DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The status identifiers of claims 19 and 20 must be changed to “Withdrawn”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (2008/0241529).
Regarding claims 1, 5-6: Bauer et al. teach a hot melt adhesive composition [0021] capable of functioning in the claimed capacity [0210] comprising 20 wt% of a styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymer (styrenic block copolymer), 16.1 wt% of a tackifier (Excorez 1034), and 4 wt% of diethyl phosphinate (phosphinic acid salt) [0269; Example 28]. Bauer et al. teach adding a polyphosphate as a synergistic agent [0043-0048, Claim 8]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a polyphosphate to Example 28 of Bauer et al. as a synergistic agent to improve the flame retardance of the composition.
Since the composition is in a solution [Example], and is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed property. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 3: Bauer et al. teach polyphosphates with the claimed melting point [0043-0048; Examples].
Regarding claim 4: Bauer et al. teach polyphosphates with the claimed melting point [0066-0067]. Bauer et al. teach using a mixture of synergistic agents [0017] and polyphosphates [0043-0048]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mixture of polyphosphates. It is obvious to combine separately taught prior art ingredients which perform the same function; it is logical that they would produce the same effect and supplement each other. In re Crockett 126 USPQ 186. See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claims 7-8: Bauer et al. teach melamine and melamine ammonium polyphosphate [0048, 0051].
Regarding claim 9: Bauer et al. teach zinc oxide [0017; Example 28].
Regarding claim 10: Bauer et al. teach a radial styrenic block copolymer [0150].
Regarding claim 11: Bauer et al. teach a hot melt adhesive composition [0021] capable of functioning in the claimed capacity [0210] comprising 20 wt% of a styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymer (styrenic block copolymer), 16.1 wt% of a tackifier (Excorez 1034), 4 wt% of diethyl phosphinate (phosphinic acid salt) [0269; Example 28], and from 1 to 40 wt% [0015] of a polyphosphate [0043-0048, Claim 8].
The amount of 4 wt% is very close to the claimed amount of 5 wt%.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 12: Bauer et al. teach a hot melt adhesive composition [0021] capable of functioning in the claimed capacity [0210] comprising 20 wt% of a styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymer (styrenic block copolymer), 16.1 wt% of a tackifier (Excorez 1034), 4 wt% of diethyl phosphinate (phosphinic acid salt) [0269; Example 28], from 1 to 40 wt% [0015] of a polyphosphate [0043-0048, Claim 8], and 7 wt% of a plasticizer [0188, 0238; Example 9]
The amount of 4 wt% is very close to the claimed amount of 5 wt%.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 13: Bauer et al. teach a hot melt adhesive composition [0021] capable of functioning in the claimed capacity [0210] comprising 20 wt% of a styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymer (styrenic block copolymer), 16.1 wt% of a tackifier (Excorez 1034), 4 wt% of diethyl phosphinate (phosphinic acid salt) [0269; Example 28], from 1 to 40 wt% [0015] of a polyphosphate [0043-0048, Claim 8], and 7 wt% of a plasticizer [0188, 0238; Example 9]. Bauer et al. teach melamine and melamine ammonium polyphosphate [0048].
The amount of 4 wt% is very close to the claimed amount of 5 wt%.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 14: Bauer et al. teach a hot melt adhesive composition [0021] capable of functioning in the claimed capacity [0210] comprising 20 wt% of a styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymer (styrenic block copolymer), 16.1 wt% of a tackifier (Excorez 1034), 4 wt% of diethyl phosphinate (phosphinic acid salt) [0269; Example 28], from 1 to 40 wt% [0015] of a polyphosphate, zinc oxide [0043-0048, Claim 8], and 7 wt% of a plasticizer [0188, 0238; Example 9]. Bauer et al. teach melamine and melamine ammonium polyphosphate [0048].
The amount of 4 wt% is very close to the claimed amount of 5 wt%.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 15: Bauer et al. teach polyphosphates with the claimed melting point [0066-0067]. Bauer et al. teach using a mixture of synergistic agents [0017] and polyphosphates [0043-0048]. Bauer et al. also teach melamine [0051]
Regarding claims 16-17: Bauer et al. teach 4 wt% of diethyl phosphinate (phosphinic acid salt) [0269; Example 28], and from 1 to 40 wt% [0015] of a polyphosphate [0043-0048, Claim 8].
The total amount overlaps the claimed ranges.
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 18: Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed property. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Claim(s) 2 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (2008/0241529).
Bauer et al. teach a hot melt adhesive composition [0021] capable of functioning in the claimed capacity [0210] comprising 20 wt% of a styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymer (styrenic block copolymer), 16.1 wt% of a tackifier (Excorez 1034), and 4 wt% of diethyl phosphinate (phosphinic acid salt) [0269; Example 28]. Bauer et al. teach adding a polyphosphate as a synergistic agent [0043-0048, Claim 8]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a polyphosphate to Example 28 of Bauer et al. as a synergistic agent to improve the flame retardance of the composition.
Since the composition is in a solution [Example], and is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed property. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Claim(s) 1 and 3-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 110330908A) in view of Bauer et al. (2008/0241529).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 6: Lin et al. teach a composition comprising a styrene-isoprene block copolymer, rosin pentaerythritol ester and terpene phenolic resin (tackifying agents), tris[2,4-di-tert-butylphenyl] phosphite, and ammonium polyphosphate [0069; Examples]. The composition of Lin et al. is capable of functioning in the claimed capacity.
Lin et al. fail to teach a phosphinic acid salt.
However, Bauer et al. teach adding diethyl phosphinate (a phosphinic acid salt) as a flameproofing agent in an analogous adhesive composition [0004, 0034-0037; Examples].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add diethyl phosphinate as taught by Bauer et al. to the composition of Lin et al. to improve the flame retardance of the composition.
Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed property. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 3: Lin et al. teach melamine polyphosphate [0045].
Regarding claim 4: Lin et al. teach a mixture of ammonium polyphosphate and melamine polyphosphate [0045].
Regarding claims 7-8: Lin et al. teach ammonium polyphosphate [Examples] and melamine compounds [0045], such as melamine urate [0028, 0045, 0069; Examples].
Regarding claim 9: Lin et al. teach titanium dioxide [0050; Examples].
Regarding claim 10: Lin et al. fail to teach a radial block copolymer.
However, Bauer et al. teach a radial styrenic block copolymer [0150].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a radio styrene-isoprene block copolymer in the composition of Lin et al.
Regarding claims 11 and 16-17: Lin et al. teach 9 wt% of styrene-isoprene block copolymer, 12 wt% of ammonium polyphosphate, and 16 wt% of tackifying agents [0069; Examples].
Lin et al. fail to teach a phosphinic acid salt.
However, Bauer et al. teach adding 10 wt% diethyl phosphinate (a phosphinic acid salt) as a flameproofing agent in an analogous adhesive composition [0004, 0034-0037; Examples].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 10wt% of diethyl phosphinate as taught by Bauer et al. to the composition of Lin et al. to improve the flame retardance of the composition.
Regarding claim 12: Lin et al. teach 9 wt% of styrene-isoprene block copolymer, 12 wt% of ammonium polyphosphate, 13 wt% of naphthenic oil (plasticizer) and 16 wt% of tackifying agents [0069; Examples].
Lin et al. fail to teach a phosphinic acid salt.
However, Bauer et al. teach adding 10 wt% diethyl phosphinate (a phosphinic acid salt) as a flameproofing agent in an analogous adhesive composition [0004, 0034-0037; Examples].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 10wt% of diethyl phosphinate as taught by Bauer et al. to the composition of Lin et al. to improve the flame retardance of the composition.
The amount of 9 wt% is very close to the claimed amount of 10 wt%.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 14: Lin et al. teach 9 wt% of styrene-isoprene block copolymer, 12 wt% of ammonium polyphosphate, 13 wt% of naphthenic oil (plasticizer), melamine urate (intumescent agent), and 16 wt% of tackifying agents [0069; Examples]. Lin et al. teach titanium dioxide or zinc oxide [0050; Examples].
Lin et al. fail to teach a phosphinic acid salt.
However, Bauer et al. teach adding 10 wt% diethyl phosphinate (a phosphinic acid salt) as a flameproofing agent in an analogous adhesive composition [0004, 0034-0037; Examples].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 10wt% of diethyl phosphinate as taught by Bauer et al. to the composition of Lin et al. to improve the flame retardance of the composition.
The amount of 9 wt% is very close to the claimed amount of 10 wt%.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Lin et al. fail to teach a radial block copolymer.
However, Bauer et al. teach a radial styrenic block copolymer [0150].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a radio styrene-isoprene block copolymer in the composition of Lin et al.
Regarding claim 15: Lin et al. teach a mixture of ammonium polyphosphate and melamine polyphosphate [0045].
Regarding claim 18: Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed properties. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 110330908A) in view of Bauer et al. (2008/0241529).
Lin et al. teach a composition comprising a styrene-isoprene block copolymer, rosin pentaerythritol ester and terpene phenolic resin (tackifying agents), tris[2,4-di-tert-butylphenyl] phosphite, and ammonium polyphosphate [0069; Examples]. The composition of Lin et al. is capable of functioning in the claimed capacity.
Lin et al. fail to teach a phosphinic acid salt.
However, Bauer et al. teach adding diethyl phosphinate (a phosphinic acid salt) as a flameproofing agent in an analogous adhesive composition [0004, 0034-0037; Examples].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add diethyl phosphinate as taught by Bauer et al. to the composition of Lin et al. to improve the flame retardance of the composition.
Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed property. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has made the argument that the only example formula in Bauer et al. that include a styrenic block copolymer are all solvent-based and none includes a synergistic agent. This is not persuasive because patents are relevant prior art for all that they contain and not just the preferred embodiments. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). See MPEP 2123. “Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments.” In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
The appellant has made the argument that Bauer et al. teach a solvent in Example 28, and therefore states that it cannot be a hot melt adhesive. This is not persuasive because the examples of the instant specification include organic compounds that are liquids at room temperature [0105] and Example 2 comprises 15 wt% of the solvent, mineral oil (KAYDOL) [Table 2]. If the instant examples are considered hot melt pressure sensitive adhesives, so is Example 28 of Bauer et al. Furthermore, Bauer et al. teach: “The use of the flameproofed adhesive and sealing materials according to the invention as flameproofed hotmelts is preferred.” [0158].
It is also noted that the composition of Bauer et al. is the same as claimed, and is therefore capable of functioning in the claimed capacity. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
The applicant has alleged that the list of “synergistic agents” in Bauer et al. spans more than 45 paragraphs. This is not persuasive because Bauer et al. teach polyphosphates in a short, finite list in claim 8. Bauer et al. also teach polyphosphates in the examples [Examples 17, 21-24; Tables 1-4]. There is motivation for the skilled artisan to select a claimed component, or a component from the examples, and include it in the composition.
The applicant has alleged that the polyphosphates of Bauer et al. do not meet the claimed melting point. This is not persuasive because Bauer et al. teach melamine polyphosphate and melam polyphosphate [0048, 0051; Examples], which are the same polyphosphates disclosed in the instant specification [0062, 0071-0072], and therefore have a melting point of no greater than 120°C. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
The applicant has alleged that Bauer et al. does not teach that viscosity is important. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."); In re Linter, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991). See MPEP 2144.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 5/11/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763