DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11, 18, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rich (U.S. Patent No. 10,914,148).
Regarding claim 1, Rich discloses a check valve (Figs. 1-11b) comprising a valve housing (Fig. 4) having a first port (cited below) and a second port (cited below) connected to a valve chamber (104), a valve seat (105) having a valve seat axis (Fig. 4) and being arranged between the first port (cited below) and the valve chamber (104), and a valve element (103) movably arranged (Fig. 4) within the valve chamber (104) between the valve seat (105) and a stop face (102 or 300) opposite the valve seat (105), wherein the valve housing (Fig. 4) comprises a first part (cited below) having the first port (cited below) and a second part (cited below) having the second port (cited below) and being connected to the first part (Fig. 4), wherein the second port (cited below) opens into the stop face (102) by means of an array of holes (101 or 301) and wherein the array of holes (101) is located (Fig. 4) between the second port (cited below) and the stop face (102), wherein a cross-sectional area (Figs. 4 & 7) of the array of holes (101) is larger (Fig. 4) than the largest cross section (Fig. 4) of the valve element (103), wherein the cross-sectional area (Figs. 4 & 7) of the array of holes (101) is larger than a cross section (Fig. 4) of the second port (cited below), and wherein the array of holes (101) is formed in the second part (cited below), wherein the valve seat (105) is formed in the first part (cited below), but lacks disclosure wherein only a single connection between the components is necessary to form the valve housing and to fluidly connect the first port to the second port.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve housing to only have a single threaded connection instead of the two threaded connections by forming the cited second part into a single article, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding claim 3, Rich discloses the check valve (Figs. 1-11b), wherein the valve element (103) is movable perpendicular to the valve seat axis (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Rich discloses the check valve (Figs. 1-11b), wherein the stop face (300) is a plane face (Fig. 7, Column 4 lines 39-47).
Regarding claim 5, Rich discloses the check valve (Figs. 1-11b), wherein the stop face (102) is in form of a bowl (Fig. 4, Column 4 lines 23-38).
Regarding claim 6, Rich discloses the check valve (Figs. 1-11b), wherein the stop face (102) is part of an end face (Fig. 4) of the second part (cited above).
Regarding claim 7, Rich discloses the essential features of the claimed invention but lack disclosure wherein the holes cover at least 60% of the stop face.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the holes to cover at least 60% of the stop face of Rich, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentable distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the stop face of Rich could potentially already have 60% covered by the holes and would not operate differently with the claimed holes dimensions since the holes of the stop face of Rich function in a similar manner as the inventor’s disclosed holes to enable fluid flow past the ball. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A): Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
Regarding claim 8, Rich discloses the check valve (Figs. 1-11b), wherein at least some of the holes (301) are arranged on a circle (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Rich discloses the check valve (Figs. 1-11b), wherein the circle (Fig. 7) has a center (Figs. 4 & 7) that coincides with the valve seat axis (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Rich discloses the check valve (Figs. 1-11b), wherein the valve element (103) is in form of a ball (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Rich discloses the check valve (Figs. 1-11b), wherein the stop face (300) is a plane face (Fig. 7, Column 4 lines 39-47).
Regarding claim 20, Rich discloses the check valve (Figs. 1-11b), wherein the stop face (102) is in form of a bowl (Fig. 4, Column 4 lines 23-38).
Regarding claim 21, Rich discloses the check valve (Figs. 1-11b), wherein the holes (101 or 301) are formed as cylindrical bores (Figs. 4 & 7) having a diameter (Fig. 4) which is smaller than the largest cross section (Fig. 4) of the valve element (103).
Regarding claim 22, Rich discloses a check valve (Figs. 1-11b) for a hydraulic Gerotor or Geroler machine (intended use), the check valve comprising a valve housing (Fig. 4) having a first port (cited above) and a second port (cited above) connected to a valve chamber (104), a valve seat (105) having a valve seat axis (Fig. 4) and being arranged between the first port (cited above) and the valve chamber (104), and a valve element (103) movably arranged within the valve chamber (104) between the valve seat (105) and a stop face (102 or 300) opposite (Fig. 4) the valve seat (105), wherein the valve housing (Fig. 4) comprises a first part (cited above) having the first port (cited above) and a second part (cited above) having the second port (cited above) and being connected (Fig. 4) to the first part (cited above), wherein the second port (cited above) opens into the stop face (102) by means of an array of holes (101 or 301), wherein the stop face (102) is part of an end face (Fig. 4) of the second part (cited above), wherein the end face (Fig. 4) of the second part (cited above) is the face which contacts the first part (cited above) of the valve housing (Fig. 4) and wherein the holes (101 or 301) are machined into the stop face (102 or 300), wherein the valve element (103) is in the form of a ball (Fig. 4) so that a diameter (Fig. 4) of the valve element (103) defines the cross section area of the valve element (103) and wherein the holes (101 or 301) are in the form of cylinder bores (Fig. 7) having a diameter (Figs. 4 & 7) which is smaller than the diameter (Fig. 4) of the ball-shaped valve element (103), wherein the holes (101) at least partly overlap the cross section (Fig. 4) of the second port (cited above), wherein the check valve consists of only three parts: the first part (cited above), the second part (cited above), and the valve element (103), wherein the array (101 or 301) covers an area which is larger than a cross section (Fig. 4) of the second port (cited above), and wherein the valve element (103) is not guided within the valve chamber (104) and is movable perpendicular to the valve seat axis (Fig. 4), but lacks disclosure wherein only a single connection between components is necessary to form the valve housing and to fluidly connect the first port to the second port.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve housing to only have a single threaded connection instead of the two threaded connections by forming the cited second part into a single article, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rich (U.S. Patent No. 10,914,148) in view of Harris (U.S. Patent No. 3,970,106).
Regarding claim 12, Rich discloses the check valve (Figs. 1-11b), wherein a sealing (inherent sealed connection to enable proper function) is arranged between the first part (cited above) and the second part (cited above), but lacks detailed disclose of the sealing between the first part and the second part.
Harris teaches a check valve (Figs. 1-6) having a first part (14) and second part (36) connected to form a valve housing, and a sealing (52) arranged between the first (14) and the second part (36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve of Rich, with a sealing as taught by Harris, for the advantage of sealing between the parts and preventing any leakage (Column 3 lines32-42).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roos (Pub. No. US 2020/0340462) in view of Rich (U.S. Patent No. 10,914,148).
Regarding claim 13, Roos discloses a hydraulic gerotor or geroler machine (paragraph 31), comprising a check valve (12) but lacks disclosure of the check valve of claim 1.
Rich teaches the check valve of claim 1 as rejected above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve of Roos with a check valve as taught by Rich since they are considered art recognized equivalents in the art of check valves, that perform the same function of enabling fluid in a single direction, and for providing the advantage of compensating for uneven fluid pressure and allowing fluids to be evenly applied around the ball (Column 4 lines 23-47).
Regarding claim 14, Roos discloses the hydraulic gerotor or geroler machine (Figs. 1-4) wherein the machine comprises a machine housing (5, 6, 7, and 8), wherein a part (5) of the machine housing (Fig. 1) forms a part (5) of the valve housing (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Roos discloses the hydraulic gerotor or geroler machine (Figs. 1-4) wherein the part (5) of the machine housing (Fig. 1) forms the first part of the valve housing (Fig. 4).
Conclusion
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753