DETAILED ACTION
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 states the limitation “…pigment comprises at least one metal selected from the group consisting of aluminum, barium, cadmium, chromium, cobalt, copper, iron oxide, manganese, mercury, titanium, zinc, and any combination thereof”. It is noted that: I)- the iron oxide is not a metal but rather a metal compound which makes the claim language indefinite. II)- It should be noted that the stated metals above (i.e. zinc, mercury, barium, titanium…..etc.) are not known as pigments, rather their oxides or their mixed mineral forms (titanium oxide, zinc oxide or cobalt aluminate… etc.) are well known pigments. The characterization of metals (pure metal) as a pigment is not chemically correct and thus the claim language requires a correction. For the sake of examination, only the compounds of above elements are construed as pigments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Souter et al. (US 2015/0275154 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 6-9, and 15-18, Souter teaches, identically, a unit dose water-soluble film material made from polyvinyl alcohol (instant claim 18) comprising a first and second compartments; [12-15, 21], wherein the second compartment is surrounded (instant claim 17) by first compartment; [15], first compartment includes a liquid composition and second compartment includes a powder; [30], first compartment comprises non-aqueous solvents (instant claims 8-9) such as 1,2 propane diol (propylene glycol), glycerol; [146, 147], and polyethylene glycol; [122], encapsulated fragrance (instant 6-7) ; [125, 160], inside a shell material such as melamine formaldehyde; [125]. Souter teaches the second compartment enclosing powder; [30], comprising (instant 15-16) salts such as sodium and calcium carbonate, fragrance, pigment (e.g. titanium dioxide) and a flow aid such as silica, alumina, titania, calcium carbonate, clay, and perfume (pure fragrance or perfumes are usually in oil form); [95, 96, 99].
Regarding claims 2-3, 5, 10-11 and 14, Souter teaches pH adjusting agents (instant 14) such as calcium carbonate monoethanol amine and citric acid; [95, 110, 162, 151], and water; [31]. Note that the use of dye is not mandated by Souter; [110]. The amount of water (instant 10-11) in liquid composition of first compartment is 1-20 wt.%; [31] .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Souter et al. (US 2015/0275154 A1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Roland et al. (WO 2021/259722 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 12-13, Souter does not teach the amount of pigment. However, I)- the small amounts of pigment (a delimiting one) are easily modified or optimized by a person of ordinary skill in the art without the exercise of inventive skill (i.e. routine laboratory experimentation) and does not impart patentability.
II)- Furthermore, the analogous art of Roland teaches a liquid detergent composition (for fabrics: page 2: L.16, page 5: L.27], comprising pigments in the amount of 0.05-3 wt.%; [page 5: L.9]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select the similarly utilize the pigment amount of Roland for Souter’s composition as well.
Souter does not teach the acrylate polymer and copolymer (instant 12-13) as a rheology (viscosity) adjusting agent. However the analogous art of Roland teaches the acrylic acid derivatives as rheology modifier. More specifically the copolymer of ethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acid (i.e. acrylic acid) and alkyl acrylate are used for controlling the viscosity of the liquid detergent composition; [(pg. 1: L.9-11, pg.2: L.31-34]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the copolymer of Roland to liquid component of Souter’s unit dose composition with the motivation of enhancing its controlled introduction, dissolution, in the laundry wash liquor as taught by Roland.
Correspondence
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/01/08
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767