DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over CN Pub 109990558 (“FANG et al.”) in view of US Pub 20170191742 (“LIM et al.”).
Regarding Claim 1, Fang et al. discloses (best seen in Figs. 4-5 and 9) a refrigerator appliance defining a vertical direction, a lateral direction, and a transverse direction, the vertical, lateral, and transverse directions being mutually perpendicular, the refrigerator appliance comprising:
a cabinet (see abstract) extending between a front side and a back side along the transverse direction, and between a top and a bottom along the vertical direction, the cabinet comprising an inner liner (5) defining a cooled chamber, the inner liner (5) comprising a plurality of cutouts (503) through an inner wall of the inner liner (5), and; and
a side support (2) mounted within the cooled chamber, the side support (2) comprising a plurality of hooks (205) and a plurality of locators (4750 a, b) on an inner side of the side support (2),
wherein each of the plurality of hooks (205) of the side support (2) is aligned in the transverse direction and in the vertical direction with a respective cutout of the plurality of cutouts (503) of the inner liner (5) ; and
a locating cylinder (206) and a locating hole (502); wherein each hook of the plurality of hooks (205) of the side support (2) comprises a perimeter surface(that contacts the inner liner), the perimeter surface extending from the inner side of the side support (2); and
wherein a respective perimeter surface ( inner side of hook) extends around each hook of the plurality of hooks (205) of the side support, the perimeter surface extends from the inner side of the side support (2), wherein the respective perimeter surface (on inner side of the hook) around each hook of the plurality of hooks sealingly compresses the inner liner between the respective perimeter surface and the respective hook of the plurality of hooks (205).
Fang et al. discloses a locating cylinder but does not expressly disclose a plurality of locators.
Lim et al. discloses referring to (Figs. 1-6) refrigerator (1000) with a liner (1120) having a similar support device (1700, 4700) with hook (1790, [0080]-[0086]) and/ or a plurality of locating slots (1121, 2121, 3121) on the inner wall of the inner liner (as seen in Figs. 2B-5B), wherein the plurality of locators (1731, 1732, 1750; 4750 a, b) of the side support (1700,4700) are aligned in the transverse direction and in the vertical direction with the plurality of locating slots of the inner liner.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that side support taught by Fang et al. could be improved with a plurity of locaters that engage locating slots in the liner for providing additional locators hold the support device in place within the liner without the use of tools.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination discloses (Fang et al.) wherein the inner liner (5) of the cabinet defines a support shelf, a bottom side of the side support (2) is configured to translate along the support shelf of the inner liner (5) to align each of the plurality of hooks (205) of the side support (2) with the respective cutout of the plurality of cutouts (503) of the inner liner (5) and the plurality of locators (as modified, see 4750 a, b) of the side support (2) with the plurality of locating slots of the inner liner (5), in the vertical direction.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination discloses (Lim et al.) wherein one or more locators of the plurality of locators (1731, 1732, 1750; 4750 a, b) each engage with a respective slot of the plurality of locating slots (1121, 2121, 3121) to locate the side support (2) in the vertical direction.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination discloses (Lim et al.) wherein the one or more locators of the plurality of locators (1750, 4750 a, b) comprises a vertical biasing element (the elastic projections 5751, 5752), wherein the vertical biasing element of the one or more locators of the plurality of locators (1750, 4750 a, b) is configured to compress within the respective slots of the plurality of locating slots (1121, 2121, 3121) to bias the side support down in the vertical direction.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination discloses (Lim et al.) wherein one or more locators of the plurality of locators (1750,4750 a, b) each engage with a respective slot of the plurality of locating slots (1121, 2121, 3121) to locate the side support in the transverse direction.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination discloses (Lim et al.) wherein the one or more locators of the plurality of locators (1750, 4750 a, b) comprises a transversal biasing element (the elastic projections 5751, 5752), wherein the transversal biasing element of the one or more locators of the plurality of locators (1750, 4750 a, b) is configured to compress within the respective slots of the plurality of locating slots (1121, 2121, 3121), whereby the side support is biased in the transverse direction by the transversal biasing element of the one or more locators, and wherein access to the transversal biasing element from within the respective slots of the plurality of locating slots(1121, 2121, 3121) permits retraction of the transversal biasing element (the elastic projections 5751, 5752), and removal of the side support in the transverse direction out of the inner liner.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination discloses (Fang et al.) wherein each hook of the plurality of hooks (205) of the side support (2) is configured to sealingly compress the side support (2) to the inner liner (5), whereby the plurality of cutouts (503) of the inner liner (5) are sealed during assembly of the refrigerator appliance.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination discloses (Fang et al.) wherein each hook of the plurality of hooks (205) is configured to locate the side support (2) within the cooled chamber in the lateral direction.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination discloses (Fang et al.) wherein the refrigerator appliance (see abstract) is one of a column refrigerator appliance, a built-in refrigerator appliance, a stand-alone refrigerator appliance, and a freezer appliance (see also, refrigerator discloses in Lim et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Fang et al. discloses a method of assembling a refrigerator appliance (see claim 2), the refrigerator appliance defining a vertical direction, a lateral direction, and a transverse direction, the vertical, lateral, and transverse directions being mutually perpendicular, the refrigerator appliance comprising a cabinet extending between a front side and a back side along the transverse direction, and between a top and a bottom along the vertical direction, the cabinet comprising an inner liner (5) defining a cooled chamber, the inner liner (5) comprising a plurality of cutouts (503) through an inner wall of the inner liner (5) and a plurality of locating slots on the inner wall of the inner liner (5), the refrigerator appliance further comprising a side support (2) mounted within the cooled chamber, the side support (2) comprising a plurality of hooks (205) a locating cylinder (206) and a locating hole (502).the method comprising:
sliding, approximately in the transverse direction, the inner side of the side support (2) along the inner wall of the inner liner (5); and aligning, in the transverse direction and the vertical direction, each of the plurality of hooks (205) of the side support (2) with a respective cutout of the plurality of cutouts (503) of the inner liner (5) and the plurality of locators of the side support (2) with the plurality of locating slots of the inner liner (5);wherein each hook of the plurality of hooks (205) of the side support (2) comprises a perimeter surface, the perimeter surface extending from the inner side of the side support (2), the method further comprising compressing the inner liner (5) between the perimeter surface of each hook and the respective hook of the plurality of hooks (205) when mounting the side support (2) to the inner liner (5); and
wherein a respective perimeter surface ( inner side of hook) extends around each hook of the plurality of hooks (205) of the side support, the perimeter surface extends from the inner side of the side support (2), wherein the respective perimeter surface (on inner side of the hook) around each hook of the plurality of hooks sealingly compresses the inner liner between the respective perimeter surface and the respective hook of the plurality of hooks (205).
Fang et al. discloses a locating cylinder but does not expressly disclose a plurality of locators.
Lim et al. discloses referring to (Figs. 1-6) a refrigerator (1000) with a liner (1120) having a similar support device (1700, 4700) with hook (1790, [0080]-[0086]) and/ or a plurality of locating slots (1121, 2121, 3121) on the inner wall of the inner liner (as seen in Figs. 2B-5B), wherein the plurality of locators (1731, 1732, 1750; 4750 a, b) of the side support (1700,4700) are aligned in the transverse direction and in the vertical direction with the plurality of locating slots of the inner liner.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that side support taught by Fang et al. could be improved with a plurity of locators that engage locating slots in the liner for providing additional locators hold the support device in place within the liner without the use of tools.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that of the invention to use assemble the refrigerator side support according to the method steps set forth above, since the combination discloses the invention of claim 11 such method steps would occur during the ordinary course of assembling the refrigerator with a side support, see MPEP 2112.02
Regarding Claim 12, the combination discloses (Fang et al.) wherein the inner liner (5) of the cabinet defines a support shelf, wherein sliding the inner side of the side support (2) along the inner wall of the inner liner (5) comprises translating a bottom side of the side support (2) along the support shelf of the inner liner (5) to align each of the plurality of hooks (205) of the side support (2) with the respective cutout of the plurality of cutouts (503) of the inner liner (5) and the plurality of locators (as modified, see 4750 a, b) of the side support (2) with the plurality of locating slots of the inner liner (5), in the vertical direction.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination discloses (Lim et al.), wherein, sliding the inner side of the side support (2) along the inner wall of the inner liner (5) further comprises engaging the one or more locators of the plurality of locators (4750 a, b) each with a respective slot of the plurality of locating slots to locate the side support (2) in the vertical direction.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination discloses (Lim et al.) wherein the one or more locators of the plurality of locators (1731, 1732, 1750; 4750 a, b) comprises a vertical biasing element (the elastic projections 1751, 1752; 5751, 5752), wherein sliding the inner side of the side support (2) along the inner wall of the inner liner (5) further comprises compressing the vertical biasing element of the one or more locators of the plurality of locators (1731, 1732, 1750; 4750 a, b) within the respective slots of the plurality of locating slots (1121, 2121, 3121) to bias the side support (2) in the vertical direction.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination discloses (Lim et al.) wherein sliding the inner side of the side support (2) along the inner wall of the inner liner (5) further comprises engaging one or more locators of the plurality of locators (4750 a, b) with a respective slot of the plurality of locating slots to locate the side support (2) in the transverse direction.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination discloses (Lim et al.) wherein the one or more locators of the plurality of locators (1731, 1732, 1750; 4750 a, b) comprises a transversal biasing element (the elastic projections 1751, 1752; 5751, 5752), wherein sliding the inner side of the side support (2) along the inner wall of the inner liner (5) further comprises compressing the transversal biasing element of the one or more locators of the plurality of locators (1731, 1732, 1750; 4750 a, b) within the respective slots of the plurality of locating slots (1121, 2121, 3121) to bias the side support (2) in the transversal direction, further comprising removing the side support (2), wherein removing the side support (2) comprises accessing the transversal biasing element, retracting the transversal biasing element (the elastic projections 1751, 1752; 5751, 5752), and pulling the side support (2) in the transverse direction out of the inner liner (5).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination discloses (Fang et al.) wherein aligning each of the plurality of hooks (205) of the side support (2) with the plurality of cutouts (503) of the inner liner (5) further comprises sealingly compressing the side support (2) to the inner liner (5) by each hook of the plurality of hooks (205) of the side support (2), whereby the plurality of cutouts (503) of the inner liner (5) are sealed during assembly of the refrigerator appliance.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination discloses (Fang et al.) wherein aligning each of the plurality of hooks (205) of the side support (2) with the plurality of cutouts (503) of the inner liner (5) further comprises locating, by each hook of the plurality of hooks (205), the side support (2) within the cooled chamber in the lateral direction.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination discloses (Fang et al.) whereby one of a column refrigerator appliance (see abstract), a built-in refrigerator appliance, a stand-alone refrigerator appliance, and a freezer appliance is formed (see also, refrigerator discloses in Lim et al.).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination discloses (Fang et al.) wherein the respective perimeter surface of each hook of the plurality of hooks (205) is spaced apart from each respective hook of the plurality of hooks (Fang et al. discloses the hooks are spaced apart, as seen in Fig. 5.)
Regarding Claim 22, the combination discloses (Fang et al.) wherein the respective perimeter surface of each hook of the plurality of hooks (205) is spaced apart from each respective hook of the plurality of hooks. (Fang et al. discloses the hooks are spaced apart, as seen in Fig. 5.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-22 have been considered but are not persuasive. Here, Applicant argues the plurality of hooks taught by the prior art (Fang et al. and Lim et al.) do not sealingly compresses the inner liner between the respective perimeter surface and the respective hook of the plurality of hooks.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, both references teach a hook with a perimeter surface on in the inner side of the hook that engages or clamps on the inner liner, thus the respective hook would inherently sealing compress the inner liner between the respective perimeter surface and the respective hook of the plurality of hooks (before and after the foaming insulation process).Thus, the rejection is maintained as presented above.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637