DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Response filed 01/02/2026 for 18499147. Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 10, 14, 16-17, 19, and 21-26 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive in view of the newly cited Champion reference being applied in the new ground of rejection.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., where a user "understand[s] the specific shape of the selected three-dimensional model corresponding to the selected two-dimensional thumbnail", "conduct[s] a three-dimensional preview in real time", "more conveniently know which specific three-dimensional model the selected two-dimensional thumbnail corresponds to"; and only loading the sub three-dimensional model when the user selects a certain model [pgs. 12:2-13:1]) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claims 10 and 19 recite limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Dependent claims 5, 7-8, 14, 16-17, and 21-26 remain rejected based on their dependence from independent claims 1, 10, and 19.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference character step 103 [Specification, para 0067].
The drawings are objected to because paragraph 0090 states "a selected three-dimensional model 302 may be displayed at a first end 3011 of a movable predefined three-dimensional object 301, and a model bounding box may be displayed around the periphery of the three-dimensional model" while Figure 3 appears to show a bounding box displayed around a three-dimensional model labeled with reference character 301 and an end 3011 of a movable predefined three-dimensional object with reference character 302.
Additionally, the drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "displaying a display object corresponding to a selected two-dimensional thumbnail; wherein the display object is a sub three-dimensional model" (claims 1, 10, 19) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 10, 14, 16, 19, 21, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Champion et al. (US 20180143757 A1).
As to claim 1, Champion discloses a display method, comprising:
displaying a two-dimensional thumbnail corresponding to a three-dimensional model on a human-computer interaction interface [Figs. 7A-7B, para 0122-0124, 0133-0135, display flat 3D object (read: two-dimensional thumbnail) referencing 3D object model on 2D webpage (read: human-computer interaction interface)]; and
in response to detecting a select operation on the two-dimensional thumbnail, displaying a display object corresponding to a selected two-dimensional thumbnail [Fig. 7B, para 0124-0125, 0133-0135, 0139-0140, display object pulled from flat 3D object (read: selected two-dimensional thumbnail) selected by user interface device];
wherein the display object is a sub three-dimensional model, wherein the sub three-dimensional model indicates a selected three-dimensional model [para 0133-0135, display pulled object as thumbnail (read: sub) of invoked 3D model],
wherein the selected three-dimensional model corresponds to the selected two-dimensional thumbnail [para 0133-0134, rendered 3D model invoked by selecting flat 3D object on 2D webpage],
wherein the human-computer interaction interface is displayed in a target virtual space [Figs. 7A-7C, para 0122-0126, display window including webpage in 3D workspace (read: target virtual space)],
wherein the target virtual space further displays a movable predefined three-dimensional object [Figs. 7B-7D, para 0124-0125, workspace displays beam (read: movable predefined three-dimensional object) manipulated by user input device],
wherein the movable predefined three-dimensional object is configured to move the selected three-dimensional model according to a move operation [Figs. 7B-7D, para 0124-0125, user input device manipulates beam to drag rendered 3D model], and
wherein the method further comprises: in response to detecting a select instruction for the selected two-dimensional thumbnail, displaying the selected three-dimensional model at a first end of the movable predefined three-dimensional object [Figs. 7B-7D, para 0124-0125, 0133-0134, 0139-0141, user input device drags rendered 3D model at end of beam after selecting flat 3D object].
As to claim 5, Champion discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: when the selected two-dimensional thumbnail is displayed, the selected two-dimensional thumbnail is parallel to the human-computer interaction interface [Fig. 7B, para 0124, 0133, selected 3D object displayed flat on (read: parallel) 2D website].
As to claim 7, Champion discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the selected two-dimensional thumbnail is coplanar with a center of a solid frame [Fig. 7B, para 0123-0124, 0133, selected 3D object displayed flat on (read: coplanar) 2D webpage displayed in window, note solid frame of window as shown in Figure 7B].
As to claim 10, Champion discloses an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory, configured to store one or more programs, wherein, when the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors [Fig. 4, para 0092, system includes processor executing program instructions stored on memory] to: perform limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
As to claims 14, 16, and 24, Champion discloses the electronic device of claim 10 comprising limitations substantially similar to those recited in claims 5, 7, and 21, respectively, and are rejected under similar rationale.
As to claim 19, Champion discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, with a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, causes the processor [Fig. 4, para 0092, memory stores program instructions executed by system processor] to: perform limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
As to claim 21, Champion discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the display object comprises the selected two-dimensional thumbnail [para 0123, 0133-0135, display object copies flat 3D content], and
wherein displaying the display object corresponding to the selected two-dimensional thumbnail comprises: moving the selected two-dimensional thumbnail from an original position in a predefined manner [para 0123, 0133-0135, display object pulled (read: predefined manner) from original zone placement of 3D object flat on 2D webpage].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 17, 22-23, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champion as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Owen et al. (US 20230350539 A1).
As to claim 8, Champion discloses the method of claim 1
wherein the selected three-dimensional model corresponds to a bounding box [para 0133-0134, selected 3D model includes bounding box], and
wherein the method further comprises: … a first shape information of the bounding box corresponding to the selected three-dimensional model … [para 0133-0134, selected 3D model includes dimensions of bounding box],
wherein the selected two-dimensional thumbnail corresponds to the selected three-dimensional model [para 0133-0134, selected flat 3D object on 2D webpage invokes rendered 3D model].
However, Champion does not specifically disclose wherein the method further comprises: based on a first shape information of the bounding box corresponding to the selected three-dimensional model, determining a second shape information of a solid frame.
Owen discloses wherein the method further comprises: based on a first shape information of the bounding box corresponding to the selected three-dimensional model, determining a second shape information of a solid frame [Figs. 7C-7D, para 0128-0129, 0158, 0170, generate effect (read: second shape information, note shadow forms solid frame as shown in Figures 7D) of shadow cast by rectangular prism (read: bounding box) of three-dimensional representation (read: selected three-dimensional model)].
Champion and Owen are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of virtual reality user interface systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first shape information of the bounding box corresponding to the selected three-dimensional mode as disclosed by Champion with determining a second shape information of a solid frame based on first shape information of a bounding box as disclosed by Owen with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Champion as described above to increase realism of a three-dimensional environment [Owen, para 0170].
As to claim 22, Champion discloses the method of claim 21, wherein moving the selected two-dimensional thumbnail from the original position in the predefined manner comprises:
moving the selected two-dimensional thumbnail from the original position along a direction … of the human-computer interaction interface [para 0123, 0133-0135, display object pulled from (read: direction) original zone placement of 3D object flat on 2D webpage].
However, Champion does not specifically disclose a direction indicated by a first normal vector, wherein the first normal vector is a normal vector of the human-computer interaction interface.
Owen discloses a direction indicated by a first normal vector, wherein the first normal vector is a normal vector of the human-computer interaction interface [Figs. 7A, 7C-7D, para 0110, 0127-0128, move content away from user interface at depth dimension orthogonal (read: normal vector) to user interface].
Champion and Owen are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of virtual reality user interface systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify moving the selected two-dimensional thumbnail along a direction as disclosed by Champion with a direction indicated by a first normal vector of a human-computer interaction interface as disclosed by Owen with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Champion as described above to reduce computation resources needed for displaying user interface objects [Owen, para 0166].
As to claim 23, Champion discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a solid frame at a display position of the selected two-dimensional thumbnail [Fig. 7B, para 0123-0124, 0133, flat 3D object on 2D webpage displayed in window, note solid frame of window as shown in Figure 7B]; and
displaying the display object corresponding to the selected two-dimensional thumbnail … [Fig. 7B, para 0124-0125, 0133-0135, 0139-0140, display object pulled from selected flat 3D object].
However, Champion does not specifically disclose displaying the display object corresponding to the selected two-dimensional thumbnail within the solid frame.
Owen discloses displaying the display object corresponding to the selected two-dimensional thumbnail within the solid frame [Figs. 7A, 7C-7D, para 0127-0128, 0158, display selected two-dimensional representation (read: thumbnail) within rectangular prism of three-dimensional representation].
Champion and Owen are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of virtual reality user interface systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify displaying the display object as disclosed by Champion with displaying an object within a solid frame as disclosed by Owen with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Champion as described above to reduce computation resources needed for displaying user interface objects and avoid obstruction of displayed content [Owen, para 0166].
As to claims 17, 25, and 26, Champion and Owen, combined at least for the reasons above, discloses the electronic device of claim 10 comprising limitations substantially similar to those recited in claims 8, 22, and 23, respectively, and are rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Champion et al. (US 20180144556 A1) generally discloses displaying human-computer interaction interfaces in target virtual spaces and 3D models represented by 2D objects.
Hori et al. (US 20220114367 A1) generally teaches transitioning two-dimensional menu icons to three-dimensional objects.
/LINDA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172