DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 7-12, and 14 are pending. Claims 4-6 and 13 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p.5-8, filed 02/10/2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-12 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are moot because Applicant’s amendments have altered the scope of the claims, and therefore, necessitated new grounds of rejection which are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oules et al. (US 11790572 B1) in view of Sasaki et al. (US 8564674 B2), Kim et al. (US 20190303708 A1), Kunio et al. (US 20220346885 A1), Taylor et al. (US 20200121228 A1), Lavallee et al. (US 20230277271 A1), Klinger et al. (US 20230196609 A1), and Alzen et al. (US 20130114785 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Oules teaches "A method of identifying a whiteboard based on image tokens comprising: setting N image tokens on the whiteboard; obtaining an image including the whiteboard from a camera"; (Oules, FIG. 4 and Abstract and Col. 6 lines 20-35, teaches the depiction of a physical whiteboard may be captured by an image capture device to generate a virtual whiteboard wherein one or more markers may be used to facilitate the detection/analysis of the visual content in which the physical whiteboard may include four markers at the corners of the physical whiteboard, i.e., identify a whiteboard based on image tokens being the markers wherein the image tokens are set on the whiteboard and an image including the whiteboard is obtained from a camera).
However, Oules does not explicitly teach “detecting image shaking of the image; only if image shaking of the image is not detected, detecting image tokens of the whiteboard by using a machine learning model; if only M image tokens are detected, generating N-M image tokens either automatically or after obtaining a user permission; applying token tracking to the N image tokens to enhance stability and robustness of token detection; calculating coordinates of the N image tokens; determining an optimal mapping matrix based on the coordinates of the N image tokens; mapping the image based on the optimal mapping matrix to generate a mapped image of the whiteboard; and displaying the mapped image on a screen; wherein M< N, M is a positive integer, and N is an integer larger than 1”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Sasaki teaches "detecting image shaking of the image"; (Sasaki, Claim 1, teaches detecting image shaking comprising an image shaking detection unit which detects image shaking based on a size of a motion vector which represents movement of each pixel and is detected from a plurality of successively obtained image frames wherein the image shaking detection unit compares the motion vector with a threshold to determine image shaking is detected or has disappeared).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Oules by including the detection of image shaking taught by Sasaki. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it improves processing efficiency and speed (Sasaki, Col. 11 Lines 20-29, teaches the motivation of combination to be to improve processing efficiency and processing speed).
However, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki does not explicitly teach “only if image shaking of the image is not detected, detecting image tokens of the whiteboard by using a machine learning model; if only M image tokens are detected, generating N-M image tokens either automatically or after obtaining a user permission; applying token tracking to the N image tokens to enhance stability and robustness of token detection; calculating coordinates of the N image tokens; determining an optimal mapping matrix based on the coordinates of the N image tokens; mapping the image based on the optimal mapping matrix to generate a mapped image of the whiteboard; and displaying the mapped image on a screen; wherein M< N, M is a positive integer, and N is an integer larger than 1”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kim teaches "only if image shaking of the image is not detected, detecting image tokens of the whiteboard (Kim, Abstract and Para. 62, teaches a motion sensor to detect accuracy of motion of the electronic device and check stability of the electronic device on the basis of the motion vector wherein when motion of the electronic device is less than or equal to a threshold value, a motion value may be transmitted to allow the image recognition engine to detect an object, i.e., detect objects only if image shaking of the image is not detected being the motion of the image capturing electronic device being below a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Oules and Sasaki wherein the image frames are of a whiteboard, the objects are tokens, and image shaking in the image is detected by comparing the motion vector to a threshold by including the detection of objects in the image only if the image shaking is not being detected taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it improves user convenience (Kim, Para. 4, teaches the motivation of combination to be to improve user convenience).
However, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki and Kim does not explicitly teach “detecting image tokens of the whiteboard by using a machine learning model; if only M image tokens are detected, generating N-M image tokens either automatically or after obtaining a user permission; applying token tracking to the N image tokens to enhance stability and robustness of token detection; calculating coordinates of the N image tokens; determining an optimal mapping matrix based on the coordinates of the N image tokens; mapping the image based on the optimal mapping matrix to generate a mapped image of the whiteboard; and displaying the mapped image on a screen; wherein M< N, M is a positive integer, and N is an integer larger than 1”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kunio teaches "detecting image tokens of the whiteboard by using a machine learning model"; (Kunio, Para. 13, teaches applying machine learning to identify one or more markers in angiography image frames, i.e., detect image tokens using a machine learning model);
"
"calculating coordinates of the N image tokens"; (Kunio, Para. 17, teaches outputting spatial coordinates defining the marker locations, i.e., calculating coordinates of the image tokens).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Oules, Sasaki, and Kim wherein the image frames are of a whiteboard and the objects are only detected if image shaking is not detected by including the detection of image tokens or markers using a machine learning model and calculating the coordinates of the tokens taught by Kunio. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it improves detection (Kunio, Abstract, teaches the motivation of combination to be to improve or optimize marker detection and coregistration).
However, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, and Kunio does not explicitly teach “if only M image tokens are detected, generating N-M image tokens either automatically or after obtaining a user permission; applying token tracking to the N image tokens to enhance stability and robustness of token detection; determining an optimal mapping matrix based on the coordinates of the N image tokens; mapping the image based on the optimal mapping matrix to generate a mapped image of the whiteboard; and displaying the mapped image on a screen; wherein M< N, M is a positive integer, and N is an integer larger than 1”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Taylor teaches "if only M image tokens are detected, generating N-M image tokens either automatically or after obtaining a user permission";(Taylor, Paras. 92 and 99, teaches calibration frames wherein the upper two corners of each frame portion include a fiducial mark, and the inner bottom corner of each frame portion also includes a fiducial mark in which arrangement and number of fiducials may vary and may be placed at one or more corners of frame portions and wherein if any fiducials are not found due to error then their locations may be interpolated or extrapolated based on the locations of the discovered fiducial marks and the known geometry of the calibration frames in which the corners of the missing fiducial can be estimated using the intersections of lines of known fiducials along axes, i.e., if only M image tokens are detected or found, generating the remaining image tokens automatically by interpolating or extrapolating the positions of the missing fiducials by using the known and detected fiducials);
"wherein M< N, M is a positive integer, and N is an integer larger than 1";(Taylor, Paras. 92 and 99, teaches calibration frames wherein the upper two corners of each frame portion include a fiducial mark, and the inner bottom corner of each frame portion also includes a fiducial mark in which arrangement and number of fiducials may vary and may be placed at one or more corners of frame portions and wherein if any fiducials are not found due to error then their locations may be interpolated or extrapolated based on the locations of the discovered fiducial marks and the known geometry of the calibration frames in which the corners of the missing fiducial can be estimated using the intersections of lines of known fiducials along axes, i.e., the number of fiducials or image tokens is an integer larger than 1 and is greater than the number of fiducials which are not found which is a positive integer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, and Kunio by including the automatic generation of image tokens which were not detected but supposed to be present in which the number of image tokens present is greater than 1 and the number not detected is positive and less than the number of tokens supposed to be present taught by Taylor. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it improves operation of the system (Taylor, Para. 31, teaches the motivation of combination to be to improve operation of the system by calibrating image data).
However, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, and Taylor does not explicitly teach “applying token tracking to the N image tokens to enhance stability and robustness of token detection; determining an optimal mapping matrix based on the coordinates of the N image tokens; mapping the image based on the optimal mapping matrix to generate a mapped image of the whiteboard; and displaying the mapped image on a screen”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Lavallee teaches "applying token tracking to the N image tokens to enhance stability and robustness of token detection"; (Lavallee, Paras. 94 and 98, teaches tracking a pattern of optical markers sufficient to allow a robust and accurate detection and localization of the tracking pattern wherein a greater number of markers may increase the robustness and accuracy of detection, i.e., applying token tracking being the tracking pattern to the image tokens to enhance stability and robustness of detection).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Oules, Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, and Taylor by including the token tracking to enhance stability and robustness of detection taught by Lavallee. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it increases robustness and accuracy (Lavallee, Para. 94, teaches the motivation of combination to be to increase robustness and accuracy of the detection).
However, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, and Lavallee does not explicitly teach “determining an optimal mapping matrix based on the coordinates of the N image tokens; mapping the image based on the optimal mapping matrix to generate a mapped image of the whiteboard; and displaying the mapped image on a screen”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Klinger teaches "determining an optimal mapping matrix based on the coordinates of the N image tokens"; (Klinger, Para. 10, teaches determining marker positions and determining a transformation matrix as a function of the marker positions, i.e., determine an optimal mapping matrix as the transformation matrix based on coordinates of the image tokens being the marker positions);
"mapping the image based on the optimal mapping matrix to generate a mapped image of the whiteboard";(Klinger, Para. 10, teaches the transformation matrix maps the markers on the object onto the marker display in the image, i.e., mapping the image based on the optimal mapping matrix being the transformation matrix to generate a mapped image).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Oules, Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, and Lavallee wherein the image is of a whiteboard by including the mapping of the image based on a mapping matrix to generate a mapped image based on the coordinates of the tokens taught by Klinger. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it improves reliability of detection (Klinger, Para. 9, teaches the motivation of combination to be to improve the reliability of the detection of the markers under different environmental conditions).
However, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, and Klinger does not explicitly teach "and displaying the mapped image on a screen".
In an analogous field of endeavor, Alzen teaches "and displaying the mapped image on a screen"; (Alzen, Abstract, teaches image content mapped onto an observation plane is displayed with the mapped image content on a screen, i.e., displaying the mapped image on a screen).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Oules, Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, and Klinger by including the display of the mapped image on a screen taught by Alzen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it enables example image representation (Alzen, Abstract, teaches the motivation of combination to be to enable example image representation).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen teaches "The method of claim 1, wherein the N image tokens are magnets, magic tapes, stickers, patterns such as rectangular symbols, star symbols, diamond symbols, or line symbols drawn by a pen (a whiteboard pen or a color pen), gestures, or display of electronic screens"; (Oules, FIG. 4 and Col. 6 lines 20-35, teaches the one or more markers being machine-readable optical codes such as barcodes or QR codes, i.e., image tokens are rectangular symbols).
Please note that the exemplary “such as” language is not limiting the scope of the claim.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen teaches "The method of claim 1, wherein the machine learning model is artificial intelligence (AI) model, deep learning model, computer vision model, or you only look once (YOLO) model"; (Kunio, Abstract, teaches artificial intelligence applications including deep or machine learning and computer vision, i.e., the machine learning model is an AI model, deep learning model, or computer vision model).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen references presented in the rejection of Claim 1, applies to claim 3. Thus, the method recited in claim 3 is met by Oules in view of Sasaki, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen teaches "The method of claim 1, wherein setting the N image tokens on the whiteboard is setting the N image tokens at the corners of the whiteboard"; (Oules, FIG. 4 and Col. 6 lines 20-35, teaches the physical whiteboard including four markers at the corners of the physical whiteboard, i.e., setting the plurality of image tokens on the whiteboard at the corners of the whiteboard).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen teaches "The method of claim 1, wherein the whiteboard is a glass whiteboard, a mobile whiteboard, a projection screen, or a mobile green board"; (Oules, FIGS. 4 and 6 and Col. 2 lines 33-46, teaches a projection component configured to project the changes to the virtual whiteboard on top of the physical whiteboard and/or other locations, i.e., the whiteboard is a projection screen displaying or projection changes of the whiteboard).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen teaches "The method of claim 1, further comprising checking if the N image tokens were detected"; (Kunio, Para. 19, teaches checking whether the detected marker location defining detected results is correct or accurate, i.e., checking if image tokens were detected).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Oules in view of Sasaki, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen references presented in the rejection of Claim 1, applies to claim 14. Thus, the method recited in claim 14 is met by Oules in view of Sasaki, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, Alzen, and Peng et al. (US 20240314277 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen does not explicitly teach "The method of claim 1, wherein determining an optimal mapping matrix based on the coordinates of the N image tokens is determining a warp perspective transform based on the coordinates of the N image tokens".
In an analogous field of endeavor, Peng teaches "The method of claim 1, wherein determining an optimal mapping matrix based on the coordinates of the N image tokens is determining a warp perspective transform based on the coordinates of the N image tokens"; (Peng, Paras. 24 and 36, teaches a one-to-one mapping relationship between the original image and the projection position is determined by calculating the homograph matrix mapping wherein the system may determine coordinates of the projected image and the position coordinates of the corrected distortion output corners can be calculated to calculate a homograph matrix in which the system may perform warp perspective transformation to correct every output projected frame, i.e., determining optimal mapping matrix as determining a warp perspective transformation based on image coordinates).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen wherein image coordinates are coordinates of the image tokens by including the determination of a mapping matrix based on coordinates is determining a warp perspective transform taught by Peng. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it determines an improved area (Peng, Para. 25, teaches the motivation of combination to determine a new and improved projection area).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, Alzen, and Kumar (US 20220198622 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen does not explicitly teach "The method of claim 1, further comprising post-processing the mapped image of the whiteboard".
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kumar teaches "The method of claim 1, further comprising post-processing the mapped image of the whiteboard"; (Kumar, Para. 21, teaches a postprocessing engine applying post processing effects to each raw HDR frame to produce a complete HDR frame).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen wherein the frame or image is a mapped image of the whiteboard by including the post-processing of the mapped image taught by Kumar. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it improves the quality of the image (Kumar, Para. 21, teaches the motivation of combination to be to improve the quality of the frames).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, Alzen, and Kumar teaches "The method of claim 9, wherein post-processing the mapped image of the whiteboard comprises: blurring, sharpening, and/or mosaicking the mapped image of the whiteboard"; (Kumar, Para. 21, teaches post processing effects including blurring and sharpening, i.e., post-processing the image includes blurring or sharpening the image).
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, Alzen, and Kumar references presented in the rejection of Claim 9, applies to claim 10. Thus, the method recited in claim 10 is met by Oules in view of Sasaki, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, Alzen, and Kumar.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, Alzen, and Li et al. (US 20240062518 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of references of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen does not explicitly teach "The method of claim 1, wherein the token tracking is applied based on a center point based tracking system, or an intersection over union based tracking system".
In an analogous field of endeavor, Li teaches "The method of claim 1, wherein the token tracking is applied based on a center point based tracking system, or an intersection over union based tracking system"; (Li, Para. 7, teaches tracking the detected objects using intersection over union of previous and current frames of the object, i.e., tracking is applied based on an intersection over union based tracking system).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Oules in view of Sasaki, Kim, Kunio, Taylor, Lavallee, Klinger, and Alzen wherein the objects detected and tracked are tokens by including the tracking is based on an intersection over union based tracking system taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the references since it achieves higher accuracy (Li, Para. 46, teaches the motivation of combination to be to achieve higher accuracy for the model).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S BUDISALICH/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662