Filed IDS of 04/09/2025, and 11/01/2023 have been entered and considered.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Allibhai et al. (US 11626139, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Allibhai teaches a method of Col. 1 and Figs. 16-21 comprising:
generating a transcript based on a video (generating in at least the Abstract at least a text transcript based on a video);
generating one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video (generating further in at least the Abstract, and Col. 1 video segments and timecode/time-markers as one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video);
generating an edit of the video based on the one or more labels and the one or more video clips (generating at least in Figs. 16-21 and Fig. 3 a synchronized and/or ordering and/or reordering edit of the video based on the one or more labels and the one or more video clips); and
revising the edit of the video based on one or more user commands (receiving further at least user commands further in Figs. 19-21 for revising the edit of the video based on said one or more user commands).
Regarding claim 11, Allibhai teaches in at least Col. 18, and Figs. 1 and 3 a system comprising:
at least one processor (Col. 18); and
a memory (Col. 18) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform:
generating a transcript based on a video (generating in at least the Abstract at least a text transcript based on a video);
generating one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video (generating further in at least the Abstract, and Col. 1 video segments and timecode/time-markers as one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video);
generating an edit of the video based on the one or more labels and the one or more video clips (generating at least in Figs. 16-21 and Fig. 3 a synchronized and/or ordering and/or reordering edit of the video based on the one or more labels and the one or more video clips); and
revising the edit of the video based on one or more user commands (receiving further at least user commands further in Figs. 19-21 for revising the edit of the video based on said one or more user commands).
Regarding claim 16, Allibhai teaches at least in Col. 18 a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing system, cause the computing system to perform:
generating a transcript based on a video (generating in at least the Abstract at least a text transcript based on a video);
generating one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video (generating further in at least the Abstract, and Col. 1 video segments and timecode/time-markers as one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video);
generating an edit of the video based on the one or more labels and the one or more video clips (generating at least in Figs. 16-21 and Fig. 3 a synchronized and/or ordering and/or reordering edit of the video based on the one or more labels and the one or more video clips); and
revising the edit of the video based on one or more user commands (receiving further at least user commands further in Figs. 19-21 for revising the edit of the video based on said one or more user commands).
Claims 1-3, 11-13, and 16-18 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Brickner et al. (US 11902042, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brickner teaches a method of the Abstract and Fig. 6 comprising:
generating a transcript based on a video (Abstract and Fig. 2A);
generating one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video (generating further in at least Fig. 6 and Col. 12, at least titles, timecode/time-markers linking of video clips/segments as one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video);
generating an edit of the video based on the one or more labels and the one or more video clips (Col. 12 and Figs 2 and 6, an add edit 610); and
revising the edit of the video based on one or more user commands (receiving further at least user commands further in Col. 12 for revising the edit of the video and create at least a highlight based on said one or more user commands).
Regarding claim 11, Brickner teaches in at least Col. 14, lines 24-67 a system comprising:
at least one processor (Col. 14, lines 24-67) and
a memory storing (Col. 14, lines 24-67) instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Col. 14, lines 24-67), cause the system to perform:
generating a transcript based on a video (Abstract and Fig. 2A);
generating one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video (generating further in at least Fig. 6 and Col. 12, at least titles, timecode/time-markers linking of video clips/segments as one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video);
generating an edit of the video based on the one or more labels and the one or more video clips (Col. 12 and Figs 2 and 6, an add edit 610); and
revising the edit of the video based on one or more user commands (receiving further at least user commands further in Col. 12 for revising the edit of the video and create at least a highlight based on said one or more user commands).
Regarding claim 16, Brickner teaches in at least Col. 14, lines 24-67 a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing system, cause the computing system to perform:
generating a transcript based on a video (Abstract and Fig. 2A);
generating one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video (generating further in at least Fig. 6 and Col. 12, at least titles, timecode/time-markers linking of video clips/segments as one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video);
generating an edit of the video based on the one or more labels and the one or more video clips (Col. 12 and Figs 2 and 6, an add edit 610); and
revising the edit of the video based on one or more user commands (receiving further at least user commands further in Col. 12 for revising the edit of the video and create at least a highlight based on said one or more user commands).
Regarding claim 2 (according to claim 1), and 12 (according to claim 11), and claim 17 (according to claim 16), Brickner further teaches further wherein comprising: synchronizing one or more portions of the transcript with the one or more video clips (time linking of at least Col. 12 and Figs 6 as said synchronizing one or more portions of the transcript with said one or more video clips).
Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 1), and 13 (according to claim 11), and claim 18 (according to claim 16), Brickner further teaches further wherein the one or more labels are generated based on at least one of: a topic, a concept, an emotion, a dialogue, a character, an action, or a location identified in the one or more video clips (Col. 12 further illustrates said one or more labels or video segments are generated based on at least one of a topic, a dialogue, a character, an action, or a location identified in the one or more video clips).
Claims 1-8, and 10-20 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Grillo et al. (US 20250063140, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Grillo teaches a method of the Abstract comprising:
generating a transcript based on a video (Abstract);
generating one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video (generating further in at least the Abstract and para. 0003 topic-based search contents which contents are further defined in para. 0045 as video clips as said one or more labels for said one or more video clips of the video);
generating an edit of the video based on the one or more labels and the one or more video clips (para. 0033, 0093); and
revising the edit of the video based on one or more user commands (receiving further in para. 0113 at least user commands for revising the edit of the video).
Regarding claim 2 (according to claim 1), Grillo further teaches further wherein comprising: synchronizing one or more portions of the transcript with the one or more video clips (para. 0195-0196).
Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 1), Grillo further teaches further wherein the one or more labels are generated based on at least one of: a topic, a concept, an emotion, a dialogue, a character, an action, or a location identified in the one or more video clips (topic based labels of Abstract).
Regarding claim 4 (according to claim 1), Grillo further teaches further wherein further comprising: generating one or more summaries for the one or more video clips based on the one or more labels (Figs. 2-3, and 5).
Regarding claim 5 (according to claim 1), Grillo further teaches wherein further comprising: storing the one or more labels in a data structure associated with the video (the generated video/clips topics of at least Fig. 3 are inherently stored in a data structure associated with the video); wherein the data structure includes an array, and wherein each element of the array corresponds to a line or an action depicted in the video (the inherent storage device of at least Fig. 3 storing the generated topic based search segments further understoodly in a case comprise said data structure includes an array, and wherein each element of the array corresponds to an action depicted in the video).
Regarding claim 6 (according to claim 1), Grillo further teaches wherein the generating the edit comprises: ranking the one or more video clips based on ranking criteria (para. 0095 further teaches a case of associating and display video contents by at least a date further indicative of the ranking the one or more video clips based on ranking criteria); and ordering the one or more video clips based on the ranking, wherein the generating the edit is based on the ordering (para. 0095 further teaches the at least ordering the one or more video contents/clips based on the date ranking, wherein the generating the edit of further para. 0095-0096 is based on the ordering).
Regarding claim 7 (according to claim 1), Grillo further teaches wherein the revising the edit comprises: parsing the one or more user commands for an additive edit (parsing at least user updating or revised commands of further para. 0096 where the update editing may obviously be in a case an additive edit);
performing a search to identify a video clip that satisfies the additive edit (received revised or modifications commands of further para. 0096 further obviously entail
a performed search to identify a video content/clip that satisfies the additive edit); and revising a script associated with the edit of the video based on the video clip, wherein the revising the edit of the video is based on the revised script (the modifications editing process further para. 0096 further lastly comprise revising a script associated with the edit of the video based on the video clip, wherein the revising the edit of the video is based on the revised script).
Regarding claim 8 (according to claim 1), Grillo further teaches wherein the revising the edit comprises: parsing the one or more user commands for a subtractive edit (parsing at least user updating or revised commands of further para. 0096 where the update editing may obviously be in a case a subtractive edit);
performing a search of a script associated with the edit to identify a portion of the script that satisfies the subtractive edit (received revised or modifications commands of further para. 0096 further obviously entail
a performed search to identify a video content/clip that satisfies said subtractive editing to remove at least one content or clip); and revising the script associated with the edit of the video to remove the identified portion, wherein the revising the edit of the video is based on the revised script (the modifications editing process further para. 0096 further lastly comprise revising a script associated with the edit of the video based on the video clip, wherein the revising the edit of the video is based on the revised script).
Regarding claim 10 (according to claim 1), Grillo further teaches wherein further comprising:
performing a search of the one or more video clips for a label that satisfies a search command (Figs. 5); and surfacing a video clip associated with the label that satisfies the search command (surfacing content of at least para. 0033).
Regarding claim 11, Grillo teaches in the Abstract a system comprising:
at least one processor (Abstract); and
a memory (readable media of at least the Abstract) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform:
generating a transcript based on a video (Abstract);
generating one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video (generating further in at least the Abstract and para. 0003 topic-based search contents which contents are further defined in para. 0045 as video clips as said one or more labels for said one or more video clips of the video);
generating an edit of the video based on the one or more labels and the one or more video clips (para. 0033, 0093); and
revising the edit of the video based on one or more user commands (receiving further in para. 0113 at least user commands for revising the edit of the video).
Regarding claim 12 (according to claim 11), Grillo further teaches further wherein 12. The system of claim 11, further comprising: synchronizing one or more portions of the transcript with the one or more video clips (para. 0195-0196).
Regarding claim 13 (according to claim 11), Grillo further teaches further wherein the one or more labels are generated based on at least one of: a topic, a concept, an emotion, a dialogue, a character, an action, or a location identified in the one or more video clips (topic based labels of Abstract).
Regarding claim 14 (according to claim 11), Grillo further teaches further wherein further comprising: generating one or more summaries for the one or more video clips based on the one or more labels (Figs. 2-3, and 5).
Regarding claim 15 (according to claim 11), Grillo further teaches wherein further comprising: storing the one or more labels in a data structure associated with the video (the generated video/clips topics of at least Fig. 3 are inherently stored in a data structure associated with the video); wherein the data structure includes an array, and wherein each element of the array corresponds to a line or an action depicted in the video (the inherent storage device of at least Fig. 3 storing the generated topic based search segments further understoodly in a case comprise said data structure includes an array, and wherein each element of the array corresponds to an action depicted in the video).
Regarding claim 16, Grillo teaches at least tin the Abstract a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing system, cause the computing system to perform:
generating a transcript based on a video (Abstract);
generating one or more labels for one or more video clips of the video (generating further in at least the Abstract and para. 0003 topic-based search contents which contents are further defined in para. 0045 as video clips as said one or more labels for said one or more video clips of the video);
generating an edit of the video based on the one or more labels and the one or more video clips (para. 0033, 0093); and
revising the edit of the video based on one or more user commands (receiving further in para. 0113 at least user commands for revising the edit of the video).
Regarding claim 17 (according to claim 16), Grillo further teaches further wherein comprising: synchronizing one or more portions of the transcript with the one or more video clips (para. 0195-0196).
Regarding claim 18 (according to claim 16), Grillo further teaches further wherein the one or more labels are generated based on at least one of: a topic, a concept, an emotion, a dialogue, a character, an action, or a location identified in the one or more video clips (topic based labels of Abstract).
Regarding claim 19 (according to claim 16), Grillo further teaches further wherein further comprising: generating one or more summaries for the one or more video clips based on the one or more labels (Figs. 2-3, and 5).
Regarding claim 20 (according to claim 16), Grillo further teaches wherein further comprising: storing the one or more labels in a data structure associated with the video (the generated video/clips topics of at least Fig. 3 are inherently stored in a data structure associated with the video); wherein the data structure includes an array, and wherein each element of the array corresponds to a line or an action depicted in the video (the inherent storage device of at least Fig. 3 storing the generated topic based search segments further understoodly in a case comprise said data structure includes an array, and wherein each element of the array corresponds to an action depicted in the video).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over Grillo in view of Lowry et al. (US 10094903, A1).
Regarding claim 9 (according to claim 1), Grillo is silent regarding wherein further comprising: tracking iterative edits made to the edit of the video; and rolling back to one of a plurality of versions of the video based on a user selection.
Lowry teaches in at least Fig. 2 performing an additive and revised edit of a video and further in Col. 12 tracking video data and iteratively editing of the video and further obviously tracking iterative edits made to the edit of the video and further understoodly configured for scrolling or rolling back to obviously one of a plurality of original, cuts or versions of said video based on a user selection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Grillo in view of Lowry to include said tracking iterative edits made to the edit of the video; and rolling back to one of a plurality of versions of the video based on a user selection, as Grillo in view of Lowry are in the same field of endeavor of generating at least a transcription and an edit of an acquired video, Lowry complements the generated editing of the video clips of Grillo with an augmented iterative editing tracking process and rolling back to one of a plurality of versions of the video based on a user selection where a user may subsequently perform a revised edit of the items and/or confirm the generated editing according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Conclusion
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 09/29/2025