DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Comment
The examiner notes that independent claim 1 is of a broad nature, that in the examiner’s view, encompasses many articles/devices/objects in common use, in that, common articles such as pencils, pens, furniture, computers, phones, vehicles, buildings, are made up of different materials with different densities.
The examiner also notes that, in claims 2-3, the term “consists of” is exclusionary of any additional elements.
The examiner further notes that 4-6 and 8-10 define optional limitations (and only optional limitations), that are not required to be met or found in the prior art, to in order reject the claim, through the use of the term “may”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/500,111 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 of the copending application.
Instant Application
Reference Application
1. A device, tool, instrument, or accessory constituting multiple densities of materials.
1. A device, tool, instrument, or forms of constructs used to elicit reflex responses using an elastic head with a heavier or dense material elsewhere in the device near the distal portion of the device.
2. The device of claim 1, wherein the distal aspect of the device consists of higher density material within or made up of the shaft.
3. The device of claim 1, wherein the distal aspect of the device consists of higher density material within or made up of the shaft.
3. The device of claim 1, wherein the distal aspect of the device consists of an elastic head made of polymer, organic, or inorganic substance.
2. The device of claim 1, wherein the elastic head is made of polymer, organic,or inorganic substance.
4. The device of claim 1, wherein the shaft of the device may be telescopic, expandible, or of constant length.
4. The device of claim 1, wherein the shaft of the device may be telescopic, expandible, or of constant length.
5. The device of claim 1, wherein the proximal aspect of the device may contain, house, feature, or otherwise display another device, tool, or other accessory not otherwise specified.
5. The device of claim 1, wherein the proximal aspect of the device may contain, house, feature, or otherwise display another device, tool, or other accessory not otherwise specified.
6. The device of claim 1, wherein the shaft may be made up of polymer, metal, organic, or inorganic substance.
6. The device of claim 1, wherein the shaft may be made up of polymer, metal, organic, or inorganic substance.
7. The device of claim 1, wherein the higher density material is made up of a polymer, metal, organic, or inorganic substance or substances.
7. The device of claim 1, wherein the higher density material is made up of a polymer, metal, organic, or inorganic substance or substances.
8. The device of claim 1, wherein the device may be hand-held, used by another machinery, robot, animal or other while a proximal end of the device is affixed manually, mechanically, or automatically.
8. The device of claim 1, wherein the device may be hand-held, while a proximal end of the device is affixed manually, mechanically, or automatically.
9. The device of claim 1, wherein the shaft of the device may be of proportional length to the application in use.
9. The device of claim 1, wherein the shaft of the device may be of proportional length to the application in use.
10. The device of claim 1, wherein the mass of the device may be adjusted per the application in use.
10.The device of claim 1, wherein the mass of the device may be adjusted per the application in use.
Regarding the difference between instant claim 1 and reference claim 1, reference claim 1 recites a higher density material, meaning that there is a material that is not higher density elsewhere in the device, therefore material with differing densities.
Regarding the difference between instant claim 3 and reference claim 2, reference claim 1 recites that there is, at the distal aspect of the device, an elastic head.
Regarding the difference between instant claim 8, and reference claim 8, the additional limitations of “used by another machinery, robot, animal or other” in instant claim 8 are recited as limitations in the alternative.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the proximal aspect of the device may contain, house, feature, or otherwise display another device, tool, or other accessory not otherwise specified” (claim 5), “another machinery, robot, animal or other” (claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Consider making the preambles of all the claims consistent, either amending the preamble of dependent claims 2-10 recite --The device, tool, instrument, or accessory of claim 1--- or amending independent claim 1 to recite-- A device
In claim 2, consider -- wherein [[the]] a distal aspect of the device consists of higher density material within or made up of [[the]] a shaft--
In claim 3, consider --wherein [[the]] a distal aspect of the device consists of an elastic head made of polymer, organic, or inorganic substance.
In claim 4, consider -- wherein the device further comprises a shaft, wherein the shaft of the device may be telescopic, expandable, or of constant length.
In claim 5, consider -- wherein [[the]] a proximal aspect of the device may contain, house, feature, or otherwise display another device, tool, or other accessory not otherwise specified.
In claim 6, consider --wherein the device further comprises a shaft, wherein the shaft may be made up of polymer, metal, organic, or inorganic substance.
In claim 7, consider -- wherein [[the]] a higher density material of the device is made up of a polymer, metal, organic, or inorganic substance or substances--
In claim 9, consider -- wherein the device further comprises a shaft, wherein the shaft of the device may be of proportional length to [[the]] an application in use--
In claim 10, consider --wherein [[the]] a mass of the device may be adjusted per [[the]] an application in use--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2, 7, and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 2 and 7, the claims recite “higher density material”. The term “higher density” indicates that it is relative to some other material, and it is not clear what the “higher density” here is relative to, as claim 1 recites multiple densities of materials, and it is also not clear what density would fall within the meaning of “higher density” (i.e. would a material that has a density of 2 kg/m2 be within the meaning of higher density, or would the “higher density” threshold be higher or lower than that number). The instant disclosure does not provide for a guideline for what would be “higher density”. The examiner’s best understanding, and interpretation for purpose of examination, is that there would be a material that is higher in density than another material at another (any) location of the claimed device.
With respect to claim 9, the claim recites “wherein the shaft of the device may be of proportional length to the application in use” which is a subjective limitation. A person using the device may perceive, that the device has an appropriate/suitable (or proportional) length shaft, or may perceive that the device does not have an appropriate (or proportional) length shaft, and that such perception may vary from person to person, and includes aspects of opinion of said person. The specification does not provide appropriate guidelines for what would be considered an appropriate (or proportional) length. The examiner will interpret prior art devices to have a shaft of “proportional length to the application in use”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP-‘009 (JP S57134009 U).
With respect to claim 1, JP-‘009 discloses: A device, tool, instrument, or accessory constituting multiple densities of materials (solid portion of shaft at 1, fig. 2 is described as “1 denotes a round, solid handle made of a flexible synthetic resin such as nylon”, and there is a hollow portion of shaft 4, fig. 2, “hollow maple grip member 4” which is of less density, being hollow in the hollow portion, [0002]).
With respect to claim 2, JP-‘009 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the distal aspect of the device consists of higher density material within or made up of the shaft (distal aspect for purposes of claim 2 defined as solid portion of shaft at 1, fig. 2, and as in the rejection of claim 1 above, is a higher density solid material than the hollow portion of hollow grip member 4, fig. 2).
With respect to claim 3, JP-‘009 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the distal aspect of the device consists of an elastic head made of polymer, organic, or inorganic substance (distal aspect for purposes of claim 3 defined as rubber reflective ring 3, fig. 2; “rubber reflective ring 3 with a round cross section is fitted into a U-groove 2' formed on the periphery of the impactor 2”, [0002] rubber is a natural or artificial polymer that is also organic, and is elastic).
With respect to claim 4, JP-‘009 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the shaft of the device may be telescopic, expandible, or of constant length (shaft, made solid portion 1, fig. 2, and grip member 4, fig. 2, can be said to be of constant length, as shown in fig. 2, but can also be said to be expandable in that it can be adjusted in length, provided that the user can disassemble it through a screw portion 1b; “a screw portion 1b formed at the base end of the handle portion 1 is screwed into a screw portion 4a of a hollow maple grip member 4 to form a perforator/clamp 5”, [0002])
With respect to claim 5, JP-‘009 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the proximal aspect of the device may contain, house, feature, or otherwise display another device, tool, or other accessory not otherwise specified (6, fig. 2; “Reference numeral 6 denotes a sharp tip formed at the end of the grip member 4 for checking the Babinski sign, the talus sign, etc.”; [0002])
With respect to claim 6, JP-‘009 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the shaft may be made up of polymer, metal, organic, or inorganic substance (shaft, made solid portion 1, fig. 2, “1 denotes a round, solid handle made of a flexible synthetic resin such as nylon [a polymer - also organic]”, and grip member 4, fig. 2, “hollow maple grip member 4” is made of maple, being an organic substance, [0002]).
With respect to claim 7, JP-‘009 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the higher density material is made up of a polymer, metal, organic, or inorganic substance or substances (as solid portion of shaft at 1, fig. 2, “1 denotes a round, solid handle made of a flexible synthetic resin such as nylon [a polymer - also organic], [0002]).
With respect to claim 8, JP-‘009 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the device may be hand-held, used by another machinery, robot, animal or other while a proximal end of the device is affixed manually, mechanically, or automatically (the description provides that the device is hand held “When using the percussion instrument 5, the grip portion 444 is grasped in the hand, and the reflective ring 3 at the tip is swung down by moving the wrist without applying force to the fingers, for example, onto the knee joint (not shown)” [0002]).
With respect to claim 9, JP-‘009 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the shaft of the device may be of proportional length to the application in use (the prior art device is presumably suitable for use, with a proportional length shaft, [shaft addressed in rejection of claim 1 above] given that it is graspable in the hand; “When using the percussion instrument 5, the grip portion 444 is grasped in the hand, and the reflective ring 3 at the tip is swung down by moving the wrist without applying force to the fingers, for example, onto the knee joint (not shown)” [0002]).
With respect to claim 10, JP-‘009 discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the mass of the device may be adjusted per the application in use (the device can be disassembled through screws 1a, 1b, figs. 2-3; “screw portion 1a formed at the tip of the handle 1 is screwed into a screw hole 2a drilled in the center of a metal impactor 2 that maintains weight-like balance […] “a screw portion 1b formed at the base end of the handle portion 1 is screwed into a screw portion 4a of a hollow maple grip member 4 to form a perforator/clamp 5”, [0002]; furthermore, given how it is disassembled in fig. 2; material can be stuffed into “hollow maple grip member 4” to adjust mass; in terms of functionality, one can also stick weights to the device to change it’s mass).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chol (KR 20090086888 A) is a hammer with a solid portion of the handle near where it is inserted into the hammer head.
Tavares (US 7628713 B2) is a golf club head made of materials of different densities; Ishii (US 20130324324 A1) is a golf ball made of materials of different densities - both appear to anticipate claim 1.
/Steven Huang/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723