DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn
Claims 8 and 15 have been amended
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacchus et al. US 2019/0106085 (US’085) in view of Baldovino et al. US 2019/0337489 (US’489) and Ehrmann et al. US 2024/0367618 (US’618).
Regarding claim 8, US’085 teaches a system for cleaning a contaminant from a surface of a vehicle, comprising: a camera for obtaining an image of the surface, the surface including the contaminant (cleaning a sensor lens cover for an optical vehicle sensor, abstract, para. 1-2);
a plurality of cleaning devices for cleaning the contaminant from the surface (one of one or more cleaning systems to activate a respective cleaning modality for the sensor lens cover, the cleaning modality provided by the selected cleaning system comprises one of the following group of cleaning modalities: pressurized air, pressurized fluid, mechanical wiping action, centrifugal force and ultrasonic vibration Para. 13 and 20-22);
and a processor configured to: determine a contamination measure from the image, the contamination measure indicative of a contamination level of the surface from the image; determine a contaminated region and a contaminant type from the image (the processor determines presence of a contaminant on at least some of the cells of the sensor lens cover, a location of the contaminant on the sensor lens cover and a contaminant type using the sensor information and the contaminant information, para. 13-22);
select a cleaning approach for cleaning the surface based on the contamination measure, and the contaminant type; the cleaning approach including selecting a cleaning device from the plurality of cleaning devices, and selecting a cleaning duration; (the processor activates a selected cleaning system depending upon contamination presence and the contaminant type and determines whether the contaminate has been removed after the completion of the cleaning modality, depending upon the amount or location of the contaminant, the decision function 204 also provides an intensity and duration recommendation 304 for cleaning operation to remove the contaminant, para. 22 and 37-42),
and control the cleaning device using the cleaning approach (the sensor lens cover is cleaned, para. 37-42).
US’085 does not teach selecting a cleaning direction and selecting the cleaning approach based on the contaminated region, wherein the selected cleaning direction is dependent on a speed of the vehicle, determine an orientation of the selected cleaning device, the orientation being configured to achieve the cleaning direction; and control the cleaning device using the cleaning approach, the control including reorienting the selected cleaning device from a first position to a second position, the second position placing the cleaning device in the selected orientation.
US’489 teaches a processor programmed to receive data indicating a contaminant on a sensor window of a vehicle (abstract). The processor 14 is programmed to receive data indicating a contaminant on a sensor window 18 of the vehicle 12; determine a combination of an air pressure setting of an air source 20 and a liquid pressure setting of a liquid source 22 to remove the contaminant from the sensor window 18; and set the air source 20 to the air pressure setting and the liquid source 22 to the liquid pressure setting. The computer 10 described below applies the combination of air pressure settings for the air source 20 and liquid pressure settings for the liquid source 22 to reach a desired zone 54 of sensor window 18 and remove the contaminant. The computer 10 described below applies the combination of air pressure settings for the air source 20 and liquid pressure settings for liquid source 22 to reach a desired zone 54 of the sensor window 18 and remove the contaminant in the zone 54. The computer 10 described below applies the combination of air pressure settings for the air source 20 and liquid pressure settings for liquid source 22 to reach a desired zone 54 of the sensor window 18 and remove the contaminant in the zone 54 (para. 16-46, fig. 5-8). Therefore, US’489 teaches maximizing the cleaning effect by selecting a cleaning direction and selecting the cleaning approach based on the contaminated region by selecting the zone and operating conditions. The vehicle sensor cleaning of US’085 can be combined with the vehicle sensor cleaning of US’489 to maximizing the cleaning effect in the particular contaminated zone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of US’085 to include selecting a cleaning direction and selecting the cleaning approach based on the contaminated region because US’489 teaches it maximizes the cleaning effect in the particular contaminated zone and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (C).
The modified apparatus of US’085 does not teach wherein the selected cleaning direction is dependent on a speed of the vehicle, determine an orientation of the selected cleaning device, the orientation being configured to achieve the cleaning direction; and control the cleaning device using the cleaning approach, the control including reorienting the selected cleaning device from a first position to a second position, the second position placing the cleaning device in the selected orientation.
US’618 teaches a roof module for forming a vehicle roof on a motor vehicle including environment sensor configured to send and/or receive electromagnetic signals through a see-through area so as to detect a vehicle environment; and at least one cleaning nozzle configured to clean the see-through area (abstract). When the cleaning device is used while the vehicle is moving, this oblique orientation, in particular, can have the effect that at least part of the cleaning fluid is blown away by the headwind and possibly by any additional ambient wind and no longer strikes the surface to be cleaned at high vehicle speeds. This has a negative impact on the cleaning efficiency of the cleaning device. Instead, the cleaning fluid is deflected by the headwind and no longer strikes the see-through area or only strikes it insufficiently; the steeper the angle between the main discharge direction and the optical axis of the environment sensor is selected, the stronger this negative effect becomes. one of the flow guiding elements 27 can also, for example, be movably mounted on the frame structure 110 or be movably supported thereon so that the flow guiding element 27 together with the at least one cleaning nozzle 24 can be moved between a retracted position and at least one deployed position (see both positions in FIG. 4). The flow guiding element may also be moved to different deployed positions (between the retracted position and a maximum deployed position) as a function of speed and/or a predetermined cleaning program, for example to enable speed-optimized deflection of the headwind (para. 7, 17, 28 and 54-59). Therefore, US’618 teaches that the modified system of US’085 can include repositionable nozzle to enable speed-optimized deflection of the headwind
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of US’085 to include wherein the selected cleaning direction is dependent on a speed of the vehicle, determine an orientation of the selected cleaning device, the orientation being configured to achieve the cleaning direction; and control the cleaning device using the cleaning approach, the control including reorienting the selected cleaning device from a first position to a second position, the second position placing the cleaning device in the selected orientation because US’618 teaches that the modified system of US’085 can include repositionable nozzle to enable speed-optimized deflection of the headwind and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III.
Regarding claim 9, the modified apparatus of US’085 teaches the system of claim 8. The modified apparatus of US’085 further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to select the cleaning device, the duration, using a velocity of the vehicle (the decision function 204 can be integrated into the processor 202 as indicated at 203. Decision function 204 receives various sensor information inputs from vehicle sensors 206 throughout the vehicle. Non-limiting examples of such sensors include speed sensors, para.36, 42 of US’085) and the orientation using a velocity of the vehicle (where the vehicle 12 is in motion, the processor 14 may consider the pressure exerted on the sensor window 18 based on the speed of the vehicle 12 and change the fluid path, para. 41-77, see fig. 7a-c of US’489).
Regarding claim 11, the modified apparatus of US’085 teaches the system of claim 8. US’085 further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the contaminant type and the contamination level from one of: (ii) a plurality of temporally spaced images when the vehicle is in motion (by comparing successive video frames, it can be determined that the dirt particle 602N is present N frames later as shown by video frame 600N continuing to detect the presence of the dirt particle 602N, para. 41, fig. 6a-e).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’085 in view of US’489 and US’618 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Tariq et al. US2021/0201464 (US’464).
Regarding claim 10, the modified apparatus of US’085 teaches the system of claim 8.
The modified system of US’085 does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine the contamination level based on an average size of the contaminant and a dispersion of the contaminant over the surface.
US’464 teaches a sensor degradation detection and remediation system includes one or more sensors configured to collect image data from an environment. (abstract). Computing device(s) 140 may implement one or more processes to generate synthetic degradation data, based on a predetermined set of characteristics associated with different types or sources of degradations. Because the size, density, and distribution of raindrops that may accumulate on a vehicle sensor 104 during a rain shower are not random, computing device(s) 140 may implement processes using preprogrammed raindrop sizes, shapes, and distribution patterns configured to model different types of rainstorms. For instance, a first pattern for misting rain may be stored, a second for heavy rain, a third for heavy rain in high traffic, a fourth for heavy rain at a slow speed, a fifth for heavy rain at a high speed, and so on. In some implementations, the computing device(s) 140 may execute a synthetic data generation process for a particular type/pattern of raindrops, using a set of preconfigured raindrop parameters for droplet birth rate, average size, size variation, death size, and/or droplet longevity. Using the set of preprogrammed parameters, along with randomization functions and distributions applied to the parameters, the synthetic degradation data generation process may generate a synthetic image of a raindrop pattern corresponding to a specific type and/or severity of rainstorm. Referring again to 518 and 618, when the operations of the autonomous vehicle 102 are controlled in response to the detection of the degradation in the image data 106, one or a combination of remediation operations may be performed. In some cases, an automated cleaning process may be initiated to clean a surface of the sensor 104 (e.g., a camera lens) from which the degraded image data 106 was captured (para. 41 and 68-79). Therefore, US’784 teaches it is well known in the art to perform image degradation analysis of vehicle vision sensors that includes average size and distribution of contaminants for the purposes of determining when to perform cleaning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of US’085 to include wherein the processor is further configured to determine the contamination level based on an average size of the contaminant and a dispersion of the contaminant over the surface because US’464 teaches it is well known in the art to perform image degradation analysis of vehicle vision sensors that includes average size and distribution of contaminants for the purposes of determining when to perform cleaning and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’085 in view of US’489 and US’618 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Herman et al. US2020/0094784 (US’784).
Regarding claim 12, the modified apparatus of US’085 teaches the system of claim 8.
The modified system of US’085 does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine the contaminated region using semantic segmentation of the image.
US’784 teaches a system includes a processor and a memory. The memory stores instructions executable by the processor to detect an occlusion on a surface in a vehicle sensor optical path based on a segmentation of sensor image data, and to select a cleaning plan for the surface based on the detected occlusion, map data, and vehicle route data (abstract). An occluded area (or occlusion) on a surface in a vehicle sensor optical path may be detected based on a semantic segmentation of sensor image data. A cleaning plan for the surface may be selected based on the detected occlusion, map data, vehicle route data (para. 26-35 and 52-57, see fig. 5-6). Therefore, US’784 teaches it is well known in the art to detect contaminated regions in the viewing area of a sensor using semantic segmentation of the image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of US’085 to include wherein the processor is further configured to determine the contaminated region using semantic segmentation of the image because US’784 teaches it is well known in the art to detect contaminated regions in the viewing area of a sensor using semantic segmentation of the image and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’085 in view of US’489 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Du et al. US 2020/0198587 (US’586).
Regarding claims 13-14, the modified apparatus of US’085 teaches the system of claim 8.
The modified system of US’085 does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to operate one of a predictive model and a machine learning model to determine the contaminant type and the contamination level based on the image, with regard to claim 13 and wherein the processor is further configured to compare the image of the surface to a contamination model of the vehicle, with regard to claim 14.
US’586 teaches a method of monitoring a windshield of a vehicle including: capturing an image of a windshield of a vehicle; determining that debris is located on the windshield in response to the image of the windshield; determining a location of the debris on the windshield; determining to remove the debris from the windshield; and actuating a drive motor of a wiper system to clean the location, the drive motor being operably connected to a wiper arm having a wiper blade (abstract). The camera 39 may capture images of the debris 15 on the windshield 16 and transmit the images to the windshield monitoring system 12. The windshield monitoring system 12 uses image processing (e.g., machine learning) to analyze the images to determine the location of the debris 15 on the windshield and degree of accumulation of the debris 15 on the windshield 16. The image processing may include training a software model, such as, for example, CNN/Fast R-CNN model or a similar model to detect different types of debris 15 and accumulation of debris 15. Image processing may include comparing the images captured by the camera 39 to stock images of a clean windshield 16. The windshield monitoring system 12 may also determine the type of debris 15 through an image processing, such as, for example, CNN/Fast R-CNN model that uses a plurality of stock images of different types of debris 15 located on the windshield 16 to train a CNN/Fast R-CNN model. (para. 44-47). Therefore, US’586 teaches that it is well known in the art to determine use machine learning and image comparisons to analysis contamination type and level for a vehicle monitoring system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of US’085 to include wherein the processor is further configured to operate one of a machine learning model to determine the contaminant type and the contamination level based on the image, with regard to claim 13 and wherein the processor is further configured to compare the image of the surface to a contamination model of the vehicle, with regard to claim 14 because US’586 teaches it is well known in the art o determine use machine learning and image comparisons to analysis contamination type and level for a vehicle monitoring system and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Claim(s) 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacchus et al. US 2019/0106085 (US’085) in view of Baldovino et al. US 2019/0337489 (US’489) and Ehrmann et al. US 2024/0367618 (US’618).
Regarding claim 15, US’085 teaches a vehicle, comprising: a camera for obtaining an image of the surface, a surface including a contaminant (cleaning a sensor lens cover for an optical vehicle sensor, abstract, para. 1-2);
a plurality of cleaning devices for cleaning the contaminant from the surface (one of one or more cleaning systems to activate a respective cleaning modality for the sensor lens cover, the cleaning modality provided by the selected cleaning system comprises one of the following group of cleaning modalities: pressurized air, pressurized fluid, mechanical wiping action, centrifugal force and ultrasonic vibration Para. 13 and 20-22);
and a processor configured to: determine a contamination measure from the image, the contamination measure indicative of a contamination level of the surface from the image; determine a contaminated region and a contaminant type from the image (the processor determines presence of a contaminant on at least some of the cells of the sensor lens cover, a location of the contaminant on the sensor lens cover and a contaminant type using the sensor information and the contaminant information, para. 13-22);
select a cleaning approach for cleaning the surface based on the contamination measure, and the contaminant type, the cleaning approach including selecting a cleaning device from the plurality of cleaning devices, and selecting a cleaning duration (the processor activates a selected cleaning system depending upon contamination presence and the contaminant type and determines whether the contaminate has been removed after the completion of the cleaning modality, depending upon the amount or location of the contaminant, the decision function 204 also provides an intensity and duration recommendation 304 for cleaning operation to remove the contaminant, para. 22 and 37-42);
and control the cleaning device using the cleaning approach (the sensor lens cover is cleaned, para. 37-42).
US’085 does not teach selecting a cleaning direction and selecting the cleaning approach based on the contaminated region, and wherein the selected cleaning direction is dependent on a speed of the vehicle, determine an orientation of the selected cleaning device, the orientation being configured to achieve the cleaning direction and the control including reorienting the selected cleaning device from a first position to a second position, the second position placing the cleaning device in the selected orientation.
US’489 teaches a processor programmed to receive data indicating a contaminant on a sensor window of a vehicle (abstract). The processor 14 is programmed to receive data indicating a contaminant on a sensor window 18 of the vehicle 12; determine a combination of an air pressure setting of an air source 20 and a liquid pressure setting of a liquid source 22 to remove the contaminant from the sensor window 18; and set the air source 20 to the air pressure setting and the liquid source 22 to the liquid pressure setting. The computer 10 described below applies the combination of air pressure settings for the air source 20 and liquid pressure settings for the liquid source 22 to reach a desired zone 54 of sensor window 18 and remove the contaminant. The computer 10 described below applies the combination of air pressure settings for the air source 20 and liquid pressure settings for liquid source 22 to reach a desired zone 54 of the sensor window 18 and remove the contaminant in the zone 54. The computer 10 described below applies the combination of air pressure settings for the air source 20 and liquid pressure settings for liquid source 22 to reach a desired zone 54 of the sensor window 18 and remove the contaminant in the zone 54 (para. 16-46, fig. 5-8). Therefore, US’489 teaches maximizing the cleaning effect by selecting a cleaning direction and selecting the cleaning approach based on the contaminated region by selecting the zone and operating conditions. The vehicle sensor cleaning of US’085 can be combined with the vehicle sensor cleaning of US’489 to maximizing the cleaning effect in the particular contaminated zone
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of US’085 to include selecting a cleaning direction and selecting the cleaning approach based on the contaminated region because US’489 teaches it maximizes the cleaning effect in the particular contaminated zone and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (C).
The modified apparatus of US’085 does not teach wherein the selected cleaning direction is dependent on a speed of the vehicle, determine an orientation of the selected cleaning device, the orientation being configured to achieve the cleaning direction and the control including reorienting the selected cleaning device from a first position to a second position, the second position placing the cleaning device in the selected orientation.
US’618 teaches a roof module for forming a vehicle roof on a motor vehicle including environment sensor configured to send and/or receive electromagnetic signals through a see-through area so as to detect a vehicle environment; and at least one cleaning nozzle configured to clean the see-through area (abstract). When the cleaning device is used while the vehicle is moving, this oblique orientation, in particular, can have the effect that at least part of the cleaning fluid is blown away by the headwind and possibly by any additional ambient wind and no longer strikes the surface to be cleaned at high vehicle speeds. This has a negative impact on the cleaning efficiency of the cleaning device. Instead, the cleaning fluid is deflected by the headwind and no longer strikes the see-through area or only strikes it insufficiently; the steeper the angle between the main discharge direction and the optical axis of the environment sensor is selected, the stronger this negative effect becomes. one of the flow guiding elements 27 can also, for example, be movably mounted on the frame structure 110 or be movably supported thereon so that the flow guiding element 27 together with the at least one cleaning nozzle 24 can be moved between a retracted position and at least one deployed position (see both positions in FIG. 4). The flow guiding element may also be moved to different deployed positions (between the retracted position and a maximum deployed position) as a function of speed and/or a predetermined cleaning program, for example to enable speed-optimized deflection of the headwind (para. 7, 17, 28 and 54-59). Therefore, US’618 teaches that the modified system of US’085 can include repositionable nozzle to enable speed-optimized deflection of the headwind
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of US’085 to include wherein the selected cleaning direction is dependent on a speed of the vehicle, determine an orientation of the selected cleaning device, the orientation being configured to achieve the cleaning direction and the control including reorienting the selected cleaning device from a first position to a second position, the second position placing the cleaning device in the selected orientation because US’618 teaches that the modified system of US’085 can include repositionable nozzle to enable speed-optimized deflection of the headwind and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III.
Regarding claim 16, the modified apparatus of US’085 teaches the system of claim 15. The modified apparatus of US’085 further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to select the cleaning device, the duration, using a velocity of the vehicle (the decision function 204 can be integrated into the processor 202 as indicated at 203. Decision function 204 receives various sensor information inputs from vehicle sensors 206 throughout the vehicle. Non-limiting examples of such sensors include speed sensors, para.36, 42 of US’085) and the orientation using a velocity of the vehicle (where the vehicle 12 is in motion, the processor 14 may consider the pressure exerted on the sensor window 18 based on the speed of the vehicle 12 and change the fluid path, para. 41-77, see fig. 7a-c of US’489).
Regarding claim 18, the modified apparatus of US’085 teaches the vehicle of claim 15. US’085 further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine the contaminant type and the contamination level from one of: (ii) a plurality of temporally spaced images when the vehicle is in motion (by comparing successive video frames, it can be determined that the dirt particle 602N is present N frames later as shown by video frame 600N continuing to detect the presence of the dirt particle 602N, para. 41, fig. 6a-e).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’085 in view of US’489 and US’618 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Tariq et al. US2021/0201464 (US’464).
Regarding claim 17, the modified apparatus of US’085 teaches the system of claim 15.
The modified system of US’085 does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine the contamination level based on an average size of the contaminant and a dispersion of the contaminant over the surface.
US’464 teaches a sensor degradation detection and remediation system includes one or more sensors configured to collect image data from an environment. (abstract). Computing device(s) 140 may implement one or more processes to generate synthetic degradation data, based on a predetermined set of characteristics associated with different types or sources of degradations. Because the size, density, and distribution of raindrops that may accumulate on a vehicle sensor 104 during a rain shower are not random, computing device(s) 140 may implement processes using preprogrammed raindrop sizes, shapes, and distribution patterns configured to model different types of rainstorms. For instance, a first pattern for misting rain may be stored, a second for heavy rain, a third for heavy rain in high traffic, a fourth for heavy rain at a slow speed, a fifth for heavy rain at a high speed, and so on. In some implementations, the computing device(s) 140 may execute a synthetic data generation process for a particular type/pattern of raindrops, using a set of preconfigured raindrop parameters for droplet birth rate, average size, size variation, death size, and/or droplet longevity. Using the set of preprogrammed parameters, along with randomization functions and distributions applied to the parameters, the synthetic degradation data generation process may generate a synthetic image of a raindrop pattern corresponding to a specific type and/or severity of rainstorm. Referring again to 518 and 618, when the operations of the autonomous vehicle 102 are controlled in response to the detection of the degradation in the image data 106, one or a combination of remediation operations may be performed. In some cases, an automated cleaning process may be initiated to clean a surface of the sensor 104 (e.g., a camera lens) from which the degraded image data 106 was captured (para. 41 and 68-79). Therefore, US’784 teaches it is well known in the art to perform image degradation analysis of vehicle vision sensors that includes average size and distribution of contaminants for the purposes of determining when to perform cleaning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of US’085 to include wherein the processor is further configured to determine the contamination level based on an average size of the contaminant and a dispersion of the contaminant over the surface because US’464 teaches it is well known in the art to perform image degradation analysis of vehicle vision sensors that includes average size and distribution of contaminants for the purposes of determining when to perform cleaning and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’085 in view of US’489 and US’618 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Herman et al. US2020/0094784 (US’784).
Regarding claim 19, the modified apparatus of US’085 teaches the system of claim 15.
The modified system of US’085 does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine the contaminated region using semantic segmentation of the image.
US’784 teaches a system includes a processor and a memory. The memory stores instructions executable by the processor to detect an occlusion on a surface in a vehicle sensor optical path based on a segmentation of sensor image data, and to select a cleaning plan for the surface based on the detected occlusion, map data, and vehicle route data (abstract). An occluded area (or occlusion) on a surface in a vehicle sensor optical path may be detected based on a semantic segmentation of sensor image data. A cleaning plan for the surface may be selected based on the detected occlusion, map data, vehicle route data (para. 26-35 and 52-57, see fig. 5-6). Therefore, US’784 teaches it is well known in the art to detect contaminated regions in the viewing area of a sensor using semantic segmentation of the image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of US’085 to include wherein the processor is further configured to determine the contaminated region using semantic segmentation of the image because US’784 teaches it is well known in the art to detect contaminated regions in the viewing area of a sensor using semantic segmentation of the image and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’085 in view of US’489 and US’618 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Du et al. US 2020/0198587 (US’586).
Regarding claim 20, the modified apparatus of US’085 teaches the system of claim 15.
The modified system of US’085 does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to operate one of a predictive model and a machine learning model to determine the contaminant type and the contamination level based on the image.
US’586 teaches a method of monitoring a windshield of a vehicle including: capturing an image of a windshield of a vehicle; determining that debris is located on the windshield in response to the image of the windshield; determining a location of the debris on the windshield; determining to remove the debris from the windshield; and actuating a drive motor of a wiper system to clean the location, the drive motor being operably connected to a wiper arm having a wiper blade (abstract). The camera 39 may capture images of the debris 15 on the windshield 16 and transmit the images to the windshield monitoring system 12. The windshield monitoring system 12 uses image processing (e.g., machine learning) to analyze the images to determine the location of the debris 15 on the windshield and degree of accumulation of the debris 15 on the windshield 16. The image processing may include training a software model, such as, for example, CNN/Fast R-CNN model or a similar model to detect different types of debris 15 and accumulation of debris 15. Image processing may include comparing the images captured by the camera 39 to stock images of a clean windshield 16. The windshield monitoring system 12 may also determine the type of debris 15 through an image processing, such as, for example, CNN/Fast R-CNN model that uses a plurality of stock images of different types of debris 15 located on the windshield 16 to train a CNN/Fast R-CNN model. (para. 44-47). Therefore, US’586 teaches that it is well known in the art to determine use machine learning and image comparisons to analysis contamination type and level for a vehicle monitoring system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of US’085 to include wherein the processor is further configured to operate one of a machine learning model to determine the contaminant type and the contamination level based on the image because US’586 teaches it is well known in the art to determine use machine learning and image comparisons to analysis contamination type and level for a vehicle monitoring system and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ amendments to claim 15 have overcome the 112-rejection set forth in the non-final mailed 1-16-26. As a result, the 112 rejection of claim 15 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 8 and 15 to include subject matter regarding the orientation of the cleaning device has changed the scope of claims 8 and 15, and as a result, the 103 rejection of claims 8 and 15 as stated in the non-final office action mailed 1-16-26 is withdrawn. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 103 as obvious over US’085 in view of US’489 and US’618 which includes both the rejection of claims 8 and 15 as stated in the non-final office action and additional discussion regarding the teachings of US’618 relating to the features added to claims 8 and 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4-7-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 4-7-26, with respect to the rejection of claims 8 and 15 and the teachings of US’085 and US’489, with regard to amendments made to claims 8 and 15 have been fully considered but are moot, due to the new rejection applied in the above final office action not relying on US’085 and US’489 for teaching the new limitations added to claims 8 and 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713