Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The terms “Polyvinyl Chloride” (pg 4, line 20), “Thermoplastic Polyurethane” (pg 4, line 20), and “Polyethylene Terephthalate” (pg 5, lines 5-6) should not be capitalized since these polymers are not proper nouns. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: The terms “Polyvinyl Chloride” (claim 9, line 3), “Thermoplastic Polyurethane” (claim 9, line 4), and “Polyethylene Terephthalate” (claim 10, line 3) should not be capitalized since these polymers are not proper nouns. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Independent claim 1 is directed to a multilayer film structure that recites the layers and structure using relative functional claim language. For example, it is recited that the multilayer structure comprises a thermal-insulation surface film. A broadest reasonable interpretation of this surface film would include any polymeric or metallic film, since any polymeric and metallic film would provide at least some thermal insulating properties. This same issue is noted for the other layers of the multilayer film structure, i.e., soft statics adsorption film, protective base film, anti-abrasion coating, etc. While claiming these layers with relative functional terminology is permitted, the Examiner is noting this interpretation to clarify the record as to the breadth of the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN-106183276 (referred to hereinafter as CN ‘276). An English machine translation of CN ‘276 is provided and relied upon for the below prior art rejection.
Regarding claim 1, CN ‘276 discloses a heat insulating film that reflects the sunlight and absorb and adsorbs the energy of the sunlight (lines 44-45) that comprises a thermal-insulation film (Figure 1, ref #12), a soft statics adsorption film (Figure 1, ref #14), and a protective base film (Figure 1, ref #2).
Regarding claim 2, CN ‘276 discloses providing an anti-abrasion and wear-resistant coating on the upper surface of the thermal-insulation film (Figure 1, ref #11).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, CN ‘276 discloses using an adhesive coating to bond the thermal-insulation film with the soft statics adsorption film (Figure 1, ref #13).
Regarding claim 9, the soft statics adsorption film can be made of TPU (line 73).
Regarding claim 10, the protective base film can be made of PET (line 72).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘276 in view of TW-M594056 (referred to hereinafter as TW ‘056). An English machine translation of TW ‘056 is provided and relied upon for the below prior art rejection.
Regarding claims 3-6, CN ‘276 does not disclose that the insulation film is provided with a nano-metal reflection coating, an IR heat insulation coating, and a UV absorbent coating. However, TW ‘056, which is also directed to heat insulating structures for glass, discloses that it is known in the art to provide glass heat insulation films with nano-metal reflection coatings (ref #14), IR heat insulation coatings (ref #12 & ref #12a), and UV absorbent coatings (ref #12 and ref #12a). TW ‘056 discloses that such insulation films have good thermal insulation effects (line 27-28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the multilayer heat insulation film of CN ‘726 with a nano-reflection coating, IR heat insulation coating, and a UV absorbent coating, motivated by the desire to a heat insulation film having good thermal insulation properties, as taught by TW ‘056.
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781