CTNF 18/499,052 CTNF 101920 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 18-37 are pending in application. Information Disclosure Statement US PG Pub 2015/0034515 (Kayano et al.) listed in the IDS received 10/31/2023 has not been considered due to an incorrect author associated with the patent number listed. It appears that the patent number submitted is incorrect. Specification 07-44 AIA The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The “contact aiding material” recited in claims 22 and 24 are not supported by the specification. The conduction enhancement layer comprising “a metallurgical plating” recited in claims 23 and 25 are not supported by the specification . Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: Duplicate punctuation is used at the end of the claim . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 18-20, 22-25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Buckle (US PG Pub 2006/0115724 A1) . Regarding claim 18, Buckle discloses a method of fabricating a zinc-air cell battery (abstract) comprising a cathode casing (a cathode cup) (para. [0028] ref. 140, Fig. 1) which forms the majority of the surface area of the external can of the battery (see Fig. 1) and is crimped over an anode casing body (an anode cup) (ref. 160 in Fig. 1) comprising an anode terminal surface (ref. 165, Fig. 1) and a peripheral edge portion (ref. 168, Fig. 1) which serves as a conducting tab and extends externally to the cathode casing body. Buckle further discloses inserting an insulating layer (para. [0043], ref. 170, Fig. 1) which electrically isolates the anode casing body from the cathode casing body. Regarding claim 19, Buckle discloses a conduction enhancement layer (para. [0050], ref. 166, Fig. 3) which is a copper layer plated or clad on the inner surface of the anode casing to provide a highly conductive pathway for electrons passing from the anode (ref. 150, Fig. 1) to the negative terminal. Furthermore, the conduction enhancement layer is on an outside portion of the anode terminal (ref. 166, Fig. 1) , the outside portion of the anode terminal opposite a side of the anode terminal nearest the cathode casing (ref. 162, Fig. 1) . Regarding claim 20, Buckle further discloses a conductive nickel layer (para. [0030] – [0031], ref. 146, Fig. 4) on the exterior surface of the cathode cup. Regarding claim 22, Buckle discloses a metallic core layer (para. [0050], ref. 164, Fig. 3) acting as a contact aiding material to the metal plating on the anode casing (ref. 162, 166 in Fig. 3) . Regarding claim 23, the metallic core layer acting as a contact aiding material is comprised of stainless steel, a metallurgical plating material (para. [0050]) . Regarding claim 24, Buckle discloses a metallic core layer (para. [0029] – [0031], ref. 145, Fig. 4) acting as a contact aiding material to the metal plating on the cathode casing (ref. 140, Fig. 1) . Regarding claim 25, the metallic core layer acting as a contact aiding material may comprise of cold rolled or stainless steel, a metallurgical plating material (para. [0030]) . Regarding claim 30, Buckle further discloses a nickel layer acting as a positive current collector (para. [0030], ref. 146, Fig. 4) in electrical communication with the cathode casing functioning as the positive terminal (para. [0005]) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 18, 26-27, and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Park (US PG Pub 2016/0126511 A1) . Regarding claim 18, Park teaches a method of fabricating a secondary battery (title) using an electrode assembly (para. [0037], ref. 110, Fig. 2) housed within a can forming the majority of the surface area around the battery (ref. 120, Fig. 2) and a first and second electrode terminal (para. [0039], ref. 114 and 115 respectively, Fig. 2) . Furthermore, the can may be connected to a cap plate (ref. 130, Fig. 2) which shares the same polarity as the second electrode tab (para. [0045], ref. 115, Fig. 2) and may serve as the cathode of the secondary battery (para. [0046]) . Park further discloses an insulating element (para. [0047], ref. 150, Fig. 2) disposed on the can, electrically isolating it from the electrode terminal of opposite polarity which may function as the anode (para. [0046], ref. 140, Fig. 2) and is at least partially external to the cathode casing. Regarding claim 26, Park discloses a temperature protection device operating on the principle of reversible conductivity / insulation via a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) material (para. [0054], ref. 180, Fig. 3) which acts a fuse to interrupt the current flow from the anode terminal (ref. 140 in Fig. 3) during an overcurrent condition. Regarding claim 27, Park discloses a protective circuit module (PCM) based discharge resistor connected externally to a module comprising the batteries described above (para. [0067], ref. 20, Fig. 4) to protect the module from an over-discharge scenario. Park further discloses that the PCM may contain a passive device such as a condenser (i.e. a capacitor), and therefore may be coupled to a current discharge plate. Regarding claim 35, Park further discloses that the protective circuit module (PCM) based discharge element may be an active device such as a field effect transistor (FET), or a protective device on which integrated circuits (ICs) may be selectively formed and that the discharge element is configured prevent overcurrent or excess charge from the battery (para. [0067]) . Regarding claim 36, Park also discloses an electrically conductive layer (ref. 172 in Fig. 3) extending between the discharge element (the protective circuit module) and the fuse (ref. 180) which operates on the principle of variable conductivity / resistivity, or electrical dissipation in the form of heat . 07-15 AIA Claim s 18, 28-29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kohono (US PG Pub 2013/0260212 A1) . Regarding claim 18, Kohono discloses a method of fabricating a secondary battery (abstract) comprising a wound electrode construction (para. [0034], ref. 6 in Fig. 2) housed within a battery casing (ref. 1, Fig. 2) forming a majority of the area of an external can of the battery. Kohona also discloses a negative electrode external terminal (ref. [0036], ref. 4B, Fig. 2) comprising a proximal section (para. [0052], ref. 5B2, Fig. 4) which extends along the principal plane of the battery cover (ref. 3, Fig. 4) and is therefore partially external to the battery housing. Kohono further discloses an insulating layer (para. [0104], ref. 13C, Fig. 9) which serve to electrically insulate the battery cover, which is connected to the battery casing at the peripheral regions (para. [0085]) , from the anode terminal. Regarding claim 28, Kohono discloses that a liquid electrolyte is filled through a filling port (para. [0039], ref. 20, Fig. 2) and that the battery cover (para. [0106], ref. 3, Fig. 2) and insulating base material (13C, Fig. 9) , which is positioned about an opening in the cathode casing associated with the protrusion of the anode terminal into the interior of the cathode casing, are intended to prevent liquid leakage of the electrolyte. Regarding claim 29, Kohono discloses that the insulating base material used as an electrolyte seal (ref. 13C, Fig. 9) may be made of perfluoroalkoxyfluorine (PFA) (para. [0107]) . Regarding claim 31, Kohono discloses that the PFA insulating base material shrouds the upper and lower faces of each through hole (para. [0106], Fig. 9) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 18 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Yoshida (US Patent 6432572 B1) . Regarding claim 18, Yoshida discloses a method of fabricating a battery (title) comprising a case body (Col. 1 Ln. 34-56, ref. 3a, Fig. 19) forming the majority of the surface area of an external can of the battery and houses a wound electrode construction forming the power generating element (Col. 1 Ln. 34-56, ref. 2, Fig. 20). Yoshida also discloses an anode terminal (Col. 1 Ln. 34-56, ref. 5, Fig. 20) which extends partially externally to the cathode casing and is dielectrically sealed from the casing with glass, ceramic, or resin hence serving as an insulating layer (see Fig. 21, Col. 2 Ln 1-11) . Regarding claim 37, Yoshida discloses an anode penetration assembly which intrudes into the interior of the battery at a plurality of points and which is in electrical communication with the anode terminal (Col. 1 Ln. 34-56, ref. 9, Fig. 20) . 07-15 AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by White (US PG Pub 2007/0224500 A1) . White discloses a method of fabricating a zinc-air cell battery (abstract) comprising a cathode casing (a cathode can) (para. [0016] ref. 240, Fig. 1) which forms the majority of the surface area of the external can of the battery (see Fig. 1) and is crimped over an anode casing body (an anode can) (ref. 260 in Fig. 1) comprising an anode terminal surface (para. [0068], ref. 265, Fig. 1) and a peripheral edge portion (para. [0045] – [0046], ref. 263d, Fig. 1) which serves as a conducting tab and extends externally to the cathode casing body. White further discloses inserting an insulating layer (para. [0045] – [0046], ref. 270, Fig. 1) which electrically isolates the anode casing body from the cathode casing body . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA 14. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA 15. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA 16. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US PG Pub 2007/0224500 A1) in view of Gibbons (US Patent 6610353 B1) . White is relied on as described above. White teaches an insulating layer (para. [0045] – [0046], ref. 270, Fig. 1) comprising “protrusions” which provide a tighter seal between the anode casing (i.e. anode terminal) and cathode casing and prevents the electrolyte movement along the interface (para. [0018]) . Furthermore, White teaches that rather than be formed integrally, the protrusions may be formed form “globs” of material formed from adhesive or a tacky material applied to the inside surface of the insulating material (para. [0020], see Fig. 1) . However, White does not teach that a pressure sensitive adhesive may be used as the adhesive. Gibbons teaches a method of applying adhesive to a battery (abstract) where adhesive is applied to the inner surface of the cathode casing (cathode cup) (Col. 1 Ln. 46-64, see Fig. 2) and one such adhesive is a solvent-based pressure sensitive adhesive (Col. 8 Ln. 22-53) . Furthermore, Gibbons teaches that the anode mixture (ref. 250, Fig. 3) contains a liquid electrolyte as well. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the liquid-borne pressure sensitive adhesive as taught by Gibbons on the inner surface of the insulating ring, as required by White to attain the predictable result of preventing the leakage of liquid electrolyte along the interface between the insulating ring and anode can . 07-21-aia AIA 17. Claim s 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (US Patent 6432572 B1) in view of Hellmann (US Patent 6512347 B1) . Yoshida is relied upon as described above. Regarding claim 32, Yoshida fails to teach a heat dissipation element in contact with the anode terminal. Hellmann teaches a battery with an integral cooling system (title) comprising a cooling tube (Col. 2 Ln. 30-37, ref. 34, Fig. 1) coupled to a heat exchanger (ref. 32, Fig. 1) which contacts the battery terminals (Col. 2 Ln. 20-29, ref. 22 and 24, Fig. 1) . Yoshida further teaches that a cooling system may be necessary to remove heat generated in a battery during aggressive charging / discharging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the cooling mechanism taught by Hellmann with the battery taught by Yoshida to arrive at the claimed invention. Regarding claim 33, Yoshida fails to teach the heat dissipation mechanism described above which comprises a cold plate. Hellmann teaches a cold plate (Col. 2 Ln. 45-52, ref. 36, Fig. 3) which is integral to cooling tube and that the cooling plate extracts heat from the interior of the battery cells (Col. 3 Ln. 1-14) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cooling plates taught by Hellmann into the battery of Yoshida to arrive at the predictable result of more efficiently cooling the battery. Regarding claim 34, Yoshida teaches a conductive heat dissipation element (cooling plate) in contact with a face of the battery casing opposite the anode terminal (Col. 2 Ln. 51-64, ref. 7, Fig. 22) but fails to teach a heat dissipation element in contact with the anode terminal. However, Hellmann teaches a heat dissipation element in contact with the anode terminal as described above, which further draws heat from the battery cells and requires recirculation as the cooling medium heats up as it draws thermal energy (Col. 2 Ln. 65 – Col. 3 Ln. 14) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling recirculation system taught by Hellmann alongside the heat dissipation element of Yoshida to arrive at the claimed invention. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATHAN ANDREW JON MCMULLEN whose telephone number is (571)270-0127. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alicia Chevalier can be reached at (571) 272-1490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /N.A.M./ Nathan A McMullen Examiner, Art Unit 1788 6/11/26 /Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788 Application/Control Number: 18/499,052 Page 2 Art Unit: 1788 Application/Control Number: 18/499,052 Page 3 Art Unit: 1788 Application/Control Number: 18/499,052 Page 4 Art Unit: 1788 Application/Control Number: 18/499,052 Page 5 Art Unit: 1788 Application/Control Number: 18/499,052 Page 6 Art Unit: 1788 Application/Control Number: 18/499,052 Page 7 Art Unit: 1788 Application/Control Number: 18/499,052 Page 8 Art Unit: 1788 Application/Control Number: 18/499,052 Page 9 Art Unit: 1788 Application/Control Number: 18/499,052 Page 10 Art Unit: 1788 Application/Control Number: 18/499,052 Page 11 Art Unit: 1788