DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on March 1, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baskaran et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0388894).
Regarding claim 1, Baskaran et al discloses an apparatus for wireless communications, comprising:
at least one memory (see at least paragraph 47 [memory]) comprising instructions; and
at least one processor (see at least paragraph 47 [processor]) coupled to the at least one memory and configured to:
receive a user equipment (UE) parameters update (UPU) container, the UPU container (see at least paragraph 73 discloses UPU data container) comprising a UE parameters update header information element (IE) and a UE parameters update list IE, wherein the UE parameters update header IE comprises UE parameters update header information, and wherein the UE parameters update list IE comprises the UE parameters update header information of the UE parameters update header IE (see at least paragraphs 101-102 discloses UE receives UE parameter update (UPU) data; further UE receiving parameter update header and data list; paragraph 58 discloses that UPU procedure using routing identifier and NSSAI for updating; NSSAI considered as UE parameters update list IE); and
generate, based on the UE parameters update list IE, a UPU message authentication code (MAC) for verifying integrity of the UPU container (see at least paragraphs 103-104 discloses successfully verified integrity).
Regarding claim 2, Baskaran et al discloses the UPU container is a UPU transparent container with a data type value of 0 (see at least paragraph 126 discloses that UPU transparent container).
Regarding claim 3, Baskaran et al discloses the UE parameters update header information is included as a data set type in the UE parameters update list IE (see at least paragraph 107 discloses UPU data set type).
Regarding claim 4, Baskaran et al discloses the UE parameters update list IE
further comprises at least one of routing indicator update data, default configured Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) update data, disaster roaming information update data, or Mobile Equipment (ME) routing indicator update data (see at least paragraph 60 discloses that UPU procedure using routing identifier and NSSAI for updating).
Regarding claim 5, Baskaran et al discloses the UPU MAC is a UPU-MAC-I.sub.AUSF MAC (see at least paragraph 99 discloses UPU MAC).
Regarding claim 6, Baskaran et al discloses the at least one processor is configured to generate the UPU MAC based on the UE parameters update list IE and based on a key (see at least paragraph 114 discloses UPU MAC).
Regarding claim 7, Baskaran et al discloses the key is a K.sub.AUSF key (see at least paragraph 99 discloses K.sub.AUSF).
Regarding claim 8, Baskaran et al discloses the apparatus is a UE (see at least paragraph 60 [UE, 402]).
Regarding claim 9, Baskaran et al discloses the at least one processor is configured to determine the UE parameters update header information of the UE parameters update header IE matches the UE parameters update header information of the UE parameters update list IE to verify integrity of the UE parameters update header information of the UE parameters update header IE (see at least paragraph 103 discloses verifies integrity based on successful match).
Regarding claim 10, Baskaran et al discloses the at least one processor is
configured to generate the UPU MAC using the UE parameters update header
information of the UE parameters update list IE (see at least paragraph 104).
Regarding claim 11, Baskaran et al discloses a method of wireless communications at a network device (see at least paragraph 60 [UE, 402]), the method comprising:
receiving a user equipment (UE) parameters update (UPU) container, the UPU container (see at least paragraph 73 discloses UPU data container) comprising a UE parameters update header information element (IE) and a UE parameters update list IE, wherein the UE parameters update header IE comprises UE parameters update header information, and wherein the UE parameters update list IE comprises the UE parameters update header information of the UE parameters update header IE (see at least paragraphs 101-102 discloses UE receives UE parameter update (UPU) data; further UE receiving parameter update header and data list; paragraph 58 discloses that UPU procedure using routing identifier and NSSAI for updating; NSSAI considered as UE parameters update list IE); and
generating, based on the UE parameters update list IE, a UPU message authentication code (MAC) for verifying integrity of the UPU container (see at least paragraphs 103-104 discloses successfully verified integrity).
Regarding claim 12-20, see above rejection of claims 2-10.
Regarding claim 21, Baskaran et al discloses an apparatus for wireless communications, comprising:
at least one memory (see at least paragraph 54 [memory]) comprising instructions; and
at least one processor (see at least paragraph 54 [processor]) coupled to the
at least one memory and configured to:
generate a user equipment (UE) parameters update (UPU) container, the UPU container (see at least paragraphs 73 discloses UPU data container) comprising a UE parameters update header information element (IE) and a UE parameters update list IE, wherein the UE parameters update header IE comprises UE parameters update header information, and wherein the UE parameters update list IE comprises the UE parameters update header information of the UE parameters update header IE (see at least paragraphs 96 and 101-102 discloses UDM invokes UE parameter update (UPU) data; further UE parameter update include UPU header and data list; paragraph 58 discloses that UPU procedure using routing identifier and NSSAI for updating; NSSAI considered as UE parameters update list IE); and
transmit the UPU container to a UE (see at least paragraphs 101-102 discloses transmits UE parameter update (UPU) data to UE).
Regarding claim 22, Baskaran et al discloses the UPU container is a UPU transparent container with a data type value of 0 (see at least paragraph 126 discloses that UPU transparent container).
Regarding claim 23, Baskaran et al discloses wherein, to generate the UPU container, the at least one processor is configured to add the UE parameters update header information as a data set type in the UE parameters update list IE (see at least paragraph 107 discloses UPU data set type).
Regarding claim 24, Baskaran et al discloses the UE parameters update list IE further comprises at least one of routing indicator update data, default configured Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) update data, disaster roaming information update data, or Mobile Equipment (ME) routing indicator update data (see at least paragraph 60 discloses that UPU procedure using routing identifier and NSSAI for updating).
Regarding claim 25, Baskaran et al discloses the apparatus is a Unified Data Management (UDM) entity (see at least paragraph 60 [UDM, 408]).
Regarding claim 26, Baskaran et al discloses a method of wireless communications at a network entity (see at least paragraph 60 [UDM, 408]), comprising:
generating a user equipment (UE) parameters update (UPU) container, the UPU container (see at least paragraphs 73 discloses UPU data container) comprising a UE parameters update header information element (IE) and a UE parameters update list IE, wherein the UE parameters update header IE comprises UE parameters update header information, and wherein the UE parameters update list IE comprises the UE parameters update header information of the UE parameters update header IE (see at least paragraphs 96 and 101-102 discloses UDM invokes UE parameter update (UPU) data; further UE parameter update include UPU header and data list; paragraph 58 discloses that UPU procedure using routing identifier and NSSAI for updating; NSSAI considered as UE parameters update list IE); and
transmitting the UPU container to a UE (see at least paragraphs 101-102 discloses transmits UE parameter update (UPU) data to UE).
Regarding claim 27-30, see above rejection of claims 22-25.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art are cited to show a method, which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention:
Atarius et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0381281) directed toward performing UPU procedure.
Koshta et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0053316) directed toward perform a UPU procedure based on information received.
/LITON MIAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642