DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-20 are canceled.
Claims 21-40 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 25-28, 30-33, 35-38, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Phuyal et al., (hereinafter Phuyal), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0386208.
As per claim 21, Phuyal discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system [fig. 2, paragraphs 0030, 0050, 0051, a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (a method of communicating the flight path information between UEs, BSs, and network nodes; a wireless communication network 200 supporting communication of UE flight path information)], the method comprising:
transmitting, to a base station [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0032, 0087, a base station (target BS 105b)], a first message including first information indicating an update of flight path information [fig. 4, 6, paragraphs 0054, 0062, 0071-0073, 0087, 0094, transmitting, to a base station a first message including first information indicating an update of flight path information (flight path information communicated to the target BS 105b may include the updated flight path information)], wherein the first message includes a radio resource control (RRC) ResumeComplete message [fig. 4, paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0067, 0071-0073, 0083, 0114, wherein the first message includes a radio resource control (RRC) ResumeComplete message (the UE may transmit the flight path information (e.g., a complete flight path information); the UE transmits an RRC reconfiguration completion message to the target BS)];
receiving, from the base station, a second message requesting a flight path report, the second message including second information configuring a parameter for distributing a plurality of waypoints for the flight path report [fig. 4, 6, paragraphs 0031, 0050, 0052, 0053, 0054, 0066-0073, 0086, receiving, from the base station, a second message requesting a flight path report, the second message including second information configuring a parameter for distributing a plurality of waypoints for the flight path report (BS may transmit a message requesting the new flight path information; the flight path information may include waypoints that have already been traveled by the UE; a complete flight path including all waypoints)];
generating the flight path report based on the second information [fig. 4, paragraphs 0052, 0053, 0066-0073, 0112, generating the flight path report based on the second information (the UE may perform channel measurements; the UE may send the flight path information using RRC signaling in a flightPathInfoReport; the target base station may receive the flight path information from the UAV via at least one of a flightPathInfoReport)]; and
transmitting, to the base station, a third message including the flight path report [fig. 4, paragraphs 0066-0073, transmitting, to the base station, a third message including the flight path report (the UE may send the flight path information using RRC signaling in a flightPathInfoReport; the target base station may receive the flight path information from the UAV via at least one of a flightPathInfoReport)].
As per claim 22, Phuyal discloses the method of claim 21,
wherein the parameter includes a distance parameter indicating a distance granularity between the plurality of waypoints [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0054, 0085, wherein the parameter includes a distance parameter indicating a distance granularity between the plurality of waypoints (the flight path information may include waypoints to be traveled by the UE 115 within a coverage area of a BS, within a certain distance of a BS, or a certain number of waypoints)].
As per claim 23, Phuyal discloses the method of claim 21,
wherein the parameter includes a time parameter indicating a time interval between the plurality of waypoints [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0050, 0054, 0085, 0135, wherein the parameter includes a time parameter indicating a time interval between the plurality of waypoints (wherein the flight path information comprises an estimated time of arrival for one or more of the waypoints to be traveled by the UAV; a complete flight path including all waypoints (with or without expected time of arrivals (ETAs), also commonly referred to as timestamps) associated with the UE 115 may be communicated to the target BS 105b)].
As per claim 25, Phuyal discloses the method of claim 21,
wherein the flight path report includes third information on a first waypoint which is unchanged from a last report and a second waypoint which is changed from the last report [paragraphs 0054, 0062, 0072, 0087, wherein the flight path report includes third information on a first waypoint which is unchanged from a last report and a second waypoint which is changed from the last report (flight path information (e.g., initial flight path information, partial flight path information, and/or updated flight path information))].
As per claim 26, Phuyal discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system [fig. 2, paragraphs 0030, 0050, 0051, a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system (a method of communicating the flight path information between UEs, BSs, and network nodes; a wireless communication network 200 supporting communication of UE flight path information)], the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE) [fig. 1, 2, paragraphs 0038, 0052, a user equipment (UEs 115)], a first message including first information indicating an update of flight path information [fig. 4, 6, paragraphs 0054, 0062, 0071-0073, 0087, 0094, receiving, from a user equipment a first message including first information indicating an update of flight path information (flight path information communicated to the target BS 105b may include the updated flight path information)], wherein the first message includes a radio resource control (RRC) ResumeComplete message [fig. 4, paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0067, 0071-0073, 0083, 0114, wherein the first message includes a radio resource control (RRC) ResumeComplete message (the UE may transmit the flight path information (e.g., a complete flight path information); the UE transmits an RRC reconfiguration completion message to the target BS)];
transmitting, to the UE, a second message requesting a flight path report, the second message including second information configuring a parameter for distributing a plurality of waypoints for the flight path report [fig. 4, 6, paragraphs 0031, 0050, 0052, 0053, 0054, 0066-0073, 0086, transmitting, to the UE, a second message requesting a flight path report, the second message including second information configuring a parameter for distributing a plurality of waypoints for the flight path report (BS may transmit a message requesting the new flight path information; the flight path information may include waypoints that have already been traveled by the UE; a complete flight path including all waypoints)]; and
receiving, from the UE, a third message including the flight path report based on the second information [fig. 4, paragraphs 0066-0073, receiving, from the UE, a third message including the flight path report based on the second information (the UE may send the flight path information using RRC signaling in a flightPathInfoReport; the target base station may receive the flight path information from the UAV via at least one of a flightPathInfoReport)].
As per claim 27, Phuyal discloses the method of claim 26,
wherein the parameter includes a distance parameter indicating a distance granularity between the plurality of waypoints [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0054, 0085, wherein the parameter includes a distance parameter indicating a distance granularity between the plurality of waypoints (the flight path information may include waypoints to be traveled by the UE 115 within a coverage area of a BS, within a certain distance of a BS, or a certain number of waypoints)].
As per claim 28, Phuyal discloses the method of claim 26,
wherein the parameter includes a time parameter indicating a time interval between the plurality of waypoints [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0050, 0054, 0085, 0135, wherein the parameter includes a time parameter indicating a time interval between the plurality of waypoints (wherein the flight path information comprises an estimated time of arrival for one or more of the waypoints to be traveled by the UAV; a complete flight path including all waypoints (with or without expected time of arrivals (ETAs), also commonly referred to as timestamps) associated with the UE 115 may be communicated to the target BS 105b)].
As per claim 30, Phuyal discloses the method of claim 26,
wherein the flight path report includes third information on a first waypoint which is unchanged from a last report and a second waypoint which is changed from the last report [paragraphs 0054, 0062, 0072, 0087, wherein the flight path report includes third information on a first waypoint which is unchanged from a last report and a second waypoint which is changed from the last report (flight path information (e.g., initial flight path information, partial flight path information, and/or updated flight path information))].
As per claim 31, Phuyal discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising:
at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination [fig. 7, paragraphs 0064, 0089-0098, at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination (the UE 115 may store the flight path information in a memory 704; UE 700 may include a processor 702, a memory 707, a handover module 708, a flight path update module 709, a transceiver 710)] to cause the UE to:
transmit, to a base station [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0032, 0087, a base station (target BS 105b)], a first message including first information indicating an update of flight path information [fig. 4, 6, paragraphs 0054, 0062, 0071-0073, 0087, 0094, transmit, to a base station a first message including first information indicating an update of flight path information (flight path information communicated to the target BS 105b may include the updated flight path information)], wherein the first message includes a radio resource control (RRC) ResumeComplete message [fig. 4, paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0067, 0071-0073, 0083, 0114, wherein the first message includes a radio resource control (RRC) ResumeComplete message (the UE may transmit the flight path information (e.g., a complete flight path information); the UE transmits an RRC reconfiguration completion message to the target BS)];
receive, from the base station, a second message requesting a flight path report, the second message including second information configuring a parameter for distributing a plurality of waypoints for the flight path report [fig. 4, 6, paragraphs 0031, 0050, 0052, 0053, 0054, 0066-0073, 0086, receive, from the base station, a second message requesting a flight path report, the second message including second information configuring a parameter for distributing a plurality of waypoints for the flight path report (BS may transmit a message requesting the new flight path information; the flight path information may include waypoints that have already been traveled by the UE; a complete flight path including all waypoints)];
generate the flight path report based on the second information [fig. 4, paragraphs 0052, 0053, 0066-0073, 0112, generate the flight path report based on the second information (the UE may perform channel measurements; the UE may send the flight path information using RRC signaling in a flightPathInfoReport; the target base station may receive the flight path information from the UAV via at least one of a flightPathInfoReport)]; and
transmit, to the base station, a third message including the flight path report [fig. 4, paragraphs 0066-0073, transmit, to the base station, a third message including the flight path report (the UE may send the flight path information using RRC signaling in a flightPathInfoReport; the target base station may receive the flight path information from the UAV via at least one of a flightPathInfoReport)].
As per claim 32, Phuyal discloses the UE of claim 31,
wherein the parameter includes a distance parameter indicating a distance granularity between the plurality of waypoints [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0054, 0085, wherein the parameter includes a distance parameter indicating a distance granularity between the plurality of waypoints (the flight path information may include waypoints to be traveled by the UE 115 within a coverage area of a BS, within a certain distance of a BS, or a certain number of waypoints)].
As per claim 33, Phuyal discloses the UE of claim 31,
wherein the parameter includes a time parameter indicating a time interval between the plurality of waypoints [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0050, 0054, 0085, 0135, wherein the parameter includes a time parameter indicating a time interval between the plurality of waypoints (wherein the flight path information comprises an estimated time of arrival for one or more of the waypoints to be traveled by the UAV; a complete flight path including all waypoints (with or without expected time of arrivals (ETAs), also commonly referred to as timestamps) associated with the UE 115 may be communicated to the target BS 105b)].
As per claim 35, Phuyal discloses the UE of claim 31,
wherein the flight path report includes third information on a first waypoint which is unchanged from a last report and a second waypoint which is changed from the last report [paragraphs 0054, 0062, 0072, 0087, wherein the flight path report includes third information on a first waypoint which is unchanged from a last report and a second waypoint which is changed from the last report (flight path information (e.g., initial flight path information, partial flight path information, and/or updated flight path information))].
As per claim 36, Phuyal discloses a base station comprising:
at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination [fig. 8, paragraphs 0099-0109, at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination (the BS 800 may include a processor 802, a memory 804, a handover module 808, a flight path update module 809, a transceiver 810; instructions 806 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 802, cause the processor 802 to perform operations)] to cause the base station to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE) [fig. 1, 2, paragraphs 0038, 0052, a user equipment (UEs 115)], a first message including first information indicating an update of flight path information [fig. 4, 6, paragraphs 0054, 0062, 0071-0073, 0087, 0094, receive, from a user equipment a first message including first information indicating an update of flight path information (flight path information communicated to the target BS 105b may include the updated flight path information)], wherein the first message includes a radio resource control (RRC) ResumeComplete message [fig. 4, paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0067, 0071-0073, 0083, 0114, wherein the first message includes a radio resource control (RRC) ResumeComplete message (the UE may transmit the flight path information (e.g., a complete flight path information); the UE transmits an RRC reconfiguration completion message to the target BS)];
transmit, to the UE, a second message requesting a flight path report, the second message including second information configuring a parameter for distributing a plurality of waypoints for the flight path report [fig. 4, 6, paragraphs 0031, 0050, 0052, 0053, 0054, 0066-0073, 0086, transmit, to the UE, a second message requesting a flight path report, the second message including second information configuring a parameter for distributing a plurality of waypoints for the flight path report (BS may transmit a message requesting the new flight path information; the flight path information may include waypoints that have already been traveled by the UE; a complete flight path including all waypoints)]; and
receive, from the UE, a third message including the flight path report based on the second information [fig. 4, paragraphs 0066-0073, receive, from the UE, a third message including the flight path report based on the second information (the UE may send the flight path information using RRC signaling in a flightPathInfoReport; the target base station may receive the flight path information from the UAV via at least one of a flightPathInfoReport)].
As per claim 37, Phuyal discloses the base station of claim 36,
wherein the parameter includes a distance parameter indicating a distance granularity between the plurality of waypoints [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0054, 0085, wherein the parameter includes a distance parameter indicating a distance granularity between the plurality of waypoints (the flight path information may include waypoints to be traveled by the UE 115 within a coverage area of a BS, within a certain distance of a BS, or a certain number of waypoints)].
As per claim 38, Phuyal discloses the base station of claim 36,
wherein the parameter includes a time parameter indicating a time interval between the plurality of waypoints [fig. 2, 6, paragraphs 0050, 0054, 0085, 0135, wherein the parameter includes a time parameter indicating a time interval between the plurality of waypoints (wherein the flight path information comprises an estimated time of arrival for one or more of the waypoints to be traveled by the UAV; a complete flight path including all waypoints (with or without expected time of arrivals (ETAs), also commonly referred to as timestamps) associated with the UE 115 may be communicated to the target BS 105b)].
As per claim 40, Phuyal discloses the base station of claim 36,
wherein the flight path report includes third information on a first waypoint which is unchanged from a last report and a second waypoint which is changed from the last report [paragraphs 0054, 0062, 0072, 0087, wherein the flight path report includes third information on a first waypoint which is unchanged from a last report and a second waypoint which is changed from the last report (flight path information (e.g., initial flight path information, partial flight path information, and/or updated flight path information))].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 29, 34, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phuyal, in view of Saha et al., (hereinafter Saha), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0404484.
As per claim 24, Phuyal discloses the method of claim 21, Phuyal does not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is generated based on an identification of a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold.
However, Saha teaches wherein the first information is generated based on an identification of a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold [paragraphs 0023, 0111, 0125, 0126, 0131, 0132, 0345, wherein the first information is generated based on an identification of a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold (reporting a threshold number of waypoints; reporting updated flight path information no more often than a threshold)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Phuyal by including a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold as taught by Saha because it would provide the Phuyal's method with the enhanced capability of improving positioning accuracy for the UE and/or reducing latency [Saha, paragraphs 0023, 0077].
As per claim 29, Phuyal discloses the method of claim 26, Phuyal does not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is received based on a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold.
However, Saha teaches wherein the first information is received based on a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold [paragraphs 0023, 0111, 0125, 0126, 0131, 0132, 0345, wherein the first information is received based on a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold (reporting a threshold number of waypoints; reporting updated flight path information no more often than a threshold)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Phuyal by including a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold as taught by Saha because it would provide the Phuyal's method with the enhanced capability of improving positioning accuracy for the UE and/or reducing latency [Saha, paragraphs 0023, 0077].
As per claim 34, Phuyal discloses the UE of claim 31, Phuyal does not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is generated based on an identification of a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold.
However, Saha teaches wherein the first information is generated based on an identification of a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold [paragraphs 0023, 0111, 0125, 0126, 0131, 0132, 0345, wherein the first information is generated based on an identification of a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold (reporting a threshold number of waypoints; reporting updated flight path information no more often than a threshold)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Phuyal by including a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold as taught by Saha because it would provide the Phuyal's method with the enhanced capability of improving positioning accuracy for the UE and/or reducing latency [Saha, paragraphs 0023, 0077].
As per claim 39, Phuyal discloses the base station of claim 36, Phuyal does not explicitly disclose wherein the first information is received based on a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold.
However, Saha teaches wherein the first information is received based on a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold [paragraphs 0023, 0111, 0125, 0126, 0131, 0132, 0345, wherein the first information is received based on a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold (reporting a threshold number of waypoints; reporting updated flight path information no more often than a threshold)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Phuyal by including a number of remaining waypoints being equal to a flight path update threshold as taught by Saha because it would provide the Phuyal's method with the enhanced capability of improving positioning accuracy for the UE and/or reducing latency [Saha, paragraphs 0023, 0077].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamamoto et al., U.S. Publication No. 2024/0196467 discloses wherein a flight path of a UAV is reported from the UAV to the network in response to a request from the network.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469