DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 of U.S. Application No. 18/499,344 filed on 11/01/2023 were examined. A non-final office action was filed on 06/13/2025.
Applicant filed remarks on 08/26/2025. Claims 1-10 were examined. A final office action was filed on 09/18/2025.
Applicant filed a response after final action on 12/02/2025. Examiner filed an Advisory Action on 12/10/2025.
Applicant filed a Notice of Appeal on 12/18/2025. Examiner filed a Pre-Brief Appeal Conference decision to reopen prosecution on 01/23/2026.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103: Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2025 with respect to Prost-Fin et al. (US 7602278 B2) in view of Okuyama (US 20140292692 A1) have been fully considered but they are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuyama (US 20140292692 A1) in view of BMW (2019 BMW X5 - Photos_2), hereinafter referred to as Okuyama and BMW respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Okuyama discloses An operating unit for arrangement on a steering wheel in a motor vehicle (“The operation input unit 13 includes operation surfaces 13A and 13B provided on a surface of the holding unit 12 to receive an operation input by being touched by an operation object of the operator, for example, the fingers.” [0057]), the operating unit comprising:
Okuyama does not explicitly disclose a plurality of operating elements of a first functional group;
a plurality of operating elements of a second functional group;
a relief-shaped main body having a central plateau;
an upper bevel and a lower bevel, wherein the operating elements of the first functional group are arranged in the central plateau;
and the operating elements of the second functional group are arranged in the upper bevel and the lower bevel
However, BMW does teach a plurality of operating elements of a first functional group (See at least Pg.9 Image [5,6]);
a plurality of operating elements of a second functional group (See at least Pg.9 Image [1-4]);
a relief-shaped main body having a central plateau (See at least Pg.9 Image);
an upper bevel and a lower bevel, wherein the operating elements of the first functional group are arranged in the central plateau (See at least Pg.9 Image [5,6]),
and the operating elements of the second functional group are arranged in the upper bevel and the lower bevel (See at least Pg.9 Image [1-4]). Both Okuyama and BMW teach a steering wheel assembly for a motor vehicle including an operating unit. However, BMW explicitly teaches a plurality of operating elements of a first functional group; a plurality of operating elements of a second functional group; a relief-shaped main body having a central plateau; an upper bevel and a lower bevel, wherein the operating elements of the first functional group are arranged in the central plateau; and the operating elements of the second functional group are arranged in the upper bevel and the lower bevel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering wheel assembly of Okuyama to also include a plurality of operating elements of a first functional group; a plurality of operating elements of a second functional group; a relief-shaped main body having a central plateau; an upper bevel and a lower bevel, wherein the operating elements of the first functional group are arranged in the central plateau; and the operating elements of the second functional group are arranged in the upper bevel and the lower bevel, as taught by BMW, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the steering wheel assembly design (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [BMW, Pg. 9]).
Regarding claim 2, Okuyama discloses The operating unit according to claim 1,
Okuyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the upper bevel and the lower bevel are chamfered with respect to the central plateau
However, BMW does teach wherein the upper bevel and the lower bevel are chamfered with respect to the central plateau (See at least Pg.9 Image [1-4]). Both Okuyama and BMW teach a steering wheel assembly for a motor vehicle including an operating unit. However, BMW explicitly teaches wherein the upper bevel and the lower bevel are chamfered with respect to the central plateau.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering wheel assembly of Okuyama to also include wherein the upper bevel and the lower bevel are chamfered with respect to the central plateau, as taught by BMW, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the steering wheel assembly design (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [BMW, Pg. 9]).
Regarding claim 3, Okuyama discloses The operating unit according to claim 1,
Okuyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the operating elements of the second functional group comprise one or more of: operating elements for controlling a playback volume; or operating elements for gradually changing a playback
However, BMW does teach wherein the operating elements of the second functional group comprise one or more of: operating elements for controlling a playback volume; or operating elements for gradually changing a playback (See at least Pg.9 Image [1-4]).
Both Okuyama and BMW teach a steering wheel assembly for a motor vehicle including an operating unit. However, BMW explicitly teaches operating elements for controlling a playback volume; or operating elements for gradually changing a playback.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering wheel assembly of Okuyama to also include teaches operating elements for controlling a playback volume; or operating elements for gradually changing a playback, as taught by BMW, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the steering wheel assembly design (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [BMW, Pg. 9]).
Regarding claim 4, Okuyama discloses The operating unit according to claim 1,
Okuyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the operating elements of the first functional group comprise one or more of: operating elements for list navigation and/or menu control; operating elements for selecting a source for a playback of media contents; or operating elements for controlling a telephone function
However, BMW does teach wherein the operating elements of the first functional group comprise one or more of: operating elements for list navigation and/or menu control; operating elements for selecting a source for a playback of media contents; or operating elements for controlling a telephone function (See at least Pg.9 Image [5,6]). Both Okuyama and BMW teach a steering wheel assembly for a motor vehicle including an operating unit. However, BMW explicitly teaches operating elements for list navigation and/or menu control; operating elements for selecting a source for a playback of media contents; or operating elements for controlling a telephone function.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering wheel assembly of Okuyama to also include operating elements for list navigation and/or menu control; operating elements for selecting a source for a playback of media contents; or operating elements for controlling a telephone function, as taught by BMW, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the steering wheel assembly design (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [BMW, Pg. 9]).
Regarding claim 5, Okuyama discloses The operating unit according to claim 4,
Okuyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the operating elements for the list navigation and/or the menu control comprise a plurality of cursor buttons, wherein: one cursor button of the plurality of cursor buttons is arranged on an upper edge of the central plateau, one cursor button is arranged on a lower edge of the central plateau, one cursor button is arranged on a left-hand edge of the central plateau, and one cursor button is arranged on a right-hand edge of the central plateau
However, BMW does teach wherein the operating elements for the list navigation and/or the menu control comprise a plurality of cursor buttons, wherein: one cursor button of the plurality of cursor buttons is arranged on an upper edge of the central plateau, one cursor button is arranged on a lower edge of the central plateau, one cursor button is arranged on a left-hand edge of the central plateau, and one cursor button is arranged on a right-hand edge of the central plateau (See at least Pg.9 Image ). Both Okuyama and BMW teach a steering wheel assembly for a motor vehicle including an operating unit. However, BMW explicitly teaches wherein the operating elements for the list navigation and/or the menu control comprise a plurality of cursor buttons, wherein: one cursor button of the plurality of cursor buttons is arranged on an upper edge of the central plateau, one cursor button is arranged on a lower edge of the central plateau, one cursor button is arranged on a left-hand edge of the central plateau, and one cursor button is arranged on a right-hand edge of the central plateau.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering wheel assembly of Okuyama to also include wherein the operating elements for the list navigation and/or the menu control comprise a plurality of cursor buttons, wherein: one cursor button of the plurality of cursor buttons is arranged on an upper edge of the central plateau, one cursor button is arranged on a lower edge of the central plateau, one cursor button is arranged on a left-hand edge of the central plateau, and one cursor button is arranged on a right-hand edge of the central plateau, as taught by BMW, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the steering wheel assembly design (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [BMW, Pg. 9]).
Regarding claim 6, Okuyama discloses The operating unit according to claim 5,
Okuyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of cursor buttons are raised in a relief manner with respect to the central plateau
However, BMW does teach wherein the plurality of cursor buttons are raised in a relief manner with respect to the central plateau (See at least Pg.9 Image). Both Okuyama and BMW teach a steering wheel assembly for a motor vehicle including an operating unit. However, BMW explicitly teaches wherein the plurality of cursor buttons are raised in a relief manner with respect to the central plateau.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering wheel assembly of Okuyama to also include wherein the plurality of cursor buttons are raised in a relief manner with respect to the central plateau, as taught by BMW, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the steering wheel assembly design (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [BMW, Pg. 9]).
Regarding claim 7, Okuyama discloses The operating unit according to claim 5,
Okuyama does not explicitly disclose a touch operating element which is arranged in a relief depression in the central plateau, wherein the depression is arranged, with the touch operating element, between the cursor buttons
However, BMW does teach a touch operating element which is arranged in a relief depression in the central plateau, wherein the depression is arranged, with the touch operating element, between the cursor buttons (See at least Pg.9 Image ). Both Okuyama and BMW teach a steering wheel assembly for a motor vehicle including an operating unit. However, BMW explicitly teaches wherein the depression is arranged, with the touch operating element, between the cursor buttons.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering wheel assembly of Okuyama to also include wherein the depression is arranged, with the touch operating element, between the cursor buttons, as taught by BMW, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the steering wheel assembly design (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [BMW, Pg. 9]).
Regarding claim 8, Okuyama discloses The operating unit according to claim 6,
Okuyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the cursor buttons are chamfered in a manner tapering to the depression
However, BMW does teach wherein the cursor buttons are chamfered in a manner tapering to the depression(See at least Pg.9 Image). Both Okuyama and BMW teach a steering wheel assembly for a motor vehicle including an operating unit. However, BMW explicitly teaches wherein the cursor buttons are chamfered in a manner tapering to the depression.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering wheel assembly of Okuyama to also include wherein the cursor buttons are chamfered in a manner tapering to the depression, as taught by BMW, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the steering wheel assembly design (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [BMW, Pg. 9]).
Regarding claim 9, Okuyama discloses A steering wheel for a motor vehicle comprising an operating unit according to claim 1 (“the steering wheel 11 ” [0181]).
Regarding claim 10, Okuyama discloses A motor vehicle comprising an operating unit according to claim 1 (“a dashboard display in which the display screen 14 a is arranged in an upper part of a dashboard of the vehicle” [0061]).
Conclusion
/AA/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668