DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/26/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 Claims 1-11 cancelled by applicant, Claims 14-27 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14,17-19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (US 20190244938 A1) (Bang ,hereafter) in view of Liao (US 20220005984 A1)
Regarding claim 14, Bang discloses a light-emitting device( Figures 4A-4b, Figure 11 and corresponding text )comprising: a first tier, comprises a plurality of blue light-emitting units (π35,π72 )( (120R,120G,!20B)) disposed on a first substrate(110); and a second tier, disposed on the first tier, wherein the second tier comprises: a first light-emitting unit (120R), corresponding to a first portion of the plurality of blue light-emitting units, wherein the first light-emitting unit (120R) comprises a first light conversion layer(140a); a second light-emitting unit(120G), corresponding to a second portion of the plurality of blue light comments units, wherein the second light-emitting unit (120G) comprises a second light conversion layer(140b) third light-emitting unit 120B), corresponding to a third portion of the plurality of blue light-emitting units, wherein the third light-emitting unit (120B) comprises a third light conversion layer) (translucent ,material (π75). and does not have any blue light absorbing photoresist layer; and a second substrate (not shown), covering the first, second, and third light-emitting units. Bang fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first blue light absorbing photoresist layer covering the first light conversion layer; a second blue light absorbing photoresist layer covering the second light conversion layer.
Liso discloses (Figures 11) , the first embodiment of the present disclosure further provides an LED package structure (S) including an LED chip (1), a quantum dot material layer (3), and a blue light scattering material layer (4). More particularly, the LED chip (1) has two exposed conductive pads (1)00, the quantum dot material layer (3) is used for enclosing the LED chip (1), and the blue light scattering material layer (4) is disposed on the quantum dot material layer (3). It should be noted that the blue light scattering material layer (4) can be replaced by a blue light absorbing material layer (π52-π53);
Thus Figure 11) when the LED group (C )is the LED package structure S, the LED package structure (S )includes an LED chip (1 )(such as a blue LED chip) having two exposed conductive pads (100), a quantum dot material layer (3) enclosing the LED chip (1), and a blue light scattering material layer (4), It should be noted that the blue light scattering material layer ((4)) can be replaced by a blue light absorbing material layer (π52-π5(3)). disposed on the quantum dot material layer (3); when the LED package structure S is a red LED package structure (SR), the LED chip (1) is a blue LED chip, and the quantum dot material layer (3) is a red quantum dot material layer. When the LED package structure S is a green LED package structure (SG) the LED chip (1 )is a blue LED chip, and the quantum dot material layer (3) is a green quantum dot material layer.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the light emitting device of Bang as disclosed by Liao wherein a first blue light absorbing photoresist layer covering the first light conversion layer; a second blue light absorbing photoresist layer covering the second light conversion layer the motivation being that a possibility of the blue light passing through the blue light absorbing material layer can be reduced and the wavelength conversion efficiency provided by the quantum dot material layer can be indirectly increased.
Regarding claim 17, Bang further discloses each blue light-emitting unit comprises a blue light micro LED device (π35) and a translucent material wrapping the blue light micro LED device, wherein the blue light micro LED device is an inorganic-based micro LED device, an organic-based micro OLED device or a quantum-dot-based micro QLED device. Liao fail to explicitly discloses a transparent photoresist material wrapping the blue light micro LED device.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date to further modify the light-emitting device of Bang wherein a transparent photoresist material wrapping the blue light micro LED device since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416
Regarding claim 18, Bang discloses wherein the first light-emitting unit emits red light, (120R) the second light-emitting unit (120G) emits green light, and the third light-emitting unit emits blue light (120B).
Regarding claim 19 and 27, Bang discloses that the conversion layer can include quantum dots (π80); Liao discloses quantum dot material layer (π09-π10) . Liso discloses quantum dot phot resist (π51). Bang as modified by Liao fail to explicitly disclose wherein the third light conversion layer comprises a white photoresist layer without any quantum dot (claim 19); , wherein a material of the blue light absorbing photoresist layer comprises cadmium sulfide, lead chromate, bismuth vanadate, Pigment Yellow 181, Pigment Yellow 191, or a combination thereof (claim 27).
However the Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed material is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, which are criteria that have been held to be necessary for material limitations to be prima facie unobvious. The claimed material is considered to be a "preferred" or "optimum" material out of a plurality of well-known materials that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find obvious to provide to the invention of the cited prior art reference, using routine experimentation and optimization of the invention. In re Leshin,125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 15-16 and 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (US 20190244938 A1) (Bang ,hereafter) in view of Liao (US 20220005984 A1) and in further view of Shibata et al. (US 20150343741 A1)(Shibata, hereafter).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Bang as modified by Liao disclose the device set forth above ( see rejection claim 1). Bang as modified by Liao disclose the fail to explicitly disclose wherein an ALD gas barrier layer wrapping the first, second, and third light-emitting units, and the second substrate (claim 14). wherein the ALD gas barrier layer further extends between a top surface of the first tier and a bottom surface of the second tier(claim 16).
Shibata discloses an a gas barrier film formed by atomic layer deposition (ALD) disposed (π36-π40) ; the organic EL device 600 includes the gas barrier films 112, 615, 241, and 132 enclosing the pixel of a display; s in the organic EL device 400 shown in FIG. 19, the first flexible substrate 110, the second flexible substrate 130, and the sealing layer 240 may include gas barrier films 112, 132, and 241, respectively; As in the organic EL device 500 shown in FIG. 20, the sealing layer 240 may seal the upper surface of the organic EL element 120 without disposing any second flexible substrate, f the gas barrier films 112 and 241 may be a gas barrier film (π36-π40);From Shibata the invdidiual device can be sealed by the gas barrier layer.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the light-emitting device of Bang as disclosed by Shibata to derive, wherein an ALD gas barrier layer wrapping the first, second, and third light-emitting units, and the second substrate’. wherein the ALD gas barrier layer further extends between a top surface of the first tier and a bottom surface of the second tier the motivation being to provide a device good coatability and high compactness, and the gas barrier film can have a high gas barrier property
Regarding claims 20-26, the limitations wherein a black matrix, disposed between the first, second, and third light-emitting units; and a planarization layer, disposed between the ALD gas barrier layer and the first light-emitting unit, between the ALD gas barrier layer and the second light-emitting unit, and between the ALD gas barrier layer and the third light-emitting unit (claim 20;) wherein the ALD gas barrier layer comprises a three-layered structure composed of aluminum oxide/silicon dioxide/aluminum oxide (claim 21); wherein the ALD gas barrier layer comprises a five-layered structure composed of aluminum oxide/silicon dioxide/aluminum oxide/silicon dioxide/aluminum oxide (claim 22);wherein the silicon dioxide in the ALD gas barrier layer can be replaced by zinc oxide, zirconium dioxide, titanium dioxide, or hafnium dioxide (claim23); wherein the ALD gas barrier layer comprises aluminum oxide which is wrapped by an organic protective layer and a plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) gas barrier layer, so as to form a four-layered structure composed of a first organic protective layer/aluminum oxide/the PECVD gas barrier layer/a second organic protective layer (claim 24);wherein the first and second organic protective layers each comprises photo-curable or thermo-curable acrylic resin, epoxy resin, or silicone resin (claim 25); wherein the PECVD gas barrier layer comprises silicon nitride (SiNx) or silicon oxynitride (SiOxNy) (claim 26) etc do not appear to contain any additional features which define more than slight constructional changes which come within the scope of the customary (design) practice followed by persons skilled in the art, especially as the advantages thus achieved can be readily contemplated in advance. Alternatively, these limitations are not deemed patentable since the applicant’s disclosure fails to show such limitations to solve any problems or to yield any unobvious advantage that is not within the scope of the teachings applied. Therefore, such limitations would be a matter of design alternative.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the light-emitting device of Bang based on the teachings of Bang, Liao, Shibata to derive the limitations above the motivation being a seamless display with improved black characteristics., improved luminous efficiency and since design alternative requires routine skill in the art,
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ca can be found in the 892 provided with this office action and below:
U US 20140070172 A-General state of the art- n independent package boundary, so that the service life of each OLED module is not affected after cutting.
US 20160149159 A General state of the art- a substrate and a gas barrier layer A on the substrate
TRACIE Y. GREEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875