DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2023 and 05/22/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (consisting of claims 1-9) and Species 3 – Figure 5 (consisting of claims 1-3, 6-9) in the reply filed on 06/30/2026 is acknowledge. Group II (consisting of claims 10-18) and Species 1 (Fig.3) & Species 2 (Fig.4) are withdrawn from consideration. Therefore, claims 1-3, 6-9 will be examined as follows; claims 4-5, 10-18 are withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant’s Arguments: (regarding the restriction requirement – see details on page 6 of the Remarks dated 06/30/2026)
Applicant alleged that “Applicant respectfully submits that there is no appreciable search or examination burden on the Examiner for examination of the various alleged groups. In particular, the stand-alone temperature sensor of claim 11 is configured to perform steps as claimed in the method of claim 1. As a result, the searches required for each embodiment would necessarily overlap one another, allowing examination of all embodiments in a single application to conserve the limited resources of the Patent Office” – see details on page 6 of the Remarks dated 06/30/2026.
Examiner’s Response:
In response to Applicant’s argument that there is no appreciable search or examination burden on the Examiner for examination of the various alleged groups, specifically, the stand-alone temperature sensor of claim 11 is configured to perform steps as claimed in the method of claim 1, Examiner respectfully disagrees because according to MPEP § 806.05(e), the inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. In this case, the apparatus as claimed in claim 10 can be used to practice another and materially different process that does not require receiving, by the controller, a user input indicative of a heating operation of the microwave appliance; and performing, by the controller, the heating operation of the microwave appliance in response to the user input, the heating operation comprising: receiving, at the controller, a temperature reading from the stand-alone temperature sensor disposed within the cooking chamber of the microwave appliance; and adjusting, by the controller, a power level of the heating assembly in response to the temperature reading from the stand-alone temperature sensor as claimed in claim 1. Additionally, the apparatus as claimed in claim 10 can be used to practice another and materially different process such as a microwave-assisted organic synthesis (MAOS) process.
Furthermore, there is a serious search and/or examination burden because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(A) Separate classification thereof: This shows that each invention has attained recognition in the art as a separate subject for inventive effort, and also a separate field of search. Patents need not be cited to show separate classification.
(B) A separate status in the art when they are classifiable together: Even though they are classified together, each invention can be shown to have formed a separate subject for inventive effort when the examiner can show a recognition of separate inventive effort by inventors. Separate status in the art may be shown by citing patents which are evidence of such separate status, and also of a separate field of search.
(C) A different field of search: Where it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other invention(s) (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries, a different field of search is shown, even though the two are classified together. The indicated different field of search must in fact be pertinent to the type of subject matter covered by the claims. Patents need not be cited to show different fields of search.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the restriction requirement is still deemed proper.
Applicant’s Arguments: (regarding the election of species requirement – see details on page 7 of the Remarks dated 06/30/2026)
Applicant alleged that that there is no appreciable search or examination burden on the Examiner for examination of the various alleged species; specifically, Applicant alleged that “As to the various alleged species, to require restriction between claims limited to species, the claims must not overlap in scope, i.e., the claims must be mutually exclusive. See, e.g., MPEP @ 806.04(f). In this case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the various alleged species may be combined in any suitable way to shield the one or more internal electronic components of the stand-alone temperature sensor from microwave radiation. For example, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the fluid of the housing in FIG. 3, may be combined with the low permittivity casing of FIG. 4, and/or may be combined with the metal barrier of FIG. 5, and/or the low permittivity casing of FIG. 4 may be combined with the metal barrier of FIG. 5, and/or each of the fluid of the housing in FIG. 3, the low permittivity casing of FIG. 4, and the metal barrier of FIG. 5 may be combined to shield the one or more internal electronic components of the stand-alone temperature sensor from microwave radiation.” – see details on page 7 of the Remarks dated 06/30/2026.
Examiner’s Response:
In response to Applicant’s argument that there is no appreciable search or examination burden on the Examiner for examination of the various alleged species, Examiner respectfully disagrees because the following species are independent or distinct because they have different housings and materials for the stand-alone temperature sensor, to be more specific:
Species 1 – Figure 3. Par.0011 indicates Figure 3 is a side perspective view of a stand-alone temperature sensor according to an example embodiment of the present disclosure. In Fig.3, housing 202 of stand-alone temperature sensor 200 includes a fluid 206, such as thermic fluid or glycol, within pocket 203 of housing 202, surrounding temperature sensor 204. In particular, fluid 206 within the housing may shield microwave radiation from the one or more internal electronic components 218 of stand-alone temperature sensor 200, as indicated by Par.0027.
Species 2 – Figure 4. Par.0012 indicates Figure 4 is a side perspective view of a stand-alone temperature sensor according to another example embodiment of the present disclosure. In Fig.4, housing 202 of stand-alone temperature sensor 200 is a low permittivity casing, such as Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE). In particular, the low permittivity casing may absorb microwave radiation from the one or more internal electronic components 218 of stand-alone temperature sensor 200, as indicated by Par.0027.
Species 3 – Figure 5. Par.0013 indicates Figure 5 is a side perspective view of a stand-alone temperature sensor according to another example embodiment of the present disclosure. In Fig.5, housing 202 of stand-alone temperature sensor 200 is a metal barrier, such as a Faraday cage or other suitable metallic structure. The metal barrier may reflect microwave radiation away from the one or more internal electronic components 218 of stand-alone temperature sensor 200. The metal barrier may include a plurality of openings 216, whereby temperature sensor 204may be configured to take temperature readings through the plurality of openings 216, as indicated by Par.0027.
Therefore, the above species are independent or distinct. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Furthermore, there is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply:
The species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search, e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electric resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries; and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species; and/or the species are likely to raise different non-prior art issue under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the election of species requirement is still deemed proper.
In conclusion, the election and restriction requirements are proper. Therefore, claims 1-3, 6-9 will be examined as follows; claims 4-5, 10-18 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 215077662 U, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method of operating a microwave appliance (Wang Translated Abstract & Description on page 1 discloses method of operating household appliance, and Wang Translated Document on page 7 – paragraph 1 discloses: “The cooking device of this embodiment can be microwave oven”), the microwave appliance (cooking device as shown in Wang Fig.5 because Wang Translated Document on page 7 – paragraph 1 discloses: “The cooking device of this embodiment can be microwave oven”) comprising a cabinet (cabinet, Wang annotated Fig.5 below) defining a cooking chamber (cooking cavity 9, Wang Fig.5), a heating assembly (“heating device”, Wang Translated Document on page 3 – paragraph 7) (Wang Translated Document on page 3 – paragraph 7 discloses: “A cooking device, comprising a cooking cavity and a temperature control device of any one of the technical solution; the control module is connected with the heating device of the cooking cavity; the display module is set at the outside of the cooking cavity.”), and a controller (“control module”, Wang Translated Document on page 3 – paragraph 7) (Wang Translated Document on page 3 – paragraph 7 discloses: “A cooking device, comprising a cooking cavity and a temperature control device of any one of the technical solution; the control module is connected with the heating device of the cooking cavity; the display module is set at the outside of the cooking cavity.”), the method comprising:
receiving, by the controller (“control module”, Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6), a user input indicative of a heating operation of the microwave appliance (cooking device as shown in Wang Fig.5 because Wang Translated Document on page 7 – paragraph 1 discloses: “The cooking device of this embodiment can be microwave oven”) (Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6 discloses: “a display module is electrically connected with the control module” and “the display module 10 is set on the outer surface of the cooking cavity 9”, and Wang Translated Document on page 6 – last paragraph discloses: “the user can manually adjust the heating power of the cooking device according to the temperature displayed on the display module 10”; therefore, Wang discloses receiving, by the control module, a user input indicative of a heating operation of the microwave appliance); and
performing, by the controller (“control module”, Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6), the heating operation of the microwave appliance (cooking device as shown in Wang Fig.5 because Wang Translated Document on page 7 – paragraph 1 discloses: “The cooking device of this embodiment can be microwave oven”) in response to the user input (Wang Translated Document on page 6 – second paragraph from the bottom & the last paragraph on page 6 discloses: “according to the temperature data to control the heating device of the cooking device can be the cooking device sends the corresponding temperature control instruction, for example, the temperature control instruction can be the instruction of adjusting the heating power or change the heating time of the instruction and so on, it also can be not sending the current heating parameter set instruction to continue to keep the current heating parameter, heating parameter comprises heating power and heating time and so on. displaying the temperature data on the display module 10, which can make the user intuitively know the cooking temperature of the cooking food in the cooking cavity 9, the user can manually adjust the heating power of the cooking device according to the temperature displayed on the display module 10.”), the heating operation comprising:
establishing, by the controller (“control module”, Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6), a wireless connection with a stand-alone temperature sensor (“temperature sensing probe”, Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6) (Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6 discloses: “the temperature sensing probe is wirelessly connected with the control module; auxiliary container 7 for containing the cooked food, temperature sensing probe embedded in the side wall of the auxiliary container 7”) of the microwave appliance (cooking device as shown in Wang Fig.5 because Wang Translated Document on page 7 – paragraph 1 discloses: “The cooking device of this embodiment can be microwave oven”);
receiving, at the controller (“control module”, Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6), a temperature reading from the stand-alone temperature sensor (“temperature sensing probe”, Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6) disposed within the cooking chamber (cooking cavity 9, Wang Fig.5) of the microwave appliance (cooking device as shown in Wang Fig.5 because Wang Translated Document on page 7 – paragraph 1 discloses: “The cooking device of this embodiment can be microwave oven”) (Wang discloses the temperature sensing probe disposed within the cooking cavity 9 of the microwaved appliance because temperature sensing probe embedded in the side wall of the auxiliary container 7, and the auxiliary container 7 is disposed inside the cooking cavity 9 as shown in Wang Fig.5; Wang Translated Document on page 6 paragraphs 6-10 discloses receiving, at the control module, temperature reading from the temperature sensing probe disposed within the cooking cavity 9 of the microwave appliance); and
adjusting, by the controller (“control module”, Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6), a power level of the heating assembly in response to the temperature reading from the stand-alone temperature sensor (“temperature sensing probe”, Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6) (Wang discloses adjusting, by the control module, a power level of the heating assembly in response to the temperature reading from the temperature sensing probe because Wang Translated Document on page 6 – third paragraph from the bottom discloses: “the control module processing and analyzing the electromagnetic wave signal, obtaining the temperature data of the auxiliary container 7, and then sending the temperature data to the display module 10 to display; at the same time, controlling the heating device of the cooking device according to the temperature data”, and Wang Translated Document on page 6 – second paragraph from the bottom discloses: “according to the temperature data to control the heating device of the cooking device can be the cooking device sends the corresponding temperature control instruction, for example, the temperature control instruction can be the instruction of adjusting the heating power or change the heating time of the instruction and so on, it also can be not sending the current heating parameter set instruction to continue to keep the current heating parameter, heating parameter comprises heating power and heating time and so on”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 215077662 U).
Regarding claim 2, Wang Embodiment Fig.5 discloses the method set forth in claim 1, Wang Embodiment Fig.5 also discloses
wherein receiving the temperature reading from the stand-alone temperature sensor (“temperature sensing probe”, Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6) comprises transmitting the temperature reading from an antenna via the wireless connection (Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6 discloses: “the temperature sensing probe is wirelessly connected with the control module”, and Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 8 discloses: “in the cooking process, the control module sends the electromagnetic wave signal of the temperature measuring instruction through the first transmitting antenna, the second receiving antenna receives the electromagnetic wave signal from the first transmitting antenna, the interdigital transducer converts the electromagnetic wave signal into the sound surface wave signal, the sound surface wave signal is transmitted on the temperature sensing probe, is reflected by the reflecting grating to the interdigital transducer, the interdigital transducer converts the reflected sound surface wave signal into electromagnetic wave signal, then the converted electromagnetic wave signal is sent out through the second emitting antenna, the first receiving antenna receives the electromagnetic wave signal from the second emitting antenna, transmitting the electromagnetic wave signal from the second transmitting antenna to the control module, the control module processing and analyzing the electromagnetic wave signal, obtaining the temperature data of the auxiliary container 7, and then sending the temperature data to the display module 10 to display; at the same time, controlling the heating device of the cooking device according to the temperature data”)
Wang Embodiment Fig.5 does not explicitly disclose
the antenna extending from a casing of the stand-alone temperature sensor.
Wang Embodiment Fig.3 teaches:
the antenna (second receiving antenna 4 and second transmitting antenna 5, Wang Fig.3) extending from a casing (“auxiliary container”, Wang Translated Document on page 2 – paragraph 8) of the stand-alone temperature sensor (temperature sensing probe 8, Wang Fig.3) (It is noted that Wang Translated Document on page 2 – paragraph 8 discloses: “the temperature sensing probe is embedded in the side wall of the auxiliary container”; therefore, the antenna extending from a casing of the stand-alone temperature sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang Embodiment Fig.5, by adding the teaching of antenna extending from casing of the temperature sensor, as taught by Wang Embodiment Fig.3, in order to improve the reliability and efficiency of the wireless communication between the control module and the temperature sensor; thereby improving signal transmission and reception, increasing communication reliability, and enabling more accurate acquisition of the temperature data used by the control module for adjustment of heating power and/or heating time.
Regarding claim 3, Modified Wang teaches the method set forth in claim 2, Wang also discloses
wherein the heating assembly (“heating device”, Wang Translated Document on page 3 – paragraph 7) comprises a magnetron (Wang Fig.5 because Wang Translated Document on page 7 – paragraph 1 discloses: “The cooking device of this embodiment can be microwave oven”; since Wang discloses the cooking device is microwave oven, thus, it employs a magnetron configured to generate microwave energy), the heating operation further comprises emitting microwaves from the magnetron into the cooking chamber (cooking cavity 9, Wang Fig.5) during the heating operation (Wang Translated Document on page 7 – paragraph 1 discloses: “The cooking device of this embodiment can be microwave oven”; since Wang discloses the cooking device is microwave oven, thus, it employs a magnetron configured to generate microwave energy; therefore, the heating operation comprises emitting microwaves from the magnetron into the cooking cavity 9 during the heating operation).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 215077662 U) in view of Lindberg-Poulsen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0045782 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Wang teaches the method set forth in claim 3, Wang also discloses
wherein the stand-alone temperature sensor (“temperature sensing probe”, Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6) comprises one or more internal electronic components (It is noted that the limitation “one or more internal electronic components” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Wang discloses a transducer, as indicated by Wang Translated Abstract & on page 8) within the casing (auxiliary container 7, Wang Fig.5) of the stand-alone temperature sensor (“temperature sensing probe”, Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6) (Wang Translated Abstract discloses: “the temperature sensing probe comprises a substrate, interdigital transducer and at least one reflection grid, the interdigital transducer and the at least one reflection grid are set on the substrate”, and Wang Translated Document on page 6 – paragraph 6 discloses: “the temperature sensing probe is wirelessly connected with the control module; auxiliary container 7 for containing the cooked food, temperature sensing probe embedded in the side wall of the auxiliary container 7”; therefore, Wang discloses the temperature sensing probe comprises internal electronic component within the casing of the temperature sensing probe),
Wang does not explicitly disclose
the stand-alone temperature sensor also comprising a metal barrier, wherein emitting microwaves from the magnetron into the cooking chamber during the heating operation comprises shielding, via the metal barrier, the one or more internal electronic components of the stand-alone temperature sensor from the microwaves emitting from the magnetron.
Lindberg-Poulsen teaches a method of operating a microwave appliance (Lindberg-Poulsen Abstract):
the stand-alone temperature sensor (“sensor assembly”, Lindberg-Poulsen Par.0126) (it is noted that the sensor assembly includes the temperature sensor because Lindberg-Poulsen Par.0143 teaches: “A sensory portion of a sensor 108 of the sensor assembly 105 may be in physical contact with a first item to measure or detect a first property of the first item during heating. The first property may be such as a temperature, viscosity, pressure, colour, humidity, electric conductivity etc.”) also comprising a metal barrier (“electrically conductive housing, such as a metal sheet or metal net”, Lindberg-Poulsen Par.0127) (Lindberg-Poulsen Par.0126 teaches: “The sensor assembly may be enclosed by a housing. Hence, one embodiment of the sensor assembly comprises:”, and Lindberg-Poulsen Par.0127 teaches: “an electrically conductive housing, such as a metal sheet or metal net, enclosing and shielding at least the power supply circuit against the microwave electromagnetic radiation. The microwave antenna may be arranged outside the housing if the latter comprises an electrically conducting material to allow the microwave radiation to reach the microwave antenna substantially without significant attenuation and thereby harvest microwave energy. The electrically conductive housing may comprise a metal sheet or metal net, enclosing and shielding at least the RF power limiter and the power supply circuit against the microwave electromagnetic radiation.”), wherein emitting microwaves from the magnetron into the cooking chamber during the heating operation comprises shielding, via the metal barrier (“electrically conductive housing, such as a metal sheet or metal net”, Lindberg-Poulsen Par.0127), the one or more internal electronic components of the stand-alone temperature sensor (“sensor assembly”, Lindberg-Poulsen Par.0126) from the microwaves emitting from the magnetron (Lindberg-Poulsen Par.0127 teaches: “an electrically conductive housing, such as a metal sheet or metal net, enclosing and shielding at least the power supply circuit against the microwave electromagnetic radiation. The microwave antenna may be arranged outside the housing if the latter comprises an electrically conducting material to allow the microwave radiation to reach the microwave antenna substantially without significant attenuation and thereby harvest microwave energy. The electrically conductive housing may comprise a metal sheet or metal net, enclosing and shielding at least the RF power limiter and the power supply circuit against the microwave electromagnetic radiation.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang, by adding the teachings of the stand-alone temperature sensor also comprising a metal barrier, wherein emitting microwaves from the magnetron into the cooking chamber during the heating operation comprises shielding, via the metal barrier, the one or more internal electronic components of the stand-alone temperature sensor from the microwaves emitting from the magnetron, as taught by Lindberg-Poulsen, in order to shield the electronic components of the temperature probe from the strong microwave electromagnetic field generated within the cooking chamber, as recognized by Lindberg-Poulsen [Lindberg-Poulsen, Par.0127], thereby protecting the electronic circuitry against excessive RF energy, reducing electromagnetic interference, improving operational reliability, and increasing the durability of the temperature probe while maintaining wireless temperature sensing.
Regarding claim 7, Wang in view of Lindberg-Poulsen teaches the method set forth in claim 6, and also teaches
wherein the metal barrier (“electrically conductive housing, such as a metal sheet or metal net”, Lindberg-Poulsen Par.0127; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 6 above) comprises a plurality of openings (it is noted that the metal net comprises plurality of openings), whereby the stand-alone temperature sensor takes temperature readings through the plurality of openings (it is noted that by adding the metal net, as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 6 above, in combination, Wang in view of Lindberg-Poulsen teaches the temperature sensing probe takes temperature readings through the plurality of openings because the metal net comprises plurality of openings).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 215077662 U) in view of Hwang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0248522 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the method set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the stand-alone temperature sensor is an optical temperature sensor, wherein the temperature reading from the stand-alone temperature sensor comprises detecting infrared radiation emitting from a food item being cooked in the cooking chamber.
Hwang teaches a method of operating a microwave appliance:
wherein the stand-alone temperature sensor is an optical temperature sensor (Hwang Par.0025 teaches: “a light receiving unit of an infrared ray sensor is prevented from being contaminated by the oil or the steam generated while food is being cooked by disposing the infrared ray detecting apparatus, which is configured to detect the temperature of the food”; therefore, Hwang teaches optical temperature sensor), wherein the temperature reading from the stand-alone temperature sensor comprises detecting infrared radiation emitting from a food item being cooked in the cooking chamber (Hwang Abstract teaches: “A cooking apparatus includes a body, an inner case disposed inside the body in a cooking compartment where food is being cooked, a detection hole formed at a wall of one side of the inner case, so that an infrared ray generated at the cooking compartment is released to the outside of the cooking compartment, and an infrared ray detecting apparatus including a reflecting mirror, which has a plurality of reflection surfaces and configured to change a path of an incident infrared ray, and an infrared ray sensor configured to receive the infrared ray having the path thereof changed to detect an intensity of the infrared ray, thereby reducing the size of a detection hole configured to pass the infrared ray that is generated inside the cooking compartment, so that the adverse effect caused by the leakage of a microwave is minimized”; therefore, the temperature reading from the stand-alone temperature sensor comprises detecting infrared radiation emitting from a food item being cooked in the cooking chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang, by adding the teachings of the stand-alone temperature sensor is an optical temperature sensor, wherein the temperature reading from the stand-alone temperature sensor comprises detecting infrared radiation emitting from a food item being cooked in the cooking chamber, as taught by Hwang, in order to measure the food temperature without requiring physical contact, thereby simplifying sensor placement, reducing contamination and wear associated with repeated contact, and enabling continuous real-time temperature monitoring during the cooking process.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 215077662 U) in view of Givens et al. (CN 112997583 A).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the method set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the stand-alone temperature sensor is an ultrasonic temperature sensor, wherein the temperature reading from the stand-alone temperature sensor comprises pulsing sound waves off of a food item being cooked in the cooking chamber and analyzing a speed of returning sound waves.
Givens teaches a method of operating a microwave appliance:
wherein the stand-alone temperature sensor is an ultrasonic temperature sensor (Givens Translated Document on page 2 – last paragraph teaches the temperature sensor is ultrasonic temperature sensor), wherein the temperature reading from the stand-alone temperature sensor comprises pulsing sound waves off of a food item being cooked in the cooking chamber and analyzing a speed of returning sound waves (since Givens teaches the temperature sensor is ultrasonic temperature sensor configured to sense temperature of the food, as indicated by Givens Translated Document on page 2 – last paragraph & Givens Translated Document on page 4 – last paragraph, it is known that the temperature reading from the ultrasonic temperature sensor comprises pulsing sound waves off of the item being measured and analyzing speed of returning sound waves).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang, by adding the teachings of the stand-alone temperature sensor is an ultrasonic temperature sensor, wherein the temperature reading from the stand-alone temperature sensor comprises pulsing sound waves off of a food item being cooked in the cooking chamber and analyzing a speed of returning sound waves, as taught by Givens, in order to more accurately estimate the internal temperature of the food rather than only temperature at the surface, thereby improving the accuracy of temperature determination and enabling more precise control of the cooking process.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Cheng (U.S. Patent No. 10,760,794 B2) discloses a cooking appliance is a microwave including one or more heating elements; a cooking chamber; and a camera attached to the interior of the chamber, wherein the camera includes an infrared sensor to provide thermal images to the computing device as feedback to a heat adjustment algorithm.
Tils (U.S. Patent No. 10,314,119 B2) discloses a method for detecting an influence of microwaves on a measurement value of a temperature sensor of a core temperature probe of a cooking appliance.
Hallgren et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,271,388 B2) discloses a microwave heating apparatus and a method of heating a load using microwaves. The method comprises the steps of obtaining a desired temperature pattern for a plurality of regions of the load, determining a heating pattern with zones of different intensities corresponding to the desired temperature pattern and heating the load with the determined heating pattern in the cavity.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 07/15/2026