Double Patenting
Claim 1-8, 10, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 7-10, 12-14, and 17 of copending Application No. 19/273,248 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of claim 1 are recited in claims 1 and 17 of the copending Application, and the limitations of claims 2-8 and 10 are recited in claims 7-10 and 12-14, and 17, and claim 20 is recited in claim 1, 7-10 and 12-14, and 17.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I (claims 1-12, 20) and species of Fig. 7 in the reply filed on 07/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search burden for examination of groups I and II because they are classified in the same cpc class. This is not found persuasive because the examiner has provided sufficient reasons in the restriction requirement mailed on 05/27/2026 to show that there is a serious search burden (see page 3). As an example, the examiner noted that the inventions require a different field of search, such as employing different search strategies and search queries. Note that group I is directed to a system while group II is directed to a method. Method steps require different search strategies and search queries than the elements of the apparatus type limitations of the system recited in group I. Regarding the species, applicant argues that they are interrelated and hence there is no serious search burden for examination of all species. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner has provided sufficient reasons in the restriction requirement mailed on 05/27/2026 to show that there is a serious search burden (see page 4-5). As an example, the examiner noted that the inventions require a different field of search, such as employing different search strategies and search queries. Note that the shapes of the species of Fig. 4, 5, and 7 are clearly and visibly different. For example, the species of Fig. 7 shows serrations 220 on exposed edges 224 with a groove between them. This shape is exclusive to the species shown in Fig. 7 and the species of Fig. 4 and 5 do not show this specific shape and cannot show because they have different shapes. Searching the species of Fig. 7 require using search queries for serrations but searching for the species of Fig. 4 and 5 do not need that.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a system in the preamble. Claim 1 recites “a tool” and further recites that “the tool is configured to be operated to rotate the seal remover.” Hence, claim 1 recites a system that comprises a seal remover that is configured to be coupled to a tool, but then claim 1 also recites the tool itself as “the tool is configured to […].” It is not clear whether a tool is positively recited as a part of the system of claim 1 and is required or not. Hence, the metes and bounds of claim 1 are indefinite and unclear.
The term “sharp” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “sharp” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the instant case, it is not clear how sharp the apex should be in order to be considered sharp.
Any and all claims rejected herein under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, if rejected with art below under sections 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103, are rejected as best understood.
Claims 2-8 and 10-12 are rejected due to their dependency from a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In the instant case, claim 2 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 3-5 are rejected due to their dependency from a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hamilton et al. (WO 2013/036235), referred to hereinafter as Hamilton.
With regard to claim 1, Hamilton discloses a system for removing a cap seal from a fastener, the system comprising: a seal remover (100) including fingers (108, or the finger to which element 108 is attached, see Fig. 1) outwardly extending from a base (104), wherein passages are defined between the fingers (Fig. 1), wherein the seal remover is configured (through 102) to be coupled to a distal end of an operative portion of a tool (see Hamilton disclosing “a rotary drive for imparting rotation” to 100, and also disclosing “100 is attached to a rotary drive” and “100 is spun about a central axis 110 by a rotary drive”), wherein the tool is configured to be operated to rotate the seal remover in relation to the cap seal so that the fingers remove the cap seal from the fastener, and wherein removed portions of the cap seal are discharged through and out of the passages (Fig. 3A-3C).
It is noted that while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claim 1 is directed to an apparatus and must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP § 2114.II. The recitations of claim 1 attempt to define the invention by what it does rather than what it is. Hamilton discloses all of the claim elements of the current invention and is capable of performing the recited functions including the seal remover being configured to be coupled to a distal end of an operative portion of a tool, the tool being configured to be operated to rotate the seal remover in relation to the cap seal so that the fingers remove the cap seal from the fastener, and removed portions of the cap seal are discharged through and out of the passages.
With regard to claim 2, Hamilton further discloses the tool (see Hamilton disclosing “a rotary drive for imparting rotation” to 100, and also disclosing “100 is attached to a rotary drive” and “100 is spun about a central axis 110 by a rotary drive”).
With regard to claim 4, Hamilton further discloses that the seal remover is removably (through 102) secured to the distal end of the operative portion of the tool (see Hamilton disclosing “a rotary drive for imparting rotation” to 100, and also disclosing “100 is attached to a rotary drive” and “100 is spun about a central axis 110 by a rotary drive”).
With regard to claim 5, Hamilton further discloses that the tool comprises an actuator (a “rotary drive” comprises an actuator “for imparting rotation” such that “100 is spun about a central axis 110” by the “rotary drive”) coupled to a proximal end of the operative portion (see Hamilton disclosing “a rotary drive for imparting rotation” to 100, and also disclosing “100 is attached to a rotary drive” and “100 is spun about a central axis 110 by a rotary drive”).
With regard to claim 6, Hamilton further discloses that the fingers are deflectable and configured to frictionally engage the cap seal (the fingers are deflectable because any material would be able to deflect (i.e. be deflectable) even if in very small amount. Moreover, Hamilton discloses that the fingers 108 are “made from material having low bulk hardness”, which means they are cable of being deflected. As an option, Hamilton discloses the material to be non- metallic compounds such as a polymer or a soft metal like an aluminum alloy, which are deflectable. Regarding being configured to frictionally engage the cap seal, see Fig. 3A-3C. Moreover, Hamilton discloses that c ap seal removal is accomplished by aligning seal remover 100 with 130 and urging the cavity of 100 towards the fastener such that the working edges 108 and 116 of 100 engage the cap seal 126 while 100 is spun about a central axis 110 by a rotary drive. Also see “a cavity 106 with one or more working edges 108 for engaging the sealant”).
With regard to claim 7, Hamilton further discloses that the seal remover is formed from a polymer (see Hamilton disclosing that “suitable materials may include materials primarily comprised of non- metallic compounds such as a polymer”).
With regard to claim 9, Hamilton further discloses that each of the fingers comprises: an extension beam extending from the base (104); and a tooth extending from the extension beam opposite from the base, wherein the tooth includes slanted edges that converge at a sharp apex (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 10, Hamilton further discloses that the fingers are disposed around a central receiving chamber (106) configured to receive the cap seal (Fig. 3A).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claims 1-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wiseman et al. (US 2017/0259306), referred to hereinafter as Wiseman.
With regard to claim 1, Wiseman discloses a system for removing a cap seal from a fastener, the system comprising: a seal remover (116, 200) including fingers (120, 204) outwardly extending from a base, wherein passages are defined between the fingers (see Fig. 1-12. Also note that having passages between fingers is inherent in having fingers), wherein the seal remover is configured to be coupled to a distal end of an operative portion of a tool (Fig. 9-12), wherein the tool is configured to be operated to rotate the seal remover in relation to the cap seal so that the fingers remove the cap seal from the fastener, and wherein removed portions of the cap seal are discharged through and out of the passages (Fig. 1-12).
It is noted that while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claim 1 is directed to an apparatus and must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP § 2114.II. The recitations of claim 1 attempt to define the invention by what it does rather than what it is. Wiseman discloses all of the claim elements of the current invention and is capable of performing the recited functions including the seal remover being configured to be coupled to a distal end of an operative portion of a tool, the tool being configured to be operated to rotate the seal remover in relation to the cap seal so that the fingers remove the cap seal from the fastener, and removed portions of the cap seal are discharged through and out of the passages.
With regard to claim 2, Wiseman further discloses the tool (Fig. 9-12).
With regard to claim 3, Wiseman further discloses that the seal remover is integrally formed with the distal end of the operative portion of the tool (see Fig. 10-12 showing the seal remover being integral with the tool).
“Integral”, and its variations from the base word, is being read in light of its plain word which means “formed as a unit with another part”. This is in contrast to applicant’s potentially intended claim scope that would better correspond to the term “monolithic and one-piece.”
In re Morris, Fed. Cir. 1997 affirmed the Board's decision that "the term 'integral' is a relatively broad term inclusive of means for maintaining parts in a fixed relationship as a single unit."
With regard to claim 4, Wiseman further discloses that the seal remover is removably secured to the distal end of the operative portion of the tool (Fig. 9).
With regard to claim 5, Wiseman further discloses that the tool comprises an actuator coupled to a proximal end of the operative portion (Fig. 9-12, [0077]).
With regard to claim 6, Wiseman further discloses that the fingers are deflectable and configured to frictionally engage the cap seal (see [0054] disclosing that the material can be any material, such as silicone material, a rubber material, a polymer, nylon, plastic, or some other type of material, which are deflectable. Regarding being configured to frictionally engage the cap seal, see Fig. 7, 10, [0074]).
With regard to claim 7, Wiseman further discloses that the seal remover is formed from a polymer ([0054]).
With regard to claim 8, Wiseman further discloses that the seal remover is formed from one or more of nylon, rubber, polyetherimide, or polyacetal ([0054]).
With regard to claim 9, Wiseman further discloses that each of the fingers comprises: an extension beam extending from the base; and a tooth extending from the extension beam opposite from the base, wherein the tooth includes slanted edges that converge at a sharp apex (Fig. 2-4).
With regard to claim 10, Wiseman further discloses that the fingers are disposed around a central receiving chamber configured to receive the cap seal (Fig. 2-12).
With regard to claim 20, Wiseman discloses a system for removing a cap seal from a fastener, the system comprising: a tool including an operative portion having a distal end, a proximal end, and an actuator coupled to the proximal end (Fig. 9-12); and a seal remover (116, 200) including fingers outwardly extending from a base (Fig. 1-12), wherein passages are defined between the fingers (Fig. 1-12), wherein the fingers are disposed around a central receiving chamber configured to receive the cap seal (Fig. 1-12), and wherein the seal remover is formed from one or more of nylon, rubber, polyetherimide, or polyacetal ([0054]), wherein the seal remover is coupled to the distal end of the operative portion of the tool (Fig. 10-12), wherein the tool is configured to be operated to rotate the seal remover in relation to the cap seal so that the fingers remove the cap seal from the fastener, and wherein removed portions of the cap seal are discharged through and out of the passages (Fig. 1-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton et al. (WO 2013/036235), referred to hereinafter as Hamilton.
With regard to claim 3:
Hamilton discloses the system of claim 2, as set forth above.
Hamilton does not appear to explicitly disclose that the seal remover is integrally formed with the distal end of the operative portion of the tool.
However, the court has "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice."). (In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965)). See MPEP 2144.04.V.B.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to make the seal remover be integrally formed with the distal end of the operative portion of the tool.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton et al. (WO 2013/036235), referred to hereinafter as Hamilton in view of Wiseman et al. (US 20170259306), referred to hereinafter as Wiseman.
With regard to claim 8:
Hamilton discloses the system of claim 1, as set forth above.
Hamilton does not appear to explicitly disclose that the seal remover is formed from one or more of nylon, rubber, polyetherimide, or polyacetal.
However, Wiseman teaches a seal remover and further teaches that seal remover is formed from one or more of nylon, rubber, polyetherimide, or polyacetal ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way and form the seal remover from one or more of nylon, rubber, polyetherimide, or polyacetal.
With regard to claim 20:
Hamilton discloses a system for removing a cap seal from a fastener, the system comprising: a tool including an operative portion having a distal end, a proximal end, and an actuator coupled to the proximal end (see Hamilton disclosing “a rotary drive for imparting rotation” to 100, and also disclosing “100 is attached to a rotary drive” and “100 is spun about a central axis 110 by a rotary drive”); and a seal remover (100) including fingers (108, or the finger to which element 108 is attached, see Fig. 1) outwardly extending from a base (104), wherein passages are defined between the fingers (Fig. 1), wherein the fingers are disposed around a central receiving chamber (106) configured to receive the cap seal (Fig. 3A), wherein the seal remover is coupled to the distal end of the operative portion of the tool (through 102), wherein the tool is configured to be operated to rotate the seal remover in relation to the cap seal so that the fingers remove the cap seal from the fastener, and wherein removed portions of the cap seal are discharged through and out of the passages (Fig. 3A-3C).
Hamilton does not appear to explicitly disclose that the seal remover is formed from one or more of nylon, rubber, polyetherimide, or polyacetal.
However, Wiseman teaches a seal remover and further teaches that seal remover is formed from one or more of nylon, rubber, polyetherimide, or polyacetal ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way and form the seal remover from one or more of nylon, rubber, polyetherimide, or polyacetal.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton et al. (WO 2013/036235), referred to hereinafter as Hamilton.
With regard to claims 11-12:
Hamilton discloses the system of claim 1, as set forth above.
Hamilton does not appear to explicitly disclose the specific finger profiles recited in claims 11-12.
However, Hamilton teaches that the fingers are “contoured or profiled such that it approximates the profile of the protruding fastener in an installed condition” as well as “in an installed and unsealed condition”, and the fingers can have “a planer or a non-planer form”. Hamilton further teaches that fingers can have “different shapes, sizes, and cutting profiles” in order to “conform to a variety of different protruding fastener geometries.” Hamilton further teaches that the fingers need to engage with the cap seal in order to remove it. Therefore, Hamilton establishes a result variable optimization, in which the variables being the shape, size, and profile of the fingers and their cutting profiles are optimized in order to conform to a variety of different fastener and cap seal geometries while also being able to engage with the cap seal sufficiently to remove it (i.e., results).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to try different seal removers with different finger profiles through routine experimentation and choose a finger profile that best suits their particular application at hand, and arrive at the recited profiles in claims 11-12 in which each of the fingers comprises: a wedge-shaped main body outwardly extending from the base, wherein the wedge-shaped main body comprises an arcuate outer wall connected to an arcuate inner wall by angled sidewalls; a cutting end comprising a flat leading surface connected to a beveled trailing surface, wherein the beveled trailing surface downwardly cants from the flat leading surface; and a cutting groove on an interior surface at a junction of the inner wall and the cutting end, the cutting groove comprises an upright wall connected to an angled wall that cants toward a central longitudinal axis, wherein the upright wall includes an expanded leading edge that connects to a tapered portion that terminates in a tapered trailing edge, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiseman et al. (US 2017/0259306), referred to hereinafter as Wiseman.
With regard to claims 11-12:
Wiseman discloses the system of claim 1, as set forth above.
Wiseman does not appear to explicitly disclose the specific finger profiles recited in claims 11-12.
However, Wiseman teaches that the fingers can have any shape ([0047], [0060]), and the profile and shape of the fingers are designed and selected such that they are capable of removing and collecting the cap seal ([0046], [0047], [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to try different seal removers with different finger profiles through routine experimentation with the goal of designing and selecting the shape and profile of the fingers such that they are capable of removing and collecting the cap seal at hand, and choose a finger profile that best suits their particular application at hand, and arrive at the recited profiles in claims 11-12 in which each of the fingers comprises: a wedge-shaped main body outwardly extending from the base, wherein the wedge-shaped main body comprises an arcuate outer wall connected to an arcuate inner wall by angled sidewalls; a cutting end comprising a flat leading surface connected to a beveled trailing surface, wherein the beveled trailing surface downwardly cants from the flat leading surface; and a cutting groove on an interior surface at a junction of the inner wall and the cutting end, the cutting groove comprises an upright wall connected to an angled wall that cants toward a central longitudinal axis, wherein the upright wall includes an expanded leading edge that connects to a tapered portion that terminates in a tapered trailing edge. MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent prior art disclosing similar systems such as US 2014/0017021.
/BEHNOUSH HAGHIGHIAN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745