DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1A-1C and 3-4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification is objected to for minor informalities.
Page 8, line 16 recites, “may damage the electronic component 100, create downtown,” which appears to be a typo since damage to the electronic component 100 would likely create downtime, instead of downtown.
Page 12, line 7 recites, “the latching system of electronic component 310,” which appears to be a typo because numeral 310 has been designated as the DIN rail. The numeral 310 in this instance should probably be replaced with 200 so as to refer to electronic component 200.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 11, and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 11 recite, “a high thermal conductivity such that.” Because all metals have thermal conductivity, they dissipate heat implicitly. The upper and lower fins having the metal material of claim 2 would implicitly have them serve as heat-dissipating fins. Therefore, the levels of thermal conductivity and heat dissipation required by the claim is unclear. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted as, “a thermal conductivity, and.”
Claim 17 recites “the plurality of upper fins and the plurality of lower fins,” in lines 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim as only first and second pluralities of upper fins and lower fins have been claimed. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted as, “each of the first plurality of upper and lower fins and each of the second plurality of upper and lower fins.”
Claim 18 recites “the electronic member,” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as only “an electronic component” has been claimed. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted as, “the electronic component.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“AAPA”, Figures 1A-1C and 3-4, background of instant specification, and first six paragraphs of the instant detailed description) and Baran (5904592).
Regarding claim 1: AAPA (Figures 1A-1C, background of instant specification, and first six paragraphs of the instant detailed description) teaches an apparatus comprising:
an electronic component (i.e. 100);
a latching system (i.e. latching system of figure 1A) positioned on a rear end (i.e. 120) of the electronic component adapted for attachment to a DIN rail;
wherein the DIN rail has a flat upper surface with a first leg and a second leg extending downwardly from, and perpendicular to, the flat upper surface, and a first flange extends outwardly from the first leg, and a second flange extends outwardly from the second leg;
but does not specifically teach,
wherein the latching system comprises: three or more upper fins and three or more lower fins extending from the rear end of the electronic component; a recess positioned between the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins adapted to receive the DIN rail; a slot positioned in a lower surface of each of the three or more upper fins adapted to receive an outer end of the first flange of the DIN rail; and an upper surface on the three or more lower fins adapted to have an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
However, Baran teaches,
wherein the latching system comprises: three or more latches (i.e. Col. 1, lines 37-45 describes a prior art device having, “two or more latches for mounting the controller to the DIN rail.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the latching system taught by AAPA to have three or more latches as taught by Baran so as to properly support the desired electronic component. This provides the latching system of AAPA figures 1A-1C with duplicates of 102 and 132.
Now, in combination with Baran, AAPA further teaches wherein the latching system comprises: three or more upper fins (i.e. portions of 102, 132, and duplicates having 106 and 136) and three or more lower fins (i.e. 104, 134, and duplicates) extending from the rear end of the electronic component; a recess (i.e. space between 106 and 104, 136 and 134, and duplicates) positioned between the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins adapted to receive the DIN rail; a slot (i.e. 106, 136, and duplicates) positioned in a lower surface of each of the three or more upper fins adapted to receive an outer end of the first flange of the DIN rail; and an upper surface (i.e. upper surfaces of 104, 134, and duplicates) on the three or more lower fins adapted to have an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
Regarding claim 2: AAPA and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 1, AAPA further teaches wherein each of the three or more upper and lower fins are comprised of a metal material (i.e. page 3, lines 4-5 describe, “prior art latching systems [are] used to connect an electronic component to a DIN rail,” and an object which forms a connection to an electronic component would be made of a metal).
Regarding claim 3: AAPA and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 2, AAPA further teaches the metal material has a high thermal conductivity (i.e. as metals do) such that each of three or more upper and lower fins comprise heat-dissipating fins (i.e. as is done implicitly).
Regarding claim 4: AAPA and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 1, AAPA (Figure 1A) further teaches wherein a central latching member (i.e. 110) is secured to the rear end of the electronic component between the three or more upper and lower fins.
Regarding claim 5: AAPA and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 4, AAPA (Figure 1A) further teaches wherein the central latching member includes a lower section (i.e. 114) extending outwardly away from the rear end of the electronic member that includes an upper surface (i.e. upper surface of 112) adapted to have an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
Regarding claim 6: AAPA and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 5, AAPA (Figure 1A) further teaches wherein the upper surface of the lower section of the central latching member includes a ramp (i.e. 112) angled upwardly towards a back wall (i.e. face of 110) of the central latching member; wherein a slot (i.e. slot between 112 and face of 110) is positioned between the ramp and the back wall of the central latching member; and wherein the slot is configured to receive the outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail.
Regarding claim 7: AAPA and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 6, AAPA (Figure 1A) further teaches wherein the ramp is configured to allow the outer end the second flange of the DIN rail to ride up the ramp towards the back wall of the central latching member until the second flange of the DIN rail drops into the slot and the second flange is secured between the back wall of the central latching member and an inner surface (i.e. surface of 112 parallel to face of 110) of the ramp.
Regarding claim 8: AAPA and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 1, but the embodiment of AAPA in figures 1A-1C and Baran do not specifically teach wherein at least some of the three more upper and lower fins are integrally formed with the rear end of the electronic component.
However, AAPA (Figure 3) teaches wherein at least some of the first and second plurality of upper (i.e. upper securement points of 300) and lower fins (i.e. complimentary to the upper securement points) are integrally formed with the rear end of the electronic component (i.e. as in figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus taught by AAPA and Baran to have the first and second plurality of upper and lower fins be integrally formed with the rear end of the electronic component because both types of fins, integrally and not integrally formed, are known in the art, and one would use the desired type.
Regarding claim 17: AAPA (Figures 1A-1C, background of instant specification, and first six paragraphs of the instant detailed description) teaches an apparatus comprising:
an electronic component (i.e. 100);
a latching system (i.e. latching system of figures 1A-1C) positioned on a rear end (i.e. 120) of the electronic component adapted for attachment to a DIN rail; wherein the DIN rail has a flat upper surface with a first leg and a second leg extending downwardly from, and perpendicular to, the flat upper surface, and a first flange extends outwardly from the first leg, and a second flange extends outwardly from the second leg;
wherein the latching system comprises: a central latching member (i.e. 110) secured to the rear end of the electronic component;
but does not specifically teach
a first plurality of upper fins extending outwardly from a first side of the central latching member; a first plurality of lower fins extending outwardly from the first side of the central latching member; a second plurality of upper fins extending outwardly from a second side of the central latching member, the second side opposite the first side; a second plurality of lower fins extending outwardly from the second side of the central latching member; a recess positioned between the plurality of upper fins and the plurality of lower fins adapted to receive the DIN rail; a slot positioned in a lower surface of each of the first and second plurality of upper fins adapted to receive an outer end of the first flange of the DIN rail; and an upper surface in the first and second plurality of lower fins below the recess adapted to have an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
However, Baran teaches,
wherein the latching system comprises: three or more latches (i.e. Col. 1, lines 37-45 describes a prior art device having, “two or more latches for mounting the controller to the DIN rail.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the latching system taught by AAPA to have three or more latches as taught by Baran so as to properly support the desired electronic component. This provides the latching system of AAPA figures 1A-1C with duplicates of 102 and 132.
Now, in combination with Baran, AAPA further teaches,
a first plurality of upper fins (i.e. having 106 and duplicates) extending outwardly from a first side (i.e. side having 102) of the central latching member; a first plurality of lower fins (i.e. 104 and duplicates) extending outwardly from the first side of the central latching member; a second plurality of upper fins (i.e. having 136 and duplicates) extending outwardly from a second side (i.e. side having 132) of the central latching member, the second side opposite the first side; a second plurality of lower fins (i.e. 134 and duplicates) extending outwardly from the second side of the central latching member; a recess (i.e. space between each of the first and second pluralities of upper and lower fins) positioned between the plurality of upper fins and the plurality of lower fins adapted to receive the DIN rail; a slot (i.e. 106, 136, and duplicates) positioned in a lower surface of each of the first and second plurality of upper fins adapted to receive an outer end of the first flange of the DIN rail; and an upper surface (i.e. upper surfaces of 104, 134, and duplicates) in the first and second plurality of lower fins below the recess adapted to have an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
Regarding claim 18: AAPA and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 17, AAPA (Figures 1A-1C) further teaches wherein the central latching member includes a lower section (i.e. 114) extending outwardly from the rear end of the electronic member that includes an upper surface (i.e. upper surface of 112) adapted to have an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover; wherein the upper surface of the lower section of the central latching member includes a ramp (i.e. 112) angled upwardly towards a back wall (i.e. face of 110) of the central latching member; wherein a slot (i.e. 116) is positioned between the ramp and the back wall of the central latching member; and wherein the slot is configured to receive the outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail.
Regarding claim 19: AAPA and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 18, AAPA (Figures 1A-1C) further teaches wherein the ramp is configured to allow the outer end the second flange of the DIN rail to ride up the ramp towards the back wall of the central latching member until the second flange of the DIN rail drops into the slot and the second flange is secured between the back wall of the central latching member and an inner surface (i.e. surface of 112 between 112 and face of 110) of the ramp.
Regarding claim 20: AAPA and Baran teach the apparatus of claim 17, but the embodiment of AAPA in figures 1A-1C and Baran do not specifically teach wherein at least some of the first and second plurality of upper and lower fins are integrally formed with the rear end of the electronic component.
However, AAPA (Figure 3) teaches wherein at least some of the first and second plurality of upper (i.e. upper securement points of 300) and lower fins (i.e. complimentary to the upper securement points) are integrally formed with the rear end of the electronic component (i.e. as in figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus taught by AAPA and Baran to have the first and second plurality of upper and lower fins be integrally formed with the rear end of the electronic component because both types of fins, integrally and not integrally formed, are known in the art, and one would use the desired type.
Claims 9-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA, Baran, and Kamensek (US 10420232 B2)
Regarding claim 9: AAPA (Figures 1A-1C, figure 4, background of instant specification, and first six paragraphs of the instant detailed description) teaches a system comprising:
a DIN rail (i.e. 310);
an electronic component (i.e. 100) secured to the DIN rail (i.e. as understood from page 7, lines 7-8);
a latching system (i.e. Latching system of figures 1A-1C) positioned on a rear end (i.e. 120) of the electronic component attached to the DIN rail;
wherein the DIN rail has a flat upper surface (i.e. 312) with a first leg (i.e. 318) and a second leg (i.e. 320) extending downwardly from, and perpendicular to, the flat upper surface, and a first flange (i.e. 314) extends outwardly from the first leg, and a second flange (i.e. 316) extends outwardly from the second leg;
but does not specifically teach the DIN rail secured to a wall with fasteners; and
wherein the latching system comprises: three or more upper and lower fins extending from the rear end of the electronic component; wherein a recess is positioned between the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins in which the DIN rail is positioned; a slot positioned in a lower surface of the three or more upper fins, the slot having an outer end of the first flange of the DIN rail positioned therein; and an upper surface in the three or more lower fins having an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
However, Baran teaches,
wherein the latching system comprises: three or more latches (i.e. Col. 1, lines 37-45 describes a prior art device having, “two or more latches for mounting the controller to the DIN rail.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the latching system taught by AAPA to have three or more latches as taught by Baran so as to properly support the desired electronic component. This provides the latching system of AAPA figures 1A-1C with duplicates of 102 and 132.
Furthermore, Kamensek (Figure 1) teaches a DIN rail (i.e. 15) secured to a wall (i.e. W) with fasteners (i.e. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system taught by AAPA to secure the DIN rail to a wall using fasteners as taught by Kamensek so as to mount the DIN rail in the desired manner.
Now, in combination with Baran and Kamensek, AAPA further teaches
wherein the latching system comprises: three or more upper (i.e. having 106, 136, and duplicates) and lower (i.e. 104, 134, and duplicates) fins extending from the rear end of the electronic component; wherein a recess (i.e. space between upper/lower fins) is positioned between the three or more upper fins and the three or more lower fins in which the DIN rail is positioned; a slot (i.e. 106, 136, and duplicates) positioned in a lower surface of the three or more upper fins, the slot having an outer end of the first flange of the DIN rail positioned therein (i.e. as described in page 7, lines 13-15); and an upper surface (i.e. 104, 134, and anticipated surface of third lower fin) in the three or more lower fins having an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover.
Regarding claim 10: AAPA, Baran, and Kamensek teach the system of claim 9, AAPA further teaches wherein the three or more upper and lower fins are comprised of a metal material (i.e. page 3, lines 4-5 describe, “prior art latching systems [are] used to connect an electronic component to a DIN rail,” and an object which forms a connection to an electronic component would be made of a metal).
Regarding claim 11: AAPA, Baran, and Kamensek teach the system of claim 10, AAPA further teaches the metal material has a high thermal conductivity (i.e. as metals do) such that the three or more upper and lower fins comprise heat-dissipating fins (i.e. as is done implicitly).
Regarding claim 12: AAPA, Baran, and Kamensek teach the system of claim 9, AAPA further teaches wherein a central latching member (i.e. 110) is secured to the rear end of the electronic component.
Regarding claim 13: AAPA, Baran, and Kamensek teach the system of claim 12, AAPA further teaches wherein the central latching member includes a lower section (i.e. 114) extending outwardly away from the rear end of the electronic member that includes an upper surface (i.e. upper surface of 112) having an outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail positioned thereover (i.e. as understood from figure 3).
Regarding claim 14: AAPA, Baran, and Kamensek teach the apparatus of claim 13, AAPA further teaches wherein the upper surface of the lower section of the central latching member includes a ramp (i.e. 112) angled upwardly towards a back wall (i.e. face of 110) of the central latching member; wherein a slot (i.e. between 112 and face of 110) is positioned between the ramp and the back wall of the central latching member; and wherein the outer end of the second flange of the DIN rail is positioned in the slot (i.e. as understood from figure 3).
Regarding claim 15: AAPA, Baran, and Kamensek teach the system of claim 14, AAPA further teaches wherein the ramp is configured to allow the outer end the second flange of the DIN rail to ride up the ramp towards the back wall of the central latching member until the second flange of the DIN rail drops into the slot and the second flange is secured between the back wall of the central latching member and an inner surface (i.e. surface of 112 parallel to face of 110) of the ramp.
Regarding claim 16: AAPA, Baran, and Kamensek teach the system of claim 9, but the embodiment of AAPA in figures 1A-1C, Baran, and Kamensek do not specifically teach wherein at least some of the three more upper and lower fins are integrally formed with the rear end of the electronic component.
However, AAPA (Figure 3) teaches wherein at least some of the first and second plurality of upper (i.e. upper securement points of 300) and lower fins (i.e. complimentary to the upper securement points) are integrally formed with the rear end of the electronic component (i.e. as in figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus taught by AAPA, Baran, and Kamensek to have the first and second plurality of upper and lower fins be integrally formed with the rear end of the electronic component because both types of fins, integrally and not integrally formed, are known in the art, and one would use the desired type.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koehler can be reached at 571-272-3560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GREGORY L MANGOT/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834