DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “Mouthpieces” in claim 1, line 4 should be singular, mouthpiece. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima et al. (US 2023/0408041) (Nakashima) in view of Pietrantoni (US 2001/0040166).
Nakashima discloses a tank module as shown in Fig. 3 comprising a tank (pressure vessel 12) and a holding device (the surrounding enclosure for the pressure vessel 12) that holds the tank, wherein: the tank is provided with a first mouthpiece (bottom valve 31) and a second mouthpiece (top valve 32) at both ends of the tank, and is disposed such that the first mouthpiece is located on a lower side and the other second mouthpiece is located on an upper side; the holding device includes a frame (resin protector 11 with two open ends) and a support member (metal dome 13) disposed at a lower portion of the frame to support the tank; the support member has a hole into which the first mouthpiece on the lower side of the tank is to be inserted such that the mouthpiece is spaced apart from the frame. Nakashima fails to disclose a recess that supports a part of the main body and that the depth of the support member hole being greater than a protrusion amount of the first mouthpiece. Pietrantoni teaches a similar tank module or arrangement for packaging a compressed gas cylinder wherein a holding device with a frame (second container 50 with open ends covered by flaps 52) and a support member (ring 28) supports the end of the cylinder 10 with valve 13 as shown in Fig. 1. The support member has a recess (portion of ring 28 to far right in Fig. 1) that supports a part of a main body of the tank around the hole of the support member (remaining portion of ring 28 having a cylindrical inner surface). A depth of the hole being greater than a protrusion amount of the first mouthpiece (valve 13) protruding from the tank body; and the tank is supported by the support member while the first mouthpiece is apart from the frame. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the support member of Nakashima (metal dome 13) with the support member of Pietrantoni (ring 28) so that the support member contacts the dome-shaped body portion of the tank rather than the mouthpiece portion of the tank to prevent damage or stress from bending or damaging the mouthpiece.
Re claim 2, the curved internal surface of recess of the support member that conforms to a dome-shaped side end portion of the cylinder supports the side end portion.
Re claim 3, the hole of the support member is shaped to catch the first mouthpiece so that the tank does not rotate about an axis (transverse axis of tank).
Re claim 5, the frame has an opening at a portion facing the first mouthpiece (end flap 52 facing the first mouthpiece) disposed on the support member.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pietrantoni in view of Baune et al. (2018/0172214) (Baune).
Pietrantoni discloses a tank module comprising a tank (cylinder 10) and a holding device (packaging surrounding and enclosing tank) that holds the tank, wherein: the tank is provided with a first mouthpiece (valve 13) located on a lower side when the configuration of Fig. 1 is rotated 90 degrees CCW; the holding device includes a frame (second container 50 with open ends covered by flaps 52) and a support member (ring 28) disposed at a lower portion of the frame to support the tank; the support member has a hole (remaining portion of ring 28 having a cylindrical inner surface) into which the first mouthpiece on the lower side of the tank is to be inserted, and a recess (portion of ring 28 to far right in Fig. 1) that supports a part of a main body of the tank around the hole, a depth of the hole being greater than a protrusion amount of the first mouthpiece protruding from the tank body; and the tank is supported by the support member without while the first mouthpiece disposed in the hole of the support member contacting is apart from the frame. Pietrantoni fails to disclose a second mouthpiece at the other end. Baune teaches a storage frame 100 that mounts a plurality of pressurized fluid bottles, cylinders or tanks 103 in an upright manner with the longitudinal axis vertical and each of the tanks has a lower mouthpiece as well as an upper mouthpiece. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a second mouthpiece for the other or upper end of the tank to allow for filling or discharge of content from the upper end when the lower tank end is inaccessible.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima in view of Pietrantoni as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Houston (US 4964529).
The combination fails to disclose that the support member is made of an elastic material. Houston teaches a tank and tank container enclosing the tank with support member (impact absorbing bottom pad 24 of flexible foam material). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the material of the support member to be flexible foam material to properly absorb impact load so that the tank or the support member doesn’t become damaged from impact forces during transport.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered, a new ground is being made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
sjc/STEPHEN J CASTELLANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733