DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 116 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, “arts” should read “parts”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “filter” (Claim 1) in figures 30a-31b must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “attachment means for attaching” in claim 102, and “an operation device configured to revolve” in claim 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 102-109, 112, and 115-118 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Helm et al. (US 7,488,302).
Regarding claim 102, an invention relating to filtration device, Helm discloses (Figs. 5a-b) an implantable cassette [i.e. filter arrangement] for holding filters (Col. 3, lines 37-43), wherein the cassette comprises a revolving compartment having a plurality of segments (see annotated figures below), wherein each segment is configured to hold a filter (71-77) configured to filter blood (Col. 4, lines 34-44), and attachment means for attaching the cassette to a blood flow passageway (70) to thereby allow blood to flow through a first segment of the revolving compartment (see annotated figure below & Col. 4, lines 34-44); an operation device (75) configured to revolve the revolving compartment, to thereby move the first segment out of the blood flow passageway (Col. 4, lines 34-44).
Regarding claim 103, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm further discloses wherein the revolution of the revolving compartment moves a second segment into the blood flow passageway (see annotated figure below & Col. 4, lines 34-44).
Regarding claim 104, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm further discloses wherein the revolving compartment comprises at least 2 segments [i.e. six segments] (Col. 4, lines 34-44).
Regarding claim 105, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm further discloses wherein the revolving compartment comprises at least 3 segments [i.e. six segments] (Col. 4, lines 34-44).
Regarding claim 106, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm further discloses wherein the revolving compartment comprises at least 4 segments [i.e. six segments] (Col. 4, lines 34-44).
Regarding claim 107, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm discloses further comprising a support configured to hold the compartment in place in the blood flow passageway (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 108, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 107. Helm discloses further comprising a further support configured to hold the compartment in place in the blood flow passageway (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 109, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm discloses (Fig. 5b) further comprising a power supply (76) for powering the operation device (Col. 4, lines 45-48).
Regarding claim 112, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm discloses (Fig. 5b) further comprising a control unit (76) for controlling the implantable cassette (Col. 4, lines 45-48).
Regarding claim 115, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm discloses wherein the revolving compartment is substantially cylindrical (Figs. 5a-b).
Regarding claim 116, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 115. Helm further discloses wherein the substantially cylindrical revolving compartment is divided into equally large parts forming the respective segments [i.e. elements surrounding filters create equally divided part] (Figs. 5a-b).
Regarding claim 117, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 112. Helm further discloses wherein the control unit comprises an implantable control device [i.e. element 76 along with the rest of the filter arrangement can be inside the patient’s body].
Regarding claim 118, Hem discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 112. Helm further discloses wherein the control unit comprises an external remote control [i.e. element 76 along with the rest of the filter arrangement can be outside the patient’s body].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 110 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Helm et al. US (7,488,302) as applied to claim 109 above, and further in view of Gura (US 2004/0254514).
Regarding claim 110, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 109. Helm fails to disclose wherein the power supply is rechargeable.
In the same field of endeavor, which is filtration devices, Gura teaches wherein the power supply is rechargeable (Par. 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Helm to have wherein the power supply is rechargeable. Doing so would provide enough energy for at least 6 or more hours of continuous, uninterrupted device operation (Par. 0040), as taught by Gura.
Claim 111 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Helm et al. US (7,488,302), in view of Gura (US 2004/0254514), as applied to claim 110 above, and further in view of Mishkin (US 5,902,336).
Regarding claim 111, Helm, as modified by Gura, fails to disclose wherein the power supply is configured to be recharged by wireless energy.
In the same field of endeavor, which is filtration devices, Mishkin teaches wherein the power supply is configured to be recharged by wireless energy (Col. 6, lines 35-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Helm, in view of Gura, to have wherein the power supply is configured to be recharged by wireless energy. Doing so would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (Col. 6, lines 35-37), as taught by Mishkin.
Claims 113-114 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Helm et al. US (7,488,302) as applied to claim 102 above, and further in view of Prince (US 4,994,188).
Regarding claim 113, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm fails to disclose wherein the operation device is configured to apply pressurized air to revolve the compartment.
In the same field of endeavor, which is filtration devices, Prince teaches wherein the operation device is configured to apply pressurized air to revolve the compartment (Col. 3, lines 53-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Helm to have wherein the operation device is configured to apply pressurized air to revolve the compartment. Doing so would provide digital position indicating feedback signals (Col. 3, lines 53-61), as taught by Prince.
Regarding claim 114, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm fails to disclose wherein the operation device is an electric motor.
In the same field of endeavor, which is filtration devices, Prince teaches wherein the operation device is an electric motor (Col. 3, lines 53-63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Helm to have wherein the operation device is an electric motor. Doing so would provide digital position indicating feedback signals (Col. 3, lines 53-63), as taught by Prince.
Claims 119-121 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Helm et al. (US 7,488,302) as applied to claim 102 above, and further in view of Helm et al. (US 7,488,302).
Regarding claims 119, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm fails to disclose further comprising a sensor configured to sense a physical parameter of the patient.
In an alternate embodiment, Helm teaches a sensor configured to sense a physical parameter of the patient (Col. 4, lines 27-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Helm to have a sensor configured to sense a physical parameter of the patient. Doing so would control switching between filters (Col. 4, lines 27-33), as taught by the alternate embodiment of Helm.
Regarding claim 120, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm fails to disclose further comprising a sensor configured to sense a functional parameter of the device.
In an alternate embodiment, Helm teaches a sensor configured to sense a functional parameter of the device (Col. 4, lines 27-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Helm to have a sensor configured to sense a functional parameter of the device. Doing so would control switching between filters (Col. 4, lines 27-33), as taught by the alternate embodiment of Helm.
Regarding claim 121, Helm discloses the implantable cassette according to claim 102. Helm fails discloses further comprising a sensor configured to sense an accumulation of blood clots in the filter.
In an alternate embodiment, Helm teaches a sensor configured to sense an accumulation of blood clots in the filter (Col. 4, lines 27-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Helm to have a sensor configured to sense an accumulation of blood clots in the filter. Doing so would control switching between filters (Col. 4, lines 27-33), as taught by the alternate embodiment of Helm.
Conclusion
/C.U.I/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 October 29, 2025