Detailed Action
Applicant amended claims 1, 4-5, and 13 and presented claims 1-20 for reconsideration on 05/11/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Katzer, Patent No.: US 7,752,292 B1 (Katzer), in view of Xiao et al., Patent No.: US 10, 380,090 B1 (Xiao).
Claim 1. Katzer teaches:
A system for schema-based object serialization, the system comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
obtain an object comprising a plurality of sub-objects; (5:23-6:21, a received message is the object comprising sub-objects/data items and the “predefined class schema” in the “object definition schema file” is a file associated with a set of sub-objects/data items, in response to the received message and processing the received message the object definition schema file comprising predefined class schema is accessed: “parsing the service request message and the object definition schema, mapping the data items into the predefined class schema contained in the object definition schema file, and then generating a complex object from the data-filled class schema”)
identify a schema associated with serialization and deserialization of the object, the schema defining a plurality of mappings, wherein each mapping in the plurality of mappings associates a respective set of sub-objects in the plurality of sub-objects with a file in a plurality of files; (5:39-6:21, see above, object definition schema files comprising predefined class schema are obtained for converting the message to a complex object; sub-objects, e.g. parsed values of the received object are mapped into a class schema: “the document object model (DOM) parser is used to parse the object definition schema, and the simple API for XML (SAX) parser is used to parse the XML-based data items contained in the service request message. Then the object definition schema, which is held in storage space by the DOM parser, is used to map the data items into a hierarchical structure of the parsed object definition schema. For example, the service request message may have a subscriber ID, one or more MDNs that belong to the subscriber and uniquely identifies a mobile device, and a port on the mobile device to which the service request message is directed. A three-level containment relationship, or three level place holders, from the subscriber ID to the MDN, to the port, may be first defined in the object definition schema”)
process the object according to the schema to obtain the plurality of files; and (5:39-6:21, see above, a received object is processed based on the object definition schema files comprising predefined class schema for converting the message to a complex object)
provide an output including the plurality of files. (5:39-6:21, object definition schema files comprising predefined class schema are obtained and provided for converting the message to a complex object)
Katzer did not specifically disclose but Xiao discloses wherein at least two mappings in the plurality of mappings associates a different set of sub-objects in the plurality of sub-objects with a different file in a plurality of files; and wherein each mapping, in the plurality of mappings, identifies an encoder configured to encode the different set of sub-objects to generate the different file. (Xiao, a series of nested maps is used for mapping two different sub-objects of a nested object to two different maps; each map comprises different encoders because “a map containing associations between numeric identifiers and corresponding names” and “The association may be used to determine numeric identifiers for the sub-objects on the supplied path” as in 9:11-19; 2:19-28, “While the object is being scanned, a map may be formed to associate numeric identifiers with names used in the nested object. The names may be strings or other alphanumeric sequences used to identify portions of the nested object. For example, a nested object may be viewed as a hierarchy of sub-objects, each of which might be associated with a name. Alternatively, a nested object may be viewed as a collection of name-value pairs, in which the values (i.e. sub-objects) may themselves contain additional collections of name-value pairs”, 7: 21-45, “A map 600 may be formed as the object is written to a storage device or memory. The map may be written to the storage device so as to include data structures linking numeric identifiers to names and, in some cases, to other information, such as type information…In some cases, rather than a global map 600 that applies to an entire object, a series of nested maps may be employed”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for disclosing wherein at least two mappings in the plurality of mappings associates a different set of sub-objects in the plurality of sub-objects with a different file in a plurality of files; and wherein each mapping, in the plurality of mappings, identifies an encoder configured to encode the different set of sub-objects to generate the different file because doing so would provide for using multiple mapping files as desired instead of single mapping file for achieving the same predictable result.
Claim 5. Katzer teaches:
A system for schema-based object processing, the system comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
obtain a plurality of files; (5:39-6:21, object definition schema files comprising predefined class schema are obtained for converting the message to a complex object; sub-objects, e.g. parsed values of the received object are mapped into a class schema: “the document object model (DOM) parser is used to parse the object definition schema, and the simple API for XML (SAX) parser is used to parse the XML-based data items contained in the service request message. Then the object definition schema, which is held in storage space by the DOM parser, is used to map the data items into a hierarchical structure of the parsed object definition schema. For example, the service request message may have a subscriber ID, one or more MDNs that belong to the subscriber and uniquely identifies a mobile device, and a port on the mobile device to which the service request message is directed. A three-level containment relationship, or three level place holders, from the subscriber ID to the MDN, to the port, may be first defined in the object definition schema”)
identify a schema associated with serialization and deserialization of an object comprising a plurality of sub-objects, the schema defining a plurality of mappings, wherein each mapping in the plurality of mappings associates a respective set of sub-objects in the plurality of sub-objects with a file in the plurality of files; (5:23-6:21, see above, a message request is an object comprising sub-objects to be converted to a complex object using object definition schema files)
process one or more files in the plurality of files according to the schema to obtain one or more sets of sub-objects in the plurality of sub-objects; (5:39-6:21, see above, a complex object comprises sub-objects and wherein an object definition schema file is used for obtaining sub-objects from the received message request)
provide an output including the one or more sets of sub-objects. (5:39-6:21, sub-objects are provided for generating a complex object)
Katzer did not specifically disclose but Xiao discloses wherein at least two mappings in the plurality of mappings associates a different set of sub-objects in the plurality of sub-objects with a different file in a plurality of files; and wherein each mapping, in the plurality of mappings, identifies an encoder configured to encode the different set of sub-objects to generate the different file. (Xiao, a series of nested maps is used for mapping two different sub-objects of a nested object to two different maps; each map comprises different encoders because “a map containing associations between numeric identifiers and corresponding names” and “The association may be used to determine numeric identifiers for the sub-objects on the supplied path” as in 9: 11-19; 2: 19-28, “While the object is being scanned, a map may be formed to associate numeric identifiers with names used in the nested object. The names may be strings or other alphanumeric sequences used to identify portions of the nested object. For example, a nested object may be viewed as a hierarchy of sub-objects, each of which might be associated with a name. Alternatively, a nested object may be viewed as a collection of name-value pairs, in which the values (i.e. sub-objects) may themselves contain additional collections of name-value pairs”, 7: 21-45, “A map 600 may be formed as the object is written to a storage device or memory. The map may be written to the storage device so as to include data structures linking numeric identifiers to names and, in some cases, to other information, such as type information…In some cases, rather than a global map 600 that applies to an entire object, a series of nested maps may be employed”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for disclosing wherein at least two mappings in the plurality of mappings associates a different set of sub-objects in the plurality of sub-objects with a different file in a plurality of files; and wherein each mapping, in the plurality of mappings, identifies an encoder configured to encode the different set of sub-objects to generate the different file because doing so would provide for using multiple mapping files as desired instead of single mapping file for achieving the same predictable result.
Claim 13. Katzer teaches:
A method of schema-based object serialization and deserialization, the method comprising:
receiving, by a system, a file; (5:39-6:21, object definition schema files are received for converting a message to a JAVA complex object)
identifying, by the system, a schema associated with serialization and deserialization of an object, the schema defining a mapping that associates a set of sub-objects in a plurality of sub-objects of an object with the file; (5:23-6:21, a message request is an object comprising sub-objects to be converted to a JAVA complex object using object definition schema files)
processing, by the system, the file based on the schema to obtain the set of sub-objects; and; (5:39-6:21, a complex object comprises sub-objects and wherein an object definition schema file is used for obtaining sub-objects from the received message request)
providing, by the system, an output including the set of sub-objects. (5:39-6:21, sub-objects are provided for generating a JAVA complex object)
Katzer did not specifically disclose but Xiao discloses wherein at least two mappings in the plurality of mappings associates a different set of sub-objects in the plurality of sub-objects with a different file in a plurality of files; and wherein each mapping, in the plurality of mappings, identifies an encoder configured to encode the different set of sub-objects to generate the different file. (Xiao, a series of nested maps is used for mapping two different sub-objects of a nested object to two different maps; each map comprises different encoders because “a map containing associations between numeric identifiers and corresponding names” and “The association may be used to determine numeric identifiers for the sub-objects on the supplied path” as in 9: 11-19; 2: 19-28, “While the object is being scanned, a map may be formed to associate numeric identifiers with names used in the nested object. The names may be strings or other alphanumeric sequences used to identify portions of the nested object. For example, a nested object may be viewed as a hierarchy of sub-objects, each of which might be associated with a name. Alternatively, a nested object may be viewed as a collection of name-value pairs, in which the values (i.e. sub-objects) may themselves contain additional collections of name-value pairs”, 7: 21-45, “A map 600 may be formed as the object is written to a storage device or memory. The map may be written to the storage device so as to include data structures linking numeric identifiers to names and, in some cases, to other information, such as type information…In some cases, rather than a global map 600 that applies to an entire object, a series of nested maps may be employed”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for disclosing wherein at least two mappings in the plurality of mappings associates a different set of sub-objects in the plurality of sub-objects with a different file in a plurality of files; and wherein each mapping, in the plurality of mappings, identifies an encoder configured to encode the different set of sub-objects to generate the different file because doing so would provide for using multiple mapping files as desired instead of single mapping file for achieving the same predictable result.
Katzer as modified teaches:
Claim 2. The system of claim 1, wherein a sub-object in the plurality of sub-objects includes a model associated with the object, an item of metadata associated with the model, or a sub-model associated with the model. (Katzer, 5:39-6:21, a particular type/model is associated with a service request message)
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected the same.
Claim 3. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to identify the schema based on information that identifies a class associated with the object. (Katzer, 5:39-6:21, data items are mapped “into the predefined class schema contained in the object definition schema file”)
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected the same.
Claim 4. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to process the object, are configured to encode the different set of sub-objects, using the encoder. (Katzer, 5:39-6:21, wherein mapping data items “into the predefined class schema contained in the object definition schema file” using parsers indicates that an encoder/decoder is associated with the mapping; Xiao, 2: 19-28 and 7: 21-45 wherein different encoders, id to name, is used for encoding different sub-objects)
Claim 8. The system of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors, to process the one or more files, are configured to decode a file, of the one or more files, using a decoder associated with a mapping, of the plurality of mappings, that associates a set of sub-objects with the file. (Katzer, 5:39-6:21, wherein mapping data items “into the predefined class schema contained in the object definition schema file” using parsers indicates that an encoder/decoder is associated with the mapping)
Claim 9. The system of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
obtain loading information that indicates a file of the one or more files; and process the file based on the loading information. (Katzer, 5:39-6:21, an object schema definition file has to be loaded before being parsed)
Claim 17 is rejected the same.
Claim 10. The system of claim 9, wherein the loading information is obtained via user input. (Katzer, 5:39-6:21, an object schema definition is defined by user before being parsed)
Claim 18 is rejected the same.
Claim 11. The system of claim 5, wherein the one or more files do not include all files in the plurality of files and the output does not include all sub-objects in the plurality of sub-objects. (Katzer, 5:39-6:21, files and sub-objects are loaded based on the type of the received message)
Claim 19 is rejected the same.
Claim 12. The system of claim 5, wherein the one or more files include all files in the plurality of files and the output is the object including the plurality of sub-objects. (Katzer, 5:39-6:21, files and sub-objects are loaded based on the type of the received message)
Claim 20 is rejected the same.
Claim 16. The method of claim 13, wherein processing the file comprises decoding the file using a decoder associated with the plurality of mappings. (Katzer, 5:39-6:21, wherein mapping data items “into the predefined class schema contained in the object definition schema file” using parsers indicates that an encoder/decoder is associated with the mapping; Xiao, 7: 21-45, wherein a series of nested maps are used)
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are not persuasive for at least the following reason.
Applicant argues “KATZER and XIAO do not disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1” because “KATZER merely discloses using parsers to parse XML-based data items and an object definition schema. Specifically, KATZER states that "the document object model (DOM) parser is used to parse the object definition schema, and the simple API for XML (SAX) parser is used to parse the XML-based data items contained in the service request message." KATZER further explains that "the object definition schema ... is used to map the data items into a hierarchical structure of the parsed object definition schema." …Thus, KATZER merely discloses parsing and populating data structures from XML content. In contrast, amended claim 1 now specifically requires that "each mapping identifies an encoder configured to encode the different set of sub-objects to generate the different file." KATZER nowhere discloses that a mapping identifies an encoder, that an encoder encodes a set of sub-objects, or that encoding the set of sub-objects generates a corresponding file”. Remarks, 7-8.
In response, Xiao discloses wherein at least two mappings in the plurality of mappings associates a different set of sub-objects in the plurality of sub-objects with a different file in a plurality of files; and wherein each mapping, in the plurality of mappings, identifies an encoder configured to encode the different set of sub-objects to generate the different file as shown above in rejection of amended independent claims.
Spec. ¶ 18 discloses that “each mapping identifies, indicates, or otherwise provides an encoder to be used in association with processing the one or more sub-objects associated with the mapping. That is, each mapping may provide an encoder that is to be used for encoding the one or more sub-objects associated with the mapping to generate a file. An encoder is a function that takes one or more sub-objects as input and provides a file as output”. Xiao, 7: 21-45, discloses “A map 600 may be formed as the object is written to a storage device or memory. The map may be written to the storage device so as to include data structures linking numeric identifiers to names and, in some cases, to other information, such as type information. The data written to the storage device may, for example, be a serialized list or hash table structure. The formation of the map 600 may also comprise selecting the identifier to be unique with respect to other identifiers used in the map 600.” Accordingly, associating a given sub-object with a unique identifier is by itself an encoder because it takes one sub-object and associates the sub-object with a unique identifier and other needed information and stores the association in a file and further retrieves the file for finding the sub-object in response to a request and processing the sub-object instead of the whole object: 2:53-3:15: “A portion of a nested object may be retrieved from a storage device by following a path through the hierarchy of nested objects. The object may be read from the storage device in a single scan, in which the atomized identifiers are used to identify sub-objects on the path and the size and count information is used to skip over portions of the nested object. Once the object has been traversed to the end of the path, the relevant portion of the object may be read from the storage device”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHSEN ALMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159