DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed 27 March 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant' s Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS). The IDS(es) has/have been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse Group I Species A embodiment of the invention in the reply filed on 27 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 9-20, drawn to non-elected inventions, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0028461 (filed July 26, 2013) (hereinafter “Gatterbauer”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Gatterbauer discloses: An IC (integrated circuit) package (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting a semiconductor package 75, [0041]) comprising:
an interconnect having a die attach pad (FIGS. 2/3A, die paddle 220, [0041]) and leads (FIG. 2/3A, depicting a plurality of leads 230, [0041]);
a die (FIGS. 2/3A, substrate 10, [0019]) comprising:
a first side mounted on the die attach pad (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the substrate 10 has a first side mounted on the die paddle 220); and
a second side opposing the first side (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the substrate 10 has a second side opposing the first side),
the second side having a planar region (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the second side of the substrate 10 has a planar region),
the planar region having selective polyimide structures (FIGS. 2/3A, insulating layer 40, which may be formed from polyimide, [0021]) between contact points of a connection pad (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the insulating layer is between contact points of conductive pads 20/30, [0020]); and
a clip (FIGS. 2/3A, clip 250, [0041]) coupled to the connection pad (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the clip 250 is coupled to the conductive pad 30) and to a lead of the leads (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the clip 250 is coupled to a lead 230).
Regarding claim 2, Gatterbauer further discloses solder (FIGS. 2/3A, solder metal layer 70, [0023]) flowed over the selective polyimide structures and the contact points of the connection pad (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the solder metal layer 70 covers the insulating layer 40 and the contact points of the conductive pad 30).
Regarding claim 3, Gatterbauer further discloses wherein the clip (FIGS. 2/3A, clip 250) is attached to the connection points and the polyimide structures of the connection pad with a conductive adhesive (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the clip 250 is attached to the connection points of the conductive pad 30 and the insulating layer 40 by a solder metal layer).
Regarding claim 4, Gatterbauer further discloses the planar region of the die is a first region (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the planar region of the substrate 10 is a first region), the second side of the die comprising a second region comprising a polyimide layer (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the second side of the substrate 10 comprises a second region, also comprising the insulating layer 40 which may be formed from polyimide), wherein the second region is spaced apart from the first region (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the first region of the substrate 10 is spaced apart from the second region).
Regarding claim 5, Gatterbauer further discloses the connection pad is a first connection pad (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the conductive pad 30 is a first conductive pad), the second region comprising a second connection pad (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the second region of the substrate 10 comprises a second conductive pad 20).
Regarding claim 6, Gatterbauer further discloses the lead of the leads of the interconnect is a first lead (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the lead 230 to which the clip 250 is coupled is a first lead), the IC package further comprising a wire bond (FIGS. 2/3A, wire bond 160, [0043]) that couples the second connection pad to a second lead of the leads of the interconnect (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the wire bond 160 couples the second conductive pad 20 to a second lead 230 of the plurality of leads 230).
Regarding claim 7, Gatterbauer further discloses wherein the connection pad (FIGS. 2/3A, conductive pad 30) is coupled to a circuit embedded in the die (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the conductive pad 30 is coupled to a circuit embedded in the substrate 10, such as a source terminal of a discrete transistor, [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, Gatterbauer further discloses wherein the connection pad is a BOAC (bond over active circuit) pad (FIGS. 2/3A, depicting wherein the conductive pad 30 is directly over circuit areas of the substrate 10, including metallization layers, [0031], [0035]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0092596 (depicting a structure similar to the semiconductor device shown in Gatterbauer); 2023/0395553 (depicting a clip structure similar to that disclosed by Applicant); 2021/0090980 (depicting a clip and wire bond structure similar to that disclosed by Applicant); 2013/0027113 (depicting a clip and wire bond structure similar to that disclosed by Applicant).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813