DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to claims filed 07/06/2026.
Claims 2, 10 and 16 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Orsini et al. (US 20120072723 A1) (hereinafter Orsini).
Regarding Claim 1, teaches Orsini teaches:
A method comprising: generating, by a virtualized computing system, a cryptographic data item based on at least a public cryptographic key associated with a peripheral device connected to the virtualized computing system;
“The sharable file-level key is generated based on a workgroup key associated with the data file”, (Orsini: Abstract), “a BitFiler Virtual File System may store keys on a key store/manager located within the firewalled network” … “generating and distrusting a computing image and encryption keys such that data is not unnecessarily replicated across the network”, (Orsini: ¶636), “The group key may be one of the data portions generated by the secure parser”, (Orsini: ¶427), “a secure data parser may be used to secure data access using virtual machines” … “A hypervisor, also referred to as a virtual machine monitor (VMM) is a computer system that allows multiple virtual machines to run on a single host computer”, (Orsini: ¶608), “which may be any type or form of data, such as, but not limited to text, audio, video, user authentication data and public and private cryptographic keys”, (Orsini: ¶087; Fig 1), “one or more keys (e.g., encryption key, split key, or authentication key) are stored on the USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶565), “which store keys in a portable device (e.g., smartcard/dongle), or non-portable key storage peripherals”, (Orsini: ¶497), “a peripheral device interface (such as a USB port”, (Orsini: ¶614), “the user may perform cryptographic functions using his or her private or public key”, (Orsini: ¶090), “For example, according to one embodiment, the user encrypts the current authentication data with the public key of the authentication engine 215”, (Orsini: ¶110).
While Orsini doesn’t explicitly teach a virtualized computing system generating cryptographic data items, it does teach a secure data parser that uses a virtual machine to generate keys. “The group key may be one of the data portions generated by the secure parser”, (Orsini: ¶427), “a secure data parser may be used to secure data access using virtual machines”, (Orsini: ¶608) is similar to a virtualized computing system generating cryptographic data items because it uses a virtual computing system as a middleman to generate keys.
transmitting, by the virtualized computing system, the cryptographic data item to the peripheral device;
“which store keys in a portable device (e.g., smartcard/dongle), or non-portable key storage peripherals”, (Orsini: ¶497), “communications from the authentication engine 215 and the cryptographic engine 220 to the data storage facilities D1 through D4 may include the transmission of sensitive data to be stored”, (Orsini: ¶131), “encrypting all of the portions, then scattering and storing these portions back into the database, or relocating them to any named device, fixed or removable, depending on the requestor's need for privacy and security” … “The dispersion of the encrypted elements, if desired, can be virtually anywhere, including, but not limited to, a single server or data storage device, or among separate data storage facilities or devices”, (Orsini: ¶301), “FIG. 51 is a schematic of an illustrative arrangement in which the secure data parser is used to secure data storage in a user's removable storage device in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention”, (Orsini: ¶055; Fig 51), “physical transportation of data may take place on digital/magnetic tapes, floppy disks, optical disks, physical tokens, USB drives”, (Orsini: ¶424). Examiner notes: writes encrypted data onto removable storage devices like USB drives which have a region of usable memory and are a peripheral device.
generating, by the virtualized computing system, a shared cryptographic key based on the generated cryptographic data item;
“The sharable file-level key is generated based on a workgroup key associated with the data file”, (Orsini: Abstract), “the cryptographic handling module 625 may perform public-key encryption, symmetric-key encryption, or both”, (Orsini: ¶128), “the cryptographic engine 220 assembles the cryptographic key and decrypts the session key therewith”, (Orsini: ¶191)
and performing, by the virtualized computing system, one or more memory access operations to access data at a region of memory associated with the peripheral device using the shared cryptographic key.
“A user in possession of USB memory device 5204 may use any computing device with the secure parser of the present invention coupled to USB memory device 5204 to access the key stored on USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶565), “keys and/or one or more data shares may be stored on the USB memory device 5104” … “use any computing device with the secure parser of the present invention coupled to USB memory device 5104 to access the two data shares stored on USB memory device 5104”, (Orsini: ¶563), “memory and mass storage devices such that the same data is accessible to both these processors. The coprocessor may perform dedicated secure parsing accelerated functions including, but not limited to, data splitting, encryption, and decryption”, (Orsini: ¶572).
Regarding Claim 2, Orsini teaches:
encrypting the data at the region with the shared cryptographic key to generate encrypted data;
“a method for encrypting data using a sharable file-level key” … “The sharable file-level key may be generated using a workgroup key associated with the file and unique information associated with the file”, (Orsini: ¶003), “The sharable file-level key may be used to encrypt and split data using a Secure Parser”, (Orsini: Abstract).
and performing a write operation, of the one or more memory access operations, to write the encrypted data to the region of memory associated with the peripheral device.
“encrypting all of the portions, then scattering and storing these portions back into the database, or relocating them to any named device, fixed or removable, depending on the requestor's need for privacy and security” … “The dispersion of the encrypted elements, if desired, can be virtually anywhere, including, but not limited to, a single server or data storage device, or among separate data storage facilities or devices”, (Orsini: ¶301), “FIG. 51 is a schematic of an illustrative arrangement in which the secure data parser is used to secure data storage in a user's removable storage device in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention”, (Orsini: ¶055; Fig 51), “physical transportation of data may take place on digital/magnetic tapes, floppy disks, optical disks, physical tokens, USB drives”, (Orsini: ¶424). Examiner notes: writes encrypted data onto removable storage devices like USB drives which have a region of usable memory and are inherently a peripheral device.
Regarding Claim 3, Orsini teaches:
performing a read operation, of the one or more memory access operations, to read the data from the region of memory associated with the peripheral device,
“Access to the data is provided using a computing image generated by a server”, (Orsini: Abstract), “to trigger a read operation (such as a journaling read operation) to retrieve additional shares from remote storage”, (Orsini: ¶625), “FIG. 51 is a schematic of an illustrative arrangement in which the secure data parser is used to secure data storage in a user's removable storage device in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention”, (Orsini: ¶055; Fig 51), “In order to access the original data, the USB flash drive would need to be accessed”, (Orsini: ¶410).
wherein the read data is encrypted with the shared cryptographic key;
“The original data processed as described in this embodiment is encrypted and obfuscated and is secured”, (Orsini: ¶301), “the file system that includes the encrypted and split data files” … “the files that have stubs and the correct keys accessible through or distributed by the key manager 7421 can be seen and read”, (Orsini: ¶640), “The sharable file-level key may be used to encrypt and split data using a Secure Parser”, (Orsini: Abstract).
and decrypting the read data with the shared cryptographic key
“However, in symmetric key cryptographic systems, or systems where the sender and receiver of a message share a single common key that is used to encrypt and decrypt a message”, (Orsini: ¶189; Fig 12), “The encryption key may then be decrypted using the workgroup key. Finally, the ciphertext may be decrypted using the encryption key”, (Orsini: ¶494), “the security of encryption/decryption keys in an encryption system” … “store keys in a portable device (e.g., smartcard/dongle), or non-portable key storage peripherals”, (Orsini: ¶497), “encrypting and decrypting (often together referred to only as encrypting)”, (Orsini: ¶089), “the data file may be accessed by decrypting the file using the file-level key according to any suitable data decryption techniques described herein”, (Orsini: ¶635).
Regarding Claim 7, Orsini teaches:
wherein generating the cryptographic data item comprises encrypting a cryptographic nonce value with the public cryptographic key.
“The metadata may include such information as cryptographic key shares, key identities, share nonces, signatures/MAC values, and integrity blocks”, (Orsini: ¶506), “such elements as the Shamir key share, per-session nonce, per-share nonce, key identifiers” … “The share header may also include an encrypted header chunk, which is encrypted with the split encryption key”, (Orsini: ¶507), “The transaction ID may advantageously include a 192 bit quantity having a 32 bit timestamp concatenated with a 128 bit random quantity, or a "nonce," concatenated with a 32 bit vendor specific constant”, (Orsini: ¶164), “Then, the sender will encrypt the session key with the public key of the receiver” … “that a synchronous key has been encrypted with the public key of the user”, (Orsini: ¶189), “the requesting application or vendor uses the public key of the user, for example, to encrypt the session key that will be used to encrypt the document or message”, (Orsini: ¶193)..
Regarding Claim 8, Orsini teaches:
wherein the peripheral device comprises one or more of an encrypted storage device or a networking device.
“Data communication between computer peripheral device (e.g., printer, scanner, monitor, keyboard, network router”, (Orsini: Abstract), “The input/output interface may include” … “a peripheral device interface (such as a USB port, a SCSI port, a Firewire port”, (Orsini: ¶614), “use any computing device with the secure parser of the present invention coupled to USB memory device 5104 to access the two data shares stored on USB memory device 5104”, (Orsini: ¶563).
Regarding Claim 9, Orsini teaches:
A peripheral device of a computing system, the peripheral device comprising: a memory; and a processing device operatively coupled to the memory,
“Data storage applications typically store data in one or more of locally attached memories (e.g., a personal computer, a USB drive”, (Orsini: ¶0613), “cryptographic keys and/or one or more data shares may be stored on the USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶566), “may use any computing device with the secure parser of the present invention coupled to USB memory device 5204 to access the key stored on USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶565).
the processing device to: receive a cryptographic data item from a virtualized computing system, the cryptographic data item generated based on at least a public cryptographic key associated with the peripheral device;
“The sharable file-level key is generated based on a workgroup key associated with the data file”, (Orsini: Abstract), “a BitFiler Virtual File System may store keys on a key store/manager located within the firewalled network” … “generating and distrusting a computing image and encryption keys such that data is not unnecessarily replicated across the network”, (Orsini: ¶636), “The group key may be one of the data portions generated by the secure parser”, (Orsini: ¶427), “a secure data parser may be used to secure data access using virtual machines” … “A hypervisor, also referred to as a virtual machine monitor (VMM) is a computer system that allows multiple virtual machines to run on a single host computer”, (Orsini: ¶608), “which may be any type or form of data, such as, but not limited to text, audio, video, user authentication data and public and private cryptographic keys”, (Orsini: ¶087; Fig 1), “one or more keys (e.g., encryption key, split key, or authentication key) are stored on the USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶565), “which store keys in a portable device (e.g., smartcard/dongle), or non-portable key storage peripherals”, (Orsini: ¶497), “a peripheral device interface (such as a USB port”, (Orsini: ¶614), “the user may perform cryptographic functions using his or her private or public key”, (Orsini: ¶090), “For example, according to one embodiment, the user encrypts the current authentication data with the public key of the authentication engine 215”, (Orsini: ¶110).
generate a shared cryptographic key based on the received cryptographic data;
“The sharable file-level key is generated based on a workgroup key associated with the data file”, (Orsini: Abstract), “the cryptographic handling module 625 may perform public-key encryption, symmetric-key encryption, or both”, (Orsini: ¶128), “the cryptographic engine 220 assembles the cryptographic key and decrypts the session key therewith”, (Orsini: ¶191)
and perform one or more memory access operations to access data at a region of the memory using the shared cryptographic key.
“A user in possession of USB memory device 5204 may use any computing device with the secure parser of the present invention coupled to USB memory device 5204 to access the key stored on USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶565), “keys and/or one or more data shares may be stored on the USB memory device 5104” … “use any computing device with the secure parser of the present invention coupled to USB memory device 5104 to access the two data shares stored on USB memory device 5104”, (Orsini: ¶563), “memory and mass storage devices such that the same data is accessible to both these processors. The coprocessor may perform dedicated secure parsing accelerated functions including, but not limited to, data splitting, encryption, and decryption”, (Orsini: ¶572).
Regarding Claim 10, Orsini teaches:
encrypt the data at the region with the shared cryptographic key to generate encrypted data;
“a method for encrypting data using a sharable file-level key” … “The sharable file-level key may be generated using a workgroup key associated with the file and unique information associated with the file”, (Orsini: ¶003), “The sharable file-level key may be used to encrypt and split data using a Secure Parser”, (Orsini: Abstract).
and perform a write operation, of the one or more memory access operations, to write the encrypted data to the region of the memory.
“encrypting all of the portions, then scattering and storing these portions back into the database, or relocating them to any named device, fixed or removable, depending on the requestor's need for privacy and security” … “The dispersion of the encrypted elements, if desired, can be virtually anywhere, including, but not limited to, a single server or data storage device, or among separate data storage facilities or devices”, (Orsini: ¶301), “FIG. 51 is a schematic of an illustrative arrangement in which the secure data parser is used to secure data storage in a user's removable storage device in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention”, (Orsini: ¶055; Fig 51), “physical transportation of data may take place on digital/magnetic tapes, floppy disks, optical disks, physical tokens, USB drives”, (Orsini: ¶424). Examiner notes: writes encrypted data onto removable storage devices like USB drives which have a region of usable memory and are inherently a peripheral device.
Regarding Claim 11, Orsini teaches:
perform a read operation, of the one or more memory access operations, to read the data from the region of the memory,
“Access to the data is provided using a computing image generated by a server”, (Orsini: Abstract), “to trigger a read operation (such as a journaling read operation) to retrieve additional shares from remote storage”, (Orsini: ¶625), “FIG. 51 is a schematic of an illustrative arrangement in which the secure data parser is used to secure data storage in a user's removable storage device in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention”, (Orsini: ¶055; Fig 51), “In order to access the original data, the USB flash drive would need to be accessed”, (Orsini: ¶410).
wherein the read data is encrypted with the shared cryptographic key;
“The original data processed as described in this embodiment is encrypted and obfuscated and is secured”, (Orsini: ¶301), “the file system that includes the encrypted and split data files” … “the files that have stubs and the correct keys accessible through or distributed by the key manager 7421 can be seen and read”, (Orsini: ¶640), “The sharable file-level key may be used to encrypt and split data using a Secure Parser”, (Orsini: Abstract).
and decrypt the read data with the shared cryptographic key.
“However, in symmetric key cryptographic systems, or systems where the sender and receiver of a message share a single common key that is used to encrypt and decrypt a message”, (Orsini: ¶189; Fig 12), “The encryption key may then be decrypted using the workgroup key. Finally, the ciphertext may be decrypted using the encryption key”, (Orsini: ¶494), “the security of encryption/decryption keys in an encryption system” … “store keys in a portable device (e.g., smartcard/dongle), or non-portable key storage peripherals”, (Orsini: ¶497), “encrypting and decrypting (often together referred to only as encrypting)”, (Orsini: ¶089), “the data file may be accessed by decrypting the file using the file-level key according to any suitable data decryption techniques described herein”, (Orsini: ¶635).
Regarding Claim 13, Orsini teaches:
wherein the processing device is further to: expose the public cryptographic key to the virtualized computing system.
“the digital certificate includes a public key of the user or system, which is known to everyone”, (Orsini: 146), “a requesting application or vendor may advantageously transmit to the transaction engine 205 of the trust engine 110, a request for the public key of the user” … “the transaction engine 205 requests the digital certificate of the user from the mass storage 225. In step 1245, the mass storage 225 transmits the digital certificate corresponding to the user, to the transaction engine”, (Orsini: ¶193). Examiner notes: Orsini teaches exposing a public key by retrieving a digital certificate containing the public key from storage and transmitting it to requesting systems where it is used for cryptographic operations.
Regarding Claim 15, Orsini teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform a method comprising:
“Data storage applications typically store data in one or more of locally attached memories (e.g., a personal computer, a USB drive”, (Orsini: ¶0613), “cryptographic keys and/or one or more data shares may be stored on the USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶566), “may use any computing device with the secure parser of the present invention coupled to USB memory device 5204 to access the key stored on USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶565).
generating, by a virtualized computing system, a cryptographic data item based on at least a public cryptographic key associated with a peripheral device connected to the virtualized computing system;
“The sharable file-level key is generated based on a workgroup key associated with the data file”, (Orsini: Abstract), “a BitFiler Virtual File System may store keys on a key store/manager located within the firewalled network” … “generating and distrusting a computing image and encryption keys such that data is not unnecessarily replicated across the network”, (Orsini: ¶636), “The group key may be one of the data portions generated by the secure parser”, (Orsini: ¶427), “a secure data parser may be used to secure data access using virtual machines” … “A hypervisor, also referred to as a virtual machine monitor (VMM) is a computer system that allows multiple virtual machines to run on a single host computer”, (Orsini: ¶608), “which may be any type or form of data, such as, but not limited to text, audio, video, user authentication data and public and private cryptographic keys”, (Orsini: ¶087; Fig 1), “one or more keys (e.g., encryption key, split key, or authentication key) are stored on the USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶565), “which store keys in a portable device (e.g., smartcard/dongle), or non-portable key storage peripherals”, (Orsini: ¶497), “a peripheral device interface (such as a USB port”, (Orsini: ¶614), “the user may perform cryptographic functions using his or her private or public key”, (Orsini: ¶090), “For example, according to one embodiment, the user encrypts the current authentication data with the public key of the authentication engine 215”, (Orsini: ¶110).
transmitting, by the virtualized computing system, the cryptographic data item to the peripheral device;
“which store keys in a portable device (e.g., smartcard/dongle), or non-portable key storage peripherals”, (Orsini: ¶497), “communications from the authentication engine 215 and the cryptographic engine 220 to the data storage facilities D1 through D4 may include the transmission of sensitive data to be stored”, (Orsini: ¶131), “encrypting all of the portions, then scattering and storing these portions back into the database, or relocating them to any named device, fixed or removable, depending on the requestor's need for privacy and security” … “The dispersion of the encrypted elements, if desired, can be virtually anywhere, including, but not limited to, a single server or data storage device, or among separate data storage facilities or devices”, (Orsini: ¶301), “FIG. 51 is a schematic of an illustrative arrangement in which the secure data parser is used to secure data storage in a user's removable storage device in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention”, (Orsini: ¶055; Fig 51), “physical transportation of data may take place on digital/magnetic tapes, floppy disks, optical disks, physical tokens, USB drives”, (Orsini: ¶424). Examiner notes: writes encrypted data onto removable storage devices like USB drives which have a region of usable memory and are a peripheral device.
generating, by the virtualized computing system, a shared cryptographic key based on the generated cryptographic data item;
“The sharable file-level key is generated based on a workgroup key associated with the data file”, (Orsini: Abstract), “the cryptographic handling module 625 may perform public-key encryption, symmetric-key encryption, or both”, (Orsini: ¶128), “the cryptographic engine 220 assembles the cryptographic key and decrypts the session key therewith”, (Orsini: ¶191)
and performing, by the virtualized computing system, one or more memory access operations to access data at a region of memory associated with the peripheral device using the shared cryptographic key.
“A user in possession of USB memory device 5204 may use any computing device with the secure parser of the present invention coupled to USB memory device 5204 to access the key stored on USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶565), “keys and/or one or more data shares may be stored on the USB memory device 5104” … “use any computing device with the secure parser of the present invention coupled to USB memory device 5104 to access the two data shares stored on USB memory device 5104”, (Orsini: ¶563), “memory and mass storage devices such that the same data is accessible to both these processors. The coprocessor may perform dedicated secure parsing accelerated functions including, but not limited to, data splitting, encryption, and decryption”, (Orsini: ¶572).
Regarding Claim 16, Orsini teaches:
encrypt the data at the region with the shared cryptographic key to generate encrypted data;
a method for encrypting data using a sharable file-level key” … “The sharable file-level key may be generated using a workgroup key associated with the file and unique information associated with the file”, (Orsini: ¶003), “The sharable file-level key may be used to encrypt and split data using a Secure Parser”, (Orsini: Abstract).
and performing a write operation, of the one or more memory access operations, to write the encrypted data to the region of memory associated with the peripheral device.
“encrypting all of the portions, then scattering and storing these portions back into the database, or relocating them to any named device, fixed or removable, depending on the requestor's need for privacy and security” … “The dispersion of the encrypted elements, if desired, can be virtually anywhere, including, but not limited to, a single server or data storage device, or among separate data storage facilities or devices”, (Orsini: ¶301), “FIG. 51 is a schematic of an illustrative arrangement in which the secure data parser is used to secure data storage in a user's removable storage device in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention”, (Orsini: ¶055; Fig 51), “physical transportation of data may take place on digital/magnetic tapes, floppy disks, optical disks, physical tokens, USB drives”, (Orsini: ¶424). Examiner notes: writes encrypted data onto removable storage devices like USB drives which have a region of usable memory and are inherently a peripheral device.
Regarding Claim 17, Orsini teaches:
performing a read operation, of the one or more memory access operations, to read the data from the region of memory associated with the peripheral device,
“Access to the data is provided using a computing image generated by a server”, (Orsini: Abstract), “to trigger a read operation (such as a journaling read operation) to retrieve additional shares from remote storage”, (Orsini: ¶625), “FIG. 51 is a schematic of an illustrative arrangement in which the secure data parser is used to secure data storage in a user's removable storage device in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention”, (Orsini: ¶055; Fig 51), “In order to access the original data, the USB flash drive would need to be accessed”, (Orsini: ¶410).
wherein the read data is encrypted with the shared cryptographic key;
“The original data processed as described in this embodiment is encrypted and obfuscated and is secured”, (Orsini: ¶301), “the file system that includes the encrypted and split data files” … “the files that have stubs and the correct keys accessible through or distributed by the key manager 7421 can be seen and read”, (Orsini: ¶640), “The sharable file-level key may be used to encrypt and split data using a Secure Parser”, (Orsini: Abstract).
and decrypting the read data with the shared cryptographic key.
“However, in symmetric key cryptographic systems, or systems where the sender and receiver of a message share a single common key that is used to encrypt and decrypt a message”, (Orsini: ¶189; Fig 12), “The encryption key may then be decrypted using the workgroup key. Finally, the ciphertext may be decrypted using the encryption key”, (Orsini: ¶494), “the security of encryption/decryption keys in an encryption system” … “store keys in a portable device (e.g., smartcard/dongle), or non-portable key storage peripherals”, (Orsini: ¶497), “encrypting and decrypting (often together referred to only as encrypting)”, (Orsini: ¶089), “the data file may be accessed by decrypting the file using the file-level key according to any suitable data decryption techniques described herein”, (Orsini: ¶635).
Claims 4, 5, 12, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Orsini, in view of Tsirkin et al. (US 20180239715 A1) (hereinafter Tsirkin).
Regarding Claim 4, Orsini fails to teach:
identifying a mapping between the region of the memory associated with the peripheral device and a shared memory space associated with the virtual computing system,
However, Tsirkin teaches: “one or more virtual Peripheral Component Interconnect (PCI) devices”, (Tsirkin: ¶020), “map the shared memory space to a peripheral component interconnect (PCI) memory space of the virtual machine, where the PCI memory space is associated with a PCI base address register (BAR) of the virtual device”, (Tsirkin: ¶031), “processing logic maps the memory space to the PCI memory space of the virtual machine”, (Tsirkin: ¶039).
wherein the one or more memory access operations are performed based on the mapping.
However, Tsirkin: “processing logic maps the memory space to the PCI memory space of the virtual machine”, (Tsirkin: ¶039), “processing logic configures the shared memory space by mapping the shared memory space to the physical device for DMA operations”, (Tsirkin: ¶040), “The physical device may then obtain the packet from the shared memory space using a DMA read operation”, (Tsirkin: ¶041).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine identifying a mapping between the region of the memory associated with the peripheral device and a shared memory space associated with the virtual computing system, wherein the one or more memory access operations are performed based on the mapping of Tsirkin with the methods and systems of Orsini resulting in a virtual computing system that can map device associated memory to a shared memory and perform access based on that mapping. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “implementing secure zero-copy packet forwarding to provide the benefits of device assignment without imposing the security limitations of exposing the entire guest memory to a physical device”, (Tsirkin: ¶012).
Regarding Claim 5, Orsini fails to teach:
the region of the memory associated with the peripheral device comprises a base address register of the peripheral device.
However, Tsirkin teaches: “a peripheral component interconnect (PCI) memory space of the virtual machine, where the PCI memory space is associated with a PCI base address register (BAR) of the virtual device”, (Tsirkin: ¶031), “virtual devices 155a-155n may correspond to one or more virtual Peripheral Component Interconnect (PCI) devices”, (Tsirkin: ¶020), “processing logic maps the memory space to the PCI memory space of the virtual machine. In some implementations, the PCI memory space is associated with a PCI base address register (BAR) of the virtual device”, (Tsirkin: ¶039), “mapping the memory space to a peripheral component interconnect (PCI) memory space of the virtual machine, wherein the PCI memory space is associated with a PCI base address register (BAR) of the virtual device”, (Tsirkin: Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the region of the memory associated with the peripheral device comprises a base address register of the peripheral device of Tsirkin with the methods and systems of Orsini resulting in a virtual computing system that can use a BAR associated PCI memory region for a virtual device. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “the physical device may access the shared memory space directly without involving the hypervisor to perform an intermediate copy operation”, (Tsirkin: ¶033).
Regarding Claim 12, Orsini fails to teach:
wherein the region of the memory comprises a base address register of the peripheral device.
However, Tsirkin teaches: “a peripheral component interconnect (PCI) memory space of the virtual machine, where the PCI memory space is associated with a PCI base address register (BAR) of the virtual device”, (Tsirkin: ¶031), “virtual devices 155a-155n may correspond to one or more virtual Peripheral Component Interconnect (PCI) devices”, (Tsirkin: ¶020), “processing logic maps the memory space to the PCI memory space of the virtual machine. In some implementations, the PCI memory space is associated with a PCI base address register (BAR) of the virtual device”, (Tsirkin: ¶039), “mapping the memory space to a peripheral component interconnect (PCI) memory space of the virtual machine, wherein the PCI memory space is associated with a PCI base address register (BAR) of the virtual device”, (Tsirkin: Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the region of the memory associated with the peripheral device comprises a base address register of the peripheral device of Tsirkin with the methods and systems of Orsini resulting in a virtual computing system that can use a BAR associated PCI memory region for a virtual device. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “the physical device may access the shared memory space directly without involving the hypervisor to perform an intermediate copy operation”, (Tsirkin: ¶033).
Regarding Claim 18, Orsini fails to teach:
identifying a mapping between the region of the memory associated with the peripheral device and a shared memory space associated with the virtual computing system,
However, Tsirkin teaches: “one or more virtual Peripheral Component Interconnect (PCI) devices”, (Tsirkin: ¶020), “map the shared memory space to a peripheral component interconnect (PCI) memory space of the virtual machine, where the PCI memory space is associated with a PCI base address register (BAR) of the virtual device”, (Tsirkin: ¶031), “processing logic maps the memory space to the PCI memory space of the virtual machine”, (Tsirkin: ¶039).
wherein the one or more memory access operations are performed based on the mapping
However, Tsirkin: “processing logic maps the memory space to the PCI memory space of the virtual machine”, (Tsirkin: ¶039), “processing logic configures the shared memory space by mapping the shared memory space to the physical device for DMA operations”, (Tsirkin: ¶040), “The physical device may then obtain the packet from the shared memory space using a DMA read operation”, (Tsirkin: ¶041).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine identifying a mapping between the region of the memory associated with the peripheral device and a shared memory space associated with the virtual computing system, wherein the one or more memory access operations are performed based on the mapping of Tsirkin with the methods and systems of Orsini resulting in a virtual computing system that can map device associated memory to a shared memory and perform access based on that mapping. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “implementing secure zero-copy packet forwarding to provide the benefits of device assignment without imposing the security limitations of exposing the entire guest memory to a physical device”, (Tsirkin: ¶012).
Regarding Claim 19, Orsini fails to teach:
wherein the region of the memory associated with the peripheral device comprises a base address register of the peripheral device
However, Tsirkin teaches: “a peripheral component interconnect (PCI) memory space of the virtual machine, where the PCI memory space is associated with a PCI base address register (BAR) of the virtual device”, (Tsirkin: ¶031), “virtual devices 155a-155n may correspond to one or more virtual Peripheral Component Interconnect (PCI) devices”, (Tsirkin: ¶020), “processing logic maps the memory space to the PCI memory space of the virtual machine. In some implementations, the PCI memory space is associated with a PCI base address register (BAR) of the virtual device”, (Tsirkin: ¶039), “mapping the memory space to a peripheral component interconnect (PCI) memory space of the virtual machine, wherein the PCI memory space is associated with a PCI base address register (BAR) of the virtual device”, (Tsirkin: Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the region of the memory associated with the peripheral device comprises a base address register of the peripheral device of Tsirkin with the methods and systems of Orsini resulting in a virtual computing system that can use a BAR associated PCI memory region for a virtual device. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “the physical device may access the shared memory space directly without involving the hypervisor to perform an intermediate copy operation”, (Tsirkin: ¶033).
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Orsini, in view of Luo et al. (US 20190281449 A1) (hereinafter Luo).
Regarding Claim 6, Orsini fails to teach:
receiving the public cryptographic key from the peripheral device;
However, Luo teaches: “the host device initiates the public key exchange with the peripheral device and accepts the ECC public key provided by the peripheral device without authenticating it”, (Luo: ¶022), “in which the peripheral device transmits its ECC public key (which is signed in the security certificate) to the host device”, (Luo: ¶021), “the peripheral device responds by transmitting the public key”, (Luo: ¶053), “a public key exchange between the peripheral device and a host device by transmitting a signed public key of the peripheral device”, (Luo: Abstract).
and validating the public cryptographic key,
However, Luo teaches: “receives the peripheral device 101's public key and, at 614, the host device 102 verifies that the peripheral device 101's public key is signed in its security certificate” … “the host device 102 fails to authenticate the signed public key based on the security certificate and aborts the pairing process at 615, ceasing communication with the peripheral device 101”, (Luo: ¶076).
wherein the cryptographic data item is generated responsive to validating the public cryptographic key.
However, Luo teaches: “receiving a hash associated with the block from the peripheral device; and in response to validating each of the received hashes, generating the security certificate for the peripheral device”, (Luo: Claim 8), “FIGS. 4A and 4B illustrate a process for generating a certificate for a wireless peripheral device and subsequently pairing the peripheral device with a host device, according to an embodiment”, (Luo: ¶043), “the host device 102 begins a public key exchange with the peripheral device 101 by transmitting a random temporary ECC public key 612 to the peripheral device 101”, (Luo: ¶075).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine receiving the public cryptographic key from the peripheral device; and validating the public cryptographic key, wherein the cryptographic data item is generated responsive to validating the public cryptographic key of Luo with the methods and systems of Orsini resulting in a virtual computing system that performs device side key validation exchange . A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “The foregoing certificate generation process 400 and pairing process 450 thus prevent MITM attacks, since the security certificate advertised by the BLE peripheral device”, (Luo: ¶078).
Regarding Claim 14, Orsini teaches:
produce a cryptographic nonce value by decrypting the cryptographic data item using a private cryptographic key associated with the public cryptographic key,
“encrypted session key will be attached to the synchronously encrypted message and both data are sent to the receiver. The receiver uses his or her private key to decrypt the session key, and then uses the session key to decrypt the message” … “the encrypted session key is included in the authentication request”, (Orsini: ¶189), “The metadata may include such information as cryptographic key shares, key identities, share nonces, signatures/MAC values, and integrity blocks”, (Orsini: ¶506), “such elements as the Shamir key share, per-session nonce, per-share nonce, key identifiers”, (Orsini: ¶507), “The transaction ID may advantageously include a 192 bit quantity having a 32 bit timestamp concatenated with a 128 bit random quantity, or a "nonce," concatenated with a 32 bit vendor specific constant”, (Orsini: ¶164), “the cryptographic engine 220 assembles the cryptographic key and decrypts the session key therewith” … “the cryptographic engine forwards the session key to the authentication engine” … “the authentication engine 215 fills in the authentication request including the decrypted session key”, (Orsini: ¶191), “the cryptographic handling module 625 generates a key pair, where one key is used as a private key, and one is used as a public key”, (Orsini: ¶148), “authentication engine 215 forwards the encrypted session key to the cryptographic engine”, (Orsini: ¶190),
Further regarding Claim 14, Orsini fails to teach:
wherein the shared cryptographic key is generated based on the cryptographic nonce value.
However, Luo teaches: “the host device 102 begins a public key exchange with the peripheral device 101 by transmitting a random temporary ECC public key 612” … “The peripheral device 101 receives the temporary ECC key 612 from the host device”, (Luo: ¶075), “computing a pair of Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman (ECDH) keys for the peripheral device”, (Luo: ¶054), “Once the secure connection is established, the peripheral device 101 and host device 102 are paired and exchange messages encrypted using the ECDH key pairs via the secure connection”, (Luo: ¶077), “uses an elliptic-curve cryptography (ECC) public key endorsed by the advertised security certificate for the subsequent elliptic-curve Diffie-Hellman (ECDH) key generation to complete the pairing process in Just Works mode”, (Luo: ¶018).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine wherein the shared cryptographic key is generated based on the cryptographic nonce value of Luo with the methods and systems of Orsini resulting in a virtual computing system that generates shared keys from a fresh random exchanged ECC value . A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “prevents a MITM attacker from fooling the host BLE device into accepting the attacker's own ECC public key”, (Luo: ¶078).
Regarding Claim 20, Orsini fails to teach:
receiving the public cryptographic key from the peripheral device;
However, Luo teaches: “the host device initiates the public key exchange with the peripheral device and accepts the ECC public key provided by the peripheral device without authenticating it”, (Luo: ¶022), “in which the peripheral device transmits its ECC public key (which is signed in the security certificate) to the host device”, (Luo: ¶021), “the peripheral device responds by transmitting the public key”, (Luo: ¶053), “a public key exchange between the peripheral device and a host device by transmitting a signed public key of the peripheral device”, (Luo: Abstract).
and validating the public cryptographic key,
However, Luo teaches: “receives the peripheral device 101's public key and, at 614, the host device 102 verifies that the peripheral device 101's public key is signed in its security certificate” … “the host device 102 fails to authenticate the signed public key based on the security certificate and aborts the pairing process at 615, ceasing communication with the peripheral device 101”, (Luo: ¶076).
wherein the cryptographic data item is generated responsive to validating the public cryptographic key
However, Luo teaches: “receiving a hash associated with the block from the peripheral device; and in response to validating each of the received hashes, generating the security certificate for the peripheral device”, (Luo: Claim 8), “FIGS. 4A and 4B illustrate a process for generating a certificate for a wireless peripheral device and subsequently pairing the peripheral device with a host device, according to an embodiment”, (Luo: ¶043), “the host device 102 begins a public key exchange with the peripheral device 101 by transmitting a random temporary ECC public key 612 to the peripheral device 101”, (Luo: ¶075).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine receiving the public cryptographic key from the peripheral device; and validating the public cryptographic key, wherein the cryptographic data item is generated responsive to validating the public cryptographic key of Luo with the methods and systems of Orsini resulting in a virtual computing system that performs device side key validation exchange . A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “The foregoing certificate generation process 400 and pairing process 450 thus prevent MITM attacks, since the security certificate advertised by the BLE peripheral device”, (Luo: ¶078).
Response to Arguments
In light of applicants amendments, all Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been with withdrawn.
Regarding rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 101:
Applicant argues: “Applicant's claim 1 recites "generating, by a virtualized computing system, a cryptographic data item based on at least a public cryptographic key associated with a peripheral device connected to the virtualized computing system;". The Patent Office asserts these features are disclosed by the Abstract and paragraphs [0090], [0110], [0427], [0497], [0565], [0608], [0614], [0636], and [1087] of Orsini (Office Action, pg. 3-4). Applicant respectfully disagrees. Orsini relates to systems and methods for creating and using a sharable file-level key to secure data files and sharing data without replicating the data on the machine of the end user (Orsini, Abstract). Paragraphs [0090], [0110], [0427], [0497], [0565], [0608], [0614], [0636], and [1087] of Orsini disclose a secure parser that generates a group key, a virtual machine that provides data access, key storage peripherals that store keys, and a user encrypting authentication data with a public key of an authentication engine. The Patent Office appears to analogize a USB memory device to Applicant's recited "peripheral device." … However, Applicant notes that the referenced limitation does not merely recite "a virtualized computing system generating cryptographic data items " Rather, the referenced limitation recites 1) "a virtualized computing system," 2) "generating a cryptographic data item," 3) "based on at least a public cryptographic key," and 4) "associated with a peripheral device connected to the virtualized computing system." Nowhere does Orsini disclose that the USB memory device has an associated public cryptographic key. Nor does Orsini disclose generating a cryptographic data item based on such an associated public cryptographic key.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Orsini recites: “a secure data parser may be used to secure data access using virtual machines” … “A hypervisor, also referred to as a virtual machine monitor (VMM) is a computer system that allows multiple virtual machines to run on a single host computer”, (Orsini: ¶608), “which store keys in a portable device (e.g., smartcard/dongle), or non-portable key storage peripherals”, (Orsini: ¶497), “the request may be received according to any suitable network communications protocol over a peripheral device interface…”, (Orsini: ¶630), “the sender will encrypt the session key with the public key of the receiver”, (Orsini: ¶189), “one or more keys (e.g., encryption key, split key, or authentication key) are stored on the USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶565). The citations indicate a system with a virtual machine that can generate a cryptographic data item which in this case is the session key in ¶189 based on the public key of the receiver which may be a peripheral device connected via “…a peripheral device interface such as a USB port, a SCSI port, a Firewire port, a Thunderbolt port…”, (Orsini: ¶630), the reference also discloses storing “one or more keys (e.g., encryption key, split key, or authentication key) are stored on the USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶565) in which the session key may be stored as encrypted session key “The encrypted session key will be attached to the synchronously encrypted message and both data are sent to the receiver”, (Orsini: ¶189). Therefore Orsini fully teaches the limitation of “generating, by a virtualized computing system, a cryptographic data item based on at least a public cryptographic key associated with a peripheral device connected to the virtualized computing system”, thus the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is upheld.
Applicant argues: “Applicant's claim 1 further recites "transmitting, by the virtualized computing system, the cryptographic data item to the peripheral device;". The Patent Office asserts these features are disclosed by paragraphs [0131], [0301], [0424], [0497], and [1055] of Orsini (Office Action, pg. 4-5). Applicant respectfully disagrees. Orsini discloses storing keys in a portable device or non-portable key storage peripherals, and communications including the transmission of sensitive data to data storage facilities (Orsini, paras. [0131], [0497]). Orsini also discloses scattering and storing encrypted portions to a named device or removable storage device, and physical transportation of data on USB drives (Orsini, paras. [0301], [0424], [1055]). Thus, Orsini discloses transmitting sensitive data and storing keys and encrypted portions on removable storage devices. The Patent Office explains "writes encrypted data onto removable storage devices like USB drives which have a region of usable memory and are a peripheral device." However, Applicant notes that the referenced limitation does not recite writing encrypted data to a removable storage device. Rather, the referenced limitation recites "transmitting, by the virtualized computing system, the cryptographic data item to the peripheral device." As discussed above, the "cryptographic data item" was generated based on "a public cryptographic key associated with a peripheral device." There is no such "cryptographic data item" in Orsini. To reiterate, Orsini does not disclose generating the recited "cryptographic data item." Because Orsini does not disclose generating the "cryptographic data item," Orsini cannot disclose "transmitting the cryptographic data item to the peripheral device." Moreover, Applicant submits that "writ[ing] encrypted data onto removable storage devices like USB drives which have a region of usable memory and are a peripheral device" fails to teach or suggest transmitting a cryptographic data item that was generated based on a public cryptographic key associated with the peripheral device.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Orsini recites: “The encrypted session key will be attached to the synchronously encrypted message and both data are sent to the receiver”, (Orsini: ¶189). The citations indicates that the generated session key (cryptographic data item) is sent to the receiver which may be a peripheral device connected via a peripheral device interface “such as a USB port, a SCSI port, a Firewire port, a Thunderbolt port…”, (Orsini: ¶630), the reference also discloses storing “one or more keys (e.g., encryption key, split key, or authentication key) are stored on the USB memory device 5204”, (Orsini: ¶565) which under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation discloses transmitting keys onto a peripheral USB memory device as keys are being sent to the USB device. Therefore Orsini teaches “transmitting, by the virtualized computing system, the cryptographic data item to the peripheral device;”, thus, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is upheld.
Applicant argues: “Applicant's claim 1 further recites "generating, by the virtualized computing system, a shared cryptographic key based on the generated cryptographic data item;". The Patent Office asserts these features are disclosed by the Abstract and paragraphs [0128] and [0191] of Orsini (Office Action, pg. 5). Applicant respectfully disagrees. Orsini discloses a sharable file-level key generated based on a workgroup key associated with a data file (Orsini, Abstract). Orsini discloses a cryptographic handling module that performs public-key encryption, symmetric-key encryption, or both (Orsini, para. [0128]). Orsini discloses a cryptographic engine assembling a cryptographic key and decrypting a session key therewith (Orsini, para. [0191]). Thus, Orsini discloses generating a sharable file-level key based on a workgroup key, performing encryption, and assembling a cryptographic key to decrypt a session key. However, Applicant notes that the referenced limitation recites "generating, by the virtualized computing system, a shared cryptographic key based on the generated cryptographic data item." As discussed above, the "cryptographic data item" was generated "based on at least a public cryptographic key associated with a peripheral device." There is no such "cryptographic data item" in Orsini. Orsini does not disclose generating a "cryptographic data item,' nor does the Patent Office even appear to assert Orsini discloses such a "cryptographic data item. Because Orsini does not disclose generating such a "cryptographic data item," Orsini cannot disclose "generating a shared cryptographic key based on the generated cryptographic data item." Moreover, Applicant submits that generating a file-level key based on a workgroup key or assembling a cryptographic key to decrypt a session key fails to teach or suggest "generating a shared cryptographic key based on the generated cryptographic data item."
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Orsini recites: “in symmetric key cryptographic systems, or systems where the sender and receiver of a message share a single common key that is used to encrypt and decrypt a message, the mathematical operations are significantly simpler and faster. Thus, in the conventional PKI technologies, the sender of a message will generate synchronous session key, and encrypt the message using the simpler, faster symmetric key system. Then, the sender will encrypt the session key with the public key of the receiver. The encrypted session key will be attached to the synchronously encrypted message and both data are sent to the receiver. The receiver uses his or her private key to decrypt the session key, and then uses the session key to decrypt the message”, (Orsini: ¶189). The citations indicate an encrypted session key that is used by both sender and receiver to encrypt and decrypt messages by first decrypting the encrypted session key to get the session key used to decrypt the message. This encrypted session key is the shared cryptographic key since its used by both sender and receiver. The session key was the generated cryptographic data item. Therefore Orsini teaches the limitation of “generating, by the virtualized computing system, a shared cryptographic key based on the generated cryptographic data item;”, thus the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is upheld.
Applicant argues: “Applicant's claim 1 further recites: "performing, by the virtualized computing system, one or more memory access operations to access data at a region of memory associated with the peripheral device using the shared cryptographic key." The Patent Office asserts these features are disclosed by paragraphs [0563], [0565], and [0572] of Orsini (Office Action, pg. 5-6). Applicant respectfully disagrees. Paragraphs [0563], [0565], and [0572] of Orsini collectively disclose a computing device accessing keys and data shares stored on a USB memory device, and processors accessing data in memory and mass storage devices. However, Applicant notes that the referenced limitation recites "performing, by the virtualized computing system, one or more memory access operations to access data at a region of memory associated with the peripheral device using the shared cryptographic key." As discussed above, the "shared cryptographic key" was generated based on the "cryptographic data item." There is no such "cryptographic data item" in Orsini. Because Orsini does not disclose generating the "cryptographic data item," Orsini cannot disclose generating the "shared cryptographic key." Because Orsini does not disclose the "shared cryptographic key," Orsini fails to disclose "performing, by the virtualized computing system, one or more memory access operations to access data at a region of memory associated with the peripheral device using the shared cryptographic key." Moreover, Applicant submits that a computing device accessing files or keys stored on a USB memory device fails to teach or suggest "performing the memory access operations" using a "shared cryptographic key" that was generated based on a "cryptographic data item" generated based on at least a "public cryptographic key associated with a peripheral device."”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Orsini recites: “the data storage facilities D1 through D4 may include the transmission of sensitive data to be stored”, (Orsini: ¶131), “Returning to the decryption process 1200, after the user has been authenticated in step 1205, the authentication engine 215 forwards the encrypted session key to the cryptographic engine 220. In step 1210, the authentication engine 215 forwards a request to each of the data storage facilities, D1 through D4, requesting the cryptographic key data of the user”, (Orsini: ¶190). The citations indicate that the encrypted session key which is the shared cryptographic key being used to decrypt data at data storage facilities D1-D4 which store sensitive data that is to be transmitted. As such the encrypted session key is being used to access the memory regions D1-D4 which are associated with the peripheral receiver to which they will transmit to. Therefore, Orsini teaches “performing, by the virtualized computing system, one or more memory access operations to access data at a region of memory associated with the peripheral device using the shared cryptographic key” thus the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is upheld.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2197
/BRADLEY A TEETS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2197