Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 104115419-IDS; US 2013/0155847), hereinafter referred to as Li, in view of Hunukumbure et al. (US 2020/0322953), hereinafter referred to as Hunukumbure.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches that in operation 803-fig.8, the BS or the network sends information of the network topology to the MS, including cell IDs, cell sites, and backhaul types (wireless or wired, and if wireless then the number of hops in the backhaul from the BS to the network), of the neighboring cells, etc…, see 0046, 0085, 0111, 0113 (equivalent to receiving a first message from a network node at a current cell, …with backhaul link of the current cell and/or a backhaul link of a neighbor cell of current cell); the cell selection may also include consideration of the factor of the cell load, whether the cell has a wireless backhaul, see 0123 (equivalent to performing cell selection based on the first message).
Li, however, fails to teach the first message is configured to indicate whether a Non Terrestrial Network (NTN) exits in a backhaul link.
Hunukumbure teaches a telecommunication network employing Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) and/or Non Terrestrial Networks (NTN). The BSs 10/20/30-fig.1&2 each includes a backhaul communication interface, and may transmit and receive wireless signals with the terminal 50-fig.1 in mmWave bands, see 0030, 0033, 0035 and 0040; wherein the base station is operated in at least one of NTN, IAB network, or a combination, see claim 22. The cell selection may also include consideration of the factor of the cell load, whether the cell has a wireless backhaul, see 0123 (equivalent to performing cell selection based on the first message). Consequently, the terminal 50-fig.1 can be configured to receive a message from an NTN and backhaul link from BS 20/30-fig.1 via the BS 10. Thus, applying the teaching of Hunukumbure into the system of Li would yield the claimed step.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Hunukumbure
into the system of Li. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide backhaul functionality to connect wireless communication between a UE and a base station to a core network in association with large coverage footprint for an NTN based cell (from e.g. a satellite, airship, ballon or drone).
Regarding claim 12, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected under Li-Hunukumbure for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1. In Li, the terminal includes a computer program stored in a memory, and executed by a processor (not shown) to implement the claimed steps.
7. Claims 2-4,13-14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Hunukumbure, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0038981), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 2, Li and Hunukumbure disclose all claimed limitations, except determining that the current cell is a non-camping cell in response to the NTN existing in the backhaul link; and determining that the current cell is a camping cell in response to no NTN existing in the backhaul link.
Kim discloses: (1) when a wireless device on an unlicensed frequency needs to establish a connection for a delay-sensitive service, the wireless device may move to licensed frequency as soon as receiving a paging message, see 0012; (2) as the UE 1-fig.8 camping on cell 1 at step 801 (current cell), requests a delay-sensitive service, and receives a paging message that the service is not suitable for unlicensed frequency at step 803, the UE reselects cell 2 on licensed frequency at step 806-fig.8, see 0166. In other words, when the UE requests a sensitive-delay service, while operating on an unlicensed frequency and camping on current cell 1-fig.8, in response to the NTN existing in the backhaul link in the combined system of Li-Hunukumbure, the UE
determines the current cell 1 is a non-camping cell, and the UE may move to licensed frequency of cell2-fig.8, and camp on the second cell (equivalent to determining that the current cell is a non-camping cell in response to the NTN existing in the backhaul link); and when the UE does not request a delay-sensitive service, the current cell 1-fig.8 on licensed frequency is the camping cell, in response to the NTN existing in the backhaul link in the combined system of Li-Hunukumbure (equivalent to determining that the current cell is a camping cell in response to the NTN existing in the backhaul link).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Kim into the combined system of Li-Hunukumbure. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to establish connection for a delay-sensitive service and to provide backhaul functionality to connect wireless communication between a UE and a base station to a core network in association with large coverage footprint for an NTN based cell (from e.g. a satellite, airship, ballon or drone).
Regarding claim 3, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected under Li-Hunukumbure-Kim for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 2. In Kim, the UE, e.g., the UE1-fig.8 performs cell selection of cell 2-fig.8 when requesting delay-sensitive service, and the UE1-fig.8 camps on current cell1-fig.1 when not to request delay-sensitive service. In other words, delay-sensitive is a characteristic of the UE1-fig.8.
Regarding claim 4, this claim has similar limitations as those of claims 2&3. Therefore, it is rejected under Li-Hunukumbure-Kim for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 2&3.
Regarding claim 13, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected under Li-Hunukumbure-Kim for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 3. Therefore, it is rejected under Li-Hunukumbure-Kim for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, this claim has similar limitations as those of claims 13&14. Therefore, it is rejected under Li-Hunukumbure-Kim for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 13&14.
8. Claims 5-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Hunukumbure, and further in view of Hole (US 2010/0279693).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches that in operation 803-fig.8, the BS or the network sends information of the network topology to the MS, including cell IDs, cell sites, and backhaul types (wireless or wired, and if wireless then the number of hops in the backhaul from the BS to the network), of the neighboring cells, etc…, see 0046, 0085, 0111, 0113 (equivalent to receiving a second message from a network node at a current cell, …with backhaul link of the current cell).
Li, however, fails to teach the first message is configured to indicate whether a Non Terrestrial Network (NTN) exits in a backhaul link.
Hunukumbure teaches a telecommunication network employing Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) and/or Non Terrestrial Networks (NTN). The BSs 10/20/30-fig.1&2 each includes a backhaul communication interface, and may transmit and receive wireless signals with the terminal 50-fig.1 in mmWave bands, see 0030, 0033, 0035 and 0040; wherein the base station is operated in at least one of NTN, IAB network, or a combination, see claim 22. Consequently, the terminal 50-fig.1 can be configured to receive a message from an NTN and backhaul link from BS 20/30-fig.1 via BS 10. Thus, applying the teaching of Hunukumbure into the system of Li would yield the claimed step.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Hunukumbure
into the system of Li. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide backhaul functionality to connect wireless communication between a UE and a base station to a core network in association with large coverage footprint for an NTN based cell (from e.g. a satellite, airship, ballon or drone).
The combined system of Li-Hunukumbure, however, fails to teach performing a cell reselection based on the second message.
Hole discloses determining candidate cells from a set of remaining neighbor cells and/or the neighbor cell to select strongest remaining neighbor cell to be a candidate cell for reselection, see 0047, 0049 and figure 4.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Hole into the combined system of Li-Hunukumbure. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable the UE to process both neighbor cell lists and signal strength metrics during cell reselection, with respect to backhaul functionality to connect wireless communication between a UE and a base station to a core network in association with large coverage footprint for an NTN based cell.
Regarding claim 6, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected under Li-Hunukumbure-Hole for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 5. Hole discloses the mobile station 105-fig.1 selects the neighbor cell having the strongest measured signal strength to be a candidate cell for reselection, see 0046-0047 and 0049.
9. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Hunukumbure and Hole, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0038981), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 10, Li, Hunukumbure and Hole disclose all claimed limitations, except determining device characteristic of an electronic device [in response to the second message indicating that a backhaul link of the candidate cell exits the NTN].
Kim teaches the UE, e.g., the UE1-fig.8 performs cell selection of cell 2-fig.8 when requesting delay-sensitive service, and the UE1-fig.8 camps on current cell1-fig.1 when not to request delay-sensitive service. In other words, delay-sensitive is a characteristic of the UE1-fig.8.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Kim into the combined system of Li-Hunukumbure-Hole. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to establish connection for a delay-sensitive service and to provide backhaul functionality via wireless communication between a UE and a base station to a core network in association with large coverage footprint for an NTN based cell (from e.g. a satellite, airship, ballon or drone).
10. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Hunukumbure, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Hole (US 2010/0279693).
Regarding claim 16, Li and Hunukumbure disclose all claimed limitations, except
determining candidate cells from the current cell and/or the neighbor cell of the current cell to obtain a candidate cell set; and performing the cell reselection for a candidate cell in the candidate cell set based on the second message.
Hole discloses determining candidate cells from a set of remaining neighbor cells and/or the neighbor cell to select strongest remaining neighbor cell to be a candidate cell for reselection, see 0046-0047, 0049 and figure 4.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Hole into the combined system of Li-Hunukumbure. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable the UE to process both neighbor cell lists and signal strength metrics during cell reselection, with respect to backhaul functionality to connect wireless communication between a UE and a base station to a core network in association with large coverage footprint for an NTN based cell.
11. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Hunukumbure and Hole, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Johansson et al. (US 2013/0286865), hereinafter referred to as Johansson.
Regarding claim 18, Li, Hunukumbure and Hole disclose all claimed limitations, except determining a candidate cell having a backhaul link with shortest delay.
Johansson teaches that, in order to appropriately transmit data to a user equipment 130-fig,3 over a set of radio links from the controlling network node 140, the controlling network node 140-fig.3 comprises a processing circuit 620, configured for measuring the time delay over the corresponding backhaul link 118, 128 for each radio link 115, 125 in the set. The processing circuit 620-fig.6 is also configured for determining a time difference between the shortest time delay and the longest time delay. In addition, the processing circuit 620 is further configured for calculating a buffer time for each radio link 115, 125 in the set, based on the determined time difference and the measured time delay, see 0117.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Johansson into the combined system of Li-Hunukumbure-Hole. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to prevent a base station from having degraded service quality, larger buffer requirements and decreased node capacity.
12. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Hunukumbure and Hole, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 20, Li, Hunukumbure and Hole disclose all claimed limitations, except determining device characteristic of an electronic device [in response to the second message indicating that a backhaul link of the candidate cell exits the NTN]
Kim discloses the UE, e.g., the UE1-fig.8 performs cell selection of cell 2-fig.8 when requesting delay-sensitive service, and the UE1-fig.8 camps on current cell1-fig.1 when not to request delay-sensitive service. In other words, delay-sensitive is a characteristic of the UE1-fig.8.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Kim into the combined system of Li-Hunukumbure-Hole. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to establish connection for a delay-sensitive service and to provide backhaul functionality to connect a candidate cell with a strongest signal of the UE to a base station to a core network in association with large coverage footprint for an NTN based cell (from e.g. a satellite, airship, ballon or drone).
Allowable subject matter
13. Claims 7-9, 11, 17 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to and to include all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fu et al. (US 2022/0256424); Ananth et al. (US 2021/0084565) are cited, and considered pertinent to the instant specification.
/DUC C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465