DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 10/31/2023.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2024 is compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for receiving control information”, and means for transmitting a signal in claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IHALAINEN et al. (US 2021/0399777 A1), in view of Carey et al. (US 2014/0057638 A1).
As to claims 1, 16 and 29-30, IHALAINEN discloses the invention as claimed, including a network entity (Fig. 12, 1201), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Fig. 12, 1230); and
one or more processors (Fig. 12, 1220) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (Fig. 12; ¶0097, “Each beamforming processing apparatus may comprise one or more communication control circuitry 1220, such as at least one processor, and at least one memory 1230, including one or more algorithms 1231, such as a computer program code (software) wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code (software) are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the beamforming processing apparatus to carry out any one of the exemplified functionalities of the beamforming processing apparatus described above”):
receive control information indicating a plurality of candidate geolocations (i.e., absolute global coordinates, local coordinates, relative positions) within a target coverage area (Fig. 1, 104-114) for the network entity (Fig. 4, 401; ¶0033, “the system geometry (relative positions of the network nodes and the target device) and the mobility states of the nodes”; ¶0052, “in block 401 that the beamforming processing apparatus maintains, in the database, information on a probability density function for each of one or more positions of one or more target devices…Each probability density function (and position estimate) may be defined by using either absolute global coordinates (e.g., latitude, longitude and altitude) or by using local coordinates relative to the known positions of network nodes”; ¶0048, “performing beamforming taking into account the position uncertainty of the target devices”; ¶0074, “one or more target receivers may be carried out either by one or more network nodes (so-called network-side positioning) or one or more target receivers (so-called device-side positioning). In network-side positioning, the network (i.e., one or more network nodes) performs measurements (e.g., relating to ranging and angle estimation), based on received samples of known uplink and/or downlink reference signals”); and
transmit a signal that is beamformed via a plurality of antenna elements of an antenna array of the network entity (Abstract, “configured for maintaining, in a database, information on radiation properties of the antenna array and probability density functions for target device positions. The radiation properties of the antenna array include beam parameters and a beam parameter dependent beam gain function”; ¶0017, “From the transceivers of the (e/g)NodeB, a connection is provided to an antenna unit that establishes bi-directional radio links to user devices. The antenna unit may comprise a plurality of antennas or antenna elements”) in accordance with a plurality of antenna beamforming weights (¶0031, “Beamforming techniques employ an array antenna comprising a plurality of antenna elements, for example, in a rectangular or square configuration. By tuning the phase and/or amplitude of the signals fed to each antenna element, different antenna patterns may be produced due to the electromagnetic waves produced by the individual antenna elements interfering with each other constructively and destructively in different directions”; ¶0050, “the one or more beam parameters may comprise a vector comprising values for one or more beamforming weights (i.e., beamforming weight vector). Each beamforming weight of the one or more beamforming weights is applied to a signal fed to and/or received from one of the antenna elements of the antenna array so that the phase shifting (and potentially also amplitude adjustment) for that particular antenna element may be manipulated”; ¶0068, “the one or more weighting factors may be calculated by the beamforming processing apparatus based on said one or more values of the priority metric”).
Although IHALAINEN discloses that a model and algorithms (¶0076), and large antenna arrays are able to provide high antenna gains needed to compensate for the increased pathloss when using millimeter wave carrier frequencies (¶0002; ¶0031; ¶0064), IHALAINEN does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of antenna beamforming weights are identified based at least in part on a beam pattern performance criterion applied to a plurality of candidate radiation patterns of a spatial envelope model, and wherein the spatial envelope model is based at least in part on a plurality of directions between the antenna array of the network entity and the plurality of candidate geolocations and a plurality of pathloss values associated with the plurality of candidate geolocations.
However, Carey discloses wherein the plurality of antenna beamforming weights are identified based at least in part on a beam pattern performance criterion applied to a plurality of candidate radiation patterns of a spatial envelope model (¶0006, “array antenna's radiation pattern is determined by the "weights" that are programmed into the antenna (signal magnitudes and phases), along with physical parameters such as antenna element geometry and spacing”; ¶0012, “This model may be determined either based on measured data, or theoretical propagation. In the latter regard, no feedback is required from the network to synthesize the antenna patterns”; ¶0016, “model that describes the radiation pattern of the adaptive antenna as a function of the beamformer weights. The radiation pattern of the adaptive antenna may be expressed as a function in azimuth and/or elevation”); and wherein the spatial envelope model is based at least in part on a plurality of directions between the antenna array of the network entity and the plurality of candidate geolocations and a plurality of pathloss values associated with the plurality of candidate geolocations (Fig. 7; ¶0019, “The path loss at each grid cell location may be measured in an operating network In a more sophisticated variant, the path loss may be measured at many locations, used to develop an equation describing path loss as a function of distance”; ¶0020, “model contains the following:”; ¶0021, “For each grid cell, a distance between each grid cell and each antenna and the path loss to every antenna”; ¶0022, “For each grid cell, the bearing angle from every antenna to that grid cell. Using this new model that describes the Aol, a "steepest descent" optimization algorithm is described for determining the optimum beamformer weights of each adaptive antenna”; ¶0023, “the beamformer weights in each antenna. That value could be the weights that produce an omnidirectional pattern, or any other weights for which there is reason to believe is close to being suited to providing good coverage”; ¶0026, “Compute the Signal to Noise Ratio of the signal received at each antenna (this is determined by path loss between mobile and phased array, mobile device EIRP and phased array antenna gain in the direction of the grid cell)”; ¶0027; ¶0054”; ¶0074; ¶0086, “The distances between the centers of each grid cell 230 and each of the access points is calculated and utilized to determine an estimated path loss (GPL) between each grid cell and each access point using the first model”; ¶0089, “In this model, the beam patterns of the antenna relative to the weights and/or phases of the antennas are provided. That is, the models identify how a beam pattern for an adaptive antenna changes if one or more of the weights are adjusted”; ¶0102; ¶0106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the system of IHALAINEN to include wherein the plurality of antenna beamforming weights are identified based at least in part on a beam pattern performance criterion applied to a plurality of candidate radiation patterns of a spatial envelope model, and wherein the spatial envelope model is based at least in part on a plurality of directions between the antenna array of the network entity and the plurality of candidate geolocations and a plurality of pathloss values associated with the plurality of candidate geolocations, as taught by Carey because it would improve signal quality and coverage and allow the system to identify optimal weights that maximize signal gain towards the desired user (Carey; ¶0011-¶0018).
As to claim 2, IHALAINEN discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein: a plurality of pattern correlation coefficients are identified between a target radiation pattern for the target coverage area and a respective candidate radiation pattern of the plurality of candidate radiation patterns, and the beam pattern performance criterion corresponds to one of the plurality of candidate radiation patterns having a pattern correlation coefficient of the plurality of pattern correlation coefficients that satisfies a threshold (¶0031, “Due to reciprocity, the same principle applies equally in reception. In particular, the radiation pattern of the antenna array may be tuned so that a narrow main beam of the radiation pattern is directed to different directions (e.g., different directions defined through azimuth and/or elevation angles)”; ¶0057, “In order to optimize the beamforming performance with a desired (minimum) service probability η, the one or more beam parameters θ are chosen so that the achieved beam gain is maximized while still satisfying the desired minimum service probability”).
As to claim 3, IHALAINEN discloses the network entity of claim 2, wherein the plurality of antenna beamforming weights correspond to the one of the plurality of candidate radiation patterns that has the pattern correlation coefficient that satisfies the threshold (¶0031, “Beamforming techniques employ an array antenna comprising a plurality of antenna elements, for example, in a rectangular or square configuration. By tuning the phase and/or amplitude of the signals fed to each antenna element, different antenna patterns…the radiation pattern of the antenna array may be tuned so that a narrow main beam of the radiation pattern is directed to different directions (e.g., different directions defined through azimuth and/or elevation angles)”; ¶0050, “the one or more beam parameters may comprise a vector comprising values for one or more beamforming weights (i.e., beamforming weight vector). Each beamforming weight of the one or more beamforming weights is applied to a signal fed to and/or received from one of the antenna elements of the antenna array”; ¶0057, “In order to optimize the beamforming performance with a desired (minimum) service probability η, the one or more beam parameters θ are chosen so that the achieved beam gain is maximized while still satisfying the desired minimum service probability”).
As to claim 4, IHALAINEN discloses the network entity of claim 2, wherein the pattern correlation coefficient satisfying the threshold comprises the pattern correlation coefficient being higher than each other pattern correlation coefficient of the plurality of pattern correlation coefficients (¶0031, “the radiation pattern of the antenna array may be tuned so that a narrow main beam of the radiation pattern is directed to different directions (e.g., different directions defined through azimuth and/or elevation angles)”; ¶0086, “beam gain is increased at each step when moving from n=1 to n=4 with the highest beam gain being, thus, provided with n=4”; ¶0088).
As to claim 5, IHALAINEN discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein: a plurality of power gain values are identified for the plurality of candidate radiation patterns, and the beam pattern performance criterion corresponds to one of the plurality of candidate radiation patterns having a power gain value of the plurality of power gain values that satisfies a power gain threshold in the target coverage area (Abstract, “configured for maintaining, in a database, information on radiation properties of the antenna array and probability density functions for target device positions. The radiation properties of the antenna array include beam parameters and a beam parameter dependent beam gain function”; ¶0037,
“The baseband processing apparatus 201 may be configured to control gain (i.e., gain of at least one power or low noise amplifier) and/or clock of each RF front end 207, 208, 209, 210. The gain may be controlled, for example, by controlling a control voltage of one or more power”).
As to claim 6, IHALAINEN discloses the network entity of claim 5, wherein the plurality of antenna beamforming weights correspond to the one of the plurality of candidate radiation patterns having the power gain value that satisfies the power gain threshold for the target coverage area (Abstract, “configured for maintaining, in a database, information on radiation properties of the antenna array and probability density functions for target device positions. The radiation properties of the antenna array include beam parameters and a beam parameter dependent beam gain function”; ¶0037, “The baseband processing apparatus 201 may be configured to control gain (i.e., gain of at least one power or low noise amplifier) and/or clock of each RF front end 207, 208, 209, 210. The gain may be controlled, for example, by controlling a control voltage of one or more power”).
As to claim 7, IHALAINEN discloses the network entity of claim 5, wherein each power gain value of the plurality of power gain values corresponds to a minimum power gain value for a respective candidate radiation pattern in the target coverage area of the plurality of candidate radiation patterns (Abstract, “configured for maintaining, in a database, information on radiation properties of the antenna array and probability density functions for target device positions. The radiation properties of the antenna array include beam parameters and a beam parameter dependent beam gain function”; ¶0037, “The baseband processing apparatus 201 may be configured to control gain (i.e., gain of at least one power or low noise amplifier) and/or clock of each RF front end 207, 208, 209, 210. The gain may be controlled, for example, by controlling a control voltage of one or more power”).
As to claim 8, IHALAINEN discloses the network entity of claim 5, wherein the power gain value satisfying the power gain threshold comprises the power gain value being higher than each other power gain value of the plurality of power gain values (Abstract, “configured for maintaining, in a database, information on radiation properties of the antenna array and probability density functions for target device positions. The radiation properties of the antenna array include beam parameters and a beam parameter dependent beam gain function”; ¶0037, “The baseband processing apparatus 201 may be configured to control gain (i.e., gain of at least one power or low noise amplifier) and/or clock of each RF front end 207, 208, 209, 210. The gain may be controlled, for example, by controlling a control voltage of one or more power”).
As to claim 9, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, IHALAINEN discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein the signal is transmitted via a first frequency band, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit a second signal via a second frequency band that is beamformed via the plurality of antenna elements of the antenna array of the network entity in accordance with a second plurality of antenna beamforming weights (¶0035, “The beamforming antenna system according to embodiments comprises at least an antenna array 215 comprising a plurality of antenna elements 211, 212, 213, 214, a plurality of radio frequency, RF, front ends (RFFEs) 207, 208, 209, 210…”; ¶0037, “Each antenna element 211, 212, 213, 214 may be connected to a RF front end 207, 208, 209, 210 (possibly via an isolator). The plurality of RF front ends 207, 208, 209, 210 may be configured to convert radio frequency signals received from the plurality of antenna elements 211, 212, 213, 214 to baseband signals in receive paths of the plurality of RF front ends”; ¶0050, “the one or more beam parameters may comprise a vector comprising values for one or more beamforming weights (i.e., beamforming weight vector). Each beamforming weight of the one or more beamforming weights is applied to a signal fed to and/or received from one of the antenna elements of the antenna array”).
As to claim 10, IHALAINEN discloses the network entity of claim 9, wherein each candidate radiation pattern of the plurality of candidate radiation patterns is associated with a first carrier wave and each candidate radiation pattern of the second plurality of candidate radiation patterns is associated with a second carrier wave that is different from the first carrier wave (¶0031, “By tuning the phase and/or amplitude of the signals fed to each antenna element, different antenna patterns may be produced due to the electromagnetic waves produced by the individual antenna elements interfering with each other constructively and destructively in different directions. Due to reciprocity, the same principle applies equally in reception. In particular, the radiation pattern of the antenna array may be tuned so that a narrow main beam of the radiation pattern is directed to different directions (e.g., different directions defined through azimuth and/or elevation angles)”).
As to claims 11-12, Carey discloses wherein the spatial envelope model is based at least in part on a pathloss compensation coefficient that indicates the plurality of pathloss values associated with the plurality of candidate geolocations; wherein the plurality of candidate radiation patterns of the spatial envelope model are based at least in part on the plurality of pathloss values associated with the plurality of candidate geolocations (¶0006, “array antenna's radiation pattern is determined by the "weights" that are programmed into the antenna (signal magnitudes and phases), along with physical parameters such as antenna element geometry and spacing”; ¶0012, “This model may be determined either based on measured data, or theoretical propagation. In the latter regard, no feedback is required from the network to synthesize the antenna patterns”; ¶0016, “model that describes the radiation pattern of the adaptive antenna as a function of the beamformer weights. The radiation pattern of the adaptive antenna may be expressed as a function in azimuth and/or elevation”; ¶0019, “The path loss at each grid cell location may be measured in an operating network In a more sophisticated variant, the path loss may be measured at many locations, used to develop an equation describing path loss as a function of distance”; ¶0020, “model contains the following:”; ¶0021, “For each grid cell, a distance between each grid cell and each antenna and the path loss to every antenna”; ¶0022, “For each grid cell, the bearing angle from every antenna to that grid cell. Using this new model that describes the Aol, a "steepest descent" optimization algorithm is described for determining the optimum beamformer weights of each adaptive antenna”; ¶0026, “Compute the Signal to Noise Ratio of the signal received at each antenna (this is determined by path loss between mobile and phased array, mobile device EIRP and phased array antenna gain in the direction of the grid cell)”; ¶0027; ¶0054”; ¶0074; ¶0086, “The distances between the centers of each grid cell 230 and each of the access points is calculated and utilized to determine an estimated path loss (GPL) between each grid cell and each access point using the first model”; ¶0089, “In this model, the beam patterns of the antenna relative to the weights and/or phases of the antennas are provided. That is, the models identify how a beam pattern for an adaptive antenna changes if one or more of the weights are adjusted”; ¶0102; ¶0106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the system of IHALAINEN to include wherein the spatial envelope model is based at least in part on a pathloss compensation coefficient that indicates the plurality of pathloss values associated with the plurality of candidate geolocations; wherein the plurality of candidate radiation patterns of the spatial envelope model are based at least in part on the plurality of pathloss values associated with the plurality of candidate geolocations, as taught by Carey because it would improve signal quality and coverage and allow the system to identify optimal weights that maximize signal gain towards the desired user (Carey; ¶0011-¶0018).
As to claim 13, IHALAINEN discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein each candidate geolocation within the plurality of candidate geolocations corresponds to a maximum distance or a maximum range of a plurality of user equipment (UEs) relative to the antenna array for a respective direction of the plurality of directions (¶0075, “Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and/or dedicated Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) may be used for the aforementioned measurements. The device-side positioning may be carried out using the Global Positioning System (GPS)”; ¶0095, “The estimated position information aided beamforming according to any embodiments described above may be also used for neighbor cell measurements. Assuming that measuring UE has uncertainty of either of its own or network node position and information on the related likelihood, UE may optimize its receiver beamformer”).
As to claim 14, IHALAINEN discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein a first subset of the plurality of antenna beamforming weights is associated with a first polarization direction and a second subset of the plurality of antenna beamforming weights is associated with a second polarization direction orthogonal to the first polarization direction (¶0039, “The (digital) beamforming processor 202 (later a beamforming processing apparatus) may be configured to control beamforming (and scanning) in one direction or two orthogonal directions, i.e., in an azimuth direction and/or in an elevation direction”; ¶0049, “a number of the antenna elements used for forming a given beam or, in the case of a two-dimensional antenna array, a number of the antenna elements used for forming the beam along a first direction (i.e., first direction along the antenna array) and a number of the antenna elements used for forming the beam along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (i.e., a second direction along the antenna array)”; ¶0089, “a two-dimensional rectangular antenna array with regular spacing between antenna elements in two orthogonal directions (defined here as x- and y-directions) along the array, the number of the antenna elements may be written as a vector n=(nx, ny), where nx and ny are, respectively, the number of used antenna elements along x- and y-directions”).
As to claim 15, IHALAINEN discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein the signal comprises a broadcast transmission (¶0038, “digital baseband signals for transmission via the plurality of RF”; ¶0040, “The baseband processing apparatus 201 may be configured to generate a digital baseband signal to be fed via the beamforming processor 202 to the plurality of analog front ends 203, 204, 205, 206 for transmission”).
As to claims 17-28, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 2-13 above, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pajovic et al. (US 2021/0152990 A1), Greinke et al. (US 2023/0370133 A1), Carey et al. (US 2014/0003365 A1), Chiu et al. (US 2021/0135723 A1), Buer et al. (US 2020/0007225 A1), Hui et al. (US 2016/0127919 A1) disclose system and method for beamforming using sparse antenna arrays.
/JUNGWON CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 February 6, 2026