DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 recites the limitation "preset parameter" in the third. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. (examiner believes this may be clerical error and will be examined as such)
Claim 14 recites the limitation "preset parameter" in lines 3 and 5 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. (examiner believes this may be clerical error and will be examined as such)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marko Mlinar, US20230314615A1 in view of MAHFOUZ MOHAMED et al. WO 2014150961 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Mlinar teaches a system for preforming time of flight sensing wherein a first reflected light and a second reflected light reflected by a sensing target, and generate first raw data and second raw data according to the first reflected light, generate a first input according to the first raw data and generate a second input according to the second raw data generate a first output and a second output according to the first input and the second input, to perform a weighted average operation according to a first amplitude, a second amplitude, the first output, and the second output to generate depth information. ([0093] The sensor module may include an array of sensor pixels configured to generate pixel data indicative of phase data for a time-of-flight sensing operation, [0093] signal processing circuitry having phase denoise circuitry configured to perform a first filtering operation on the phase data using a first filter of a first type to generate first denoised phase data and to perform a second filtering operation on the phase data using a second filter of a second type to generate second denoised phase data. [0094] depth disambiguation circuitry configured to receive the first denoised phase data and depth calculation circuitry configured to receive the second denoised phase data. The depth calculation circuitry may be configured to generate first depth data based on the first denoised phase data and to generate second depth data based on the second denoised phase data. The signal processing circuitry may be configured to merge the first and second depth data to generate a depth map for the time-of-flight sensing operation. [0095] The signal processor may further include depth calculation circuitry configured to receive the second denoised phase data and to perform a depth calculation operation based on the second denoised phase data.). [0073] The merging of the depth data based on both of these types of denoise data may help optimize different portions of the final depth map. [0074] Performing phase data denoising requires averaging phase data from multiple pixels (e.g., based on weights as described in connection with FIGS. 5A-5C). However, simply taking the numerical sum of phases gathered by multiple pixels can lead to inaccurate results as the phase data is only a portion of the pixel data gathered and does not account for other data channels (e.g., amplitude data).
Mlinar does not explicitly teach the use of a decoder or fusion processor
Mahfouz teaches, a decoder coupled to the time-of-flight ranging sensor, a decoder coupled to the time-of-flight ranging sensor, a computing processor coupled to the decoder, a fusion processor coupled to the computing processor, [00154] The processing module 444 is coupled to a transceiver module 450 configured to receive the processed signals and transmit the processed signals to a transceiver/decoder module 452. [00155] The received and decoded signals are provided to a data fusion algorithm 456 and a vibroarthrography algorithm 454, which may be executed by a processor 455.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mlinar to use the data flow system of Maufouz to improve efficiency when preforming large calculations.
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mlinar in view of Mahfouz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hyunwoong CHO et al. US20200400810A1.
Regarding claim 2, Mlinar as modified above teaches a time of fight ranging system wherein a plurality of phase sampling data is comprised of a first and second raw data, [0093] As an example, a sensor module may be configured to perform time-of-flight sensing. The sensor module may include an array of sensor pixels configured to generate pixel data indicative of phase data for a time-of-flight sensing operation.
Mlinar does not explicitly teach the use of sequential memory to store the raw data.
Cho teaches the use of memory to temporarily store a plurality of phase data, ([0155] Referring to FIG. 15, a radar data processing device 1500 includes a radar sensor 1510, a processor 1520, and a memory 1530. The processor 1520 and the memory 1530 may be respectively representative of one or more processors 1520 and one or more memories 1530. [0160] The memory 1530 may store the resolution increase model. In addition, the memory 1530 may store, temporarily or semi-permanently, information needed for a radar data processing method. For example, the memory 1530 may store preprocessing results, and a network architecture and parameters of the resolution increase model, for example, a connection weight between nodes.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Mlinar to use the memory architecture of Cho to improve the speed and efficiency of the system when processing multiple sets of phase data sequentially through the system.
Regarding claim 3, Mlinar as modified above teaches the time of flight ranging system of claim 2 further comprising first temporarily stores at least one of the phase sampling data of the first raw data into a plurality of memory spaces of the memory, then the time-of-flight ranging sensor provides at least another one of the phase sampling data of the first raw data directly to the decoder, and the decoder reads at least one of the phase sampling data from the memory to generate the first input, then first temporarily stores at least one of the phase sampling data of the second raw data into the memory spaces of the memory, then the time-of-flight ranging sensor provides at least another one of the phase sampling data of the second raw data directly to the decoder, and the decoder reads at least one of the phase sampling data from the memory to generate the second input. ([0093] The sensor module may further include signal processing circuitry having phase denoise circuitry configured to perform a first filtering operation on the phase data using a first filter of a first type to generate first denoised phase data and to perform a second filtering operation on the phase data using a second filter of a second type to generate second denoised phase data.)
Regarding claim 4, Mlinar as modified above teaches the time of flight ranging system of claim 2 further comprising wherein the memory comprises a first set of memory space and a second set of memory space, sequentially temporarily stores the phase sampling data of the first raw data and the second raw data respectively into the first set of memory space and the second set of memory space of the memory. (Cho: [0155] The processor 1520 and the memory 1530 may be respectively representative of one or more processors 1520 and one or more memories 1530. [0160] The memory 1530 may store the resolution increase model. In addition, the memory 1530 may store, temporarily or semi-permanently, information needed for a radar data processing method.), (Mlinar: (0093] The sensor module may further include signal processing circuitry having phase denoise circuitry configured to perform a first filtering operation on the phase data using a first filter of a first type to generate first denoised phase data and to perform a second filtering operation on the phase data using a second filter of a second type to generate second denoised phase data.)
Regarding claim 5, Mlinar as modified above teaches the time of flight ranging system of claim 2 further comprising wherein the decoder reads the phase sampling data of the first raw data from the first set of memory space to generate the first input, and then reads the phase sampling data of the second raw data from the second set of memory space to generate the second input, (Cho: [0155] The processor 1520 and the memory 1530 may be respectively representative of one or more processors 1520 and one or more memories 1530. [0160] The memory 1530 may store the resolution increase model. In addition, the memory 1530 may store, temporarily or semi-permanently, information needed for a radar data processing method.), (Mlinar: (0093] The sensor module may further include signal processing circuitry having phase denoise circuitry configured to perform a first filtering operation on the phase data using a first filter of a first type to generate first denoised phase data and to perform a second filtering operation on the phase data using a second filter of a second type to generate second denoised phase data.)
Regarding claim 6, Mlinar as modified above teaches the time of flight ranging system of claim 2 further comprising wherein the decoder reads the phase sampling data of the first raw data from the first set of memory space to generate the first input, and another decoder reads the phase sampling data of the second raw data from the second set of memory space to generate the second input at the same time, (Cho: [0155] The processor 1520 and the memory 1530 may be respectively representative of one or more processors 1520 and one or more memories 1530. [0160] The memory 1530 may store the resolution increase model. In addition, the memory 1530 may store, temporarily or semi-permanently, information needed for a radar data processing method.), (Mlinar: (0093] The sensor module may further include signal processing circuitry having phase denoise circuitry configured to perform a first filtering operation on the phase data using a first filter of a first type to generate first denoised phase data and to perform a second filtering operation on the phase data using a second filter of a second type to generate second denoised phase data.)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marko Mlinar, US20230314615A1 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Subasingha, US 20210096225 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Mlinar as modified above teaches the memory architecture claimed, wherein the memory also comprises a third set of memory space and a fourth set of memory space, and during a period in which the phase sampling data temporarily stored in the first set of memory space and the second set of memory space are read out; (Cho: [0155] The processor 1520 and the memory 1530 may be respectively representative of one or more processors 1520 and one or more memories 1530. [0160] The memory 1530 may store the resolution increase model. In addition, the memory 1530 may store, temporarily or semi-permanently, information needed for a radar data processing method.
Mlinar does not teach a system wherein four sets of raw data is captured
Subasingha however does teach a system wherein the ranging sensor sequentially temporarily stores a plurality of phase sampling data respectively of third raw data and fourth raw data into the third set of memory space and the fourth set of memory space of the memory. ([0057] More specifically, the phase frames 214 may include the raw data, e.g., a phase value of the return carrier, received at the sensor. In the example, each of the exposures 210 may be based on four phase frames. In the example, the first exposure 210(1) is generated from the phase frames 214(1)-214(4), the second exposure 210(2) is generated from the phase frames 214(5)-214(8), the third exposure 210(3) is generated from the phase frames 214(9)-214(12), and the fourth exposure 210(4) is generated from the phase frames 214(13)-214(16). In examples, and as detailed further below in connection with FIG. 3, the phase frames 214 are used to model the return carrier and a correlation function may be generated based on the carrier and the model. The four values associated with phase frames are four points on the correlation function.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mlinar such that the system can receive four sets of raw data inputs similar to Subasingha with the predictable result of increased data processing and volume for more accurate ranging calculations.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mlinar in view of Mahfouz and Subasingha as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Odryna et al. WO 9966489 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Mlinar as modified above teaches the memory and data infrastructure claimed, wherein the decoder reads the phase sampling data of the first raw data from the first set of memory space at a plurality of odd pixel clocks, and reads the phase sampling data of the second raw data from the second set of memory space at a plurality of even pixel clocks to generate the first input and the second input. (Cho: [0155] The processor 1520 and the memory 1530 may be respectively representative of one or more processors 1520 and one or more memories 1530. [0160] The memory 1530 may store the resolution increase model. In addition, the memory 1530 may store, temporarily or semi-permanently, information needed for a radar data processing method.), (Mlinar: (0093] The sensor module may further include signal processing circuitry having phase denoise circuitry configured to perform a first filtering operation on the phase data using a first filter of a first type to generate first denoised phase data and to perform a second filtering operation on the phase data using a second filter of a second type to generate second denoised phase data.)
Mlinar does not teach the use of pixel clocks with the decoder
Odryna does teach the use of pixel clocks with the decoder; plurality of odd pixel clocks, and reads the phase sampling data of the second raw data from the second set of memory space at a plurality of even pixel clocks, ([pg 15, ln 29-33] One pixel's worth of data is clocked into one bank of buffers 54 on even pixel clock cycles, while another pixel's worth of data is clocked into the other bank of buffers 54 on odd pixel clock cycles. - [pg38, ln 28-32] A first memory element 202, gated by registers 204 under the control of a local control gate array 206, provides temporary storage for the desired pixel data prior to being forwarded off board. – [pg 39, ln 13-15] Such received data is buffered in a second memory element 208, from which all or a selected portion of the received pixel data can be output onto the pixel bus – [pg 38, 14-16] The video decoder 182 is configured for the received video data format by the control gate array, via the serial control buses.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mlinar such that the pixel clock function of Odryna works in tandem with the decoder. This would allow the system to calculate the decoder’s output with greater accuracy.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mlinar in view of Mahfouz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SUN, RUI et al. CN 113325439 A.
Regarding claim 18, Mlinar as modified above teaches the time of flight ranging system.
Mlinar does not teach wherein the first reflected light and the second reflected light have different modulation frequencies
Sun teaches a system wherein the first reflected light and the second reflected light have different modulation frequencies, ([0038] The invention controls the first light source to emit light beam of the first frequency to the object through the first processing circuit, and controls the first pixel to sample the beam of the first frequency reflected by the target object and outputs the first sampling signal; according to the first sampling signal, calculating the first depth of the target object; the second processing circuit synchronously controls the second light source to emit the light beam of the second frequency to the target object, and controls the second pixel to sample the light beam of the second frequency reflected by the target object and outputs the second sampling signal; according to the second sampling signal, calculating the second depth of the target object)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mlinar such that the first and second reflected light have different modulation frequencies similar to Sun, this is a known technique in the art and will yield predictable results of increased ranging accuracy.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mlinar in view of Mahfouz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim Soo-young et al. KR 20080098150 A.
Regarding claim 19, Mlinar as modified above teaches the use of a computing processor to calculate the first and second output; wherein the computing processor is configured to generate the first output and the second output.
Mlinar does not teach the use of a lookup table
Kim teaches ([0015] The signal to noise ratio estimating the system parameters for the look-up table generation unit and the SNR estimate to generate a look-up table (LUT) stores an SNR value for each state of the channel in accordance with the modulation method according to the invention to achieve the same purpose Reset, and characterized in that it comprises recording determines whether the reference value or more of a received signal, and calculating a look-up table address stored in the look-up table generation unit for outputting an estimated SNR value SNR of the address unit.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mlinar such that the time of flight ranging system includes the used of a lookup table similar to Kim, this known technique in the art would have the predictable result of increasing the speed of the processor within the system.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marko Mlinar, US20230314615A1, in view of Sung Hyun Pyun US 20200300702 A1.
Regarding claim 20, Mlinar teaches time-of-flight ranging method wherein a sensing target and generating first raw data and second raw data according to the first reflected light via a time-of-flight ranging sensor, generating a first input according to the first raw data and generating a second input according to the second raw data via a decoder, generating a first output and a second output according to the first input and the second input via a computing processor, performing a weighted average operation according to a first amplitude, a second amplitude, the first output, and the second output via a fusion processor to generate depth information. ([0093] As an example, a sensor module may be configured to perform time-of-flight sensing. The sensor module may include an array of sensor pixels configured to generate pixel data indicative of phase data for a time-of-flight sensing operation. The sensor module may further include signal processing circuitry having phase denoise circuitry configured to perform a first filtering operation on the phase data using a first filter of a first type to generate first denoised phase data and to perform a second filtering operation on the phase data using a second filter of a second type to generate second denoised phase data.), ([0093] As an example, a sensor module may be configured to perform time-of-flight sensing. The sensor module may include an array of sensor pixels configured to generate pixel data indicative of phase data for a time-of-flight sensing operation. The sensor module may further include signal processing circuitry having phase denoise circuitry configured to perform a first filtering operation on the phase data using a first filter of a first type to generate first denoised phase data and to perform a second filtering operation on the phase data using a second filter of a second type to generate second denoised phase data.), ([0094] - The signal processing circuitry may be configured to merge the first and second depth data to generate a depth map for the time-of-flight sensing operation.)
Mlinar does not teach receiving a first reflected light and a second reflected light reflected by a sensing target.
Pyun teaches, receiving a first reflected light and a second reflected light reflected by a sensing target, ([0020] According to another aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method for diagnosing a disease of a body tissue of a patient by using LIBS(Laser-Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy), comprising: projecting a first pulsed laser to a first specimen which is a subject to disease examination; outputting a first triggering signal by receiving reflected light of the first pulsed laser; receiving light from the first specimen during a predetermined time interval from a output time point of the first triggering signal and obtaining first spectrum data related to light received from the first specimen; projecting a second pulsed laser to a second specimen which is normal; outputting a second triggering signal by receiving reflected light of the second pulsed laser; receiving light from the second specimen during the predetermined time interval from a output time point of the second triggering signal and obtaining second spectrum data related to light received from the second specimen; obtaining comparison spectrum data of the first spectrum data and the second spectrum data; and determining whether or not the first specimen is diseased based on the comparison spectrum data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mlinar such that the method of light detection includes a detector which receives a first and second reflected light to then be processed by the data pipeline to calculate depth information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9,10,11,12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13 and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
20220043116 - JIN; YOUNGGU et al.
20140368615 - van Baar; Jeroen et al.
/JOHN CESARE TRIDICO/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645