregular features define color brightness features based on superimposition/overlapping).
Regarding to claim 9 (Original), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more irregular display panel features relate to resolution of the first display panel and/or the second display panel (Ishikawa; [0107], [0165-0173]: the features are matched/correspond to an image aspect ratio size of pixel intervals/scales, i.e. resolution, of the respective panels).
Regarding to claim 10 (Original), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more irregular display panel features relate to chromatic dispersion of red, green, and/or blue pixels of a first image presented on at least one of the first and second display panels (Ishikawa; [0106-0108], [0236]: the irregular features defined by RGB projector color blends, i.e., chromatic dispersion, of pixels, i.e., red, green, or blue pixels, of a first image superimposed on the respective panels).
Regarding to claim 11 (Currently Amended), Ishikawa discloses an apparatus (Fig. 2; [0068]: a video projection system 100; the image processing apparatus 110 includes a content storage unit 112, a correction processor 114 for each projector; the image processing apparatus 110 further includes a calibration image storage unit 118, a calibration scene selector 120, a captured calibration image input unit 124, a grid point extraction integrator 130, and a correction coefficient calculator; [0070]: the correction processors 114 read a content image from the content storage unit 112, perform a correction process, and generate a projection image for a corresponding one of projectors) comprising:
at least one computer medium that is not a transitory signal and that comprises instructions executable by at least one processor assembly to (Fig. 2; [0068]: a correction processor; [0069]: the content storage unit 112 stores a content image to be projected as a single projection image 106; [0070]: the correction processors 114 read a content image from the content storage unit 112, perform a correction process, and generate a projection image for a corresponding one of projectors; Fig. 26; [0234]: connect the CPU 12 with a memory; [0236]: the north bridge 14 is connected to a RAM, i.e. Random Access Memory, configured to provide a work area of the CPU 12; [0237-0238]):
present a first pattern on a first display panel of a display assembly (Fig. 1; [0059]: large-screen multi-projection area, i.e., multiple display panel assembly; Fig. 1; [0064]: generate multiple projection images that are to be projected into multiple panels by multiple projectors 150a to 150d; the multiple projected images 104a to 104d are superimposed on a projection surface to be combined into a single projection image; Fig. 6; [0089]: display first dot pattern and second pattern in left panel and right panel as illustrated in Fig. 6;
; Fig. 12A; [136]: display multiple sets of grid point coordinate values;
; [ 0172]: a curved screen image 252 and a physical scale image 254; Fig. 23 A-B; [0204]: present dash-dot circles and dotted circles on display;
; Fig. 13; [0227]: display sets 302a, 302b, 302c, and 302d of grid point in four panels;
; [0184-0186], [0203]; [0231-0232]: correction processor system displays two dot patterns in projector respective areas, i.e. different respective display panels, of a multi-projector display area configuration, i.e. multi-display panel assembly);
present a second dot pattern on a second display panel of the multi-display panel assembly (Fig. 6; [0089]: display first dot pattern and second pattern in left panel and right panel as illustrated in Fig. 6;
; Fig. 13; [0227]: display sets 302a, 302b, 302c, and 302d of grid point in four panels;
), the first and second display panels being separate from each other and having different orientations (Fig. 1; [0063]: the screen 102 has a cylindrical shape having a curve along a vertical direction depicted in FIG. 1; Fig. 1; [0064]: the projection surface of 104a and the project surface of 104c are first panel and second panel, and are separated; they are located in different locations of a cylindrical shape surface and have different orientations; [0181]: the display panels are a horizontal cylinder inner wall with different orientations; Fig. 12A; [0136]: three display panels; three panels are separated as illustrated in Fig. 12A;
; Fig. 13; [0227]: display sets 302a, 302b, 302c, and 302d of grid point in four panels;
; areas 302b and 302d are different panels, and are separated on a cylindrical shape surface and a horizontal cylinder inner wall with different orientations);
receive one or more images from a camera, the one or more images showing the first and second patterns ([0074]: capture the calibration pattern 206 projected on the screen 102; extract grid points from the captured calibration pattern 206 projected on the screen 102; [0075]: the calibration pattern 206 and the alignment patterns 202 and 212; [0093]: a user captures the projected images 237c and 237d projected by the third and fourth projectors 150c and 150d, using the camera 160; Fig. 18A; [0171]: receive and obtain the captured calibration image by capturing the above-described calibration pattern; prepare a captured image; [0172]: a camera captures an image of the physical scale in a state where a second calibration image including the alignment pattern is projected from one projector 150; [184-186], [203-205]: calibrate images from a camera capturing the patterns);
based on the one or more images from the camera, identify one or more display panel features related to the multi-display panel display assembly ([0074]: detect trapezoidal distortion and local distortion of the projected image by capturing the calibration pattern 206 projected on the screen 102; [0081]: an incongruent sense; Fig. 5B; [0082]: the projected image appear distorted, i.e. irregular; [0083]: the captured image is distorted in the bobbin shape; [0184-0187], [0203-0204]: the images are used to sense/extract incongruent/distorted projection area shape/feature points, i.e., irregular display panel features, corresponding to first and second projector areas, i.e. second display panel; Fig. 13; [0227]: display sets 302a, 302b, 302c, and 302d of grid point in four panels;
; area 302b and 302d are separated on a cylindrical shape surface); and
based on the one or more display panel features, identify and store a metric by which to alter presentation of subsequent images that will be presented on the multi-display panel display assembly ([0080-0081]: when calibration is performed using a camera, the camera normally corrects a projection image; the corrected projection image forms a rectangular shape on the captured image coordinate system; [0082]: the front portion being large and the back portion being small; the projected image appears distorted to form the above-mentioned bobbin shape; [0086]: the captured calibration image input unit 124 prepares multiple calibration images captured in different imaging ranges associated with a direction in which the target projector projects a calibration pattern on the curved surface screen 102; Fig. 8; [0121]: a correction process is performed on the content image by the correction processor 114 for each projector; the image processing apparatus 110 causes the projected image output unit 116 for each projector to output the corrected projected image; [0129-0131], [157], [0162-0165], [0227]: the features calibrate, i.e. identify and store, shape transformation coefficients/measurements , i.e. metric, to shape transform, i.e. warp, subsequent projected corrected projected images).
Ishikawa fails to explicitly disclose: a first flat display and a second flat display.
In same field of endeavor, Wagemakers teaches a first flat display and a second flat display (page 3943; Abstract: perform a quantitative camera-based calibration of a cubic display; a cubic display includes a first flat display and a second flat display; page 3944; right column; Multi-screen Calibration: multi-projector calibration procedures for planar; page 3946; right column; Figure 3; Experimental conditions: Box represents the dimensions of our current cubic display constructed from LCD screens with seams between each screen and Cube represents a cubic display with no seams;
; page 3949; left column; Figure 8; VISUAL CALIBRATION ON A PHYSICAL CUBIC DISPLAY: cubic display includes a first flat display and a second display as illustrated in Figure 8;
page 3949; right column; Figure 8: two representative calibration test images; multiple flat display as illustrated in Figure. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishikawa to include a first flat display and a second flat display as taught by Wagemakers. The motivation for doing so would have been to perform a quantitative camera-based calibration of a cubic display; to enhance the motion parallax effects and improve 3D perception; to implement Multi-screen Calibration by multi-projector calibration procedures for plana as taught by Wagemakers in Abstract, page 3943 right column, and page 3944 right column.
Regarding to claim 12 (Previously Presented), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions are executable to (same as rejected in claim 1):
use the metric to present a first image on the multi-display panel display assembly (Ishikawa; [0106-0107], [0146], [0184-0187]: use the metric to project a superimposed/overlapped image on the respective panels).
Regarding to claim 13 (Previously Presented), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first and second patterns are dot patterns (Ishikawa; [074-075], [185-186], [197]: different calibration images and patterns).
Regarding to claim 14 (Previously Presented), Ishikawa discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more display panel features comprise irregular display panel features (Ishikawa; ; [0081-0083], [0184-0187], [0203-0204]: incongruent/distorted projection area shape/feature points, i.e. irregular display panel features).
Regarding to claim 15 (Previously Presented), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the irregular display panel features comprise one or more irregular surface contour features of the multi-display panel display assembly (Ishikawa; [0074], [0078-0081], [0186]: corresponding to trapezoidal and curved screen features, i.e., surface contour features, of the assembly).
Regarding to claim 16 (Previously Presented), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the irregular display panel features comprise misalignment of the first display panel with respect to the second display panel (Ishikawa; [0187-0188], [0231-0233]: measure corresponding relative misalignment with a second projector area on the screen of the assembly).
Regarding to claim 17 (Previously Presented), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the irregular display panel features comprise one or more of: irregular brightness of the multi-display panel display assembly (Ishikawa; [106-108],[146-147]: the irregular features define distorted color brightness features based on superimposition/overlapping), irregular contrast of the multi-display panel display assembly, irregular resolution of the multi-display panel display assembly (Ishikawa; [0107], [0165-0173]: the features are matched/correspond to a distorted image aspect ratio size of pixel intervals/scales, i.e. resolution, of the respective panels; Fig. 13; [0227]: display sets 302a, 302b, 302c, and 302d of grid point in four panels;
; area 302b and 302d are separated on a cylindrical shape surface).
Regarding to claim 18 (Currently Amended), Ishikawa discloses a method (Fig. 2; [0068]: a video projection system 100; the image processing apparatus 110 includes a content storage unit 112, a correction processor 114 for each projector; the image processing apparatus 110 further includes a calibration image storage unit 118, a calibration scene selector 120, a captured calibration image input unit 124, a grid point extraction integrator 130, and a correction coefficient calculator; [0070]: the correction processors 114 read a content image from the content storage unit 112, perform a correction process, and generate a projection image for a corresponding one of projectors), comprising:
presenting at least a first image on a multi-display panel display assembly (Fig. 1; [0059]: large-screen multi-projection area, i.e., multiple display panel assembly; Fig. 1; [0064]: generate multiple projection images that are to be projected into multiple panels by multiple projectors 150a to 150d; the multiple projected images 104a to 104d are superimposed on a projection surface to be combined into a single projection image; Fig. 6; [0089]: display first dot pattern and second pattern in left panel and right panel as illustrated in Fig. 6;
; Fig. 12A; [136]: display multiple sets of grid point coordinate values;
; [ 0172]: a curved screen image 252 and a physical scale image 254; Fig. 23 A-B; [0204]: present dash-dot circles and dotted circles on display;
; Fig. 13; [0227]: display sets 302a, 302b, 302c, and 302d of grid point in four panels;
; [0184-0186], [0203]; [0231-0232]: display a pattern image on a screen of a multi-projector configuration, i.e., display assembly) comprising first and second display panels that are separate from each other and having different orientations (Fig. 1; [0063]: the screen 102 has a cylindrical shape having a curve along a vertical direction depicted in FIG. 1; Fig. 1; [0064]: the projection surface of 104a and the project surface of 104c are first panel and second panel, and are separated; they are located in different locations of a cylindrical shape surface and have different orientations; [0181]: the display panels are a horizontal cylinder inner wall with different orientations; Fig. 12A; [0136]: three display panels; three panels are separated as illustrated in Fig. 12A;
; Fig. 13; [0227]: display sets 302a, 302b, 302c, and 302d of grid point in four panels;
; areas 302b and 302d are different panels, and separated on a cylindrical shape surface and a horizontal cylinder inner wall with different orientations);
receiving one or more second images from a camera, the one or more second images showing the first image ([0074]: capture the calibration pattern 206 projected on the screen 102; extract grid points from the captured calibration pattern 206 projected on the screen 102; [0075]: the calibration pattern 206 and the alignment patterns 202 and 212; [0093]: a user captures the projected images 237c and 237d projected by the third and fourth projectors 150c and 150d, using the camera 160; Fig. 18A; [0171]: receive and obtain the captured calibration image by capturing the above-described calibration pattern; prepare a captured image; [0172]: a camera captures an image of the physical scale in a state where a second calibration image including the alignment pattern is projected from one projector 150; [184-186], [203-205]: calibrate second images from a camera capturing and showing the first image);
based on the one or more second images from the camera, identifying one or more display panel features related to the multi-display panel display assembly ([0074]: detect trapezoidal distortion and local distortion of the projected image by capturing the calibration pattern 206 projected on the screen 102; [0081]: an incongruent sense; Fig. 5B; [0082]: the projected image appear distorted, i.e. irregular; Fig. 5C; [0083]: the captured image is distorted in the bobbin shape; [0184-0187], [0203-0204]: the images are used to sense/extract projection area shape/feature points, i.e., display panel features, of corresponding to the assembly; Fig. 13; [0227]: display sets 302a, 302b, 302c, and 302d of grid point in four panels;
; areas 302b and 302d are separated on a cylindrical shape surface); and
rendering a subsequent image on the multi-display panel display assembly according to a metric by which to alter presentation of the subsequent image, the metric determined based on the one or more display panel features ([0080-0081]: when calibration is performed using a camera, the camera normally corrects a projection image; the corrected projection image forms a rectangular shape on the captured image coordinate system; [0082]: the front portion being large and the back portion being small; the projected image appears distorted to form the above-mentioned bobbin shape; [0086]: the captured calibration image input unit 124 prepares multiple calibration images captured in different imaging ranges associated with a direction in which the target projector projects a calibration pattern on the curved surface screen 102; Fig. 8; [0121]: a correction process is performed on the content image by the correction processor 114 for each projector; the image processing apparatus 110 causes the projected image output unit 116 for each projector to output the corrected projected image; [0129-0131], [157], [0162-0165], [0227]: the features calibrate shape transformation coefficients/measurements, i.e., metric, to shape transform, i.e., alter, subsequent projected corrected projected images; Fig. 13; [0227]: display sets 302a, 302b, 302c, and 302d of grid point in four panels;
; area 302b and 302d are separated on a cylindrical shape surface).
Ishikawa fails to explicitly disclose: a first flat display and a second flat display.
In same field of endeavor, Wagemakers teaches a first flat display and a second flat display (page 3943; Abstract: perform a quantitative camera-based calibration of a cubic display; a cubic display includes a first flat display and a second flat display; page 3944; right column; Multi-screen Calibration: multi-projector calibration procedures for planar; page 3946; right column; Figure 3; Experimental conditions: Box represents the dimensions of our current cubic display constructed from LCD screens with seams between each screen and Cube represents a cubic display with no seams;
; page 3949; left column; Figure 8; VISUAL CALIBRATION ON A PHYSICAL CUBIC DISPLAY: cubic display includes a first flat display and a second display as illustrated in Figure 8;
page 3949; right column; Figure 8: two representative calibration test images; multiple flat display as illustrated in Figure. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishikawa to include a first flat display and a second flat display as taught by Wagemakers. The motivation for doing so would have been to perform a quantitative camera-based calibration of a cubic display; to enhance the motion parallax effects and improve 3D perception; to implement Multi-screen Calibration by multi-projector calibration procedures for plana as taught by Wagemakers in Abstract, page 3943 right column, and page 3944 right column.
Regarding to claim 19 (Original), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the method of claim 18, comprising:
presenting the first image and a third image to identify the one or more display panel features (Ishikawa; [0074-0075], [0089], [0185-0186], [0197]: display the first and subsequent different pattern images to extract and measure the features).
Regarding to claim 20 (Original), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the first and third images comprise respective patterns that are asymmetric from each other (Ishikawa; [0074-0075], [0157], [0185-0186], [0197]: different calibration images and patterns have distorted symmetry, i.e., asymmetric from each other).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (US 20180324396 A1) in view of Wagemakers (NPL; Interactive Visual Calibration of Volumetric Head-Tracked 3D Displays), and further in view of Hereld (US 20040085256 A1).
Regarding to claim 8 (Original), Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more irregular display panel features of the first display panel and/or the second display panel ([0106-0108], [0146-0147]: the irregular features define color brightness features based on superimposition/overlapping).
Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers fails to explicitly disclose relate to contrast.
In same field of endeavor, Hereld teaches relate to contrast ([0040-0043], [0064]: mapping to high contrast features of projector tiles to measure alignment distortions with reduced noise and enhance test patterns).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishikawa in view of Wagemakers to include relate to contrast as taught by Hereld. The motivation for doing so would have been to correct some of the measured pixel misalignment by adjusting the digital image for display; to improve measurement accuracy in many ways by reducing a number of potential sources of error as taught by Hereld in paragraphs [0063-0064].
Conclusion
/HAI TAO SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616