DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 11/12/2025 for Application No. 18/498,965
Claims 23 – 28, 30 – 33, 35 – 38 and 40 – 45 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 29, 34, and 39 have been cancelled. Claims 23, 30 and 36 have been amended. Claims 43 – 45 are new.
This action is made NON-FINAL
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 26, 28, 36, 38, 40, 41, 42 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20150339931 A1) further in view of Baruch et al. (US 20180029706 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Yu teaches an apparatus comprising: memory; machine-readable instructions; and at least one processor to execute the machine-readable instructions to: (Yu: Paragraph 0171: “Operation of one or more actuator 350 of the UAV 300 may be controlled by a flight controller 320. The flight controller may include one or more processors and/or memory units. The memory units may include non-transitory computer readable media, which may comprise code, logic, or instructions for performing one or more steps. The processors may be capable of performing one or more steps described herein. The processors may provide the steps in accordance with the non-transitory computer readable media. The processors may perform location-based calculations and/or utilize algorithms to generate a flight command for the UAV.”)
determine a position of an unmanned aerial vehicle (Yu: Paragraph 0175: “The UAV may also include a locator 340. The locator may be used to determine a location of the UAV. The location may include a latitude, longitude, and/or altitude of the aerial vehicle.”)
relative to a first boundary and a second boundary, (Yu: Claim 1: “a plurality of flight restriction zones along the boundary, wherein each flight restriction zone of the plurality of flight restriction zones (1) includes at least one of the plurality of points along the boundary, and (2) overlaps at least one other flight restriction zone of said plurality of flight restriction zones.”; Paragraph 0075: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.”,
Supplemental Note: these flight-restricted regions are interpreted as the boundaries)
… the first boundary encompassing a first portion of the travel path at a first time and the first boundary encompassing a second portion of the travel path at a second time, (Yu: Paragraph 0159: “A user may set up waypoints for flight of a UAV. A UAV may be able to fly to a waypoint. The waypoints may have predefined location (e.g., coordinates). Waypoints may be a way for UAVs to navigate from one location to another or follow a path. In some instances, users may enter waypoints using a software. For example, a user may enter coordinates for way points and/or use a graphical user interface, such as a map, to designate waypoints. In some embodiments, waypoints may not be set up in flight-restricted regions, such as airports. Waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance threshold of a flight-restricted region. For example, waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance of an airport. The predetermined distance may be any distance value described elsewhere herein, such as 5 miles (or 8 km).”; Paragraph 0160: “A waypoint may or may not be permitted outside a flight-restricted proximity zone. In some instances, a waypoint may be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. Alternatively, a waypoint may not be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. In some instances, a map showing information about waypoints and waypoint safety rules may be provided.”; Paragraph 0189: “In one example, the relative location and/or distance between the UAV and the flight-restricted region may be calculated at specified time intervals. For example, the calculations may occur every hour, every half hour, every 15 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 2 minutes, every minute, every 45 seconds, every 30 seconds, every 15 seconds, every 12 seconds, every 10 seconds, every 7 seconds, every 5 seconds, every 3 seconds, every second, every 0.5 seconds, or every 0.1 second. The calculations may be made between the UAV and one or more flight-restricted regions (e.g., airports).”,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Fig. 2, the flight path maybe set to be encompassed within the flight restricted zones with a 4.5 mile or the 5 mile radius shown by 220A and 220B. These waypoints are able to be within a flight-restricted zone and identified at what times they reach those waypoints with the ability to calculate the UAV’s position at specified time intervals)
at least a portion of the second portion of the travel path encompassed by the first boundary at the second time different than the first portion of the travel path encompassed by the first boundary at the first time, (Yu: Paragraph 0111: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones 220A, 220B, 220C, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. A flight-restricted region 210 may be provided. The location of the flight-restricted region may be represented by a set of coordinates (i.e., a point), area, or space. One or more flight-restricted proximity zones may be provided around the flight-restricted region.”; Paragraph 0115: “A third flight-restricted proximity zone 220C may be provided around an airport. The third flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a third radius of the airport. The third radius may be greater than the first radius and/or second radius. For example, the third flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5.5 miles of the airport. In another example, the third flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5.5 miles of the airport and also outside the second radius (e.g., 5 miles) of the airport. The third flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape including anything within the third radius of the airport, or a substantially ring shape including anything within the third radius of the airport and outside the second radius of the airport. If a UAV is located within the third flight-restricted proximity zone, a third flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 5.5 miles of the airport and outside 5 miles of the airport, the UAV may send an alert to an operator of the UAV. Alternatively, if the UAV is anywhere within 5.5 miles of the airport, an alert may be provided.”; Paragraph 0159: “A user may set up waypoints for flight of a UAV. A UAV may be able to fly to a waypoint. The waypoints may have predefined location (e.g., coordinates). Waypoints may be a way for UAVs to navigate from one location to another or follow a path. In some instances, users may enter waypoints using a software. For example, a user may enter coordinates for way points and/or use a graphical user interface, such as a map, to designate waypoints. In some embodiments, waypoints may not be set up in flight-restricted regions, such as airports. Waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance threshold of a flight-restricted region. For example, waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance of an airport. The predetermined distance may be any distance value described elsewhere herein, such as 5 miles (or 8 km).”; Paragraph 0160: “A waypoint may or may not be permitted outside a flight-restricted proximity zone. In some instances, a waypoint may be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. Alternatively, a waypoint may not be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. In some instances, a map showing information about waypoints and waypoint safety rules may be provided.”; Paragraph 0189: “In one example, the relative location and/or distance between the UAV and the flight-restricted region may be calculated at specified time intervals. For example, the calculations may occur every hour, every half hour, every 15 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 2 minutes, every minute, every 45 seconds, every 30 seconds, every 15 seconds, every 12 seconds, every 10 seconds, every 7 seconds, every 5 seconds, every 3 seconds, every second, every 0.5 seconds, or every 0.1 second. The calculations may be made between the UAV and one or more flight-restricted regions (e.g., airports).”,
Supplemental Note: the UAV is able to travel along waypoints which can be incorporated within one of the flight-restricted region proximity zones, interpreted as the boundaries. The UAV is able to travel within one of the boundaries thus a second set of waypoints (i.e. points B to C), different from the first set of waypoints (i.e. points A to B) the UAV is to travel to at a later time can still be within the first boundary)
the second boundary encompassing the first boundary at the first time and the second time; (Yu: Paragraph 0075: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.”; Paragraph 0111: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones 220A, 220B, 220C, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. A flight-restricted region 210 may be provided. The location of the flight-restricted region may be represented by a set of coordinates (i.e., a point), area, or space. One or more flight-restricted proximity zones may be provided around the flight-restricted region.”,
Supplemental Note: in this example, the second boundary can be the 5.5 or 5 mile radius boundary (220C or 220B) as they both encompass an additional boundary. Since the art teaches three boundaries in this example, they can be used interchangeably to teach the claimed first boundary encompassed within a second boundary)
when the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle intersects the first boundary, cause the unmanned aerial vehicle to land at a first landing site, the first landing site being one of a plurality of landing sites associated with the travel path; and (Yu: Paragraph 0006: “In some embodiments, each flight restriction zone of the plurality of flight restriction zones is associated with instructions for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) within or near the flight restriction zone to take one or more flight response measures. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include preventing the UAV from entering the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to fly beneath a predetermined altitude or set of altitudes while within the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include sending an alert to a UAV operator. In some embodiments, the alert informs the UAV operator about a predetermined period of time to land the UAV. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land after the predetermined period of time. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land within a predetermined period of time.”; Paragraph 0112: “In one example, the flight-restricted region 210 may be an airport. Any description herein of an airport may apply to any other type of flight-restricted region, or vice versa. A first flight-restricted proximity zone 220A may be provided, with the airport therein. In one example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a first radius of the airport. For example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 4.5 miles of the airport. The first flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape, including anything within the first radius of the airport. The flight-restricted proximity zone may have any shape. If a UAV is located within the first flight-restricted proximity zone, a first flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may automatically land. The UAV may automatically land without any input from an operator of the UAV, or may incorporate input from the operator of the UAV. The UAV may automatically start decreasing in altitude. The UAV may decrease in altitude at a predetermined rate, or may incorporate location data in determining the rate at which to land. The UAV may find a desirable spot to land, or may immediately land at any location. The UAV may or may not take input from an operator of the UAV into account when finding a location to land. The first flight response measure may be a software measure to prevent users from being able to fly near an airport. An immediate landing sequence may be automatically initiated when the UAV is in the first flight-restricted proximity zone.”,
Supplemental Note: when the UAV enters these various zones, the UAV is caused to land within a predetermined time)
when the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle intersects the second boundary, cause the unmanned aerial vehicle to land at a second landing site, the second landing site different than the plurality of landing sites associated with the travel path (Yu: Paragraph 0113: “A second flight-restricted proximity zone 220B may be provided around an airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a second radius of the airport. The second radius may be greater than the first radius. For example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport. In another example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport and also outside the first radius (e.g., 4.5 miles) of the airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape including anything within the second radius of the airport, or a substantially ring shape including anything within the second radius of the airport and outside the first radius of the airport. If a UAV is located within the second flight-restricted proximity zone, a second flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 5 miles of the airport and outside 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may prompt an operator of the UAV to land within a predetermined time period (e.g., 1 hour, 30 minutes, 14 minutes, 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 3 minutes, 2 minutes, 1 minute, 45 seconds, 30 seconds, 15 seconds, 10 seconds, or five seconds). If the UAV is not landed within the predetermined time period, the UAV may automatically land.”)
In sum, Yu teaches an apparatus comprising: memory; machine-readable instructions; and at least one processor to execute the machine-readable instructions to: determine a position of an unmanned aerial vehicle relative to a first boundary and a second boundary, the first boundary encompassing a first portion of the travel path at a first time and the first boundary encompassing a second portion of the travel path at a second time, at least a portion of the second portion of the travel path encompassed by the first boundary at the second time different than the first portion of the travel path encompassed by the first boundary at the first time, the second boundary encompassing the first boundary at the first time and the second time; when the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle intersects the first boundary, cause the unmanned aerial vehicle to land at a first landing site, the first landing site being one of a plurality of landing sites associated with the travel path; and when the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle intersects the second boundary, cause the unmanned aerial vehicle to land at a second landing site, the second landing site different than the plurality of landing sites associated with the travel path. Yu however does not teach the first boundary to move at a first speed along a travel path of the unmanned aerial vehicle during flight of the unmanned aerial vehicle, the first speed based on an expected speed of the unmanned aerial vehicle whereas Baruch does.
Baruch teaches the first boundary to move at a first speed along a travel path of the unmanned aerial vehicle during flight of the unmanned aerial vehicle (Baruch: Paragraphs 0038 – 0039: “A UAV may be configured to track and follow a user, in what is known as a “follow-me” mode. For example, a UAV may be configured to follow behind or ahead of (or above) a user and track the user, for example, by photographing or taking video of the user (e.g., fly ahead or behind a user skiing while recording video of the user). Various embodiments include a UAV configured to fly ahead of the user monitoring the area ahead of and around the user rather than or in addition to photographing the user. The UAV may be configured to monitor areas surrounding and/or ahead of the user for potential dangers and warn the user of those dangers. Such UAVs may have applications in pedestrian/cyclist safety and other situations, such as a navigation guide for the elderly, or as a navigation aide to customers in large commercial or public areas such as amusement parks, parking lots, and shopping areas.”; Paragraph 0044: “The UAV 100 may be configured to enable the user 202 to manually configure the monitoring position of the UAV 100, for example by using a wireless communication device or UAV controller. For example, the user 202 may specify that the UAV 100 should remain far ahead when the user 202 is riding a bike, and may specify that the UAV 100 should remain close when the user is walking alone in the dark. The UAV 100 may periodically recalculate the monitoring position to account for changes in the user's speed or direction.”; Paragraph 0059: “In block 304, the processor(s) may monitor an area surrounding the user for objects. The processor may first estimate a travel path for the user based on the user's position, velocity, travel path history, and/or navigation information inputted by the user. The processor may utilize sensors, cameras, image processing, pattern recognitions, tracking algorithms, device-to-device and/or cellular communication, GPS, navigation systems, and other hardware and/or software components to detect moving or stationary objects (e.g., other people, animals, vehicles, buildings, trees and plants, curbs, intersections, and other stationary or moving objects) in a determined area around the estimated travel path of the user. The determined area may depend on the position and velocity of the user, or may be manually specified by the user. The determined area may also include a specified radius around the user, and/or an area surrounding the prior travel path of the user in order to scan for dangers approaching from the sides or from behind the user. For example, the determined area to scan for objects may be between 0-2 kilometers from all points of the estimated travel path and the prior travel path, as well as a radius 1 km radius from the current location of the user. The processor may estimate the travel path for each detected object and then determine whether the estimated travel path for any object will intersect with the estimated travel path of the user. Monitoring an area surrounding the user for objects is described in more detail with reference to method 500 (FIG. 5).”,
Supplemental Note: the UAV is programmed to follow the travel path of a user while maintaining a boundary around the user, thus interpreted as a first boundary that moves along the travel path of the UAV. The claimed first speed of the first boundary is as the specified radius or distance around the user, thus as the user is moving the boundary is also moving along with them which the UAV is to follow within)
the first speed based on an expected speed of the unmanned aerial vehicle (Baruch: Paragraph 0041: “The attributes may include one or more of the current position of the user 202, the current velocity (i.e., speed and direction) of the user 202, the height of the user 202, the size of the user 202 (or size of user along with addition people accompanying the user 202). These attributes may help determine the monitoring position of the UAV 100 relative to the user 202. For example, the velocity of the user 202 may be used to determine the velocity of the UAV 100 in order to maintain a stationary position relative to the user 202.”,
Supplemental Note: the speed of the user is used to determine the speed of the UAV, thus interpreted as the expected speed of the UAV)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yu with the teachings of Baruch with a reasonable expectation of success. Baruch teaches the ability of UAV to monitor a user’s travel path while creating a boundary around the user where the UAV is to monitor for potential hazards (Baruch: Abstract). One with knowledge in the art would find this obvious to try to combine with the UAV system of Yu. Yu teaches the ability of a UAV to not fly into flight-restricted areas with the use of boundaries. Both prior art teach the UAV with multiple sensors and able to communicate with the user. Combining the teachings of Baruch with the UAV of Yu would increase the usability of the UAV and the safety of the user operating the UAV. For example, the UAV will be able to follow the user and alert them when they are flying near any flight restricted areas which the UAV is unable to enter. The UAV can also monitor hazards on the road and alert the user about them as the UAV is following them. This increases the usability of the UAV as it is able to now create a boundary around the user and increases the safety of the user as the UAV will be able to alert them of any dangerous situations.
Regarding claim 26, Yu, as modified, teaches wherein the second boundary encompasses an entirety of the travel path. (Yu: Paragraph 0075: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.”; Paragraph 0111: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones 220A, 220B, 220C, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. A flight-restricted region 210 may be provided. The location of the flight-restricted region may be represented by a set of coordinates (i.e., a point), area, or space. One or more flight-restricted proximity zones may be provided around the flight-restricted region.”,: Paragraph 0216: “For example, a UAV may be flying near several airports or other types of flight-restricted regions.”,
Supplemental Note: the UAV can be flying near the airport within the flight-restricted regions including the claimed second boundary)
Regarding claim 28, Yu, as modified, teaches wherein when the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle intersects the first boundary, (Yu: Paragraph 0113: “A second flight-restricted proximity zone 220B may be provided around an airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a second radius of the airport. The second radius may be greater than the first radius. For example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport. In another example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport and also outside the first radius (e.g., 4.5 miles) of the airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape including anything within the second radius of the airport, or a substantially ring shape including anything within the second radius of the airport and outside the first radius of the airport. If a UAV is located within the second flight-restricted proximity zone, a second flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 5 miles of the airport and outside 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may prompt an operator of the UAV to land within a predetermined time period (e.g., 1 hour, 30 minutes, 14 minutes, 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 3 minutes, 2 minutes, 1 minute, 45 seconds, 30 seconds, 15 seconds, 10 seconds, or five seconds). If the UAV is not landed within the predetermined time period, the UAV may automatically land.”,
Supplemental Note: the system is able to determine the position of the UAV and which of the boundaries it is within)
one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to select the first landing site based on a distance of the first landing site relative to the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle. (Yu: Paragraph 0112: “In one example, the flight-restricted region 210 may be an airport. Any description herein of an airport may apply to any other type of flight-restricted region, or vice versa. A first flight-restricted proximity zone 220A may be provided, with the airport therein. In one example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a first radius of the airport. For example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 4.5 miles of the airport. The first flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape, including anything within the first radius of the airport. The flight-restricted proximity zone may have any shape. If a UAV is located within the first flight-restricted proximity zone, a first flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may automatically land. The UAV may automatically land without any input from an operator of the UAV, or may incorporate input from the operator of the UAV. The UAV may automatically start decreasing in altitude. The UAV may decrease in altitude at a predetermined rate, or may incorporate location data in determining the rate at which to land. The UAV may find a desirable spot to land, or may immediately land at any location. The UAV may or may not take input from an operator of the UAV into account when finding a location to land. The first flight response measure may be a software measure to prevent users from being able to fly near an airport. An immediate landing sequence may be automatically initiated when the UAV is in the first flight-restricted proximity zone.”)
Regarding claim 36, Yu teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle comprising: a sensor to output signals representing position data for the unmanned aerial vehicle (Yu: Paragraph 0175: “The UAV may also include a locator 340. The locator may be used to determine a location of the UAV. The location may include a latitude, longitude, and/or altitude of the aerial vehicle.”)
during movement of the unmanned aerial vehicle along a travel path, the travel path defined by a travel profile for the unmanned aerial vehicle; (Yu: Paragraph 0159: “A user may set up waypoints for flight of a UAV. A UAV may be able to fly to a waypoint. The waypoints may have predefined location (e.g., coordinates). Waypoints may be a way for UAVs to navigate from one location to another or follow a path. In some instances, users may enter waypoints using a software. For example, a user may enter coordinates for way points and/or use a graphical user interface, such as a map, to designate waypoints. In some embodiments, waypoints may not be set up in flight-restricted regions, such as airports. Waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance threshold of a flight-restricted region. For example, waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance of an airport. The predetermined distance may be any distance value described elsewhere herein, such as 5 miles (or 8 km).”)
machine-readable instructions; and at least one processor circuit to execute the machine-readable instructions to: (Yu: Paragraph 0171: “Operation of one or more actuator 350 of the UAV 300 may be controlled by a flight controller 320. The flight controller may include one or more processors and/or memory units. The memory units may include non-transitory computer readable media, which may comprise code, logic, or instructions for performing one or more steps. The processors may be capable of performing one or more steps described herein. The processors may provide the steps in accordance with the non-transitory computer readable media. The processors may perform location-based calculations and/or utilize algorithms to generate a flight command for the UAV.”)
perform, based on the position data, a comparison of a first position of the unmanned aerial vehicle at a first time relative to an expected position of the unmanned aerial vehicle along the travel path at the first time; (Yu: Paragraph 0159: “A user may set up waypoints for flight of a UAV. A UAV may be able to fly to a waypoint. The waypoints may have predefined location (e.g., coordinates). Waypoints may be a way for UAVs to navigate from one location to another or follow a path. In some instances, users may enter waypoints using a software. For example, a user may enter coordinates for way points and/or use a graphical user interface, such as a map, to designate waypoints. In some embodiments, waypoints may not be set up in flight-restricted regions, such as airports. Waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance threshold of a flight-restricted region. For example, waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance of an airport. The predetermined distance may be any distance value described elsewhere herein, such as 5 miles (or 8 km).”; Paragraph 0160: “A waypoint may or may not be permitted outside a flight-restricted proximity zone. In some instances, a waypoint may be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. Alternatively, a waypoint may not be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. In some instances, a map showing information about waypoints and waypoint safety rules may be provided.”; Paragraph 0189: “In one example, the relative location and/or distance between the UAV and the flight-restricted region may be calculated at specified time intervals. For example, the calculations may occur every hour, every half hour, every 15 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 2 minutes, every minute, every 45 seconds, every 30 seconds, every 15 seconds, every 12 seconds, every 10 seconds, every 7 seconds, every 5 seconds, every 3 seconds, every second, every 0.5 seconds, or every 0.1 second. The calculations may be made between the UAV and one or more flight-restricted regions (e.g., airports).”,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Fig. 2, the flight path maybe set to be encompassed within the flight-restricted region of a 4.5 mile or the 5 mile radius shown by 220A and 220B. These waypoints are able to be within a flight-restricted region and identified at what times they reach those waypoints with the ability to calculate the UAV’s position at the specified time intervals)
determine, based on the comparison, that the unmanned aerial vehicle has reached one of a first boundary or a second boundary, (Yu: Claim 1: “a plurality of flight restriction zones along the boundary, wherein each flight restriction zone of the plurality of flight restriction zones (1) includes at least one of the plurality of points along the boundary, and (2) overlaps at least one other flight restriction zone of said plurality of flight restriction zones.”; Paragraph 0075: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.”,
Supplemental Note: these flight-restricted regions are interpreted as the boundaries. Per the ability of the system to identify the UAV’s position, it can also identify when the UAV is within these regions)
the first boundary defined relative to the expected position of the unmanned aerial vehicle at the first time, (Yu: Paragraph 0159: “A user may set up waypoints for flight of a UAV. A UAV may be able to fly to a waypoint. The waypoints may have predefined location (e.g., coordinates). Waypoints may be a way for UAVs to navigate from one location to another or follow a path. In some instances, users may enter waypoints using a software. For example, a user may enter coordinates for way points and/or use a graphical user interface, such as a map, to designate waypoints. In some embodiments, waypoints may not be set up in flight-restricted regions, such as airports. Waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance threshold of a flight-restricted region. For example, waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance of an airport. The predetermined distance may be any distance value described elsewhere herein, such as 5 miles (or 8 km).”; Paragraph 0160: “A waypoint may or may not be permitted outside a flight-restricted proximity zone. In some instances, a waypoint may be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. Alternatively, a waypoint may not be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. In some instances, a map showing information about waypoints and waypoint safety rules may be provided.”
the second boundary including the first boundary; (Yu: Paragraph 0075: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.”; Paragraph 0111: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones 220A, 220B, 220C, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. A flight-restricted region 210 may be provided. The location of the flight-restricted region may be represented by a set of coordinates (i.e., a point), area, or space. One or more flight-restricted proximity zones may be provided around the flight-restricted region.”,
Supplemental Note: in this example, the second boundary can be the 5.5 or 5 mile radius flight-restricted region (220C or 220B) as they both encompass an additional region. Since the art teaches three boundaries in this example, they can be used interchangeably to teach the claimed first boundary encompassed within a second boundary)
responsive to the determination that unmanned aerial vehicle has reached the first boundary, cause the unmanned aerial vehicle to land at a first landing site, the first landing site defined by the travel profile; and (Yu: Paragraph 0006: “In some embodiments, each flight restriction zone of the plurality of flight restriction zones is associated with instructions for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) within or near the flight restriction zone to take one or more flight response measures. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include preventing the UAV from entering the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to fly beneath a predetermined altitude or set of altitudes while within the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include sending an alert to a UAV operator. In some embodiments, the alert informs the UAV operator about a predetermined period of time to land the UAV. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land after the predetermined period of time. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land within a predetermined period of time.”; Paragraph 0112: “In one example, the flight-restricted region 210 may be an airport. Any description herein of an airport may apply to any other type of flight-restricted region, or vice versa. A first flight-restricted proximity zone 220A may be provided, with the airport therein. In one example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a first radius of the airport. For example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 4.5 miles of the airport. The first flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape, including anything within the first radius of the airport. The flight-restricted proximity zone may have any shape. If a UAV is located within the first flight-restricted proximity zone, a first flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may automatically land. The UAV may automatically land without any input from an operator of the UAV, or may incorporate input from the operator of the UAV. The UAV may automatically start decreasing in altitude. The UAV may decrease in altitude at a predetermined rate, or may incorporate location data in determining the rate at which to land. The UAV may find a desirable spot to land, or may immediately land at any location. The UAV may or may not take input from an operator of the UAV into account when finding a location to land. The first flight response measure may be a software measure to prevent users from being able to fly near an airport. An immediate landing sequence may be automatically initiated when the UAV is in the first flight-restricted proximity zone.”,
Supplemental Note: when the UAV enters these various flight-restricted regions, the UAV is caused to land within a predetermined time)
responsive to the determination that the unmanned aerial vehicle has reached the second boundary, cause the unmanned aerial vehicle to select a second landing site for landing. (Yu: Paragraph 0113: “A second flight-restricted proximity zone 220B may be provided around an airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a second radius of the airport. The second radius may be greater than the first radius. For example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport. In another example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport and also outside the first radius (e.g., 4.5 miles) of the airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape including anything within the second radius of the airport, or a substantially ring shape including anything within the second radius of the airport and outside the first radius of the airport. If a UAV is located within the second flight-restricted proximity zone, a second flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 5 miles of the airport and outside 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may prompt an operator of the UAV to land within a predetermined time period (e.g., 1 hour, 30 minutes, 14 minutes, 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 3 minutes, 2 minutes, 1 minute, 45 seconds, 30 seconds, 15 seconds, 10 seconds, or five seconds). If the UAV is not landed within the predetermined time period, the UAV may automatically land.”)
In sum, Yu teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle comprising: a sensor to output signals representing position data for the unmanned aerial vehicle during movement of the unmanned aerial vehicle along a travel path, the travel path defined by a travel profile for the unmanned aerial vehicle; machine-readable instructions; and at least one processor circuit to execute the machine-readable instructions to: perform, based on the position data, a comparison of a first position of the unmanned aerial vehicle at a first time relative to an expected position of the unmanned aerial vehicle along the travel path at the first time; determine, based on the comparison, that the unmanned aerial vehicle has reached one of a first boundary or a second boundary, the first boundary defined relative to the expected position of the unmanned aerial vehicle at the first time. Yu however does not teach the first boundary to move to encompass different portions of travel path at different times during the movement of the unmanned aerial vehicle along the travel path whereas Baruch does.
Baruch teaches the first boundary to move to encompass different portions of the travel path at different times during the movement of the unmanned aerial vehicle along the travel path (Baruch: Paragraphs 0038 – 0039: “A UAV may be configured to track and follow a user, in what is known as a “follow-me” mode. For example, a UAV may be configured to follow behind or ahead of (or above) a user and track the user, for example, by photographing or taking video of the user (e.g., fly ahead or behind a user skiing while recording video of the user). Various embodiments include a UAV configured to fly ahead of the user monitoring the area ahead of and around the user rather than or in addition to photographing the user. The UAV may be configured to monitor areas surrounding and/or ahead of the user for potential dangers and warn the user of those dangers. Such UAVs may have applications in pedestrian/cyclist safety and other situations, such as a navigation guide for the elderly, or as a navigation aide to customers in large commercial or public areas such as amusement parks, parking lots, and shopping areas.”; Paragraph 0044: “The UAV 100 may be configured to enable the user 202 to manually configure the monitoring position of the UAV 100, for example by using a wireless communication device or UAV controller. For example, the user 202 may specify that the UAV 100 should remain far ahead when the user 202 is riding a bike, and may specify that the UAV 100 should remain close when the user is walking alone in the dark. The UAV 100 may periodically recalculate the monitoring position to account for changes in the user's speed or direction.”; Paragraph 0059: “In block 304, the processor(s) may monitor an area surrounding the user for objects. The processor may first estimate a travel path for the user based on the user's position, velocity, travel path history, and/or navigation information inputted by the user. The processor may utilize sensors, cameras, image processing, pattern recognitions, tracking algorithms, device-to-device and/or cellular communication, GPS, navigation systems, and other hardware and/or software components to detect moving or stationary objects (e.g., other people, animals, vehicles, buildings, trees and plants, curbs, intersections, and other stationary or moving objects) in a determined area around the estimated travel path of the user. The determined area may depend on the position and velocity of the user, or may be manually specified by the user. The determined area may also include a specified radius around the user, and/or an area surrounding the prior travel path of the user in order to scan for dangers approaching from the sides or from behind the user. For example, the determined area to scan for objects may be between 0-2 kilometers from all points of the estimated travel path and the prior travel path, as well as a radius 1 km radius from the current location of the user. The processor may estimate the travel path for each detected object and then determine whether the estimated travel path for any object will intersect with the estimated travel path of the user. Monitoring an area surrounding the user for objects is described in more detail with reference to method 500 (FIG. 5).”,
Supplemental Note: the UAV is programed to follow the travel path of a user while maintaining a boundary around the user, thus interpreted as a first boundary that moves along the travel path of the UAV. The first portion of the travel path includes the location of the user for the UAV to follow)
the first boundary to move along the travel path at a first speed based on the expected position of the unmanned aerial vehicle over time (Baruch: Paragraph 0041: “The attributes may include one or more of the current position of the user 202, the current velocity (i.e., speed and direction) of the user 202, the height of the user 202, the size of the user 202 (or size of user along with addition people accompanying the user 202). These attributes may help determine the monitoring position of the UAV 100 relative to the user 202. For example, the velocity of the user 202 may be used to determine the velocity of the UAV 100 in order to maintain a stationary position relative to the user 202.”; Paragraph 0044: “The UAV 100 may be configured to enable the user 202 to manually configure the monitoring position of the UAV 100, for example by using a wireless communication device or UAV controller. For example, the user 202 may specify that the UAV 100 should remain far ahead when the user 202 is riding a bike, and may specify that the UAV 100 should remain close when the user is walking alone in the dark. The UAV 100 may periodically recalculate the monitoring position to account for changes in the user's speed or direction.”; Paragraph 0059: “In block 304, the processor(s) may monitor an area surrounding the user for objects. The processor may first estimate a travel path for the user based on the user's position, velocity, travel path history, and/or navigation information inputted by the user. The processor may utilize sensors, cameras, image processing, pattern recognitions, tracking algorithms, device-to-device and/or cellular communication, GPS, navigation systems, and other hardware and/or software components to detect moving or stationary objects (e.g., other people, animals, vehicles, buildings, trees and plants, curbs, intersections, and other stationary or moving objects) in a determined area around the estimated travel path of the user. The determined area may depend on the position and velocity of the user, or may be manually specified by the user. The determined area may also include a specified radius around the user, and/or an area surrounding the prior travel path of the user in order to scan for dangers approaching from the sides or from behind the user. For example, the determined area to scan for objects may be between 0-2 kilometers from all points of the estimated travel path and the prior travel path, as well as a radius 1 km radius from the current location of the user. The processor may estimate the travel path for each detected object and then determine whether the estimated travel path for any object will intersect with the estimated travel path of the user. Monitoring an area surrounding the user for objects is described in more detail with reference to method 500 (FIG. 5).”,
Supplemental Note: the speed of the user is used to determine the speed of the UAV, thus the position of the user is used to determine the position of the UAV)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yu with the teachings of Baruch with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 23 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 38, Yu, as modified, teaches wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to determine that the unmanned aerial vehicle has reached the first boundary (Yu: Paragraph 0113: “A second flight-restricted proximity zone 220B may be provided around an airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a second radius of the airport. The second radius may be greater than the first radius. For example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport. In another example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport and also outside the first radius (e.g., 4.5 miles) of the airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape including anything within the second radius of the airport, or a substantially ring shape including anything within the second radius of the airport and outside the first radius of the airport. If a UAV is located within the second flight-restricted proximity zone, a second flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 5 miles of the airport and outside 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may prompt an operator of the UAV to land within a predetermined time period (e.g., 1 hour, 30 minutes, 14 minutes, 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 3 minutes, 2 minutes, 1 minute, 45 seconds, 30 seconds, 15 seconds, 10 seconds, or five seconds). If the UAV is not landed within the predetermined time period, the UAV may automatically land.”,
Supplemental Note: the system is able to determine the position of the UAV and which of the flight-restricted region it is within)
when an amount of time for the unmanned aerial vehicle to reach the expected position exceeds a threshold amount of time. (Yu: Paragraph 0006: “In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include preventing the UAV from entering the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to fly beneath a predetermined altitude or set of altitudes while within the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include sending an alert to a UAV operator. In some embodiments, the alert informs the UAV operator about a predetermined period of time to land the UAV. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land after the predetermined period of time. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land within a predetermined period of time.”,
Supplemental Note: the system is able to determine the UAV to reach a way point within a predetermined period of time. In this example is the UAV is within the flight-restricted region, the UAV operator has a predetermined time to reach the expected position of outside the region)
Regarding claim 40, Yu, as modified, teaches wherein the second landing site is not defined by the travel profile. (Yu: Paragraph 0113: “A second flight-restricted proximity zone 220B may be provided around an airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a second radius of the airport. The second radius may be greater than the first radius. For example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport. In another example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport and also outside the first radius (e.g., 4.5 miles) of the airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape including anything within the second radius of the airport, or a substantially ring shape including anything within the second radius of the airport and outside the first radius of the airport. If a UAV is located within the second flight-restricted proximity zone, a second flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 5 miles of the airport and outside 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may prompt an operator of the UAV to land within a predetermined time period (e.g., 1 hour, 30 minutes, 14 minutes, 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 3 minutes, 2 minutes, 1 minute, 45 seconds, 30 seconds, 15 seconds, 10 seconds, or five seconds). If the UAV is not landed within the predetermined time period, the UAV may automatically land.”,
Supplemental Note: the UAV is able to land automatically not on a waypoint when in a second landing site)
Regarding claim 41, Yu, as modified, teaches wherein the first boundary and the second boundary each define a three-dimensional region relative to the travel path. (Yu: Paragraph 0097: “The flight restricted regions may be defined by straight or curved lines. In some instances, the flight-restricted region may include a space. The space may be a three-dimensional space that includes latitude, longitude, and/or altitude coordinates. The three-dimensional space may include length, width, and/or height.”; Paragraph 0111: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones 220A, 220B, 220C, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. A flight-restricted region 210 may be provided. The location of the flight-restricted region may be represented by a set of coordinates (i.e., a point), area, or space. One or more flight-restricted proximity zones may be provided around the flight-restricted region.”)
Regarding claim 42, Yu, as modified, teaches wherein responsive to the determination that the unmanned aerial vehicle has reached the second boundary, one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to cause a message to be output for transmission to a ground control station, the message indicative of the second landing site. (Yu: Paragraph 0006: “In some embodiments, each flight restriction zone of the plurality of flight restriction zones is associated with instructions for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) within or near the flight restriction zone to take one or more flight response measures. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include preventing the UAV from entering the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to fly beneath a predetermined altitude or set of altitudes while within the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include sending an alert to a UAV operator. In some embodiments, the alert informs the UAV operator about a predetermined period of time to land the UAV. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land after the predetermined period of time. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land within a predetermined period of time.”; Paragraph 0112: “In one example, the flight-restricted region 210 may be an airport. Any description herein of an airport may apply to any other type of flight-restricted region, or vice versa. A first flight-restricted proximity zone 220A may be provided, with the airport therein. In one example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a first radius of the airport. For example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 4.5 miles of the airport. The first flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape, including anything within the first radius of the airport. The flight-restricted proximity zone may have any shape. If a UAV is located within the first flight-restricted proximity zone, a first flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may automatically land. The UAV may automatically land without any input from an operator of the UAV, or may incorporate input from the operator of the UAV. The UAV may automatically start decreasing in altitude. The UAV may decrease in altitude at a predetermined rate, or may incorporate location data in determining the rate at which to land. The UAV may find a desirable spot to land, or may immediately land at any location. The UAV may or may not take input from an operator of the UAV into account when finding a location to land. The first flight response measure may be a software measure to prevent users from being able to fly near an airport. An immediate landing sequence may be automatically initiated when the UAV is in the first flight-restricted proximity zone.”,
Supplemental Note: when the UAV enters these various flight-restricted regions, the UAV alerts the operator to land within a predetermined time before it automatically lands at its current location)
Regarding claim 45, Yu, as modified, teaches wherein the second boundary encompasses an entirety of the travel path. (Yu: Paragraph 0075: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.”; Paragraph 0111: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones 220A, 220B, 220C, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. A flight-restricted region 210 may be provided. The location of the flight-restricted region may be represented by a set of coordinates (i.e., a point), area, or space. One or more flight-restricted proximity zones may be provided around the flight-restricted region.”,: Paragraph 0216: “For example, a UAV may be flying near several airports or other types of flight-restricted regions.”,
Supplemental Note: the UAV can be flying near the airport within the flight-restricted regions including the claimed second boundary)
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20150339931 A1) and Baruch et al. (US 20180029706 A1) as applied to independent claim 23 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 20190317530 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Yu teaches wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to determine that the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle intersects the first boundary (Yu: Paragraph 0113: “A second flight-restricted proximity zone 220B may be provided around an airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a second radius of the airport. The second radius may be greater than the first radius. For example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport. In another example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport and also outside the first radius (e.g., 4.5 miles) of the airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape including anything within the second radius of the airport, or a substantially ring shape including anything within the second radius of the airport and outside the first radius of the airport. If a UAV is located within the second flight-restricted proximity zone, a second flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 5 miles of the airport and outside 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may prompt an operator of the UAV to land within a predetermined time period (e.g., 1 hour, 30 minutes, 14 minutes, 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 3 minutes, 2 minutes, 1 minute, 45 seconds, 30 seconds, 15 seconds, 10 seconds, or five seconds). If the UAV is not landed within the predetermined time period, the UAV may automatically land.”,
Supplemental Note: the system is able to determine the position of the UAV and which of the flight-restricted regions it is within)
In sum, Yu teaches wherein the processor circuitry is to determine that the position of the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle intersects the first boundary. Yu however does not teach when the unmanned aerial vehicle is a threshold distance from the travel path whereas Yang does.
Yang teaches when the unmanned aerial vehicle is a threshold distance from the travel path. (Yang: Abstract: “A method for controlling flight of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) includes obtaining information about a location of an object of interest, and calculating, during operation of the UAV, a flight-restricted distance for the UAV to maintain relative to the object of interest. The flight-restricted distance is calculated based on a safety factor and the safety factor is determined based on an object classification. The method further includes controlling flight of the UAV to maintain the flight-restricted distance relative to the object of interest.”,
Supplemental Note: the travel path in this example is the object of interest in which the UAV has to stay within a flight-restricted distance within)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yu with the teachings of Yang with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Yu and Yang teach a UAV which is able to travel within a travel path, Yu teaching the ability of the UAV to be traveling between waypoints and Yang teaching the ability of the UAV to be traveling a predetermined flight-restricted distance from a specified object. One with ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement the flight-restricted distance of Yang with the UAV system of Yu to prevent the UAV from flying off the flight path laid out by the waypoints. For example, many external conditions such as wind, flying objects, rain, etc. can alter the direction of the UAV from its designated path. A predetermined distance from the flight path allows the UAV to identify when to course correct when dealing with these external conditions. Furthermore, Yu teaches the ability of being able to identify when the location of the UAV has entered a flight-restricted proximity zone, to one with knowledge in the art, the ability to have a flight-restricted distance from the flight path is a use of a known technique to improve the similar devices in the same way as these methods both rely on evaluating the position of a UAV from a predetermined location (i.e. geofence, obstacle, flight-restricted zone).
Claims 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20150339931 A1) and Baruch et al. (US 20180029706 A1) as applied to independent claim 23 above, and further in view of Johnson et al. (US 20160307447 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Yu, as modified, teaches wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to determine that the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle intersects the first boundary (Yu: Paragraph 0113: “A second flight-restricted proximity zone 220B may be provided around an airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a second radius of the airport. The second radius may be greater than the first radius. For example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport. In another example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport and also outside the first radius (e.g., 4.5 miles) of the airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape including anything within the second radius of the airport, or a substantially ring shape including anything within the second radius of the airport and outside the first radius of the airport. If a UAV is located within the second flight-restricted proximity zone, a second flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 5 miles of the airport and outside 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may prompt an operator of the UAV to land within a predetermined time period (e.g., 1 hour, 30 minutes, 14 minutes, 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 3 minutes, 2 minutes, 1 minute, 45 seconds, 30 seconds, 15 seconds, 10 seconds, or five seconds). If the UAV is not landed within the predetermined time period, the UAV may automatically land.”,
Supplemental Note: the system is able to determine the position of the UAV and which of the flight-restricted regions it is within)
In sum, Yu teaches wherein the processor circuitry is to determine that the position of the unmanned aerial vehicle intersects the first boundary. Yu however does not teach the first portion of the travel path includes a first position and wherein when the first boundary encompasses the first portion of the travel path whereas Baruch does.
Baruch teaches the first portion of the travel path includes a first position and wherein when the first boundary encompasses the first portion of the travel path, (Baruch: Paragraphs 0038 – 0039: “A UAV may be configured to track and follow a user, in what is known as a “follow-me” mode. For example, a UAV may be configured to follow behind or ahead of (or above) a user and track the user, for example, by photographing or taking video of the user (e.g., fly ahead or behind a user skiing while recording video of the user). Various embodiments include a UAV configured to fly ahead of the user monitoring the area ahead of and around the user rather than or in addition to photographing the user. The UAV may be configured to monitor areas surrounding and/or ahead of the user for potential dangers and warn the user of those dangers. Such UAVs may have applications in pedestrian/cyclist safety and other situations, such as a navigation guide for the elderly, or as a navigation aide to customers in large commercial or public areas such as amusement parks, parking lots, and shopping areas.”; Paragraph 0059: “In block 304, the processor(s) may monitor an area surrounding the user for objects. The processor may first estimate a travel path for the user based on the user's position, velocity, travel path history, and/or navigation information inputted by the user. The processor may utilize sensors, cameras, image processing, pattern recognitions, tracking algorithms, device-to-device and/or cellular communication, GPS, navigation systems, and other hardware and/or software components to detect moving or stationary objects (e.g., other people, animals, vehicles, buildings, trees and plants, curbs, intersections, and other stationary or moving objects) in a determined area around the estimated travel path of the user. The determined area may depend on the position and velocity of the user, or may be manually specified by the user. The determined area may also include a specified radius around the user, and/or an area surrounding the prior travel path of the user in order to scan for dangers approaching from the sides or from behind the user. For example, the determined area to scan for objects may be between 0-2 kilometers from all points of the estimated travel path and the prior travel path, as well as a radius 1 km radius from the current location of the user. The processor may estimate the travel path for each detected object and then determine whether the estimated travel path for any object will intersect with the estimated travel path of the user. Monitoring an area surrounding the user for objects is described in more detail with reference to method 500 (FIG. 5).”,
Supplemental Note: the UAV is programed to follow the travel path of a user while maintaining a boundary around the user, thus interpreted as a first boundary that moves along the travel path of the UAV. The first portion of the travel path includes the location of the user for the UAV to follow)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yu with the teachings of Baruch with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 23 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Yu in view of Baruch however still does not teach when a time at which the unmanned aerial vehicle is located at a first position along the travel path differs from an expected time at which the unmanned aerial vehicle is to be at the first position whereas Johnson does.
Johnson teaches when a time at which the unmanned aerial vehicle is located at the first position differs from an expected time at which the unmanned aerial vehicle is to be at the first position. (Johnson: Paragraph 0053: “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the imagery 202 includes a highlighted area that defines a geofence boundary to be enforced by a UAV when implementing a flight plan. Different types of geofences may be used by the UAV during flight operations. A geofence is a two-dimensional or three-dimension location-based boundary, and can be understood as a virtual perimeter for a geographic location. A geofence boundary can be represented on a map as polygonal shapes, for example a circle, rectangle, sphere, cylinder, or other shape. A geofence may also be time-based (four-dimensional) where the geofence exists for a particular duration, for example, a number of hours or days, or for a specific time period,”; Paragraph 0055: “Optionally, the user interface 200 can be utilized by a user to indicate waypoints to be traveled to during the flight plan. For instance, the user can select portions of the imagery 202 to designate as waypoints, and the user interface 200 can be updated to present selectable options associated with each waypoint. As an example, the user can designate an order that each waypoint is to be traveled to, actions the UAV is to take at the waypoint, a transition speed between each or all waypoints, and so on. The system can determine the flight boundary geofence from the waypoints, such that the geofence perimeter encompasses the waypoints. The determined flight boundary geofence can be presented to the user for review, and the user can modify the boundary by interacting with the user interface 200.”; Paragraph 0076: “The system can optionally receive waypoint transition speeds indicating a speed at which a UAV is to travel between waypoints. Alternatively, the waypoint transition speed may be a default value (e.g., the default value can be determined at flight time based off capabilities of a UAV), such as 1.5 meters per second, or a variable speed based on the distance of one waypoint to the next waypoint. For example, the waypoint transition speed, may be set to a higher speed for waypoints that are farther apart, and a lower speed for waypoint that are closer apart. Also, the waypoint transition speeds can be set as function of the useful battery life, or flight time of the UAV.”,
Supplemental Note: the system is able to recognize the transition speed of the UAV between the waypoints. This in combination with the geofence, interpreted as the first boundary, is able to be time based, is able to determine the position of the UAV at a certain time)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yu with the teachings of Johnson with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Yu and Johnson teach a system of controlling a UAV along a travel path while being able to identify multidimensional boundaries. One with knowledge in the art would find both of these systems to be a simple substitution of one another due to these similarities. Johnson further teaches the ability of the UAV to calculate a flight time of the UAV which takes into consideration the distance between waypoints of a flight path, the time it takes to travel between the waypoints and create a corresponding geofence that can be time based. One with knowledge in the art would find this teaching to be obvious to try to combine with the UAV system of Yu as it improves the efficiency of the UAV traveling along a flight path. For example, if a flight distance is set based on the UAV’s battery capacity, the ability to detect if the UAV has reached the first position at the planned time can be used to determine if the UAV is traveling at the correct speed and if it has enough remaining energy to complete the rest of the flight path. This improves the efficiency of the UAV as the time it takes to actually reach the waypoints can be compared with the predetermined planned times and make adjustments as needed for the UAV to complete the task.
Regarding claim 27, Yu, as modified, does not teach wherein one or more of a size or a shape of the first boundary when the first boundary encompasses the first portion of the travel path is different than the one or more of the size or the shape of the first boundary when the first boundary encompasses the second portion of the travel path whereas Johnson does.
Johnson teaches wherein one or more of a size or a shape of the first boundary when the first boundary encompasses the first portion of the travel path is different than the one or more of the size or the shape of the first boundary when the first boundary encompasses the second portion of the travel path. (Johnson: Paragraph 0055: “Optionally, the user interface 200 can be utilized by a user to indicate waypoints to be traveled to during the flight plan. For instance, the user can select portions of the imagery 202 to designate as waypoints, and the user interface 200 can be updated to present selectable options associated with each waypoint. As an example, the user can designate an order that each waypoint is to be traveled to, actions the UAV is to take at the waypoint, a transition speed between each or all waypoints, and so on. The system can determine the flight boundary geofence from the waypoints, such that the geofence perimeter encompasses the waypoints. The determined flight boundary geofence can be presented to the user for review, and the user can modify the boundary by interacting with the user interface 200.”,
Supplemental Note: the different waypoints are interpreted as the various routes in which the geofence, interpreted as the first boundary, is able to be encompass the waypoints)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yu with the teachings of Johnson with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Yu and Johnson teach a system of controlling a UAV along a travel path while being able to identify multidimensional boundaries. One with knowledge in the art would find both of these systems to be a simple substitution of one another due to these similarities. Johnson further teaches the ability to create a geofence around the waypoints that the UAV is to fly on. This would be obvious to try to combine with the UAV system of Yu as it prevents the UAV from deterring from the flight path as it will be outside of the geofence. Yu already teaches the ability of a UAV operator to control the UAV if it is in a flight-restricted region, the addition of a geofence around its flight path can function in the same manner. When the UAV is outside of the geofence, the UAV operator can control the UAV to bring it back to the flight path, therefore increasing the efficiency of the UAV system to stay within its geofence and not waste additional power to course correct if it sways from the path. Furthermore, this prevents the UAV from colliding with obstacles or going into private areas. For example, if the flight path is in a construction site, the geofence can be set to be a predetermined distance wide in each direction so it does not collide with any obstacles outside of it.
Claims 30 – 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20150339931 A1), further in view of Baruch et al. (US 20180029706 A1) and Johnson et al. (US 20160307447 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Yu teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising machine-readable instructions to cause at least one processor circuit to at least: (Yu: Paragraph 0171: “Operation of one or more actuator 350 of the UAV 300 may be controlled by a flight controller 320. The flight controller may include one or more processors and/or memory units. The memory units may include non-transitory computer readable media, which may comprise code, logic, or instructions for performing one or more steps. The processors may be capable of performing one or more steps described herein. The processors may provide the steps in accordance with the non-transitory computer readable media. The processors may perform location-based calculations and/or utilize algorithms to generate a flight command for the UAV.”)
… the first boundary encompassing a first portion of the travel path at a first time; (Yu: Claim 1: “a plurality of flight restriction zones along the boundary, wherein each flight restriction zone of the plurality of flight restriction zones (1) includes at least one of the plurality of points along the boundary, and (2) overlaps at least one other flight restriction zone of said plurality of flight restriction zones.”; Paragraph 0075: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.”; Paragraph 0159: “A user may set up waypoints for flight of a UAV. A UAV may be able to fly to a waypoint. The waypoints may have predefined location (e.g., coordinates). Waypoints may be a way for UAVs to navigate from one location to another or follow a path. In some instances, users may enter waypoints using a software. For example, a user may enter coordinates for way points and/or use a graphical user interface, such as a map, to designate waypoints. In some embodiments, waypoints may not be set up in flight-restricted regions, such as airports. Waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance threshold of a flight-restricted region. For example, waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance of an airport. The predetermined distance may be any distance value described elsewhere herein, such as 5 miles (or 8 km).”)
determine a position of the aircraft relative to the first boundary when the aircraft is traveling along the first portion of the travel path; when the position of the aircraft is within the first boundary, (a) cause the aircraft to travel along the travel path to a second portion of the travel path and (Yu: Paragraph 0159: “A user may set up waypoints for flight of a UAV. A UAV may be able to fly to a waypoint. The waypoints may have predefined location (e.g., coordinates). Waypoints may be a way for UAVs to navigate from one location to another or follow a path. In some instances, users may enter waypoints using a software. For example, a user may enter coordinates for way points and/or use a graphical user interface, such as a map, to designate waypoints. In some embodiments, waypoints may not be set up in flight-restricted regions, such as airports. Waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance threshold of a flight-restricted region. For example, waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance of an airport. The predetermined distance may be any distance value described elsewhere herein, such as 5 miles (or 8 km).”; Paragraph 0160: “A waypoint may or may not be permitted outside a flight-restricted proximity zone. In some instances, a waypoint may be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. Alternatively, a waypoint may not be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. In some instances, a map showing information about waypoints and waypoint safety rules may be provided.”,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Fig. 2, the flight path maybe set to be encompassed within the flight-restricted region with a 4.5 mile or the 5 mile radius shown by 220A and 220B. These waypoints are able to be within a flight-restricted region)
at least a portion of the second portion of the travel path encompassed by the first boundary at the second time different than the first portion of the travel path encompassed by the first boundary at the first time, (Yu: Paragraph 0111: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones 220A, 220B, 220C, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. A flight-restricted region 210 may be provided. The location of the flight-restricted region may be represented by a set of coordinates (i.e., a point), area, or space. One or more flight-restricted proximity zones may be provided around the flight-restricted region.”; Paragraph 0115: “A third flight-restricted proximity zone 220C may be provided around an airport. The third flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a third radius of the airport. The third radius may be greater than the first radius and/or second radius. For example, the third flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5.5 miles of the airport. In another example, the third flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5.5 miles of the airport and also outside the second radius (e.g., 5 miles) of the airport. The third flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape including anything within the third radius of the airport, or a substantially ring shape including anything within the third radius of the airport and outside the second radius of the airport. If a UAV is located within the third flight-restricted proximity zone, a third flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 5.5 miles of the airport and outside 5 miles of the airport, the UAV may send an alert to an operator of the UAV. Alternatively, if the UAV is anywhere within 5.5 miles of the airport, an alert may be provided.”; Paragraph 0159: “A user may set up waypoints for flight of a UAV. A UAV may be able to fly to a waypoint. The waypoints may have predefined location (e.g., coordinates). Waypoints may be a way for UAVs to navigate from one location to another or follow a path. In some instances, users may enter waypoints using a software. For example, a user may enter coordinates for way points and/or use a graphical user interface, such as a map, to designate waypoints. In some embodiments, waypoints may not be set up in flight-restricted regions, such as airports. Waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance threshold of a flight-restricted region. For example, waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance of an airport. The predetermined distance may be any distance value described elsewhere herein, such as 5 miles (or 8 km).”; Paragraph 0160: “A waypoint may or may not be permitted outside a flight-restricted proximity zone. In some instances, a waypoint may be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. Alternatively, a waypoint may not be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. In some instances, a map showing information about waypoints and waypoint safety rules may be provided.”; Paragraph 0189: “In one example, the relative location and/or distance between the UAV and the flight-restricted region may be calculated at specified time intervals. For example, the calculations may occur every hour, every half hour, every 15 minutes, every 10 minutes, every 5 minutes, every 3 minutes, every 2 minutes, every minute, every 45 seconds, every 30 seconds, every 15 seconds, every 12 seconds, every 10 seconds, every 7 seconds, every 5 seconds, every 3 seconds, every second, every 0.5 seconds, or every 0.1 second. The calculations may be made between the UAV and one or more flight-restricted regions (e.g., airports).”,
Supplemental Note: the UAV is able to travel along waypoints which can be incorporated within one of the flight-restricted region proximity zones, interpreted as the boundaries. The UAV is able to travel within one of the boundaries thus a second set of waypoints (i.e. points B to C), different from the first set of waypoints (i.e. points A to B) the UAV is to travel to at a later time can still be within the first boundary)
when the position of the aircraft is at the first boundary, cause the aircraft to execute a landing procedure. (Yu: Paragraph 0006: “In some embodiments, each flight restriction zone of the plurality of flight restriction zones is associated with instructions for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) within or near the flight restriction zone to take one or more flight response measures. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include preventing the UAV from entering the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to fly beneath a predetermined altitude or set of altitudes while within the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include sending an alert to a UAV operator. In some embodiments, the alert informs the UAV operator about a predetermined period of time to land the UAV. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land after the predetermined period of time. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land within a predetermined period of time.”; Paragraph 0112: “In one example, the flight-restricted region 210 may be an airport. Any description herein of an airport may apply to any other type of flight-restricted region, or vice versa. A first flight-restricted proximity zone 220A may be provided, with the airport therein. In one example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a first radius of the airport. For example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 4.5 miles of the airport. The first flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape, including anything within the first radius of the airport. The flight-restricted proximity zone may have any shape. If a UAV is located within the first flight-restricted proximity zone, a first flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may automatically land. The UAV may automatically land without any input from an operator of the UAV, or may incorporate input from the operator of the UAV. The UAV may automatically start decreasing in altitude. The UAV may decrease in altitude at a predetermined rate, or may incorporate location data in determining the rate at which to land. The UAV may find a desirable spot to land, or may immediately land at any location. The UAV may or may not take input from an operator of the UAV into account when finding a location to land. The first flight response measure may be a software measure to prevent users from being able to fly near an airport. An immediate landing sequence may be automatically initiated when the UAV is in the first flight-restricted proximity zone.”,
Supplemental Note: when the UAV enters these various flight-restricted regions, the UAV is caused to land within a predetermined time)
In sum, Yu teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising machine-readable instructions to cause at least one processor circuit to at least; the first boundary encompassing a first portion of the travel path at a first time; determine a position of the aircraft relative to the first boundary when the aircraft is traveling along the first portion of the travel path; when the position of the aircraft is within the first boundary, (a) cause the aircraft to travel along the travel path to a second portion of the travel path and at least a portion of the second portion of the travel path encompassed by the first boundary at the second time different than the first portion of the travel path encompassed by the first boundary at the first time, when the position of the aircraft is at the first boundary, cause the aircraft to execute a landing procedure. Yu however does not teach a first boundary to move along a travel path of an aircraft, the first boundary to move along the travel path at a first speed, the first speed based on an expected speed of the aircraft; whereas Baruch does.
Baruch teaches cause a first boundary to move along a travel path of an aircraft, (Baruch: Paragraphs 0038 – 0039: “A UAV may be configured to track and follow a user, in what is known as a “follow-me” mode. For example, a UAV may be configured to follow behind or ahead of (or above) a user and track the user, for example, by photographing or taking video of the user (e.g., fly ahead or behind a user skiing while recording video of the user). Various embodiments include a UAV configured to fly ahead of the user monitoring the area ahead of and around the user rather than or in addition to photographing the user. The UAV may be configured to monitor areas surrounding and/or ahead of the user for potential dangers and warn the user of those dangers. Such UAVs may have applications in pedestrian/cyclist safety and other situations, such as a navigation guide for the elderly, or as a navigation aide to customers in large commercial or public areas such as amusement parks, parking lots, and shopping areas.”; Paragraph 0044: “The UAV 100 may be configured to enable the user 202 to manually configure the monitoring position of the UAV 100, for example by using a wireless communication device or UAV controller. For example, the user 202 may specify that the UAV 100 should remain far ahead when the user 202 is riding a bike, and may specify that the UAV 100 should remain close when the user is walking alone in the dark. The UAV 100 may periodically recalculate the monitoring position to account for changes in the user's speed or direction.”; Paragraph 0059: “In block 304, the processor(s) may monitor an area surrounding the user for objects. The processor may first estimate a travel path for the user based on the user's position, velocity, travel path history, and/or navigation information inputted by the user. The processor may utilize sensors, cameras, image processing, pattern recognitions, tracking algorithms, device-to-device and/or cellular communication, GPS, navigation systems, and other hardware and/or software components to detect moving or stationary objects (e.g., other people, animals, vehicles, buildings, trees and plants, curbs, intersections, and other stationary or moving objects) in a determined area around the estimated travel path of the user. The determined area may depend on the position and velocity of the user, or may be manually specified by the user. The determined area may also include a specified radius around the user, and/or an area surrounding the prior travel path of the user in order to scan for dangers approaching from the sides or from behind the user. For example, the determined area to scan for objects may be between 0-2 kilometers from all points of the estimated travel path and the prior travel path, as well as a radius 1 km radius from the current location of the user. The processor may estimate the travel path for each detected object and then determine whether the estimated travel path for any object will intersect with the estimated travel path of the user. Monitoring an area surrounding the user for objects is described in more detail with reference to method 500 (FIG. 5).”,
Supplemental Note: the UAV is programmed to follow the travel path of a user while maintaining a boundary around the user, thus interpreted as a first boundary that moves along the travel path of the UAV. The claimed first speed of the first boundary is as the specified radius or distance around the user, thus as the user is moving the boundary is also moving along with them which the UAV is to follow within)
…, the first boundary to move along the travel path at a first speed, (Baruch: Paragraphs 0038 – 0039: “A UAV may be configured to track and follow a user, in what is known as a “follow-me” mode. For example, a UAV may be configured to follow behind or ahead of (or above) a user and track the user, for example, by photographing or taking video of the user (e.g., fly ahead or behind a user skiing while recording video of the user). Various embodiments include a UAV configured to fly ahead of the user monitoring the area ahead of and around the user rather than or in addition to photographing the user. The UAV may be configured to monitor areas surrounding and/or ahead of the user for potential dangers and warn the user of those dangers. Such UAVs may have applications in pedestrian/cyclist safety and other situations, such as a navigation guide for the elderly, or as a navigation aide to customers in large commercial or public areas such as amusement parks, parking lots, and shopping areas.”; Paragraph 0044: “The UAV 100 may be configured to enable the user 202 to manually configure the monitoring position of the UAV 100, for example by using a wireless communication device or UAV controller. For example, the user 202 may specify that the UAV 100 should remain far ahead when the user 202 is riding a bike, and may specify that the UAV 100 should remain close when the user is walking alone in the dark. The UAV 100 may periodically recalculate the monitoring position to account for changes in the user's speed or direction.”; Paragraph 0059: “In block 304, the processor(s) may monitor an area surrounding the user for objects. The processor may first estimate a travel path for the user based on the user's position, velocity, travel path history, and/or navigation information inputted by the user. The processor may utilize sensors, cameras, image processing, pattern recognitions, tracking algorithms, device-to-device and/or cellular communication, GPS, navigation systems, and other hardware and/or software components to detect moving or stationary objects (e.g., other people, animals, vehicles, buildings, trees and plants, curbs, intersections, and other stationary or moving objects) in a determined area around the estimated travel path of the user. The determined area may depend on the position and velocity of the user, or may be manually specified by the user. The determined area may also include a specified radius around the user, and/or an area surrounding the prior travel path of the user in order to scan for dangers approaching from the sides or from behind the user. For example, the determined area to scan for objects may be between 0-2 kilometers from all points of the estimated travel path and the prior travel path, as well as a radius 1 km radius from the current location of the user. The processor may estimate the travel path for each detected object and then determine whether the estimated travel path for any object will intersect with the estimated travel path of the user. Monitoring an area surrounding the user for objects is described in more detail with reference to method 500 (FIG. 5).”,
Supplemental Note: the UAV is programmed to follow the travel path of a user while maintaining a boundary around the user, thus interpreted as a first boundary that moves along the travel path of the UAV. The claimed first speed of the first boundary is as the specified radius or distance around the user, thus as the user is moving the boundary is also moving along with them which the UAV is to follow within)
the first speed based on an expected speed of the aircraft; (Baruch: Paragraph 0041: “The attributes may include one or more of the current position of the user 202, the current velocity (i.e., speed and direction) of the user 202, the height of the user 202, the size of the user 202 (or size of user along with addition people accompanying the user 202). These attributes may help determine the monitoring position of the UAV 100 relative to the user 202. For example, the velocity of the user 202 may be used to determine the velocity of the UAV 100 in order to maintain a stationary position relative to the user 202.”,
Supplemental Note: the speed of the user is used to determine the speed of the UAV, thus interpreted as the expected speed of the UAV)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yu with the teachings of Baruch with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 23 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Yu in view of Baruch however still do not teach cause the first boundary to move along the travel path to encompass the second portion of the travel path at a second time whereas Johnson does.
Johnson teaches (b) cause the first boundary to move along the travel path to encompass the second portion of the travel path at a second time; and (Johnson: Paragraph 0055: “Optionally, the user interface 200 can be utilized by a user to indicate waypoints to be traveled to during the flight plan. For instance, the user can select portions of the imagery 202 to designate as waypoints, and the user interface 200 can be updated to present selectable options associated with each waypoint. As an example, the user can designate an order that each waypoint is to be traveled to, actions the UAV is to take at the waypoint, a transition speed between each or all waypoints, and so on. The system can determine the flight boundary geofence from the waypoints, such that the geofence perimeter encompasses the waypoints. The determined flight boundary geofence can be presented to the user for review, and the user can modify the boundary by interacting with the user interface 200.”,
Supplemental Note: the different waypoints are interpreted as the various routes in which the geofence, interpreted as the first boundary, is able to be encompass the waypoints. A transition speed may also be a factor the UAV is able to determine the time the UAV is to arrive at these waypoints)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yu with the teachings of Johnson with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 27 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 31, Yu, as modified, teaches wherein when the position of the aircraft is at the first boundary, the machine-readable instructions cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to cause the aircraft to land at a landing site associated with the travel path. (Yu: Paragraph 0006: “In some embodiments, each flight restriction zone of the plurality of flight restriction zones is associated with instructions for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) within or near the flight restriction zone to take one or more flight response measures. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include preventing the UAV from entering the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to fly beneath a predetermined altitude or set of altitudes while within the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include sending an alert to a UAV operator. In some embodiments, the alert informs the UAV operator about a predetermined period of time to land the UAV. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land after the predetermined period of time. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land within a predetermined period of time.”; Paragraph 0112: “In one example, the flight-restricted region 210 may be an airport. Any description herein of an airport may apply to any other type of flight-restricted region, or vice versa. A first flight-restricted proximity zone 220A may be provided, with the airport therein. In one example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a first radius of the airport. For example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 4.5 miles of the airport. The first flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape, including anything within the first radius of the airport. The flight-restricted proximity zone may have any shape. If a UAV is located within the first flight-restricted proximity zone, a first flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may automatically land. The UAV may automatically land without any input from an operator of the UAV, or may incorporate input from the operator of the UAV. The UAV may automatically start decreasing in altitude. The UAV may decrease in altitude at a predetermined rate, or may incorporate location data in determining the rate at which to land. The UAV may find a desirable spot to land, or may immediately land at any location. The UAV may or may not take input from an operator of the UAV into account when finding a location to land. The first flight response measure may be a software measure to prevent users from being able to fly near an airport. An immediate landing sequence may be automatically initiated when the UAV is in the first flight-restricted proximity zone.”,
Supplemental Note: when the UAV enters these various flight-restricted regions, the UAV is caused to land within a predetermined time)
Regarding claim 32, Yu, as modified, teaches wherein the machine-readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to:
determine a position of the aircraft relative to a second boundary when the aircraft is traveling along the first portion of the travel path, the second boundary encompassing the first boundary at the first portion of the travel path; and (Yu: Paragraph 0075: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.”; Paragraph 0111: “FIG. 2 shows an example of a plurality of flight-restricted region proximity zones 220A, 220B, 220C, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. A flight-restricted region 210 may be provided. The location of the flight-restricted region may be represented by a set of coordinates (i.e., a point), area, or space. One or more flight-restricted proximity zones may be provided around the flight-restricted region.”; Paragraph 0159: “A user may set up waypoints for flight of a UAV. A UAV may be able to fly to a waypoint. The waypoints may have predefined location (e.g., coordinates). Waypoints may be a way for UAVs to navigate from one location to another or follow a path. In some instances, users may enter waypoints using a software. For example, a user may enter coordinates for way points and/or use a graphical user interface, such as a map, to designate waypoints. In some embodiments, waypoints may not be set up in flight-restricted regions, such as airports. Waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance threshold of a flight-restricted region. For example, waypoints may not be set up within a predetermined distance of an airport. The predetermined distance may be any distance value described elsewhere herein, such as 5 miles (or 8 km).”; Paragraph 0160: “A waypoint may or may not be permitted outside a flight-restricted proximity zone. In some instances, a waypoint may be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. Alternatively, a waypoint may not be permitted beneath a flight ceiling within a predetermined distance of a flight-restricted region. In some instances, a map showing information about waypoints and waypoint safety rules may be provided.”,
Supplemental Note: in this example, the second boundary can be the 5.5 or 5 mile radius flight-restricted region (220C or 220B) as they both encompass an additional region. Since the art teaches three boundaries in this example, they can be used interchangeably to teach the claimed first boundary encompassed within a second boundary. Furthermore, these waypoints are able to be within a flight-restricted region)
when the position of the aircraft is at the second boundary, cause the aircraft to execute a landing procedure to land at a landing site, the landing site unassociated with the travel path. (Yu: Paragraph 0113: “A second flight-restricted proximity zone 220B may be provided around an airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a second radius of the airport. The second radius may be greater than the first radius. For example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport. In another example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport and also outside the first radius (e.g., 4.5 miles) of the airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape including anything within the second radius of the airport, or a substantially ring shape including anything within the second radius of the airport and outside the first radius of the airport. If a UAV is located within the second flight-restricted proximity zone, a second flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 5 miles of the airport and outside 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may prompt an operator of the UAV to land within a predetermined time period (e.g., 1 hour, 30 minutes, 14 minutes, 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 3 minutes, 2 minutes, 1 minute, 45 seconds, 30 seconds, 15 seconds, 10 seconds, or five seconds). If the UAV is not landed within the predetermined time period, the UAV may automatically land.”)
Regarding claim 35, Yu, as modified, teaches wherein when the position of the aircraft is at the first boundary, the machine-readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to cause a message to be output, the message including a request for a landing path for the aircraft. (Yu: Paragraph 0006: “In some embodiments, each flight restriction zone of the plurality of flight restriction zones is associated with instructions for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) within or near the flight restriction zone to take one or more flight response measures. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include preventing the UAV from entering the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to fly beneath a predetermined altitude or set of altitudes while within the flight restriction zone. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include sending an alert to a UAV operator. In some embodiments, the alert informs the UAV operator about a predetermined period of time to land the UAV. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land after the predetermined period of time. In some embodiments, the one or more flight response measures include causing the UAV to land within a predetermined period of time.”; Paragraph 0112: “In one example, the flight-restricted region 210 may be an airport. Any description herein of an airport may apply to any other type of flight-restricted region, or vice versa. A first flight-restricted proximity zone 220A may be provided, with the airport therein. In one example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a first radius of the airport. For example, the first flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 4.5 miles of the airport. The first flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape, including anything within the first radius of the airport. The flight-restricted proximity zone may have any shape. If a UAV is located within the first flight-restricted proximity zone, a first flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may automatically land. The UAV may automatically land without any input from an operator of the UAV, or may incorporate input from the operator of the UAV. The UAV may automatically start decreasing in altitude. The UAV may decrease in altitude at a predetermined rate, or may incorporate location data in determining the rate at which to land. The UAV may find a desirable spot to land, or may immediately land at any location. The UAV may or may not take input from an operator of the UAV into account when finding a location to land. The first flight response measure may be a software measure to prevent users from being able to fly near an airport. An immediate landing sequence may be automatically initiated when the UAV is in the first flight-restricted proximity zone.”,
Supplemental Note: when the UAV enters these various flight-restricted regions, the UAV can alert the UAV operator to land)
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20150339931 A1) and Baruch et al. (US 20180029706 A1) as applied to independent claim 36 above, and further in view of Johnson et al. (US 20160307447 A1).
Regarding claim 37, Yu, as modified, teaches wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit is to determine that the unmanned aerial vehicle has reached the first boundary (Yu: Paragraph 0113: “A second flight-restricted proximity zone 220B may be provided around an airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a second radius of the airport. The second radius may be greater than the first radius. For example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport. In another example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport and also outside the first radius (e.g., 4.5 miles) of the airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape including anything within the second radius of the airport, or a substantially ring shape including anything within the second radius of the airport and outside the first radius of the airport. If a UAV is located within the second flight-restricted proximity zone, a second flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 5 miles of the airport and outside 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may prompt an operator of the UAV to land within a predetermined time period (e.g., 1 hour, 30 minutes, 14 minutes, 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 3 minutes, 2 minutes, 1 minute, 45 seconds, 30 seconds, 15 seconds, 10 seconds, or five seconds). If the UAV is not landed within the predetermined time period, the UAV may automatically land.”,
Supplemental Note: the system is able to determine the position of the UAV and which of the boundaries it is within)
In sum, Yu teaches wherein the processor circuitry is to determine that the unmanned aerial vehicle has reached the first boundary. Yu however does not teach when the first position is a threshold distance from the expected position whereas Johnson does.
Johnson teaches when the first position is a threshold distance from the expected position. (Johnson: Paragraph 0055: “Optionally, the user interface 200 can be utilized by a user to indicate waypoints to be traveled to during the flight plan. For instance, the user can select portions of the imagery 202 to designate as waypoints, and the user interface 200 can be updated to present selectable options associated with each waypoint. As an example, the user can designate an order that each waypoint is to be traveled to, actions the UAV is to take at the waypoint, a transition speed between each or all waypoints, and so on. The system can determine the flight boundary geofence from the waypoints, such that the geofence perimeter encompasses the waypoints. The determined flight boundary geofence can be presented to the user for review, and the user can modify the boundary by interacting with the user interface 200.”; Paragraph 0063: “for location information associated with a property, the system can obtain property boundary information for the property (e.g., from commercial, or governmental, databases or systems). The system can then determine that the geofence boundary for the flight plan is the property boundary, or is a threshold distance less than the property boundary (e.g., a buffer can be included adjacent to the property boundary to ensure that a UAV does not accidentally cross into an adjacent property).”,
Supplemental Note: the system is able to determine the position of the UAV as it travels to the set waypoints with a geofence around the route. It also creates a threshold distance in which the UAV is identified as crossing into a property boundary)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yu with the teachings of Johnson with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 27 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20150339931 A1), in view of Baruch et al. (US 20180029706 A1) and Johnson et al. (US 20160307447 A1) as applied to independent claim 30 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 20190317530 A1).
Regarding claim 33, Yu teaches wherein the instructions cause the processor circuitry to determine that the position of the aircraft is at the first boundary (Yu: Paragraph 0113: “A second flight-restricted proximity zone 220B may be provided around an airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within a second radius of the airport. The second radius may be greater than the first radius. For example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport. In another example, the second flight-restricted proximity zone may include anything within 5 miles of the airport and also outside the first radius (e.g., 4.5 miles) of the airport. The second flight-restricted proximity zone may have a substantially circular shape including anything within the second radius of the airport, or a substantially ring shape including anything within the second radius of the airport and outside the first radius of the airport. If a UAV is located within the second flight-restricted proximity zone, a second flight response measure may be taken. For example, if the UAV is within 5 miles of the airport and outside 4.5 miles of the airport, the UAV may prompt an operator of the UAV to land within a predetermined time period (e.g., 1 hour, 30 minutes, 14 minutes, 10 minutes, 5 minutes, 3 minutes, 2 minutes, 1 minute, 45 seconds, 30 seconds, 15 seconds, 10 seconds, or five seconds). If the UAV is not landed within the predetermined time period, the UAV may automatically land.”,
Supplemental Note: the system is able to determine the position of the UAV and which of the flight-restricted regions it is within)
In sum, Yu teaches instructions cause the processor circuitry to determine that the position of the aircraft is at the first boundary. Yu however does not teach when the aircraft is a first distance away from a corresponding location along the first portion of the travel path whereas Yang does.
Yang teaches when the aircraft is a first distance away from a corresponding location along the first portion of the travel path. (Yang: Abstract: “A method for controlling flight of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) includes obtaining information about a location of an object of interest, and calculating, during operation of the UAV, a flight-restricted distance for the UAV to maintain relative to the object of interest. The flight-restricted distance is calculated based on a safety factor and the safety factor is determined based on an object classification. The method further includes controlling flight of the UAV to maintain the flight-restricted distance relative to the object of interest.”,
Supplemental Note: the travel path in this example is the object of interest in which the UAV has to stay within a flight-restricted distance from)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yu with the teachings of Yang with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 24 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20150339931 A1) and Baruch et al. (US 20180029706 A1), as applied to independent claim 23 above, and further in view of Sampigethaya et al. (US 20150228196 A1).
Regarding claim 43, Yu, as modified, does not teach wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit to cause the second boundary to move along the travel path at a second speed to encompass the first boundary at the first time and the second time whereas Sampigethaya does.
Sampigethaya teaches wherein one or more of the at least one processor circuit to cause the second boundary to move along the travel path at a second speed to encompass the first boundary at the first time and the second time (Sampigethaya: Paragraphs 0031: “An airspace 312 is depicted around the first aircraft 310. The airspace 312 can represent an approximate area accessible by radio communications transmitted by the first aircraft 310. FIG. 3 also depicts a second aircraft 320 travelling along flight path 321, a third aircraft 330 travelling along flight path 331, and a fourth aircraft 340 travelling along flight path 341. At the moment depicted in FIG. 3, the first aircraft 310, the second aircraft 320, the third aircraft 330, and the fourth aircraft 340 all happen to be located within the airspace 312.”; Paragraph 0054: “The privacy computation module 430 also includes a flight privacy enhancement opportunity predictor 433. For a given flight route, one or more airspaces, and one or more particular times, the flight privacy enhancement opportunity predictor 433 can predict an expected privacy in each of the one or more airspaces. The flight privacy enhancement opportunity predictor 433 can predict maximum and minimum privacy bounds for one or more segments of the flight route and/or for the entire flight route. The maximum and minimum privacy bounds can be based on an ability and/or an inability to employ one or more privacy enhancement techniques.”: Paragraph 0054: “For example, referring to FIG. 6, the flight privacy enhancement opportunity predictor 433 can predict that the first possible future location 636 and the second possible future location 638 are locations where a privacy enhancement technique can be successfully employed.”,
Supplemental Note: the privacy computation module can encompasses the entirely of the flight route while the airspace represents an area accessible to radio communications. The airspace is interpreted as the first boundary while the privacy bounds encompassing the flight route is the second boundary. The second speed is interpreted to be none as it is encompasses the whole flight route along with the airspace)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yu with the teachings of Sampigethaya with a reasonable expectation of success. Yu teaches the ability of a UAV to not fly into flight-restricted areas with the use of boundaries whereas Sampigethaya creates airspaces for their aircrafts with privacy bounds along the entirety of the flight route. Yu teaches various sized radii near an airport in which the UAV is able to determine its position about which zone they are in, thus the use of privacy bounds along the entirety of the flight route as taught by Sampigethaya would be obvious to try to save the privacy of the locations visited by the UAV by one of ordinary skill in the art. Sampigethaya teaches that tracking the locations of a aircrafts allows a breach of privacy and can aid in unauthorized operators receiving information of visited placed regarding political, business or personal interest (Sampigethaya: Paragraph 0003). A drone within a proximity zone of an aircraft faces potential risk of transmitting position data which can lead to harmful outcomes depending on the breached privacy information an unauthorized user is able to gather.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20150339931 A1), Baruch et al. (US 20180029706 A1) and Johnson et al. (US 20160307447 A1), as applied to independent claim 30 above, and further in view of Sampigethaya et al. (US 20150228196 A1).
Regarding claim 44, Yu, as modified, does not teach wherein the machine- readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to cause the second boundary to move along the travel path at a second speed to encompass the first boundary at the first time and the second time whereas Sampigethaya does.
Sampigethaya teaches wherein the machine- readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to cause the second boundary to move along the travel path at a second speed to encompass the first boundary at the first time and the second time (Sampigethaya: Paragraphs 0031: “An airspace 312 is depicted around the first aircraft 310. The airspace 312 can represent an approximate area accessible by radio communications transmitted by the first aircraft 310. FIG. 3 also depicts a second aircraft 320 travelling along flight path 321, a third aircraft 330 travelling along flight path 331, and a fourth aircraft 340 travelling along flight path 341. At the moment depicted in FIG. 3, the first aircraft 310, the second aircraft 320, the third aircraft 330, and the fourth aircraft 340 all happen to be located within the airspace 312.”; Paragraph 0054: “The privacy computation module 430 also includes a flight privacy enhancement opportunity predictor 433. For a given flight route, one or more airspaces, and one or more particular times, the flight privacy enhancement opportunity predictor 433 can predict an expected privacy in each of the one or more airspaces. The flight privacy enhancement opportunity predictor 433 can predict maximum and minimum privacy bounds for one or more segments of the flight route and/or for the entire flight route. The maximum and minimum privacy bounds can be based on an ability and/or an inability to employ one or more privacy enhancement techniques.”: Paragraph 0054: “For example, referring to FIG. 6, the flight privacy enhancement opportunity predictor 433 can predict that the first possible future location 636 and the second possible future location 638 are locations where a privacy enhancement technique can be successfully employed.”,
Supplemental Note: the privacy computation module can encompasses the entirely of the flight route while the airspace represents an area accessible to radio communications. The airspace is interpreted as the first boundary while the privacy bounds encompassing the flight route is the second boundary. The second speed is interpreted to be none as it is encompasses the whole flight route along with the airspace)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Yu with the teachings of Sampigethaya with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 43 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section The Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 103 of the REMARKS, filed 11/12/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejection of claims 23 – 42 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant states, regarding claim 23, the prior art of Yu nor Yu in view of Baruch teach the amended claim limitation of “the first boundary to move at a first speed along a travel path of the unmanned aerial vehicle during flight of the unmanned aerial vehicle” and “the first speed based on an expected speed of the unmanned aerial vehicle”. Applicant states Baruch teaches a processor able to determine the position of a UAV relative to a user to monitor for potential dangers and not the amended claim limitation. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Along with identifying potential dangers for the user, Baruch teaches the UAV to follow the path of the user. The path of the user is interpreted as the first travel path and the first boundary is interpreted as the specified radius or distance the UAV is to be in within the user (Baruch: Paragraphs 0044 – 0045; Paragraph 0059). Furthermore, Baruch teaches the ability of identifying the speed of the user to adjust the speed of the UAV, thus the expected speed is interpreted the speed of the UAV and the first speed of the boundary corresponds to the speed of the user (Baruch: Paragraph 0041). These elements of Baruch are used on combination with Yu to teach the amended claim limitations. Applicant further states how the prior art of Johnson does not teach these amended claim limitations and improper motivation to combine with the prior art of Yu. Examiner respectfully states the prior art of Johnson is not cited to teach the amended claim limitation of claim 23, thus the arguments are moot. Similarly, the amended claims 30 and 36 state the same amendments and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Conclusion
/SHIVAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665