DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 16, and 21-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker (US 2011/0070755) and Baran (5904592).
Regarding claim 1: Boecker (Figures 1-3) teaches an apparatus comprising: an electronic component (i.e. 22); a latching system (i.e. including 1) positioned on a rear end of the electronic component adapted for attachment to a DIN rail; wherein the DIN rail has a flat upper surface with a first leg and a second leg extending downwardly from, and perpendicular to, the flat upper surface, and a first flange extends outwardly from the first leg, and a second flange extends outwardly from the second leg;
But does not specifically teach wherein the latching system comprises: three or more upper fins and three or more lower fins extending from the rear end of the electronic component, wherein each of the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins are comprised of a conductive metal material configured to provide dissipation of heat generated from the electronic component through at least one of the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins, through the DIN rail, and through at least one fastener securing the DIN rail to a wall; a recess positioned between the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins adapted to receive the DIN rail; slots positioned respectively in a lower surface of each of the three or more upper fins adapted to receive an outer end of the first flange of the DIN rail; and an upper surface on the three or more lower fins adapted to have an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
However, Baran teaches wherein the latching system comprises: three or more latches (i.e. Col. 1, lines 37-45 describes a prior art device having, “two or more latches for mounting the controller to the DIN rail.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the latching system taught by Boecker to have three or more latches as taught by Baran so as to properly support the desired electronic component. This places at least two duplicates of Boecker’s 1 on the rear end of 22.
Now, in combination with Baran, Boecker further teaches wherein the latching system comprises: three or more upper fins (i.e. 5, 6) and three or more lower fins (i.e. 5a, 6a) extending from the rear end of the electronic component, wherein each of the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins are comprised of a conductive metal material (i.e. 1 is a ground conductor) configured to provide dissipation of heat generated from the electronic component through at least one of the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins (i.e. as metal components are inherently configured to provide), through the DIN rail, and through at least one fastener securing the DIN rail to a wall; a recess (i.e. 9) positioned between the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins adapted to receive the DIN rail; slots (i.e. 12) positioned respectively in a lower surface of each of the three or more upper fins adapted to receive an outer end of the first flange of the DIN rail; and an upper surface (i.e. 10) on the three or more lower fins adapted to have an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
Regarding claim 8: Boecker and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 1, Boecker (Figure 6) further teaches wherein at least some of the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins are integrally formed (i.e. via 19 as described in paragraph [0027]) with the rear end of the electronic component.
Regarding claim 21: Boecker and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 1, Boecker (Figures 1-6) further teaches wherein the DIN rail is elongated in a first direction and the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins are each elongated in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 22: Boecker and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 1, Boecker further teaches wherein at least some of the three of more upper fins and the three or more lower fins are secured to the rear end via a fastener (i.e. riveting of paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 24: Boecker and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 1, Boecker (Figures 1-6) further teaches wherein the slots provide multiple points of securement for the first flange of the DIN rail that are configured to increase grip strength of the latching system to maintain the electronic component secured to the DIN rail when the electronic component is subjected to vibration.
Regarding claim 9: Boecker (Figures 1-3) teaches a system comprising: a DIN rail (i.e. 16); an electronic component (i.e. 22) secured to the DIN rail; a latching system (i.e. including 1) positioned on a rear end of the electronic component attached to the DIN rail; wherein the DIN rail has a flat upper surface with a first leg (i.e. 17) and a second leg (i.e. 18) extending downwardly from, and perpendicular to, the flat upper surface, and a first flange (i.e. received in 12) extends outwardly from the first leg, and a second flange (i.e. received in 10) extends outwardly from the second leg;
But does not specifically teach the DIN rail secured to a wall with fasteners and wherein the latching system comprises: three or more upper fins and three or more lower fins extending from the rear end of the electronic component, wherein the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins are comprised of a conductive metal material configured to provide dissipation of heat generated from the electronic component through at least one of the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins, through the DIN rail, and through at least one of the fasteners securing the DIN rail to the wall; wherein a recess is positioned between the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins in which the DIN rail is positioned; slots positioned respectively in a lower surface of the three or more upper fins, the slots having an outer end of the first flange of the DIN rail positioned therein; and an upper surface in the three or more lower fins having an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
However, Baran teaches the DIN rail secured to a wall (i.e. panel of Col. 1, ln. 20) with fasteners (i.e. screws of Col. 1, ln. 20) and wherein the latching system comprises three or more latches (i.e. Col. 1, lines 37-45 describes a prior art device having, “two or more latches for mounting the controller to the DIN rail.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the latching system taught by Boecker to have three or more latches as taught by Baran so as to properly support the desired electronic component. This places at least two duplicates of Boecker’s 1 on the rear end of 22. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to mount the DIN rail taught by Boecker to a wall via fasteners as taught by Baran as DIN rails are commonly used in the art to mount electronic components to panels/walls and machine screws are a common fastener used to do so.
Now, in combination with Baran, Boecker further teaches wherein the latching system comprises: three or more upper fins (i.e. 5, 6) and three or more lower fins (i.e. 5a, 6a) extending from the rear end of the electronic component, wherein the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins are comprised of a conductive metal material (i.e. 1 is a ground conductor) configured to provide dissipation of heat generated from the electronic component through at least one of the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins (i.e. as metal components are inherently configured to provide), through the DIN rail, and through at least one of the fasteners securing the DIN rail to the wall; wherein a recess (i.e. 9) is positioned between the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins in which the DIN rail is positioned; slots (i.e. 12) positioned respectively in a lower surface of the three or more upper fins, the slots having an outer end of the first flange of the DIN rail positioned therein; and an upper surface (i.e. 10) in the three or more lower fins having an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
Regarding claim 23: Boecker and Baran teach the system of claim 9, Boecker (Figures 1-6) further teaches wherein the DIN rail is elongated in a first direction and the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins are each elongated in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding claim 16: Boecker and Baran teach the system of claim 9, Boecker further teaches wherein at least some of the three or more upper and lower fins are integrally formed (i.e. via 19 as described in paragraph [0027]) with the rear end of the electronic component.
Claims 4-7, 12-15, 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker, Baran, and Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“AAPA,” See background of instant specification).
Regarding claim 4: Boecker and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 1, but do not specifically teach wherein a central latching member is secured to the rear end of the electronic component between the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins.
However, AAPA (Figures 1A-1C) teaches wherein a central latching member (i.e. 110) is secured to the rear end of the electronic component.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus taught by Boecker and Baran to have a central latching member as taught by AAPA so as to provide the necessary support for mounting the desired electronic component to the DIN rail.
Now, Boecker, Baran, and AAPA teach the central latching member is secured to the rear end of the electronic component between the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins.
Regarding claim 5: Boecker, Baran, and AAPA teach the apparatus of claim 4, AAPA (Figures 1A-1C) further teaches wherein the central latching member includes a lower section (i.e. 114) extending outwardly away from the rear end of the electronic component that includes an upper surface (i.e. upper surface of 112) adapted to have an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
Regarding claim 6: Boecker, Baran, and AAPA teach the apparatus of claim 5, AAPA (Figures 1A-1C) further teaches wherein the upper surface of the lower section of the central latching member includes a ramp (i.e. 112) angled upwardly towards a back wall of the central latching member; wherein a slot (i.e. 116) is positioned between the ramp and the back wall of the central latching member; and wherein the slot is configured to receive the outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail.
Regarding claim 7: Boecker, Baran, and AAPA teach the apparatus of claim 6, AAPA (Figures 1A-1C) further teaches wherein the ramp is configured to allow the outer end the second flange of the DIN rail to ride up the ramp towards the back wall of the central latching member until the second flange of the DIN rail drops into the slot and the second flange is secured between the back wall of the central latching member and an inner surface of the ramp (i.e. surface on back of 116).
Regarding claim 12: Boecker and Baran teach the system of claim 9, but do not specifically teach wherein a central latching member is secured to the rear end of the electronic component.
However, AAPA (Figures 1A-1C) teaches wherein a central latching member (i.e. 110) is secured to the rear end of the electronic component (i.e. 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by Boecker and Baran to have a central latching member as taught by AAPA so as to provide the desired support for properly supporting the electronic component on the DIN rail.
Regarding claim 13: Boecker, Baran, and AAPA teach the system of claim 12, AAPA (Figures 1A-1C) further teaches wherein the central latching member includes a lower section (i.e. 114) extending outwardly away from the rear end of the electronic component that includes an upper surface (i.e. having 116) having an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
Regarding claim 14: Boecker, Baran, and AAPA teach the system of claim 13, AAPA (Figures 1A-1C) further teaches wherein the upper surface of the lower section of the central latching member includes a ramp (i.e. 112) angled upwardly towards a back wall of the central latching member; wherein a slot (i.e. 116) is positioned between the ramp and the back wall of the central latching member; and wherein the outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail is positioned in the slot.
Regarding claim 15: Boecker, Baran, and AAPA teach the system of claim 14, AAPA (Figures 1A-1C) further teaches wherein the ramp is configured to allow the outer end the second flange of the DIN rail to ride up the ramp towards the back wall of the central latching member until the second flange of the DIN rail drops into the slot and the second flange is secured between the back wall of the central latching member and an inner surface (i.e. back surface of 112) of the ramp.
Regarding claim 17: Boecker (Figures 1-6) teaches an apparatus comprising: an electronic component (i.e. 22); a latching system (i.e. including 1) positioned on a rear end of the electronic component adapted for attachment to a DIN rail; wherein the DIN rail has a flat upper surface with a first leg and a second leg extending downwardly from, and perpendicular to, the flat upper surface, and a first flange extends outwardly from the first leg, and a second flange extends outwardly from the second leg;
But does not specifically teach wherein the latching system comprises: a central latching member secured to the rear end of the electronic component; a first plurality of upper fins extending outwardly from a first side of the central latching member; a first plurality of lower fins extending outwardly from the first side of the central latching member; a second plurality of upper fins extending outwardly from a second side of the central latching member, the second side opposite the first side; a second plurality of lower fins extending outwardly from the second side of the central latching member; wherein each fin of the first plurality of upper fins and the second plurality of upper fins and each fin of the first plurality of lower fins and the second plurality of lower fins are comprised of a conductive metal material configured to provide dissipation of heat generated from the electronic component through the first plurality of upper fins, the second plurality of upper fins, the first plurality of lower fins, the second plurality of lower fins, through the DIN rail, and through at least one fastener securing the DIN rail to a wall; a recess positioned between each fin of the first plurality of upper fins and the first plurality of lower fins and each fin of the second plurality of upper fins and the second plurality of lower fins adapted to receive the DIN rail; slots positioned respectively in a lower surface of each of the first plurality of upper fins and the second plurality of upper fins adapted to receive an outer end of the first flange of the DIN rail; and an upper surface in the first plurality of lower fins and the second plurality of lower fins below the recess adapted to have an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
However, AAPA (Figure 1A) teaches wherein the latching system comprises: a central latching member (i.e. 110) secured to the rear end of the electronic component (i.e. 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the latching system taught by Boecker to have a central latching member as taught by AAPA so as to provide the desired support for properly supporting the electronic component on the DIN rail.
Furthermore, Baran teaches wherein the latching system comprises a plurality of latches (i.e. Col. 1, lines 37-45 describes a prior art device having, “two or more latches for mounting the controller to the DIN rail.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the latching system taught by Boecker and AAPA to have first and second plurality of latches as taught by Baran to provide the electronic component with the desired support for properly supporting the electronic component on the DIN rail. This would provide Boecker’s apparatus with a central latching member as taught by AAPA and duplicates of Boecker’s 1 on either side of the central latching member.
Now, in combination with AAPA and Baran, Boecker further teaches wherein the latching system comprises: a first plurality of upper fins (i.e. 5, 6) extending outwardly from a first side of the central latching member; a first plurality of lower fins (i.e. 5a, 6a) extending outwardly from the first side of the central latching member; a second plurality of upper fins (i.e. 5, 6) extending outwardly from a second side of the central latching member, the second side opposite the first side; a second plurality of lower fins (i.e. 5a, 6a) extending outwardly from the second side of the central latching member; wherein each fin of the first plurality of upper fins and the second plurality of upper fins and each fin of the first plurality of lower fins and the second plurality of lower fins are comprised of a conductive metal material (i.e. 1 is a ground conductor) configured to provide dissipation of heat generated from the electronic component through the first plurality of upper fins, the second plurality of upper fins, the first plurality of lower fins, the second plurality of lower fins (i.e. as metal components are inherently configured to provide), through the DIN rail, and through at least one fastener securing the DIN rail to a wall; a recess (i.e. 9) positioned between each fin of the first plurality of upper fins and the first plurality of lower fins and each fin of the second plurality of upper fins and the second plurality of lower fins adapted to receive the DIN rail; slots (i.e. 12) positioned respectively in a lower surface of each of the first plurality of upper fins and the second plurality of upper fins adapted to receive an outer end of the first flange of the DIN rail; and an upper surface (i.e. 10) in the first plurality of lower fins and the second plurality of lower fins below the recess adapted to have an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
Regarding claim 18: Boecker, AAPA, and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 17, AAPA (Figures 1A-1C) further teaches wherein the central latching member includes a lower section (i.e. 114) extending outwardly from the rear end of the electronic component that includes an upper surface (i.e. upper surface of 112) adapted to have an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover; wherein the upper surface of the lower section of the central latching member includes a ramp (i.e. 112) angled upwardly towards a back wall (i.e. face of 110) of the central latching member; wherein a slot (i.e. 116) is positioned between the ramp and the back wall of the central latching member; and wherein the slot is configured to receive the outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail.
Regarding claim 19: Boecker, AAPA, and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 18, AAPA (Figures 1A-1C) further teaches wherein the ramp is configured to allow the outer end the second flange of the DIN rail to ride up the ramp towards the back wall of the central latching member until the second flange of the DIN rail drops into the slot and the second flange is secured between the back wall of the central latching member and an inner surface (i.e. surface of 112 between 112 and face of 110) of the ramp.
Regarding claim 20: Boecker, AAPA, and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 17, Boecker (Figure 6) further teaches wherein at least some of the first plurality of upper fins, and the second plurality of upper fins, the first plurality of lower fins, and the second plurality of lower fins are integrally formed (i.e. via 19 as described in paragraph [0027]) with the rear end of the electronic component.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. In this and the previous rejection, Baran is relied on for teaching a plurality of latches. While applicant may be its own lexicographer, the instant fins and their recited structures constitute latches securing a rail just as Boecker’s “ground conductor,” and Baran’s “latch,” do.
In the instant rejection, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be prompted to use Boecker’s latches to mount a device to a rail due to their configuration allowing grounding to the rail through the latch. When using Boecker’s latches to mount a large device, a person having ordinary skill in the art would certainly be prompted to use two or more latches to secure the device to the rail. Indeed, Baran teaches at col. 1, line 42 that prior art devices are known to require more than two latches depending on the devices’ weights. Therefore, Baran explicitly teaches that using more latches corresponds to a more-securely mounted device.
In the instant rejection, a person having ordinary skill in the art need not be prompted by the heat dissipating properties inherently found in Boecker’s latch. The duplication of parts performed in the modification of Boecker’s apparatus/assembly does not consider these properties because it is prompted by providing additional mechanical support as taught by Baran.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koehler can be reached at 571-272-3560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GREGORY L MANGOT/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834