DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the focused energy source positioned to direct energy at a location on the metal object being formed on the platform where metal is to be deposited of claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶ 7 of the as-filed specification should be amended to recite “technologies used to manufacture metal objects.”
¶ 17 of the as-filed specification should be amended to recite “a[[n]] non-contact object heater 62.”
Claim Objections
Claims 1–10 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, ll. 3–4, should be amended to recite “the melted metal drop ejecting device.”
Each of claims 5 and 16 provide for “a contact heater.” However, it’s fairly clear from the specification that this should be “a non-contact heater,” as the list of alternatives in the claim indicate it is referring to element 62 of the disclosure, which is different from the contact heating element 42 that is separately clamed as the “heating element” in claim 10.
Claims 2–4 and 6–10 are objected to due to dependency upon an objected-to claim.
Claim Interpretation
Comment: Although the “melted metal drop ejecting device” and the “tool . . . configured to either add metal or remove metal” of claims 1 and 11 are formulated as limitations to be interpreted under § 112(f), they is not, since the first is well-known as a device that melts a powder, wire, or other feedstock in a chamber and releases molten droplets from the chamber, and for the second, additive and subtractive manufacturing tools are well-known in the art. See MPEP § 2181.I.C.: “Examiners will apply 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to a claim limitation that uses the term ‘means’ or generic placeholder associated with functional language, unless that term is (1) preceded by a structural modifier, defined in the specification as a particular structure or known by one skilled in the art, that denotes the type of structural device (e.g., ‘filters’), or (2) otherwise modified by sufficient structure or material for achieving the claimed function.”
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mark (US Pub. 2017/0087632).
Mark discloses a metal hybrid manufacturing system comprising:
a platform (16);
a melted metal drop ejecting device (10a, 202) coupled to a member (see 10 in fig. 1), the melted drop ejecting device being configured to eject discrete melted metal drops toward the platform to form a metal object on the platform (see e.g. ¶¶ 37 and 38);
a tool (502) coupled to the member (see 502 and 10 in fig. 1), the tool being configured to either add metal or remove metal from the metal object being formed on the platform (grinding wheel 502 would remove metal); and
a controller (20) operatively connected to the melted metal drop ejecting device (¶ 40 explains that the steps shown in fig. 3 are performed by controller 20, including printing step S4) and the tool (see ¶ 56), the controller being configured to:
operate the melted metal drop ejecting device to form portions of the metal object on the platform (see ¶ 40 and fig. 3, inter alia); and
operate the tool to either shape or form other portions of the metal object being formed on the platform (see ¶¶ 56 and 57).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claims 4–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mark as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maeda (US Pub. 2023/0339024).
Claim 4: Mark may not disclose a heater configured to heat at least a portion of the object being formed on the platform (the Office at least choses not to rely on the “heating of the soluble support surface” mentioned in ¶ 73 since its structure is not completely clear).
However, Maeda discloses a similar apparatus with a heater (102, 144) configured to heat a portion of an object (116, 118) being formed on a platform (106, 128).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the heater of Maeda to the system of Mark to better control the manufacturing process (see ¶ 52 of Maeda).
Claim 5: Modified as per claim 4 above, Maeda discloses that the heater is one of a non-contact heater (see the objection above; 102/144 qualify as a non-contact heater) and a radiation heater (102/144 emit laser radiation).
Claim 6: Mark does not disclose a focused energy source positioned to direct energy at a location on the object being formed on the platform where melted metal drops are to be ejected or metal deposited.
However, Maeda disclose a similar apparatus with a focused energy source (102, 144) positioned to direct energy at a location on the object being formed (116, 118) on a platform (106, 128) where melted metal drops are to be ejected or metal deposited (see fig. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the focused energy source of Maeda to the system of Mark to better control the manufacturing process (see ¶ 52 of Maeda).
Claim 7: Modified as per claim 6 above, Maeda discloses that the focused energy source is a laser (102, 144).
Claim 8: Modified as per claim 6 above, Maeda discloses that the laser is one of a fiber laser, a fiber coupled laser, and a diode laser (¶ 54, “the laser(s) include a fiber laser”).
Claim 9: Modified as per claim 6 above, Maeda does not seem to disclose that its melted metal drop ejecting device and focused energy source are integrated.
However, fig. 3 of Maeda shows an optical device 160 (which may correspond to the laser 144, see ¶ 71) positioned “near one end of the heat shield 132” (¶ 71).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that Maeda is effectively teaching that the melted metal drop ejecting device and focused energy source may be very close to, or even touching, each other, and would have found it obvious to make these elements integral so that they could move with, and function with, each other (MPEP § 2144.04.V.B.).
Claim 10: Mark does not disclose the platform further comprising: a heating element operatively connected to the controller.
However, Maeda disclose a similar apparatus where its platform (106, 128) comprises a heating element (136).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the heating element of Maeda to the platform of Mark, as an additional means to control the manufacturing (one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that it would have advantages similar to those described in Maeda’s ¶ 52 for its laser heating system).
Maeda never explicitly discloses that its heating element is operative connected to its controller 108, but before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to connect these elements so the platform heating element could be controlled.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mark in view of Maeda.
Mark discloses a metal hybrid manufacturing system comprising:
a platform (16);
a member (see 10 in fig. 1);
a melted metal drop ejecting device (10a, 202) mounted to the member (see fig. 1), the melted metal drop ejecting device configured to eject discrete melted metal drops toward the platform to form a metal object on the platform (see e.g. ¶¶ 37 and 38);
a tool (502) mounted to the member (see fig. 1), the tool being configured to either add or remove metal from the metal object on the platform (grinding wheel 502 would remove metal); and
a controller (20) operatively connected to the melted metal drop ejecting device (¶ 40 explains that the steps shown in fig. 3 are performed by controller 20, including printing step S4) and the tool (see ¶ 56), the controller being configured to:
operate the melted metal drop ejecting device to form portions of a metal object on the platform (see ¶ 40 and fig. 3, inter alia); and
operate the tool to shape or form other portions of the metal object on the platform (see ¶¶ 56 and 57).
Mark does not disclose a heater configured to heat at least a portion of the metal object being formed on the platform, nor its controller configured to operate the heater to heat the metal object on the platform.
However, Maeda discloses a similar apparatus with a heater (102, 144) configured to heat a portion of an object (116, 118) being formed on a platform (106, 128), as well as a controller (108) configured to operate the heater to heat the metal object on the platform (see ¶ 58).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the heater of Maeda to the system of Mark to better control the manufacturing process (see ¶ 52 of Maeda).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 12–20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose or render obvious the limitations of claims 2 and 12 in combination with the limitations of the independent claims, which is made clear with the discussion of the prior art below. Claims 13–20 each depend from claim 12.
At the outset, the most important piece of evidence is Applicant’s assertion that “hybrid manufacturing systems have not included MHD printers or the like because the temperature of the melted metal ejected by such printers make the environment harsh” (¶ 7 of the as-filed specification). This prevents finding obvious some combinations and modifications of prior art.
Carbone (US Pub. 2005/0173380) is an example of a reference which shows a metal deposition tool and a subtractive manufacturing tool which seem to be mounted to a same member, but it provides no disclosure regarding a melted metal drop ejecting device.
Mirzendehdel et al. (US Pub. 2023/0076817), Galle (EP 3 533 537 A1, cited by the Office) are similar to Maeda, but do not disclose a melted metal drop ejecting device as well as a tool to remove metal being coupled to the same member.
Qi et al. (CN 111940732 A, cited by the Office) discloses an apparatus with a metal droplet spraying component and an additive tool, but the additive tool is for adding a polymer.
Du et al. (CN 111515399 A, cited by the Office) and Wei (CN 115055699 A, cited by the Office) both disclose a melted metal drop ejecting device along with an additive tool, but the additive tool is for adding ceramic powder rather than metal as claimed.
Shan et al. (WO 2014/101020 A1, cited by the Office) discloses an apparatus with multiple liquid metal depositors, but they are spray nozzles, which do not release “discrete melted metal drops” as claimed, nor are these nozzles coupled to a common member.
Wu et al. (US Pub. 2023/0294357), Yun et al. (US Pub. 2021/0362225), Smolik et al. (WO 2017/103849 A1, cited by the Office), and Zhao (CN 113070472 A, cited by the Office) are also cited as relevant prior art.
Conclusion
/JOHN J NORTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761