DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 through 10 originally filed 1 November 2023. By amendment received 15 June 2026; claims 1 through 10 are amended and claims 11 and 12 are added. Claims 1 through 12 are addressed by this action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered; they are addressed below.
Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims overcome the previous prior art rejections. This argument is persuasive and all rejections are withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, additional art has been located which, in combination with the previously cited art, renders obvious the amended claims. As such, new rejections have been formulated as set forth below.
As such, all claims are addressed as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda (F019a, US Pub. 2010/0284019), in view of Carney et al. (Carney, US Patent 4,577,321), and further in view of Kurobe (JP Pub. 2013-012515 A).
Kurobe was initially cited in the IDS received 18 June 2026. A translation is provided with this action.
Regarding claim 1, F019a discloses, "Obtaining a target oscillation wavelength for the wavelength tunable laser device" (p. [0075] and Fig. 4A, pt. L1). "A plurality of semiconductor elements formed of a III-V group compound semiconductor" (p. [0054], [0055], and Fig. 1A, pts. 11a, 11b, and 110). "A plurality of first optical waveguides provided in a substrate of the wavelength tunable laser device" (p. [0053], [0054], and Figs. 1A and 1B, pts. 3, 11a, and 11b). "Selecting, from among [the plurality of first optical waveguides], a first optical waveguide optically coupled to the selected first semiconductor element" (p. [0075] and Fig. 4A, pt. L1). "Causing light to be emitted from the selected first semiconductor element into the selected first optical waveguide" (p. [0057] and Figs. 1A and 4A, pts. 11a, 21a, and L1, where operation of only laser 11a logically selects waveguide 21a). F019a does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the plurality of semiconductor elements respectively include active layers having different bandgap wavelengths." "Wavelengths at which optical gains of the plurality of semiconductor elements reach peaks differ from one another." Carney discloses, "Wherein the plurality of semiconductor elements respectively include active layers having different bandgap wavelengths" (col. 2, lines 12-29 and Figs. 1 and 2, pt. 12). "Wavelengths at which optical gains of the plurality of semiconductor elements reach peaks differ from one another" (col. 2, lines 12-29 and Figs. 1 and 2, pt. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of F019a with the teachings of Carney. In view of the teachings of F019a regarding a laser including multiple gain elements emitting different wavelengths, the alternate construction of the gain mediums to exhibit different emission peaks according to the desired output wavelength as taught by Carney would enhance the teachings of F019a by allowing for improved efficiency of the individual laser elements.
The combination of F019a and Carney does not explicitly disclose, "Selecting, from among [the plurality of semiconductor elements], a first semiconductor element based on the target oscillation wavelength." "Wherein a wavelength at which an optical gain of the selected first semiconductor element reaches a peak is closer to the target oscillation wavelength than a wavelength at which an optical gain of at least one non-selected semiconductor element among the plurality of semiconductor elements reaches a peak." Kurobe discloses, "Selecting, from among [the plurality of semiconductor elements], a first semiconductor element based on the target oscillation wavelength" (p. [0010], [0032]). "Wherein a wavelength at which an optical gain of the selected first semiconductor element reaches a peak is closer to the target oscillation wavelength than a wavelength at which an optical gain of at least one non-selected semiconductor element among the plurality of semiconductor elements reaches a peak" (p. [0010], [0032], where the selection of the laser on the basis of operational band necessarily involves a selection according to which laser provides an output wavelength that is close to the desired wavelength). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a and Carney with the teachings of Kurobe. In view of the teachings of F019a regarding a laser including multiple gain elements emitting different wavelengths, the additional control processes related to how the operational laser is selected as taught by Kurobe would enhance the teachings of F019a and Carney by providing a suitable manner by which the overall device may be operated.
Regarding claim 10, F019a discloses, "Wherein the wavelength tunable laser device includes a substrate" (p. [0053], [0054], and Figs. 1A and 1B, pts. 3, 11a, and 11b). "A plurality of first optical waveguides provided in the substrate" (p. [0063] and Figs. 1A and 1B, pts. 3, 21a, and 21b). "A plurality of semiconductor elements formed of a III-V group compound semiconductor and optically coupled to the plurality of first optical waveguides" (p. [0056] and Fig. 2A, pts. 110 and 112). "Wherein the control device comprises a target wavelength obtaining controller" (p. [0064] and Fig. 1A, pts. 11a, 11b, 21a, and 21b). "[The target wavelength obtaining controller] configured to obtain a target oscillation wavelength for the wavelength tunable laser device" (p. [0075] and Fig. 4A, pt. L1). "A waveguide selection controller configured to select, from among the plurality of first optical waveguides, a first optical waveguide optically coupled to the selected first semiconductor element" (p. [0075] and Fig. 4A, pt. L1). "An emission controller configured to cause light to be emitted from the selected first semiconductor element into the selected first optical waveguide" (p. [0057] and Figs. 1A and 4A, pts. 11a, 21a, and L1, where operation of only laser 11a logically selects waveguide 21a). F019a does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the plurality of semiconductor elements respectively include active layers having different bandgap wavelengths such that wavelengths at which optical gains of the plurality of semiconductor elements reach peaks differ from one another." Carney discloses, "Wherein the plurality of semiconductor elements respectively include active layers having different bandgap wavelengths such that wavelengths at which optical gains of the plurality of semiconductor elements reach peaks differ from one another" (col. 2, lines 12-29 and Figs. 1 and 2, pt. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of F019a with the teachings of Carney for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of F019a and Carney does not explicitly disclose, "A semiconductor selection controller configured to select, from among the plurality of semiconductor elements, a first semiconductor element based on the target oscillation wavelength." "Wherein a wavelength at which an optical gain of the selected first semiconductor element reaches a peak is closer to the target oscillation wavelength than a wavelength at which an optical gain of at least one non-selected semiconductor element among the plurality of semiconductor elements reaches a peak." Kurobe discloses, "A semiconductor selection controller configured to select, from among the plurality of semiconductor elements, a first semiconductor element based on the target oscillation wavelength" (p. [0010], [0032]). "Wherein a wavelength at which an optical gain of the selected first semiconductor element reaches a peak is closer to the target oscillation wavelength than a wavelength at which an optical gain of at least one non-selected semiconductor element among the plurality of semiconductor elements reaches a peak" (p. [0010], [0032], where the selection of the laser on the basis of operational band necessarily involves a selection according to which laser provides an output wavelength that is close to the desired wavelength). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a and Carney with the teachings of Kurobe for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over F019a, in view of Carney, in view of Kurobe, in view of Ward et al. (Ward, US Pub. 2010/0142567), and further in view of Baehr-Jones et al. (Baehr-Jones, US Pub. 2019/0265409).
Regarding claim 2, F019a discloses, "Wherein the plurality of first optical waveguides includes two first optical waveguides" (p. [0062] and Fig. 1A, pts. 21a and 21b).
The combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein selecting the first optical waveguide optically coupled to the selected first semiconductor element includes selecting one of the two first optical waveguides by controlling [the one of the two first optical waveguides]." Ward discloses, "Wherein selecting the first optical waveguide optically coupled to the selected first semiconductor element includes selecting one of the two first optical waveguides by controlling [the one of the two first optical waveguides]" (p. [0064] and Fig. 8, pts. 812, 814, 818, and 820). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe with the teachings of Ward. In view of the teachings of F019a regarding a laser including multiple gain elements that are coupled to a single waveguide, the alternate configuration of the coupling mechanism to include an MZI that selects which branch is operational as taught by Ward would enhance the teachings of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe by allowing operation at the selected wavelength to be improved.
The combination of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and Ward does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a heater is provided over one of the two first optical waveguides." "[The one of the two first optical waveguides is controlled by] electric power input to the heater based on the target oscillation wavelength." Baehr-Jones discloses, "Wherein a heater is provided over one of the two first optical waveguides" (p. [0048] and Fig. 2A, pts. 41, 44, 45, and 48). "[The one of the two first optical waveguides is controlled by] electric power input to the heater based on the target oscillation wavelength" (p. [0048] and Fig. 2A, pts. 41, 44, 45, and 48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and Ward with the teachings of Baehr-Jones. In view of the teachings of F019a regarding a laser including multiple gain elements that are coupled to a single waveguide and the teachings of Ward regarding employing a tunable MZI for coupling the gain elements into a single waveguide, the alternate tuning of MZI through the use of heating pads as taught by Baehr-Jones would enhance the teachings of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and Ward by providing a suitably alternate mechanism for adjusting the phase of the MZI branches.
Regarding claim 3, The combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the method further comprises selecting the other one of the two first optical waveguides by setting the electric power input to the heater to a second value." "[The second value] different from the first value." "[The first value corresponding to] when another semiconductor element, among the plurality of semiconductor elements, is selected based on another target oscillation wavelength." Ward discloses, "Wherein the method further comprises selecting the other one of the two first optical waveguides by setting the electric power input to the heater to a second value" (p. [0064] and Fig. 8, pts. 812, 814, 818, and 820). "[The second value] different from the first value" (p. [0064] and Fig. 8, pts. 812, 814, 818, and 820). "[The first value corresponding to] when another semiconductor element, among the plurality of semiconductor elements, is selected based on another target oscillation wavelength" (p. [0064] and Fig. 8, pts. 812, 814, 818, and 820). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe with the teachings of Ward for the reasons provided above regarding claim 2.
The combination of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and Ward does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein selecting he one of the two first optical waveguides includes setting the electric power input to the heater to a first value." Baehr-Jones discloses, "Wherein selecting he one of the two first optical waveguides includes setting the electric power input to the heater to a first value" (p. [0048] and Fig. 2A, pts. 41, 44, 45, and 48, where heaters are operated to control phase in the manner required by Ward). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and Ward with the teachings of Baehr-Jones for the reasons provided above regarding claim 2.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over F019a, in view of Carney, in view of Kurobe, and further in view of Fukuda (F143b, US Pub. 2010/0189143).
Regarding claim 4, The combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the substrate includes a second optical waveguide optically coupled to the plurality of first optical waveguides." "Wherein the second optical waveguide is branched into two branched second optical waveguides." "Wherein one of the plurality of first optical waveguides is optically coupled to one of the two branched second optical waveguides." "Wherein another one of the plurality of first optical waveguides is optically coupled to the other one of the two branched second optical waveguides." "Wherein the method further comprises selecting, from among the two branched second optical waveguides, a second optical waveguide configured to transmit the light emitted from the selected first semiconductor element." "Wherein in selecting the second optical waveguide, the branched second optical waveguide optically coupled to the selected first optical waveguide is selected." F143b discloses, "Wherein the substrate includes a second optical waveguide optically coupled to the plurality of first optical waveguides" (p. [0038], [0051], and Figs. 1 and 6, pts. 5, M1, M2, and SB, where the first optical waveguides correspond to those waveguides collected in M1 and the second optical waveguide corresponds to M2). "Wherein the second optical waveguide is branched into two branched second optical waveguides" (p. [0053] and Fig. 6, pts. M2, W5, and W6). "Wherein one of the plurality of first optical waveguides is optically coupled to one of the two branched second optical waveguides" (p. [0053] and Fig. 6, pts. M1, M2, and W5). "Wherein another one of the plurality of first optical waveguides is optically coupled to the other one of the two branched second optical waveguides" (p. [0053] and Fig. 6, pts. M1, M2, and W6). "Wherein the method further comprises selecting, from among the two branched second optical waveguides, a second optical waveguide configured to transmit the light emitted from the selected first semiconductor element" (p. [0052], [0053], and Fig. 6, pts. P1, P2, P3, P4, and P9, where selection of the operating element as in F019a logically selects the branches through which light passes when employing the coupler of F143b). "Wherein in selecting the second optical waveguide, the branched second optical waveguide optically coupled to the selected first optical waveguide is selected" (p. [0052], [0053], and Fig. 6, pts. P1, P2, P3, P4, and P9, where selection of the operating element as in F019a logically selects the branches through which light passes when employing the coupler of F143b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe with the teachings of F143b. In view of the teachings of F019a regarding a laser including multiple gain elements that are coupled to a single waveguide, the alternate configuration of the coupler as cascaded MZI couplers as well as the additional inclusion of a ring resonator after the couplers as taught by F143b would enhance the teachings of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe by providing a suitably alternate mechanism for coupling each of the light emitting elements as well as by allowing for additional selection and tuning of the operational wavelength.
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over F019a, in view of Carney, in view of Kurobe, in view of F143b, and further in view of Shimizu (US Pub. 2010/0246612).
Regarding claim 5, The combination of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and F143b does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the wavelength tunable laser device includes a plurality of ring resonators optically coupled to the second optical waveguide." "Wherein the method further comprises controlling resonant wavelengths of the plurality of ring resonators based on the target oscillation wavelength and the selected first semiconductor element." Shimizu discloses, "Wherein the wavelength tunable laser device includes a plurality of ring resonators optically coupled to the second optical waveguide" (p. [0046] and Fig. 7, pts. 43 and 44, where the ring resonators of Shimizu replace ring resonator R of F143b to be coupled to second waveguide M2 as in Fig. 1 of F143b). "Wherein the method further comprises controlling resonant wavelengths of the plurality of ring resonators based on the target oscillation wavelength and the selected first semiconductor element" (p. [0048] and Fig. 7, pts. 43, 43A, 44, and 44A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and F143b with the teachings of Shimizu. In view of the teachings of F019a regarding a laser including multiple gain elements that are coupled to a single waveguide and the teachings of F143b regarding the inclusion of a ring resonator after the couplers, the alternate use of a pair of ring resonators rather than a single ring resonator as well as the alternate use of specifically thermo-optic effects for addressing the operation of the ring resonator as taught by Shimizu would enhance the teachings of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and F143b by allowing improved selection of the operational wavelength by the ring resonator arrangement as well as by indicating a suitably alternate manner of controlling the operational wavelength of the ring.
Regarding claim 11, The combination of F019a and Carney does not explicitly disclose, "Detecting a wavelength of light emitted from the selected first semiconductor element." "Wherein the adjusting is repeated until the detected wavelength matches the target oscillation wavelength." Kurobe discloses, "Detecting a wavelength of light emitted from the selected first semiconductor element" (p. [0016]). "Wherein the adjusting is repeated until the detected wavelength matches the target oscillation wavelength" (p. [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a and Carney with the teachings of Kurobe for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe does not explicitly disclose, "At least one ring resonator." F143b discloses, "At least one ring resonator" (p. [0064] and Fig. 1, pt. R). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe with the teachings of F143b for the reasons provided above regarding claim 4.
The combination of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and F143b does not explicitly disclose, "Adjusting electric power input to at least one heater provided to [the] at least one ring resonator optically coupled to an optical waveguide through which the emitted light propagates." "[The heater adjusted] based on a difference between the detected wavelength and the target oscillation wavelength." Shimizu discloses, "Adjusting electric power input to at least one heater provided to [the] at least one ring resonator optically coupled to an optical waveguide through which the emitted light propagates" (p. [0047], [0048] and Fig. 7, pts. 43 and 43A, where the operation of 43A indicates that it is or is connected to a heater). "[The heater adjusted] based on a difference between the detected wavelength and the target oscillation wavelength" (p. [0047], [0048] and Fig. 7, pts. 43 and 43A, where the ring resonator is adjusted according to the feedback process set forth in Kurobe). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and F143b with the teachings of Shimizu for the reasons provided above regarding claim 5.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over F019a, in view of Carney, in view of Kurobe, and further in view of Pezeshki et al. (Pezeshki, US Pub. 2002/0090011).
Regarding claim 6, The combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe does not explicitly disclose, "Increasing a light absorptivity of a second semiconductor element." "The second semiconductor element being a semiconductor element other than the selected first semiconductor element among the plurality of semiconductor elements to be higher than the light absorptivity of the second semiconductor element before causing the light to be emitted from the selected first semiconductor element." Pezeshki discloses, "Increasing a light absorptivity of a second semiconductor element" (p. [0043] and Fig. 5). "The second semiconductor element being a semiconductor element other than the selected first semiconductor element among the plurality of semiconductor elements to be higher than the light absorptivity of the second semiconductor element before causing the light to be emitted from the selected first semiconductor element" (p. [0043] and Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe with the teachings of Pezeshki. In view of the teachings of F019a regarding a laser including multiple gain elements that are coupled to a single waveguide, the alternate operation of the respective elements such that non-selected lasers are reverse biased as taught by Pezeshki would enhance the teachings of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe by allowing photons that reach the non-selected lasers to be removed from the system and thereby improve the purity of the light generated by the system.
Regarding claim 7, F019a discloses, "Wherein causing the light to be emitted from the selected first semiconductor element includes applying a forward bias voltage to the selected first semiconductor element" (p. [0059] and Fig. 2A, pts. 103, 110, and 117, where driving the laser in this manner employs forward bias).
The combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein increasing the light absorptivity of the second semiconductor element includes applying a reverse bias voltage to the second semiconductor element." Pezeshki discloses, "Wherein increasing the light absorptivity of the second semiconductor element includes applying a reverse bias voltage to the second semiconductor element" (p. [0043] and Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe with the teachings of Pezeshki for the reasons provided above regarding claim 6.
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over F019a, in view of Carney, in view of Kurobe, in view of Pezeshki, and further in view of Zilkie et al. (Zilkie, US Pub. 2018/0366915).
Regarding claim 8, The combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein increasing the light absorptivity of the second semiconductor element includes detecting a reverse bias current flowing through the second semiconductor element." Pezeshki discloses, "Wherein increasing the light absorptivity of the second semiconductor element includes detecting a reverse bias current flowing through the second semiconductor element" (p. [0043], [0045], and Fig. 6, pt. 207, where detection of the heating current corresponds to detection of the reverse bias current). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe with the teachings of Pezeshki for the reasons provided above regarding claim 6.
The combination of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose, "Controlling the reverse bias current to a minimum value." Zilkie discloses, "Controlling the reverse bias current to a minimum value" (p. [0062], where feedback controlling the wavelength dependent coupler according to the leakage current in adjacent lasers of Pezeshki necessarily reduces that leakage current since the leakage current is present due to inadequate performance of the switch which is corrected by the feedback). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and Pezeshki with the teachings of Zilkie. In view of the teachings of F019a regarding a laser including multiple gain elements that are coupled to a single waveguide and the teachings of Pezeshki regarding the operation of the respective elements such that non-selected lasers are reverse biased, the additional inclusion of a feedback loop for adjusting the coupler operation as taught by Zilkie would enhance the teachings of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and Pezeshki by allowing the inadequate switch operation identified by Pezeshki to be corrected.
Regarding claim 12, The combination of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and Pezeshki does not explicitly disclose, "Detecting reverse bias currents flowing through semiconductor elements to which reverse bias voltages are applied." "Adjusting electric powers input to heaters that select optical waveguides so that the detected reverse bias currents are minimized." "Wherein when the detected reverse bias currents are minimized, intensities of light propagating through optical waveguides coupled to the semiconductor elements to which the reverse bias voltages are applied are minimized." Zilkie discloses, "Detecting reverse bias currents flowing through semiconductor elements to which reverse bias voltages are applied" (p. [0062], where the reverse bias of inoperative lasers from Pezeshki is representative of inadequate switching between lasers such that this feature may be employed as the detection required by Zilkie for feedback control of the switch operation). "Adjusting electric powers input to heaters that select optical waveguides so that the detected reverse bias currents are minimized" (p. [0062], where feedback controlling the wavelength dependent coupler according to the leakage current in adjacent lasers of Pezeshki necessarily reduces that leakage current since the leakage current is present due to inadequate performance of the switch which is corrected by the feedback). "Wherein when the detected reverse bias currents are minimized, intensities of light propagating through optical waveguides coupled to the semiconductor elements to which the reverse bias voltages are applied are minimized" (p. [0062], where feedback controlling the wavelength dependent coupler according to the leakage current in adjacent lasers of Pezeshki necessarily reduces that leakage current since the leakage current is present due to inadequate performance of the switch which is corrected by the feedback). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, Kurobe, and Pezeshki with the teachings of Zilkie for the reasons provided above regarding claim 8.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over F019a, in view of Carney, in view of Kurobe, and further in view of Hung (US Patent 6,327,283).
Regarding claim 9, F019a discloses, "Wherein the wavelength tunable laser device includes a substrate" (p. [0053], [0054], and Figs. 1A and 1B, pts. 3, 11a, and 11b). "A plurality of first optical waveguides provided in the substrate" (p. [0063] and Figs. 1A and 1B, pts. 3, 21a, and 21b). "A plurality of semiconductor elements formed of a III-V group compound semiconductor and optically coupled to the plurality of first optical waveguides" (p. [0056] and Fig. 2A, pts. 110 and 112). "Wherein the control program causes the computer to function as a target wavelength obtaining controller" (p. [0064] and Fig. 1A, pts. 11a, 11b, 21a, and 21b). "[The target wavelength obtaining controller] configured to obtain a target oscillation wavelength for the wavelength tunable laser device" (p. [0075] and Fig. 4A, pt. L1). "A waveguide selection controller configured to select, from among the plurality of first optical waveguides, a first optical waveguide optically coupled to the selected first semiconductor element" (p. [0075] and Fig. 4A, pt. L1). "An emission controller configured to cause light to be emitted from the selected first semiconductor element into the selected first optical waveguide" (p. [0057] and Figs. 1A and 4A, pts. 11a, 21a, and L1, where operation of only laser 11a logically selects waveguide 21a). F019a does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the plurality of semiconductor elements respectively include active layers having different bandgap wavelengths such that wavelengths at which optical gains of the plurality of semiconductor elements reach peaks differ from one another." Carney discloses, "Wherein the plurality of semiconductor elements respectively include active layers having different bandgap wavelengths such that wavelengths at which optical gains of the plurality of semiconductor elements reach peaks differ from one another" (col. 2, lines 12-29 and Figs. 1 and 2, pt. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of F019a with the teachings of Carney for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of F019a and Carney does not explicitly disclose, "A semiconductor selection controller configured to select, from among the plurality of semiconductor elements, a first semiconductor element based on the target oscillation wavelength." "Wherein a wavelength at which an optical gain of the selected first semiconductor element reaches a peak is closer to the target oscillation wavelength than a wavelength at which an optical gain of at least one non-selected semiconductor element among the plurality of semiconductor elements reaches a peak." Kurobe discloses, "A semiconductor selection controller configured to select, from among the plurality of semiconductor elements, a first semiconductor element based on the target oscillation wavelength" (p. [0010], [0032]). "Wherein a wavelength at which an optical gain of the selected first semiconductor element reaches a peak is closer to the target oscillation wavelength than a wavelength at which an optical gain of at least one non-selected semiconductor element among the plurality of semiconductor elements reaches a peak" (p. [0010], [0032], where the selection of the laser on the basis of operational band necessarily involves a selection according to which laser provides an output wavelength that is close to the desired wavelength). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a and Carney with the teachings of Kurobe for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe does not explicitly disclose, "A non-transitory storage medium storing a control program executable by a computer for controlling a wavelength tunable laser device." Hung discloses, "A non-transitory storage medium storing a control program executable by a computer for controlling a wavelength tunable laser device" (col. 3, lines 57-62 and Fig. 5, pt. 550). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe with the teachings of Hung. In view of the teachings of F019a regarding a laser including multiple gain elements that are coupled to a single waveguide, the additional inclusion of a microcontroller for controlling the systems of the device as taught by Hung would enhance the teachings of F019a, Carney, and Kurobe by providing a mechanism for synchronized control of the various elements of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aoki et al. (Aoki, US Patent 5,561,682) is cited for teaching the fabrication of an array of DFB lasers in which the individual lasers have different peak emission wavelengths.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN P HAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2828