DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 12/23/2025.
3. Claims 1, 3-11 are pending. Claims 1, 3-11 are under examination on the merits. Claims 1, 4, 9 are amended. Claim 2 is cancelled.
4. The objections and rejections not addressed below are deemed withdrawn.
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-11 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statements submitted on 11/01/2022, and 12/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 6-7, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takashi Kato (US Pub. No. 2018/0371255 A1, “’255”).
Regarding claim 1: ‘255 discloses a kneaded material such as a protective sheet (Page 1, [0002]; Page 21, [0351]) comprising: an ultraviolet absorbing agent that contains at least one compound selected from a second compound of UV-9 (Page 24, [0387], Example 18) and a polymer compound (Page 18, [0311], Example 1; Page 23, [0374], Example 14; Page 24, [0387]; Example 18).
Regarding claims 6-7: ‘255 discloses a kneaded material such as a protective sheet (Page 1, [0002]; Page 21, [0351]), wherein the polymer compound has a glass transition point of 103°C such as pentaerythritol triacrylate (Kayarad PET-30).
Regarding claim 9: ‘255 discloses a method of producing a kneaded material Page 1, [0002]; Page 21, [0351]), comprising: kneading an ultraviolet absorbing agent that contains at least a second compound represented by Formula (2) such as UV-9 (Page 24, [0387], Example 18) with a polymer compound (Page 18, [0311], Example 1; Page 23, [0374], Example 14; Page 24, [0387]; Example 18).
Regarding claim 10: ‘255 discloses a molded body formed of the kneaded material (Page 21, [0351]).
Regarding claim 11: ‘255 discloses an optical member such as an image display device comprising the protective sheet comprising: the molded body (Page 18, [0312]-[0313]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Takashi Kato (JP 2019-191219 A, machine translation, hereinafter “’219”) in view of Takashi Kato (US Pub. No. 2018/0371255 A1, “’255”).
Regarding claim 1: ‘219 teaches an eyeglass lens is fabricated from pellets of a kneaded product containing a polycarbonate resin (Page 40/51, [0121], Example 1-8) and specific compound S-6 (Page 17/51, [0065], Chemical Formula 5, Compound S-6). ‘219 does not expressly teach the ultraviolet absorbing agent selected form a compound represented by Formula (2) as set forth.
However, ‘255 teaches a kneaded material such as a protective sheet (Page 1, [0002]; Page 21, [0351]) comprising: an ultraviolet absorbing agent that contains at least one compound selected from a second compound of UV-9 (Page 24, [0387], Example 18) and a polymer compound (Page 18, [0311], Example 1; Page 23, [0374], Example 14; Page 24, [0387]; Example 18) with benefit of providing a protective sheet which can block at least the blue light in the visible light range and has satisfactory color reproducibility of a display image or the like and an image display device having the protective sheet (Page 1, [0010]) and provide a spectacle lens which can block at least blue light in the visible light range and has satisfactory color reproducibility of an image, an article, or the like which is a visual observation target, and spectacles provided with the spectacle lens (Page 1, [0011]).
In an analogous art of the kneaded material, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ultraviolet absorbing agent of the kneaded material by ‘219, so as to include the ultraviolet absorbing agent selected form a compound represented by Formula (2) as set forth as taught by ‘255, and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing a protective sheet which can block at least the blue light in the visible light range and has satisfactory color reproducibility of a display image or the like and an image display device having the protective sheet (Page 1, [0010]) and provide a spectacle lens which can block at least blue light in the visible light range and has satisfactory color reproducibility of an image, an article, or the like which is a visual observation target, and spectacles provided with the spectacle lens as suggested by ‘255 (Page 1, [0011]).
Thus, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, since the substitution of equivalents (i.e., in view of the art recognized functional equivalence of the two ultraviolet absorber compounds) requires no express motivation as long as the prior art recognizes the equivalency. In re Fount USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt, 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. Inc. v Linde Air Products Co., 85 USPQ 328 (USSC).
Regarding claim 3: The disclosure of ‘219 in view of ‘255 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘219 teaches the kneaded material (Page 40/51, [0121], Example 1-8), further comprising: a plasticizer (Page34/51, [0098]).
Regarding claims 4-5: The disclosure of ‘219 in view of ‘255 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘219 teaches the kneaded material (Page 40/51, [0121], Example 1-8), wherein the ultraviolet absorbing agent further contains a compound A having a maximal absorption wavelength on a shorter wavelength side than the compound represented by Formula (1), wherein the compound A is at least one selected from a benzotriazole compound, a triazine compound, or a benzophenone compound (Page 33/51, [0090]-[0092]).
Regarding claims 6-7: The disclosure of ‘219 in view of ‘255 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘219 teaches the kneaded material (Page 40/51, [0121], Example 1-8), wherein the polymer compound is at least one selected from a polycarbonate resin such as Panlite® L-1250W by Teijin Chemical having a glass transition of 147 °C (297 °F) (Page 40/51, [0121], Example 1-8)
‘255 teaches a kneaded material such as a protective sheet (Page 1, [0002]; Page 21, [0351]), wherein the polymer compound has a glass transition point of 103°C such as pentaerythritol triacrylate (Kayarad PET-30).
Regarding claim 8: The disclosure of ‘219 in view of ‘255 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘219 teaches the kneaded material (Page 40/51, [0121], Example 1-8), wherein the kneaded material is a pellet (Page 40/51, [0121], Example 1-8).
Regarding claim 9: ‘219 teaches a method of producing a kneaded material, comprising:
kneading an ultraviolet absorbing agent for an eyeglass lens which is fabricated from pellets of a kneaded product containing a polycarbonate resin (Page 40/51, [0121], Example 1-8) and specific compound S-6 (Page 17/51, [0065], Chemical Formula 5, Compound S-6). ‘219 does not expressly teach the ultraviolet absorbing agent selected form a compound represented by Formula (2) as set forth.
However, ‘255 teaches a method of producing a kneaded material Page 1, [0002]; Page 21, [0351]), comprising: kneading an ultraviolet absorbing agent that contains at least a second compound represented by Formula (2) such as UV-9 (Page 24, [0387], Example 18) with a polymer compound (Page 18, [0311], Example 1; Page 23, [0374], Example 14; Page 24, [0387]; Example 18) with benefit of providing a protective sheet which can block at least the blue light in the visible light range and has satisfactory color reproducibility of a display image or the like and an image display device having the protective sheet (Page 1, [0010]) and provide a spectacle lens which can block at least blue light in the visible light range and has satisfactory color reproducibility of an image, an article, or the like which is a visual observation target, and spectacles provided with the spectacle lens (Page 1, [0011]).
In an analogous art of the method of producing kneaded material, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ultraviolet absorbing agent of the kneaded material by ‘219, so as to include the ultraviolet absorbing agent selected form a compound represented by Formula (2) as set forth as taught by ‘255, and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing a protective sheet which can block at least the blue light in the visible light range and has satisfactory color reproducibility of a display image or the like and an image display device having the protective sheet (Page 1, [0010]) and provide a spectacle lens which can block at least blue light in the visible light range and has satisfactory color reproducibility of an image, an article, or the like which is a visual observation target, and spectacles provided with the spectacle lens as suggested by ‘255 (Page 1, [0011]).
Thus, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, since the substitution of equivalents (i.e., in view of the art recognized functional equivalence of the two ultraviolet absorber compounds) requires no express motivation as long as the prior art recognizes the equivalency. In re Fount USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt, 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. Inc. v Linde Air Products Co., 85 USPQ 328 (USSC).
Regarding claim 10: The disclosure of ‘219 in view of ‘255 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘219 teaches a molded body formed of the kneaded material (Page 40/51, [0121], Example 1-8).
‘255 teaches a molded body formed of the kneaded material (Page 21, [0351]).
Regarding claim 11: The disclosure of ‘219 in view of ‘255 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘219 teaches an optical member comprising: the molded body (Page 7/51, [0006]-[0007]).
‘255 teaches an optical member such as an image display device comprising the protective sheet comprising: the molded body (Page 18, [0312]-[0313]).
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-11 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Del Sole can be reached on 571-272-1130. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Bijan Ahvazi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
01/21/2026
bijan.ahvazi@uspto.gov