DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (JP 2021023776 A).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Surgical template)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Output axis)][AltContent: textbox (Osteotome drill sleeve central axis)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Osteotome drill sleeve)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Input axis)][AltContent: textbox (Surgical template)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (First interface surface drilled in the template that surrounds the irrigation passage and the irrigation guide)]
[AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Guide Portion)][AltContent: textbox (Guide Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Irrigation guide)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Source of irrigation fluid)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Coupling end)][AltContent: textbox (Surgical template)][AltContent: textbox (Irrigation channel)][AltContent: textbox (Second interface surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Patient's anatomy)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Guide Chamber)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Drilling area)][AltContent: textbox (Anchoring feature)][AltContent: ]
Regarding claim 15, Hayashi et al. discloses a method of providing irrigation to an osteotomy site, the method including:
providing a surgical template (2) (see annotated Fig. 1, 4-5 above) including an anchoring feature (see annotated fig. 5 above) adapted for engagement with the patient's anatomy, and a guide portion coupled to the anchoring feature and defining a guide chamber (see annotated Fig. 5 above - where the guide portion is the material of the surgical template surrounding the opening adjacent to the anchoring feature, that forms and surrounds the guide chamber);
forming an irrigation passage with a drill bit, the irrigation passage fluidly communicating with the guide chamber; forming a first interface surface with the drill bit, the first interface surface surrounding the irrigation passage (see annotated Fig. 5 above and page 4, lines 7-18)– after molding the surgical guide, a hole is drilled in the surgical guide so that a water conduit 14 is inserted into the hole so that the inner end 14A is positioned near the hole where the sleeve 3 is attached, where it opens near the lower edge 3UE of the
sleeve 3 and faces the intended drilling site AB1 where the guide chamber is located, and the other end 14B, extends outward from the surgical guide 2, therefore the internal surface of the drilled hole is first interface surface);
providing an irrigation guide (4, 14) including a second interface surface (see the external surface of the irrigation guide (4, 14) annotated in Fig. 5 above), a coupling end (see the end of the irrigation guide facing the connection with the source of irrigation supply in Fig. 5), and an irrigation channel extending between the second interface surface and the coupling end (see annotated Fig. 5 – where the irrigation channel inside the irrigation guide extending the length of the second interface surface from the guide chamber up to the coupling end);
engaging the second interface surface with the first interface surface to secure the irrigation guide to the first interface surface and to place the irrigation channel into fluid communication with the guide chamber (see annotated Fig. 5 above – where the second interface surface of the irrigation guide (4, 14) is placed inside the drilled hole in the surgical template in which includes the first interface surface, and where both surface are secured with each other, in this way providing a fluid channel from a fluid source to the guide chamber inside the surgical template); and
coupling the coupling end to a source of irrigation fluid to deliver irrigation fluid to the guide chamber via the irrigation channel (see annotated Fig. 5 above – where the coupling end is connected to an irrigation tube 5 from a pump (P), that supplies the irrigation fluid to the irrigation channel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-9, 16 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (JP 2021023776 A).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi et al. discloses a kit for providing irrigation to a dental implant surgical template (2), the surgical template (2) including a guide chamber adapted to receive a surgical drill (see annotated Fig. 1 and 4-5 above and page 2, line 17-26), the kit including:
a drill bit configured to form an irrigation passage in the surgical template that communicates with the guide chamber, and the interface profile configured to form a first interface surface on the surgical template (see annotated Fig. 5 above and page 4, lines 4-18 - where the surgical guide can be retrofitted by drilling a hole to connect the irrigation tube 5 to the surgical template); and
forming an irrigation passage with a drill bit, the irrigation passage fluidly communicating with the guide chamber; forming a first interface surface with the drill bit, the first interface surface surrounding the irrigation passage (see annotated Fig. 5 above and page 4, lines 7-18 – after molding the surgical guide, a hole drilled in the surgical guide so that the water conduit 14 in the formed of the needle is inserted into the hole so that an inner end 14A is positioned facing the guide chamber, where the sleeve 3 is attached);
an irrigation guide (a needle pressed fitting in the drilled hole at 4 in Fig. 5 and see page 4, line 15-18) including a second interface surface (see Fig. 5 - the external surface of the irrigation guide (4) /needle pressed fitted in the drilled hole), a coupling end (see annotated Fig. 5 and page 3, lines 4-12 - where the end of the irrigation guide facing the connection with the source of irrigation supply 6 is considered the coupling end), and an irrigation channel extending between the second interface surface and the coupling end (see annotated Fig. 5 – where the irrigation channel inside the irrigation guide extending the length of the second interface surface from the guide chamber up to the coupling end), wherein the second interface surface is engageable with the first interface surface to secure the irrigation guide to the first interface surface and to place the irrigation channel into fluid communication with the guide chamber (see annotated Fig. 5 above – where the second interface surface of the irrigation guide (4)/needle is placed inside the drilled hole in the surgical template in which includes the first interface surface, and where both surface are secured with each other by press-fit, in this way providing a fluid channel from a fluid source to the guide chamber inside the surgical template), and wherein the coupling end is coupleable to a source of irrigation fluid (6) for providing irrigation fluid to the irrigation channel and the guide chamber (see annotated Fig. 5 above – where a pump is used to supply the irrigation fluid through the connecting tube 5 to the irrigation guide 4 towards the guide chamber in the surgical template).
However, Hayashi et al. does not disclose that the drill bit includes a cutting tip, a shank, and an interface profile between the tip and the shank, the tip is configured to form an irrigation passage in the surgical template that communicates with the guide chamber, and the interface profile configured to form a first interface surface on the surgical template.
Even when Hayashi does not disclose that the drill bit further includes a cutting tip and a shank, and that the interface profile is between the tip and the shank configured to form the first interface surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the drill bit used to make the first interface surface of the drilled hole in the surgical template described in page 4, lines 7-18 should be provided with a cutting tip to be able to begin the initial cut through the surgical template and through the width of the surgical template portion to form the length of the first interface surface. In addition, it would be obvious that the drill bit should include a shank, in order to be able to engage it to a drilling tool so that it is capable of holding the drill bit in place with it rotates. Finally, it is obvious for a person skill in the art that the drill bit provides an interface profile between the tip and the shank due to the drilled hole in Hayashi has an internal surface in a particular shape, in which it is understood that is it the first interface surface having a cylindrical shape, see in Fig. 5 above, where the figure shows the drilling outcome of the interface profile of the drill bit used when drilling the hole).
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1, and where Hayashi discloses that the second interface surface fits within the first interface surface to secure the irrigation guide to the first interface surface (see page 4, line 17-18 – where the retrofitted in the surgical template irrigation guide in the form of a needle that is press-fitted in the drill hole; therefore the second interface surface of the irrigation guide is secured in the first interface surface of the drilled hole).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1, and where Hayashi discloses that the coupling end includes a length of rigid tubing in communication with the irrigation channel and having a distal end, and wherein the distal end includes a retention feature (for claim 6), (see page 4, lines 7-18 – where the irrigation guide can be made of stainless steel, making it rigid. The irrigation guide is a needle press-fitted into the drilled hole of the surgical template when retrofitted; therefore, the coupling end of the coupling end is a needle connecting to the irrigation tube 5, and the distal end is the same irrigation guide/needle, that provides at the distal end the press-fitting feature for retention in the drilled hole, in this way providing at least a portion of the irrigation channel).
Regarding claim 8, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1, and where Hayashi discloses including a surgical template (2), the surgical template (2) including at least one anchoring feature adapted for engagement with a patient's anatomy to locate the surgical template (see annotated Fig. 5 above), and a guide portion coupled to the anchoring feature and including a guide sleeve at least partially defining the guide chamber (see annotated Fig. 5 above - where the guide portion is the material of the surgical template surrounding the opening adjacent to the anchoring feature, that forms and surrounds the guide chamber).
Regarding claim 9, Hayashi et al. discloses an implant osteotomy kit for dental implant placement in the mouth of a patient, the kit including:
a surgical template (2) (see Fig. 1, 4 and 5 above) including an anchoring feature adapted for engagement with the patient's anatomy (see annotated Fig. 5 above, and abstract of the translation – “A surgical guide 2 to be mounted in an oral cavity has a water flow pipe 4 for externally guiding a cooling liquid to a living body part to be bored inside the surgical guide”), a guide portion coupled to the anchoring feature and defining a guide chamber (see annotated Fig. 5 above – where the guide portion is the wall surrounding the opening adjacent to the anchoring feature, that forms the guide chamber), and an irrigation passage fluidly communicating with the guide chamber;
a first interface surface surrounding the irrigation passage on the surgical template; and
an irrigation guide (4) including a second interface surface (see annotated Fig. 5 above – where the external surface of the irrigation guide is considered to be the second interface surface), a coupling end (see annotated Fig. 5 above – where the upper end portion of the irrigation guide is considered the coupling end), and an irrigation channel extending between the second interface surface and the coupling end (see annotated Fig. 5 – where the internal lumen formed inside the irrigation guide is the irrigation channel), wherein the second interface surface is engageable with the first interface surface to secure the irrigation guide to the first interface surface and to place the irrigation channel into fluid communication with the guide chamber (see annotated Fig. 5 above), and wherein the coupling end is coupleable to a source of irrigation fluid for providing irrigation fluid to the guide chamber by way of the irrigation channel (see annotated Fig. 5 above and page 3, lines 4-12 – where the coupling end is connected to an irrigation tube 5 from a pump (P), that supplies the irrigation fluid to the irrigation channel).
However, Hayashi et al. does not disclose a drill bit included in the kit to form the first interface surface surrounding the irrigation passage on the surgical template.
On the other hand, Hayashi et al. discloses that the irrigation channel can be retrofitted in to existing surgical template (see page 4, lines 4-18 – where the irrigation channel is formed by a first interface surface drilled into the surgical template and that it includes the irrigation guide (4, 14), where the irrigation channel extends from the outside of the surgical template and opening near the lower edge 3UE of the sleeve 3 and faces the intended drilling site AB1). Due to the surgical template is drilled to form the first interface surface, it is understood that a drill bit having an interface profile is used when retrofitting the surgical template to add said irrigation channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implant osteotomy kit of Hayashi, with the drill bit used for retrofitting the surgical template to form the first interface surface, in order to guide irrigation into the surgical drilling area of a patient.
Regarding claim 16, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 15.
However, Hayashi does not disclose, further including rotating the irrigation guide relative to the surgical template to locate the coupling end relative to the surgical template.
On the other side, the surgical template of Hayashi can be retrofitted to add the irrigation guide. For that reason, it is understood that the irrigation guide is a separate structure capable of rotating in its own axis within the drilled hole of the surgical template before it is completely attached to the surgical template (see Fig. 5 above and page 4, lines 4-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hayashi, with the rotation of the irrigation guide, because the irrigation guide is capable of rotating in its own axis before it is completely attached to the surgical template.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (JP 2021023776 A) as applied to claim 2 and 10 respectively above, and further in view of Setterberg (EP 1609946 A2).
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 2, and where Hayashi discloses that the first interface surface defines a cylinder and the second interface surface is press-fitted such that the second interface surface fits snugly within the cylinder when the second interface surface is inserted into the cylinder (see page 4, lines 7-18 – where the irrigation guide can be made of stainless steel, making it rigid. The irrigation guide is a needle press-fitted into the drilled hole of the surgical template when retrofitted; therefore, the coupling end of the coupling end is a needle connecting to the irrigation tube 5).
However, Hayashi does not disclose that the second interface surface is tapered.
Regarding claim 10, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 9, and where Hayashi discloses that the first interface surface defines a cylinder surrounding the irrigation passage and the second interface surface is press fitted such that the second interface surface fits snugly within the cylinder when the second interface surface is inserted into the cylinder (see page 3, lines 24-36– where the irrigation guide can be made of stainless steel, making it rigid. The irrigation guide is a needle press-fitted into the drilled hole of the surgical template when retrofitted; therefore, the coupling end of the coupling end is a needle connecting to the irrigation tube 5).
However, Hayashi does not disclose that the second interface surface is tapered.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Outer jacket )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Hole )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lip )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Insert )]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second interface surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First interface surface)]
With respect to claims 3 and 10:
Setterberg teaches and flow nozzle assembly including a hard insert (160) configured to be placed into a hole (170) of a first interface surface/shunt surface (145a). The hard insert (160) includes a lip (160a) including a second interface surface/taper (160c) configured to press fit against a first interface surface/shunt surface (145a), in this way defining the hole (170) through an outer jacket (155), so that the tapered second interface surface (160c) providing the press fit allows a slight interference fit between the surfaces, in this way restraining the movement of the structures relative to each other (see annotated Fig. 4 and 4A above and [0012], [0014], [0026] – [0027] – “Preferably, the lip 160a features a slight taper on an outer surface 160c for seating on the surface 145a of the shunt wall, thereby providing a slight interference fit”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the press-fitted engagement of the irrigation guide with the drilled hole of Hayashi, with the tapered second interface surface forming the slight interference fit of Setterberg, in order to restrains the movement of two surfaces until a small force can rotate or remove the irrigation guide form the drilled hole.
Claims 4, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (JP 2021023776 A) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Macri et al. (US 20210022830 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1, and where Hayashi discloses that the irrigation channel within the irrigation guide includes an input axis and an output axis, where the input axis is parallel to the output axis, and where the axes are arranged in a radial direction relative to the central axis of the osteotome drill sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4 above and page 3, lines 24-36).
However, Hayashi does not disclose that the input axis is angled at least about 20 degrees relative to the output axis.
Regarding claim 11, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 9, and where Hayashi discloses that the irrigation channel within the irrigation guide includes an input axis and an output axis, where the input axis is parallel to the output axis, and where the axes are arranged in a radial direction relative to the central axis of the osteotome drill sleeve (see annotated Fig. 4 above and page 3, lines 24-36).
However, Hayashi does not disclose that the input axis is angled at least about 20 degrees relative to the output axis.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Input portion)][AltContent: textbox (Angle)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arc][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Input axis projected on the Output axis)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Irrigation guide)][AltContent: textbox (Output axis)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Output axis)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Guide chamber)]
With respect to claims 4 and 11:
Macri et al. teaches an irrigation guide (106) forming an irrigation channel within, where the irrigation channel defines an input axis coming from the buccal direction and an output axis facing radially towards the guide chamber in the surgical site (see annotated Fig. 1 and 5 above). The irrigation guide (106) has a plurality of elbows formed in a way that the irrigation channel changes direction from the input axis up to the output axis. When comparing the input axis orientation with the respect to the output axis orientation, both axes form an angle between more than 0 and less than 90 degrees (see annotated Fig. 1 above).
It is shown in the figures that by providing an angled irrigation guide as in Macri’s, it maintains an effectively irrigation into the guide chamber through the surgical template, and at the same time the input portion (114) of the irrigation guide is placed out of the surgical area, allowing more working space for the dental professional during surgery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the straight irrigation guide of Hayashi, with the angled irrigation guide of Macri, in order to be able to move the irrigation channel input portion away from the surgical site, while maintaining the location and orientation of the output axis so that an effective irrigation is maintained in the guide chamber.
Regarding claim 12, Hayashi/Macri discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 11, and where Hayashi discloses that when the second interface surface is engaged with the first interface surface the irrigation guide is rotatable relative to the surgical template about the output axis (see Fig. 5 above and page 3, lines 24-36 – where in a surgical template retrofitted by drilling a hole into the surgical template, the second interface surface is provided by a pipe (4, 14), that is separated from the first interface surface of the drilled hole of the surgical template; therefore, it is understood that before the two surfaces are completely attached to each other, the second interface surface is capable of rotate in its own axis relative to the surgical template).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (JP 2021023776 A) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kofron et al. (US 20210386513 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 15, and where Hayashi discloses that the irrigation guide (4, 14) is configured to be attached to the drilled hole of the surgical template.
However, Hayashi does not disclose further including securing the irrigation guide to the surgical template with adhesive.
Kofron et al. teaches a dental surgical template (14) including mater tubes (16) and fixation tubes (20) that are configured to be installed in the material of the surgical template (14) using an adhesive among other methods (see [0101] and [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment of the irrigation guide to the surgical template of Hayashi, with the use of adding adhesive to attach the tube of Kofron, to provide a stronger fixation between the irrigation guide and the surgical template, thus preventing the irrigation from being diverted away from the surgical site.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (JP 2021023776 A) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view Yao et al. (CN 101642386 A).
Regarding claim 20, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 15.
However, Hayashi does not disclose that after engaging the second interface surface with the first interface surface an output end of the irrigation guide extends through the surgical guide and into the guide chamber, the method further comprising grinding away a portion of the output end that is located within the guide chamber until an end of the output end is substantially flush with a wall of the guide chamber.
Yao et al. teaches that it is well known in the art that any surgical guide prepared by vacuum or using another process using plastic material, the surgical guide that after it is shaped and trimmed, it will go through a griding a polishing process to form a smooth surface that will be in contact with the tissue of the patient.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hayashi, if the output end of the irrigation guide/needle extends beyond the surface facing the guide chamber, with the step of grinding away any material of the surgical guide that does not provide a smooth surface of Yao, in order to eliminate any structure that can make discomfort to the user or be an obstacle during surgery, before the surface is polished.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 13, 14, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior arts of Hayashi, Setterberg, Macri, Kofron and Yao do not disclose that the kit includes a drill bit that its interface profile includes a stepped section having a diameter that is greater than a diameter of the cutting tip.
Regarding claim 7, the prior arts of Hayashi, Setterberg, Macri, Kofron and Yao do not disclose that the first interface surface formed on the irrigation guide defines a countersink surrounding the irrigation passage.
Regarding claim 13, the prior arts of Hayashi, Setterberg, Macri, Kofron and Yao do not disclose that the kit includes a drill bit that its interface profile includes a stepped section having a diameter that is greater than a diameter of the cutting tip.
Regarding claim 14, the prior arts of Hayashi, Setterberg, Macri, Kofron and Yao do not disclose that the first interface surface formed on the irrigation guide defines a countersink surrounding the irrigation passage
Regarding claim 18, the prior arts of Hayashi, Setterberg, Macri, Kofron and Yao do not disclose that the interface profile includes a stepped portion having a diameter that is greater than a diameter of the cutting tip
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 15 rejections, applicant argues that it is unclear where in the machine translation of Hayashi discloses that the irrigation channel is drilled.
The prior art of Hayashi discloses in page 4, line 10-15 of the machine translation provided with the last Office action of 22 December 2025, that “in the above embodiment, the water passage means is composed of the water pipe 4, but the present invention is not limited to this, and the surgical guide is opened in the vicinity of the lower edge 3UE of the sleeve 3 to face the planned drilling portion AB1. The outer end is composed of a hole drilled so as to open to the outer surface of the surgical guide, a connector is provided in the outer opening of this hole, and the connector is connected to the irrigation tube 5 of the coolant supply mechanism 6 via the connector.”
Based on this translation shown above, it is understood that in another embodiment, the irrigation passage can be drilled and connected to the irrigation tube 5 (see Fig. 5) to supply the fluid to the surgical site.
Therefore, even when Hayashi discloses that the surgical template is molded with the irrigation passage, in another embodiment it is considered that it can also be drilled and attached to a fluid supply.
For that reason, it is understood that the rejections are proper and will be maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIRAYDA A APONTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772