DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites acquire first color information from an illumination at an observation site; acquire second color information on paper used for printing; switch a calculation method to be used for calculating a target value in a color space of a specific color observed under the illumination, according to the first color information; and calculate the target value in the color space of the specific color, based on the switched calculation method and the second color information.
The limitation of determining the amount of use of each icon over a predetermined period of time, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “by a processor,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by a processor” language, “acquire first color information” “acquire second color information” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually determining a color brightness as dimmer or brighter and a paper color as whiter or less white. Similarly, the limitation of “switch a calculation method to be used for calculating a target value in a color space of a specific color observed under the illumination, according to the first color information”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “by a processor” language, “switch a calculation method” in the context of this claim encompasses the user choosing between two curves or look up tables. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Finally “calculate the target value in the color space of the specific color, based on the switched calculation method and the second color information” is pure math and falls into the mathematical concepts grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a processor. The processor in both steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform both the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 9-10 are rejected for the same reasons and rationale as claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Determining a pixel value is pure math and falls into the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Determining a pixel value is pure math and falls into the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Acquiring color information can be a person reading off a value and falls into the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Using a value is just further describing how the calculation is performed.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 6 only describes the color of the paper which is just a further detail of the information used for the calculation.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Comparing to a threshold is pure math and falls into the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 8 only describes the color which is just a further detail of the information used for the calculation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 20140285477 A1) in view of Hano (JP2014127780A) [Machine Translation] in view of Yamashita et al. (US 20070165048 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 10, Cho et al. disclose an image processing system comprising: one or a plurality of processors, wherein the one or plurality of processors are configured to, a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to realize, and image processing method comprising: acquire first color information from an illumination at an observation site (measures one or more ambient light characteristics from one or more sensors, determines maximum brightness values for red, green and blue (RGB) sub-pixels of a display pixel based on a light reflectance rate of a paper type and the ambient light characteristics, [0011], a correlated color temperature value measured from the color temperature sensor, a correlated color temperature value calculated from the color sensor, [0094]); acquire second color information on paper used for printing (To provide such a natural image quality of the prints on the display device under certain ambient light condition, the ambient light characteristics and the optical characteristics of substantial paper can be used to imitate the characteristics of the image content printed on the paper, [0010], The paper mode may be an image quality mode having image characteristics for imitating the optical characteristics of the image contents printed on paper. The optical characteristics of paper include at least reflectance of paper. The optical characteristics of an ink include at least reflectance of an ink, [0080], For example, the image characteristics determining unit 122 may select reflectance of paper as characteristics of the paper, [0100], FIG. 8 shows target luminance based on illumination of ambient light in the paper mode when reflectance of paper is 80% as an example. The target luminance denotes luminance indicated by the maximum gradation value of an input image. In other words, the FIG. 8 is a look up table (LUT) that outputs the stored maximum gradation value according to the measured illumination value. In addition, when the light sensor is a color sensor which can detect the illumination light of red, green and blue independently, the look up tables for each of colors output the stored maximum gradation values for maximum gradation value of red, maximum gradation value of green and maximum gradation value of blue according to the measured illumination values of red, green and blue light, [0101] In theory, the RGB color values of the ambient light represent the optical characteristics of the ambient light reflected off the paper. In summary, RGB color values can be used as the maximum brightness of the paper mode, [0111]) switch a calculation method to be used for calculating a target value in a color space of a specific color observed under the illumination, according to the first color information (The paper mode which actively changes the optical characteristics of the image depending on the ambient light conditions, [0080], The image characteristics determining unit 122 of the display device 100 according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure may apply characteristics of paper to Equation 1 as variables or constants, and thus determine image characteristics in the paper mode so as to imitate various types of paper., [0090], The image characteristics determining unit 122 of the display device 100 according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure may apply an illumination (lux) value measured from the sensor, a correlated color temperature value, position information measured from the GPS module, a time of the GPS position information, weather information based on the position information, and an illumination value and correlated color temperature value corresponding thereto to Equations 1 and 2 as variables or constants, and thus determine image characteristics in the paper mode so as to correspond to various changeable ambient environment., [0091], “The image characteristics determining unit 122 may add weight to an average correlated color temperature value of the plurality or each of the correlated color temperature values, select a calculated correlated color temperature value, determine a correlated color temperature value suitable for an ambient environment, and apply the determined correlated color temperature value to Equations 1 to 3 as a constant or a variable.” [0095]) and calculate the target value in the color space of the specific color, based on the switched calculation method and the second color information (The apparatus comprises a processor configured to scale color values of input image data, thereby simulating the optical characteristics of paper. The simulation takes into consideration varying ambient light conditions around the display to imitate the optical characteristics of physical paper in the same ambient light conditions, abstract, Equation 1 of FIG. 1D is an equation for determining the maximum luminance of an image with characteristics of paper and illumination as variables, and Equation 2 of FIG. 1D is an equation for determining a color temperature of the image with the characteristics of paper and a correlated color temperature as variables, [0089], For example, the image characteristics determining unit 122 may select reflectance of paper as characteristics of the paper, and combine a measured illumination and color temperature of ambient light with the characteristics of paper to determine image characteristics in the paper mode., [0100], To determine the maximum brightness values of the paper mode for red (R), green (G) and blue (B) sub-pixels of a display pixel based on a light reflectance rate of a paper type and the ambient light characteristics, the reflectance of visible wavelength of the paper and the ambient light intensity distribution of visible wavelength can be used, [0107]).
Cho et al. describe acquire second color information on paper by determining characteristics of printed images, and having different LUTs can be interpreted as switch a calculation, however secondary references are added to make these limitations explicit.
Hano teaches acquire second color information on paper used for printing (For example, the colorimetric values of the printing paper are measured in advance, and these RGB values are stored in the storage device 13. The control unit 31 then reads and uses the colorimetric values stored in the storage device 13. Alternatively, the colorimetric values of the printing paper may be obtained from a server or other source not shown in the illustration via download, [0024], First, the control unit 31 acquires the color measurement values (L*a*b* values) of the
printing paper (step S1). The data storage unit 32 stores these colorimetric values (step S2),
[0033]) and calculate the target value in the color space of the specific color, based on the switched calculation method and the second color information (The image processing apparatus according to the present invention comprises a monitor; a paper color comparison unit that displays the paper color based on the colorimetric values of the printing paper on the monitor and acquires the RGB values as adjusted paper color RGB values when the user determines that the color of the printing paper and the paper color on the monitor are the same; a tristimulus value calculation unit that calculates a stimulus value ratio which is the ratio of the tristimulus value corresponding to the adjusted paper color RGB values and the tristimulus value corresponding to the colorimetric values, and calculates the adjusted tristimulus value of the output target image by multiplying the tristimulus value corresponding to the RGB value of the output target image to be printed on the printing paper by the stimulus value ratio; and a display control unit that displays the output target image on the monitor based on the RGB values corresponding to the adjusted tristimulus value, [0007], The tristimulus value calculation unit 35 (a) calculates the stimulus value ratio, which is the ratio between the tristimulus value corresponding to the adjusted paper color RGB value and the tristimulus value corresponding to the colorimetric value (i.e., the initial value of the paper color before adjustment by the control unit 31), and (b) calculates the adjusted tristimulus value of the output target image by multiplying the tristimulus value corresponding to the RGB value of the output target image to be printed on the printing paper by the stimulus value ratio, [0029], the user compares the color of the printed paper and the color of the paper displayed on the monitor 11 under the same light source and performs an operation on the input device 12 to adjust the RGB values so that they are perceived as the same color, [0039]).
Cho et al. and Hano are in the same art of printing, displaying, and generally color correction (Cho et al., [0008], [0010]; Hano, [0007]). The combination of Hano with Cho et al. will enable acquiring second color information on paper. It would have been obvious at the time of filing to one or ordinary skill in the art to combine the acquiring of Hano with the invention of Cho et al. as this was known at the time of filing, the combination would have predictable results, and as Hano indicates “This invention has been made in view of the above problems, and aims to provide an image processing device that accurately reproduces colors on a monitor in accordance with the user's vision” ([0005]) therefore providing an attractiveness of the display benefit to combining inventions providing an improved user experiences.
Cho et al. and Hano do not explicitly disclose switch a calculation.
Yamashita et al. teach acquire first color information from an illumination at an observation site (Here, the display environment for example is the brightness or the color temperature of the ambient light, the device that will perform display, the size of the image to be displayed, the positional relationship between the image to be displayed and the user who will view the displayed image, and information relating to the user, [0047], For example, the scene property information is described as a combination of fields such as "brightness," "target," "action," and "scene overview," and includes content such as "dark, forest, scenery," "bright, person, close-up," and "dark, person, scenery, [0483], Here, it is possible to first add scene property information to the initial scene and then to the subsequent continuous scenes add information on the change in brightness or the change in the target object from the initial scene as scene property information. By doing this, it is possible to suppress flickering or sudden changes in the picture quality when processing a moving image., [0498], if it is possible to obtain the color temperature of the ambient light in the image capture environment of the image-capturing device 820, [0611]); switch a calculation method to be used for calculating a target value in a color space of a specific color observed under the illumination, according to the first color information (The creation execution portion for example interpolate or extrapolates corresponding elements of a base color transformation lookup table that achieves a default degree of processing and a base color transformation lookup table that achieves a degree of processing that is higher or a degree of processing that is lower than the default, based on the degree of synthesis of the plurality of base color transformation lookup tables, deriving the values of the elements of a new color transformation lookup table, [0017], The image processing device according to claim 15 is the image processing device according to claim 14 in which the profile information output means outputs the profile information in accordance with a display environment in which the image signal that has been color processed will be displayed, [0046], The base profile group storage portion 12 stores a plurality of base color transformation profiles for achieving any one of, or a combination of, color processing such as display color transformation, color region transformation, and memory color correction. Each base color transformation profile is stored as a lookup table that lists a mapping from one color space to another color space. More specifically, the lookup tables are stored as three-dimensional lookup tables that list image signal values after color processing (R1, G1, B1) with respect to three-dimensional image signal values (R0, G0, B0) of R (red), G (green), and B (blue), [0137], First, the visual processing portion 11 transforms the color space of the input signal d1 from RGB into a luminance component Y and color difference components CB and CR. It then compresses the dynamic range of the luminance component Y, [0406], Specifically, as shown in FIG. 10, the required dynamic range compression ratio for the intensity of the outside light is set, and based on this compression ratio, the profile w1 and the profile w2 are selected. The profile wk to be used for the color processing is then created based on these profiles and the degree of synthesis that is specified by the control signal c2. Here, the profile wk is created in correspondence with the value of the degree of synthesis that is specified by the control signal c2., [0415], The effects of the present invention are independent of the color space of the input signal d1, the image signal d2, and the output signal d3. For example, each of these signals can be a signal in any color space of RGB color space, YCbCr color space, YUV color space, Lab color space, Luv color space, YIQ color space, XYZ color space, or YPbPr color space, [0437], For example, if it is possible to obtain the color temperature of the ambient light in the image capture environment of the image-capturing device 820, then in the base profile group storage portion 12 a profile z1 for low color temperatures (3000 K) and a profile z2 for high color temperatures (5500 K) are selected. More specifically, if memory color correction of skin tone is to be performed as the color processing, then the profile that is selected as the profile z1 for low color temperatures (3000 K) is set to have a wider color adjustment range in the red direction than the profile z2 for high color temperatures (5500 K), and its gain in the achromatic color direction is set large., [0611], Further, the control signal c2 is output from the control portion 14 in accordance with the color temperature that is obtained from the environment information. The color processing portion 13 creates a new profile zk based on the profile z1, the profile z2, and the degree of synthesis included in the control signal c2, and then uses this profile zk that it has created to perform color processing, [0612],
Fig. 15,
, Fig. 23); and calculate the target value in the color space of the specific color, based on the switched calculation method and the second color information (The color transformation lookup table creation step is a step of creating a new color transformation lookup table that achieves a predetermined color processing to a predetermined degree of processing based on a plurality of base color transformation lookup tables, each of which achieves the predetermined color processing to a different degree of processing. The color processing execution step is a step of executing color processing of the image signal based on the new color transformation lookup table that has been created., [0027], An overall effect of the foregoing embodiment is that the degree of processing such as display color transformation, color region transformation, and memory color correction can be adjusted freely. For example, it is possible to perform color processing that is in correspondence with the environment of the output device that will output the image signal after color processing. More specifically, it is possible to display the color-processed image signal on a monitor taking into account the ambient light of the surroundings, as well as to print out the color-processed image signal on a printer taking into account the paper quality. Also, in display color transformation and memory color correction, etc., it is possible to perform color processing that is in correspondence with the preferences of each person who will view the image, [0712]).
Cho et al. and Hano and Yamashita et al. are in the same art of printing, displaying, and generally color correction (Cho et al., [0008], [0010]; Hano, [0007]; Yamashita et al., [0007], [0092]). The combination of Yamashita et al. with Cho et al. and Hano will enable switching a calculation. It would have been obvious at the time of filing to one or ordinary skill in the art to combine the switching of Yamashita et al. with the invention of Cho et al. and Hano as this was known at the time of filing, the combination would have predictable results, and as Yamashita et al. indicate “For example, there is a need for color processing to be performed in a manner that is in correspondence with the environment of the output device that will output the color-processed image signal. More specifically, there is a need to display the color-processed image signal on a monitor taking into account the ambient light of the surroundings, as well as a need to print out the color-processed image signal on a printer taking, into account the paper quality” ([0007]) and “Accordingly, it is an aim of the present invention to provide an image processing device with which the storage capacity for storing the lookup tables can be reduced and at the same time the degree of processing of the various color processing operations can be adjusted freely” ([0009]) providing a display appearance improvement and calculation efficiency improvement to combining inventions.
Regarding claim 2, Cho et al., Hano, and Yamashita et al. disclose image processing system according to claim 1. Cho et al. and Yamashita et al. further indicate the one or plurality of processors are configured to: determine a pixel value to be used for displaying the specific color on a display, according to the target value (Cho et al., adjusting the red, the green and the blue color values of image data associated with the sub-pixels of each of the display pixels based on texture of the paper type, [0019], In one embodiment, a display includes a plurality of display pixels, each of the pixels having red, green and blue (RGB) sub-pixels, one or more sensors for measuring one or more ambient light characteristics and a processor configured to determine maximum brightness values for the RGB sub-pixels of the display pixel based on a light reflectance rate of a paper type and the measured ambient light characteristics, determine minimum brightness values for the RGB sub-pixels of the display pixel based on a light reflectance rate of an ink type and the ambient light characteristics, scale red, green and blue (RGB) color values of image data associated with the respective RGB sub-pixels of each of the display pixels in reference to the maximum brightness values and the minimum brightness values and activate each of the display pixels using the scaled RGB color values of the image data, [0022], The image characteristics determining unit 122 of the display device 100 according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure may apply an illumination (lux) value measured from the sensor, a correlated color temperature value, position information measured from the GPS module, a time of the GPS position information, weather information based on the position information, and an illumination value and correlated color temperature value corresponding thereto to Equations 1 and 2 as variables or constants, and thus determine image characteristics in the paper mode so as to correspond to various changeable ambient environment, [0091]; Yamashita et al., The display device according to claim 9 comprises an image processing device according to any one of claims 1 to 5 and display means that performs a display of the image signal that has been color processed that is output from the image processing device, [0031], Here, the processing X and the processing Y are any one color processing of display color transformation, color region transformation, or memory color correction, or color processing that combines display color transformation, color region transformation, and memory color correction. The profile groups and the base color transformation profiles are the same as those described in the first embodiment, [0231]).
Regarding claim 3, Cho et al., Hano, and Yamashita et al. disclose image processing system according to claim 2. Yamashita et al. further indicate the one or plurality of processors are configured to: determine the pixel value such that an appearance of the specific color on the display coincides with a color shade determined by the target value (The information relating to a characteristic of the color processing is information on the characteristic of a parameter of the color processing, and for example is the value of a parameter such as brightness, hue, vividness, or the property of the memory color correction, [0053], This shift in hue can be easily corrected by multiplying the color difference components CBin and CRin of the input signal d1 by the ratio of the luminance component Yin before transformation and the luminance signal Yout after transformation by the visual processing portion 11, [0413]).
Regarding claim 4, Cho et al., Hano, and Yamashita et al. disclose image processing system according to claim 1. Cho et al. and Yamashita et al. further indicate the one or plurality of processors are configured to: acquire the first color information by measuring a color of the illumination (Cho et al., the ambient light characteristics includes intensity of RGB in the ambient light, and wherein scaling the color values of the image data is performed based on a look up table (LUT) including a range of scaled RGB values corresponding to a range of the intensity of RGB in the ambient light, [0017], the intensity of RGB is calculated based on an illumination value and a color temperature value of the ambient light measured by said one or more sensors, [0018], Referring to FIG. 1D, for example, Equations 1 to 3 are illustrated with characteristics of paper, a correlated color temperature of ambient light obtainable from the color temperature sensor, and an illumination of the ambient light obtainable from the illumination sensor as variables, [0088]; Yamashita et al., Here, the display environment for example is the brightness or the color temperature of the ambient light, [0047], [0363], The environment detection portion 754 is realized by a device such as an optical sensor that detects the brightness or color temperature of the ambient light, [0364]).
Regarding claim 5, Cho et al., Hano, and Yamashita et al. disclose image processing system according to claim 4. Hano further indicates the one or plurality of processors are configured to: use a value obtained by measuring a color of the paper as the second color information (For example, the colorimetric values of the printing paper are measured in advance, and these RGB values are stored in the storage device 13. The control unit 31 then reads and uses the colorimetric values stored in the storage device 13. Alternatively, the colorimetric values of the printing paper may be obtained from a server or other source not shown in the illustration via download, [0024], First, the control unit 31 acquires the color measurement values (L*a*b* values) of the printing paper (step S1). The data storage unit 32 stores these colorimetric values (step S2), [0033]).
Regarding claim 7, Cho et al., Hano, and Yamashita et al. disclose image processing system according to claim 1. Cho et al. and Yamashita et al. further indicate the one or plurality of processors are configured to: in a case where a color temperature corresponding to the first color information is less than a lower limit of a color temperature of a standard illumination, use a first calculation method, and in a case where the color temperature corresponding to the first color information is more than the lower limit of the color temperature of the standard illumination, use a second calculation method (Cho et al., Referring again to FIG. 1D, the image characteristics determining unit 122 may calculate a target C/R value, a target color temperature, and target luminance of image characteristics in the paper mode based on Equations 1, 2, or 3 using the plurality of factors 110.[0125] Referring to FIG. 1E, as an example, a look up table (LUT) in which image characteristics corresponding to a range of a color temperature of ambient light obtainable from the color temperature sensor and a range of illumination of the ambient light obtainable from the illumination sensor are defined is shown. In the look up table (LUT) of FIG. 1E, each column lists image characteristics corresponding to illumination values within a certain range, and each row lists image characteristics corresponding to color temperature values within a certain range.[0131] Referring to FIG. 1I, Equation 4 for determining the maximum gradation value (Gmax) and Equation 5 for determining the minimum gradation value (Gmin) with luminance, a C/R, and a color temperature (which are image characteristics determined as an example) as variables are shown. Also, Equation 6 for converting an input gradation value (Gin) into an output gradation value (Gout) using the maximum gradation value (Gmax) and minimum gradation value (Gmin) is shown.[0155] The image processor 124 may convert the unique color temperature and target color temperature of the display device 100 into CIE u'v' chromaticity coordinates or CIE xy chromaticity coordinates through an equation. The image processor 124 may convert the CIE u'v' chromaticity coordinates or CIE xy chromaticity coordinates into XYZ tristimulus values. The image processor 124 may convert the XYZ tristimulus values into sRGB or RGB values with reference to the following conversion equations, [0169]; Yamashita et al., The image processor 124 may convert the unique color temperature and target color temperature of the display device 100 into CIE u'v' chromaticity coordinates or CIE xy chromaticity coordinates through an equation. The image processor 124 may convert the CIE u'v' chromaticity coordinates or CIE xy chromaticity coordinates into XYZ tristimulus values. The image processor 124 may convert the XYZ tristimulus values into sRGB or RGB values with reference to the following conversion equations, [0611],
) [Yamashita does not use term lower limit, but as different corrections are done for “low” “medium” and “high” these can be interpreted as limits].
Regarding claim 8, Cho et al., Hano, and Yamashita et al. disclose image processing system according to claim 1. Cho et al. and Yamashita et al. further indicate the one or plurality of processors are configured to: in a case where a color temperature corresponding to the first color information is a color of white, a color of warm white, a light bulb color, or a color of daylight, use a first calculation method for calculating the target value, and in a case where the color temperature corresponding to the first color information is a color of neutral white, use a second calculation method for calculating the target value (Cho et al., The simulation takes into consideration varying ambient light conditions around the display to imitate the optical characteristics of physical paper in the same ambient light conditions, abstract or instance, the brightness and colors of the printed matters change under different ambient lighting conditions such as weather conditions, time (day or night), or other ambient lighting conditions. Consequently, a printed matter adaptively changes its image qualities to be seen very naturally to a user, [0008], In one embodiment, the maximum brightness values and the minimum brightness values for the RGB sub-pixels are generated by converting the one or more ambient light characteristics into a normalized set of RGB color values of ambient light, applying the light reflectance rate of the paper type to each of the normalized RGB color values of the ambient light and applying the light reflectance rate of the ink type to each of the normalized RGB color values of the ambient light, [0012], Referring to FIG. 1D, for example, Equations 1 to 3 are illustrated with characteristics of paper, a correlated color temperature of ambient light obtainable from the color temperature sensor, and an illumination of the ambient light obtainable from the illumination sensor as variables, [0088], An illumination reference look up table (LUT) may be generated with reference to Korean Industrial Standard "KS A3011, recommended levels of illumination" or ISO corresponding to the above-described measurement method. The display device according to one exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure may use a look up table (LUT) for determining image characteristics based on Table 1. The look up table (LUT) may include information on time, weather, illumination, and environment related to a color temperature. For example, when a value of the look up table (LUT) corresponding to a color temperature sensed by a color temperature sensor is measured as blue sky on a clear day, the display device may determine whether the display device is disposed indoors or outdoors using the GPS module. When it is determined to be outdoors, the display device may determine a color temperature of an image similarly to an image quality of paper under a blue sky on a clear day, [0201], The color temperature sensor 214 measures a color temperature of light incident on the display device 200. Light incident on the display device 200 may be light emitted from various light sources. Incident light may have various color temperatures depending on a kind of light source. For example, since a color temperature of a fluorescent lamp is about 5,500 K but a color temperature of an incandescent lamp is about 2,800 K, a user may have different feelings in the same image quality mode due to different color temperatures even under the same illumination, [0185], according to the embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device can provide a natural image quality comfortable to the eyes of a user using the look up table (LUT) or the arithmetic operation equation based on a plurality of factors including various pieces of ambient environmental information and content information in various image quality modes depending on an ambient environment, thus providing various user experiences, [0282]; Yamashita et al., if information on the ambient light is obtained as environment information, then the information setting portion 752 selects a profile w1 and a profile w2 that are profiles having a different degree of processing with respect to the vividness. Here, the profile w1 is a profile that achieves color processing in which the vividness is not raised, and the profile w2 is a profile that achieves color processing in which the vividness is raised considerably, [0396], The value [n] of the contrast after compression is set as the viewed contrast value of the displayed image under the ambient light conditions of the display environment. That is, the value [n] of the contrast after compression can be derived as the value obtained by lowering the value [m] of the contrast of the luminance component of the input signal d1 by the amount that the luminance value is affected by the ambient light of the display environment, [0410]) [color of printed matter change according to time day or night and other ambient lighting conditions interpreted as color of daylight; Korean Industrial Standard "KS A3011, recommended levels of illumination" interpreted as neutral white].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 20140285477 A1) and Hano (JP2014127780A) [Machine Translation] and Yamashita et al. (US 20070165048 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Takei et al. (US 20240089400 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Cho et al., Hano, and Yamashita et al. disclose image processing system according to claim 1. Hano partly indicates the specific color is white (The control unit 31 (a) displays the paper color (white) based on the colorimetric value of the printing paper on the monitor 11, (b), [0021]) however another reference is added to make this more explicit.
Takei et al. teach the specific color is white (The learning data 16 includes a combination of a medium color measurement value 16a obtained by measuring a specific color on a printing medium such as paper, [0024], First, a method for acquiring the medium color measurement value 16a will be described. The medium color measurement value 16a is acquired when a specific color on a printing medium is measured by a learning data acquisition person using a colorimeter. For easier color measurement, for example, it is desirable that a specific color on a printing medium be the color of the printing medium itself, that is, the color of the background where no printing has been done. However, the specific color is not necessarily the color of the printing medium itself, [0025], Specifically, the learning data acquisition person acquires learning data 16 for a plurality of types of printing media. A specific color (in this exemplary embodiment, white) differs among the plurality of types of printing media. For example, the learning data acquisition person acquires learning data 16 for a plurality of printing media that are a plurality of pieces of white paper, the whiteness of the plurality of pieces of white paper slightly differing from one another, [0034]).
Cho et al. and Hano and Yamashita et al. and Takei et al. are in the same art of printing, displaying, and generally color correction (Cho et al., [0008], [0010]; Hano, [0007]; Yamashita et al., [0007], [0092]; Takei et al., [0005]). The combination of Takei et al. with Cho et al. and Hano and Yamashita et al. will enable focusing on the white color. It would have been obvious at the time of filing to one or ordinary skill in the art to combine the white of Takei et al. with the invention of Cho et al. and Hano and Yamashita et al. as this was known at the time of filing, the combination would have predictable results, and as Takei et al. indicate “Adjusting the color profile of a display so that a color on a printing medium such as paper and a color on the display become equivalent will be considered. A method in which a user manually adjusts the color profile so that a color on the printing medium such as paper and a color on the display become equivalent may be available. However, if many types of printing media are used, the user needs to perform adjustment for each printing medium, which requires time and effort. Thus, it is desirable that the color profile of the display be automatically adjusted so that a color on the printing medium and a color on the display become equivalent” ([0005]-[0006]) thereby providing a display improvement thus enhancing user experience.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE M ENTEZARI HAUSMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2671