DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 July 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in Remark, page 10, that “YU does not disclose at least
“transmit[ting] a second communication in the COT of the transmitting UE, wherein a cast type or a channel type of the second communication is identified based at least in part on at least one of the cast type or the channel type of the first communication.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s argument because YU
et al. indeed teaches and render obvious the arguable feature.
YU et al. teaches the UE 310-2 receive, from a transmitting UE (310-1) a first communication (see 4030, figure 4) associated with a channel occupancy time (COT) of the transmitting UE (sharing COT); and
transmit a second communication in the COT of the transmitting UE (Figure 4 shows terminal device 310-2 allowed to transmit a second communication continuously on the shared Channel Occupancy Time (COT) duration via the determined cast type and after it has successfully performed an LBT check and acquired the channel.).
Further, YU et al. teaches, see figure 6, the first device 310-1 determines one or more second devices (310-2) to share a channel occupancy time. The first device 310-1 communicates with the second device 310-2 over sidelink in a unicast, groupcast, or broadcast transmission. The sidelink transmission may be unicast, groupcast, multicast or broadcast.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the terminal device 310-1 to transmit information indicating the shared Channel Occupancy Time (COT) includes information whether the transmission is unicast, groupcast or broadcast.
Figure 5 of the application illustrates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU et al. (US 2024/0306198 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 19, 29 and 30, YU et al. discloses a receiving user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors, coupled to one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to:
receive, from a transmitting UE, a first communication associated with a channel occupancy time (COT) of the transmitting UE and at least one of a cast type or ([0068]: “The terminal device 310-1 transmits 4030 information to the terminal device 310-2. The information indicates the COT to be shared by the first device (i.e., the initiating device...the COT sharing scope can be indicated using corresponding SL cast type.”); and
transmit a second communication in the COT of the transmitting UE based at least in part on at least one of the cast type ([0067]: “the terminal device 310-1 may determine the one or more second/responding devices based on a logical relationship with the terminal device 310-1 may include (be given by), for example, whether the one or more second/responding devices communicate with the terminal 310-1 over sidelink in a unicast, groupcast, or broadcast sidelink communication or not;”);
[0068]: “In some embodiments, if the terminal device 310-1 determines to share the COT to all SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information can be transmitted via SL broadcast. Alternatively, or in addition, if the terminal device 310-1 determines to share the COT to the targeted SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information may be transmitted via SL groupcast or SL unicast.”). See figure 4.
Figure 4 illustrates terminal device 310-2 allowed to transmit a second communication continuously on the shared Channel Occupancy Time (COT) duration via the determined cast type and after it has successfully performed an LBT check and acquired the channel.
YU et al. further teaches, see figure 6, the first device 310-1 determines one or more second devices to share a channel occupancy time. The second device(s) communicate with the terminal device 310-1 over sidelink in a unicast, groupcast, or broadcast sidelink. The sidelink transmission may be unicast, groupcast, multicast or broadcast.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the terminal device 310-1 to transmit information indicating the shared Channel Occupancy Time (COT) includes information whether the transmission is unicast, groupcast or broadcast.
Regarding claims 2 and 20, YU et al. teaches wherein the second communication is associated with a same cast type as the first communication.
([0068]: “if the terminal device 310-1 determines to share the COT to all SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information can be transmitted via SL broadcast. Alternatively, or in addition, if the terminal device 310-1 determines to share the COT to the targeted SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information may be transmitted via SL groupcast or SL unicast. For example, if the COT is shared to a group of SL-U UEs, the information can be transmitted via the SL groupcast. Alternatively, if the COT is shared to one specific SL-U UE, the terminal device 310-1 may transmit the information via the SL unicast.”).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, YU et al. teaches wherein the first communication has a groupcast cast type, and wherein the second communication has a unicast cast type or the group cast type based at least in part on the first communication having the groupcast cast type. ([0068]: “if the terminal device 310-1 determines to share the COT to the targeted SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information may be transmitted via SL groupcast or SL unicast. For example, if the COT is shared to a group of SL-U UEs, the information can be transmitted via the SL groupcast.”).
Regarding claims 4 and 22, YU et al. teaches wherein the first communication has a unicast cast type, and wherein the second communication has the unicast cast type based at least in part on the first communication having the unicast cast type. ([0068]: “if the terminal device 310-1 determines to share the COT to the targeted SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information may be transmitted via SL groupcast or SL unicast. ([0068]: “Alternatively, if the COT is shared to one specific SL-U UE, the terminal device 310-1 may transmit the information via the SL unicast.”)
Regarding claims 5 and 23, YU et al. teaches wherein the first communication has a broadcast cast type, and wherein the second communication has a unicast cast type or a groupcast cast type based at least in part on the first communication having the broadcast cast type. ([0068]: “if the terminal device 310-1 determines to share the COT to all SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information can be transmitted via SL broadcast.”).
Regarding claims 6, 7, 24 and 26, YU et al. teaches wherein the second communication has a groupcast cast type and is directed to a UE group including the transmitting UE. ([0068]: “if the COT is shared to a group of SL-U UEs, the information can be transmitted via the SL groupcast.”)
Regarding claims 7 and 26, YU et al. teaches wherein the first communication is also directed to the UE group including the transmitted UE, and wherein the UE group includes the receiving UE. ([0068]: “if the COT is shared to a group of SL-U UEs, the information can be transmitted via the SL groupcast.”)
Regarding claims 8 and 25, YU et al. teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to receive a configuration indicating one or more permitted cast types for the second communication, wherein the one or more permitted cast types are based at least in part on the cast type associated with the first communication.
([0068]: “if the terminal device 310-1 determines to share the COT to all SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information can be transmitted via SL broadcast. Alternatively, or in addition, if the terminal device 310-1 determines to share the COT to the targeted SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information may be transmitted via SL groupcast or SL unicast. For example, if the COT is shared to a group of SL-U UEs, the information can be transmitted via the SL groupcast. Alternatively, if the COT is shared to one specific SL-U UE, the terminal device 310-1 may transmit the information via the SL unicast.”).
Regarding claims 9 and 27, YU et al. teaches wherein the first communication indicates one or more permitted cast types for the second communication.
([0088]: “the terminal device 310-2 receives, from a first device, information indicating channel occupancy time to be shared by the first device and the second device. The information can be transmitted via one of: SL broadcast, SL groupcast, or SL unicast.”)
Regarding claims 10 and 28, YU et al. teaches wherein a COT sharing indicating of the first communication indicates the one or more permitted cast types.
([0068]: “if the terminal device 310-1 determines to share the COT to all SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information can be transmitted via SL broadcast. Alternatively, or in addition, if the terminal device 310-1 determines to share the COT to the targeted SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information may be transmitted via SL groupcast or SL unicast. For example, if the COT is shared to a group of SL-U UEs, the information can be transmitted via the SL groupcast. Alternatively, if the COT is shared to one specific SL-U UE, the terminal device 310-1 may transmit the information via the SL unicast.”).
Claim(s) 11 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU et al. (US 2024/0306198 A1) in view of Freda et al. (US 2024/0276549 A1).
Regarding claims 11 and 26, YU et al. teaches wherein the first communication is associated with multiple cast types including the cast type, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to select a cast type for the second communication based at least in part on the multiple cast types. ([0068]: “The terminal device 310-1 transmits 4030 information to the terminal device 310-2. The information indicates the COT to be shared by the first device (i.e., the initiating device) and the determined one or more second devices (i.e., the responding device)...the COT sharing scope can be indicated using corresponding SL cast type...if the terminal device 310-1 determines to share the COT to all SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information can be transmitted via SL broadcast. Alternatively or in addition, if the terminal device 310-1 determined to share the COT to the targeted SL-U UEs, the COT sharing information may be transmitted via SL groupcast or SL unicast. For example, if the COT is shared to a group of SL-U UEs, the information can be transmitted via the SL groupcast. Alternatively, if the COT is shared to one specific SL-U UE, the terminal device 310-1 may transmit the information via the SL unicast.”)
YU et al. teaches the first communication is associated with multiple cast types. The selection of the cast type for the second communication based on the cast type of the second terminal device.
In an alternative, Freda et al. in the same field of invention, teaches ([0005]: “The grant may be obtained from a base station. The grant may also be obtained via the first WTRU selecting a grant. The cast information may indicate a unicast type or a groupcast cast type. The information received may be the first COT information or the cast information.”); ([0230]: “A WTRU may be configured to select a CAPC based on a combination of cast type and LCH configuration.’).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Freda et al. with YU et al. so to select a cast type communication.
Claims 12-18 and 27-28 depend upon independent claims 1, 19, 29 and comprise the limitation “at least one of the cast type or
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRENDA H. PHAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412
/BRENDA H PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412